Who is your best All Star lineup for this season?, Best lineup season 07/08 BPL

kobe8byrant
post Apr 14 2008, 05:49 PM

I'm too old for this stuff
12,275 posts

1st team
Edwin van der Sar
Wesley Brown
Rio Ferdinand
Nemanja Vidic
Patrice Evra
Cristiano Ronaldo
Steven Gerrard
Anderson
Joe Cole
Wayne Rooney
Fernando Torres

2nd team
David James
Bacary Sagna
Jonathan Woodgate
Richard Dunne
Gael Clichy
David Bentley
Michael Carrick
Stephen Ireland
Nani
Carlos Tevez
Emanuel Adebayor
kobe8byrant
post Apr 14 2008, 05:53 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 14 2008, 05:51 PM)
That is a really bold statement. I just have to ask, do you watch any other of the leagues as well as the Premiership? I mean to claim that someone is the 'best in the world' is really going out on a stretch. To each his own, I'm just wondering what the basis of your argument is. I can understand the hype about Ronaldo but this is a little more contentious to put it mildly.
Could you think of a left back playing better? I can't. I think the best 2 left backs play in the BPL - Evra and Clichy.
QUOTE(blinky @ Apr 14 2008, 05:53 PM)
Best in the world? Far from it.
Name me 5 left backs better than Patrice this season to prove that he's far from being the best. At best, it's debatable.

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Apr 14 2008, 05:55 PM
kobe8byrant
post Apr 14 2008, 05:58 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Apr 14 2008, 05:56 PM)
He said BEST LEFT BACK IN THE WORLD.

Even in the Premiership, I'd rate Leighton Baines highly. Or Gareth Bale.
And I agree with him. It's our opinion and I am not saying that our words are the final say. It's just an opinion. You want to dispel it, enlighten us by telling us who's better. Bale hasn't played enough to be the best in the league. I too am of the opinion that on current form, the 2 best left backs play in the BPL.
kobe8byrant
post Apr 14 2008, 06:09 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Apr 14 2008, 06:07 PM)
Right, and you judge one player from one or two games.

Oh, and we have Eric Abidal too.
And may I ask you, how many games have you watched them perform in? Because even Barca fans have been giving Zambrotta stick so I can't see how you can say he's the best in the world on current form (or since he has moved to Barca).
kobe8byrant
post Apr 14 2008, 06:19 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ Apr 14 2008, 06:12 PM)
That's the thing.

You people only watch matches from the BIG FOUR, obviously Patrice Evra is the best in the world.

There might be a freaking good wonderkid playing in the Bundesliga and we wouldn't even know.

Cause week in week out we only watch Evra, Cole, Riise and Clichy play. Obviously Evra lah.

Anyway, source for Barca fans giving Zambrotta the stick please.
Of the six left backs you mentioned, I watch Zambrotta, Abidal, Clichy and Lahm a lot and I still think that Evra's better player/left back.

Source? Check out the reaction of Barca fans earlier this season whenever Zambrotta touched the ball.
QUOTE(blinky @ Apr 14 2008, 05:59 PM)
Phillipe Lahm
Fabio Grosso
Cristian Chivu
Gianluca Zambrotta
Gael Clichy
QUOTE(blinky @ Apr 14 2008, 06:17 PM)
Okay, okay.

If you MU supporter's definition of WORLD means "Clichy, Evra, Riise and Cole", okay I think Evra is the best in the WORLD.
Earlier I asked you to name me 5 left backs better than Evra, you mentioned Clichy but in a later post, you state that Evra is better than Clichy if the world consisted of those 4 left backs? Make up your mind and save the sarcasm. I'd concede that I don't watch enough of Grosso and Chivu so I can't judge but from what I have seen, I'd say Evra. So my question to those who say that Evra isn't, who among the players that you have seen happen to be better than Evra?

This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Apr 14 2008, 06:25 PM
kobe8byrant
post Apr 14 2008, 06:40 PM

12,275 posts

QUOTE(justintga @ Apr 14 2008, 06:29 PM)
lol. LYN is a dangerous place nowadays. Evra IN MY OPINION (and im sure im entitled to it) tongue.gif is the best LB in the world AT THE MOMENT. Let evra go on a free transfer and we'll see how many clubs want him. he'll be on any top all star list this season. undoubtedly.

and im sure many of you would agree with me. man utd fan or not.

and for the record go ask Barca fans who they would rather have, Evra or Zambrotta.

my liverpool friend just the other day was having a conversation with me about the CL finals which we hope both our respective teams will play in and he mentioned that he wished liverpool had a LB like evra.

Why didnt he mention Zambrotta, Abidal, Clichy or Lahm? Its either because hes the best in the world AT THE MOMENT or that liverpool only settles for second best. And i am sure its not the latter.

i rest my case.

man utd for life.

bruce.gif

Note: Just found this -
take it from someone actually playing football at the highest level.

"BEST LEFT BACK IN THE WORLD, BY FAR"
That quote was from air_mood, not a player playing at the highest level doh.gif

0.0233sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:31 AM