swinburne vs mmu

rodneylaw90
post Apr 17 2008, 04:59 PM

131 posts

I'm confused of getting which university,either MMU or swinburne??
Does both university are teaching in english?
how is the job apportunity from both university?
Any seniors please help me, i dun wan screw my future....

rodneylaw90
post Apr 17 2008, 07:24 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(pneoxian @ Apr 17 2008, 05:23 PM)
I have not studied in MMU, though I have studied in Swinburne University of Technology, and Design in Victoria, Australia.
I have seen good works come out from students of Swinburne, as well as students of MMU. Although you are probably going to hate what I say next but; whichever you choose to go to, you will have to work hard to do your best. It is expected for you to be able to take initiative on your own in taking effort in going the extra mile.

My experience in Swinburne. They will teach you the basics you need to know, the rest is all up to your independent-initiative. Nobody spoon-feeds you in  Swinburne. However being in a different country will give you more exposure to new cultures, lifestyles and design. I am assuming you are talking about a creative course. Studying overseas will broaden your view with new things you might not have experienced locally.

Again, if you are referring to Swinburne in Australia, and not in Sarawak, then obviously the faculty would communicate in English there. A good command of English is important especially in work. You will not be able to run away from it, unless you work in a 'chinaman' company, where Mandarin/Cantonese is highly preferred. That would severely limit your scope though.

I emphasize that should you wish to study overseas where English is their primary language, you might need to brush up your conversing and comprehension skills in English. As decent as most of our command of English may be, their way of communicating in terms of grammar and forming of sentences are different from ours. Not to mention their accent. Or our accent for that matter. Acquiring a certificate showing that your English is at a qualified acceptable standard will help make your application to these countries easier.

Studying overseas will require you to be really independent, being able to look after yourself no matter what happens because your family and friends will not be available there to help you. When looking for a job, especially in Malaysia, what employers will always want is the ability to perform and the ability to produce good results. They also would most probably want to see your past works, as a bearing to how good is your work. Just remember some people still have narrow minded thinking whereby they assume an overseas graduate will surely mean a person who has more skill. Sadly that is not entirely true. Hence the mention that wherever you choose to go, it is up to yourself to make it happen.
oic...so u r recommend me to study in overseas..
so, both university leaver will hv good job opportunity?

Added on April 17, 2008, 7:27 pm
QUOTE(influenza04 @ Apr 17 2008, 07:03 PM)
of coz mmu's classes conducted in english. lolz.
well, if i got chance to go overseas, i might choose another uni in aust.

but mmu got orgy party wor. guess u dun wanna miss out on that tongue.gif
wat is orgy party??
so, how can i choose the school? need to accord to which status? their school leaver job opportunity or wat?

Added on April 17, 2008, 7:30 pm
QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 17 2008, 06:08 PM)
I'm an undergraduate of MMU. smile.gif

Yes, fully English in MMU, no BM or whatsoever except for BM class (for foreign students and those unable to achieve a credit in SPM) and foreign languages classes.

Job opportunity is considered good.
You may want to refer to this? Though it is an old survey but should be reliable.
[attachmentid=446208]
thanks for ur information given..
which MMU campus r u study right now?
how is the campus? good?

This post has been edited by rodneylaw90: Apr 17 2008, 07:30 PM

0.0228sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:00 AM