Sony-Ericsson ★ Sony Ericsson K850i 5MP Cybershot(tm) -V3- Threa, It's not all about Megapixels!

carbon14
post Apr 27 2008, 04:33 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(scorps @ Apr 27 2008, 04:22 PM)
about the flash , i think u need to set up a right distance from the objects u want to take a shot..
or another opinions?
From the first pic with the dark car, it seems that theres three possibities (K850 wise)

1. Xenon flash was too weak to illuminate the subject (Normally it works better than LED,seriously for Xenon flash it illuminates very well in a range)
2. Camera ISO level was set too low, sensitivity towards light decreased.
3. Exposure value decreased

The second pic shows a blurred women

1. The shutter speed wasn't fast enough to capture the motion of the moving women/man (probably man)
2. Solution would be to increase the ISO so the that shutter speed would be increased but this might increase image noise. (Since we can't adjust shutterspeed in K850)

Terms here :
Lower ISO - sensor sensitivity towards light decreased , lower image noise.
Higher ISO - sensor sensitivity towards light increased , higher image noise
Shutterspeed - how long the sensor is exposed to incoming light

This post has been edited by carbon14: Apr 27 2008, 04:38 PM
carbon14
post Apr 27 2008, 11:55 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ Apr 27 2008, 10:38 PM)
1st pic:
Camera: Sony Ericsson K850i
Exposure: 0.004 sec (1/250)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.2 mm
ISO Speed: 200
Exposure Bias: 0/100 EV
Flash: Flash fired, auto mode

2nd pic:
Camera: Sony Ericsson K850i
Exposure: 0.167 sec (1/6)
Aperture: f/2.8
Focal Length: 5.2 mm
ISO Speed: 160
Exposure Bias: 0/100 EV
Flash: Flash did not fire
1. As you can see, the exposure time for the first image was very short indeed (1/250), the sensor did not receive enough incoming light. Taking in consideration fixed aperture, the higher ISO setting did not compensate enough for the fast shutter speed (1/250)
2. The second pic, exposure was significantly longer than the first one but the shutterspeed was slowed down to (1/6)
3. Both pictures had their exposure value or light value set to default "Exposure Bias: 0/100 EV". Increasing this would in turn allow more light in but the camera sensor will calculate then, different shutterspeeds and ISO for that compensation in exposure.

I think the users of K850 should know that sometimes, auto mode just doesn't give the shot that we want eh? sad.gif

This post has been edited by carbon14: Apr 27 2008, 11:56 PM
carbon14
post Apr 28 2008, 11:05 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Apr 28 2008, 05:11 PM)
How do I set a particular picture in a folder to be the album art for all the tracks contained within the folder?
Create a folder for the tracks (album name or artist) then put the album art into the folder in jpeg format by the name "folder.jpg" without the quotes.
carbon14
post Apr 29 2008, 11:13 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(supernick @ Apr 29 2008, 07:47 PM)
wat should i do?
k 850i izit realy that much of problem?
nw still deciding buy it anot
Problems? Right I shall tell you some, but the users here should be more familiar with it.

1. Dust getting inside the camera lens
2. Unable to be hacked yet, modding acoustics and all.
3. Touch Softkeys doesn't activate sometimes
4. Picture quality...Well you be the judge for yourself smile.gif

Why do i know this? I researched the K850, I was battling with two phones to purchase. The K850 and the P1i,in the end it was the P1i blush.gif
carbon14
post Apr 30 2008, 11:43 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Otoyama88 @ Apr 30 2008, 11:08 AM)
i was thinking to buy this phone
what i see in gsmarena review.. compared to n95, k850 a bit blur..
is it true? hmm.gif  notworthy.gif
The N95 does more post image compressing and making the photos lose more detail. If you take a look at the N73ME photos, you can see very unnatural and overexposed colours. Not being a SE fan or Nokia-hater here, I think Nokia has to brush up on its image processing algorithms.

BROD - Blue R*** Of Death blink.gif ?
carbon14
post May 2 2008, 11:17 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(Redundant @ May 1 2008, 01:02 AM)
just my oppinion, N82 has better image quality due to its bigger carl zeiss lens. it gives better colours and produces less noise when compared to k850i;
It is actually strictly speaking, dependent on the sensor size albeit quality too. I was commenting on a photography thread about this Carl-Zeiss lens which Nokia is truly making us believe that they manufacture that pricey branded lens on their MASS PRODUCED camera phones.

Come to think of it, has anyone fallen in for the branding war of Cybershot VS Carl-Zeiss? I don't want to be labelled as a SE fan here but the Carl-Zeiss lens is a well thought countering technique by Nokia. The Cybershot branding that SE established over the years and making buyers say

CODE

A :Hey both our phones are 3.2MP/5MP, but who's better in quality?
B :I think yours is surely better because its a Cybershot.

Now they go

CODE

A :But mine has a Carl-Zeiss lens inside!
B :Yeah hor...

carbon14
post May 4 2008, 01:40 AM

284 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ May 3 2008, 12:15 AM)

I concur with this statement. And yes Cybershot isn't a technology its a brand. That goes along with Carl-Zeiss too. A branding war and us consumers caught in the crossfire. wink.gif

0.0303sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 09:42 PM