iPhone sound problem

TSrikimaru00
post Apr 14 2008, 08:41 AM, updated 18y ago

25 posts

I got one problem with my new iphoone. I can't hear the voice (@the sound level is too low) when I make a call or receive a call. the sound level is at max!!Is there any way to increase the sound level? Any help is appreciated. Thanks

mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
Love^GM
post Apr 14 2008, 08:47 AM

237 posts

I'm having problem if used with headset with the call, other's are OK for me.
TSrikimaru00
post Apr 14 2008, 08:49 AM

25 posts

I hate apple mad.gif mad.gif

Does anyone else have the same problem?
icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by rikimaru00: Apr 14 2008, 08:53 AM
Choongster
post Apr 14 2008, 09:05 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

did u remove the original plastic cover when you get your iphone?
did you install volume booster from installer?
TSrikimaru00
post Apr 14 2008, 09:07 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Apr 13 2008, 08:05 PM)
did u remove the original plastic cover when you get your iphone?
did you install volume booster from installer?
I did both of them. sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif
spoonkin
post Apr 14 2008, 10:48 AM

The CF Man
1,460 posts

poke the speaker hole

google it

nokia2003
post Apr 14 2008, 11:03 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(rikimaru00 @ Apr 14 2008, 08:49 AM)
I hate apple  mad.gif  mad.gif
Does anyone else have the same problem?
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
man, u r inviting trouble by putting such a bold statement
Lurker
post Apr 14 2008, 12:45 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

the ringtone volume is very low also at the max setting..
dARKaNGEl
post Apr 14 2008, 02:10 PM

Just another helping hand
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Love^GM @ Apr 14 2008, 08:47 AM)
I'm having problem if used with headset with the call, other's are OK for me.
i have same problem as you with the headset for phone calls. but for music, it's darn loud... so when i using headset while driving, suddenly if got msg or other system sound, it will sound so loud...
TSrikimaru00
post Apr 14 2008, 02:50 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Apr 13 2008, 10:03 PM)
man, u r inviting trouble by putting such a bold statement
showing our dissatisfaction is our right, as customers. You don't really want to spend $500 for a defective product.

Any help is appreciated.

This post has been edited by rikimaru00: Apr 14 2008, 02:51 PM
aizad02
post Apr 14 2008, 04:41 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

errr.....if u already install the volume booster means u got a defective products laa..or u can try to restore ur iphone and install the volume booster again.mine's working fine,the sound's ok after i install the booster.tried using the handsfree,also good.the sound's very clear.
frozzbyte
post Apr 14 2008, 06:48 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Actually its not recommended using the volume booster. Later it will spoil the speaker. Just poke a few holes at the speaker .. but not to deep. Just enough to break the membrane covering the hole.

@rikimaru00
Did u take out the plastic that cover the iphone screen? I help someone last night and he complaint the same thing and infact the plastic cover is still intact. If u did took it off then maybe u can try to reset all settings and reboot the phone. Hope that helps.
Moonflown
post Apr 14 2008, 07:10 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Yea. Some people didn't realize their mistake and then blame.
TakanoKyohei
post Apr 14 2008, 10:52 PM

959 posts

guys it is true if we poke the speaker, after a long time the dust will go in under ther screen..? as someone at other forum said it will make the dust go under the touchscreen...

i dun care if dust go in into speaker, but if the dust go under the touch screen, it will be very annoying..tongue.gif
IpohBoY
post Apr 20 2008, 03:05 AM

722 posts

My volume is very soft too but I havent removed the screen plastic..But how does that affect the volume since the speaker is at the bottom? Sorry for my noob question
scripted
post Apr 20 2008, 11:05 AM

608 posts

They are referring to the speaker above the screen, the one you would use to listen to calls when you place the phone next to your face, not the bigger one at bottom
TSrikimaru00
post May 3 2008, 06:09 AM

25 posts

i'm good now rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ff8ong
post May 3 2008, 09:00 AM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(rikimaru00 @ May 3 2008, 06:09 AM)
i'm good now  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Good for you!
frozzbyte
post May 3 2008, 03:44 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(rikimaru00 @ May 3 2008, 06:09 AM)
i'm good now  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Mind to tell others what did u do to solve it?
SUSMike3300
post May 3 2008, 03:56 PM

6,866 posts

There are actually 2 ways: Change the sound settings .plist cause the default sound is at 6.9999995 and you can change it to 9.9999995. You can hear the difference. You can also use needle to poke the speaker grill cause there's a piece of grill that blocks the sound from coming out much so you poke a hole to break the grill so the sound is more expose.
frozzbyte
post May 3 2008, 04:56 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ May 3 2008, 03:56 PM)
There are actually 2 ways: Change the sound settings .plist cause the default sound is at 6.9999995 and you can change it to 9.9999995. You can hear the difference. You can also use needle to poke the speaker grill cause there's a piece of grill that blocks the sound from coming out much so you poke a hole to break the grill so the sound is more expose.
Actually I'm refering to TS situation as in the earpiece volume and not the speaker. Anyway thanks for the tip. You should post it in the tips and trick section.
nokia2003
post May 4 2008, 01:37 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ May 3 2008, 03:56 PM)
off the topic, but i will follow up byte's post.

i think changing the sound settings from the plist is a bit on the dodgy side frankly speaking.

back to my previous entries on iphone version 6, i did mention that a fellow customer had his diagram blown off as result of using the app to amplify the volume output. not recommended for us, as our iphones r not really covered by the warranty. a very simple explanation to this; our speakers is obviously not built to take that output capacity and strain.

therefore, piercing holes (on strategic locations-beware!) would prove to be a better alternative. coordinates are important to prevent tiny dust particles from entering the touchscreen portion.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: May 4 2008, 01:38 PM
chuan1961
post Jun 7 2008, 09:56 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ May 4 2008, 01:37 PM)
off the topic, but i will follow up byte's post.
i think changing the sound settings from the plist is a bit on the dodgy side frankly speaking.
back to my previous entries on iphone version 6, i did mention that a fellow customer had his diagram blown off as result of using the app to amplify the volume output. not recommended for us, as our iphones r not really covered by the warranty. a very simple explanation to this; our speakers is obviously not built to take that output capacity and strain.

therefore, piercing holes (on strategic locations-beware!) would prove to be a better alternative. coordinates are important to prevent tiny dust particles from entering the touchscreen portion.
hi may i know which strategic part of the speaker should i poke holes? my prob is when answering calls cant hear anyting thru the earpiece speaker. but on speakerphone its fine.

Choongster
post Jun 8 2008, 02:36 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Jun 7 2008, 09:56 PM)
hi may i know which strategic part of the speaker should i poke holes? my prob is when answering calls cant hear anyting thru the earpiece speaker. but on speakerphone its fine.

did u remove the original screen protector?
nokia2003
post Jun 8 2008, 02:42 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Jun 7 2008, 09:56 PM)

to obtain a better understanding, try googling for images of dismantled iphones. they will tell you precisely where to poke
chuan1961
post Jun 8 2008, 08:38 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Choongster @ Jun 8 2008, 02:36 AM)
did u remove the original screen protector?
i dont think its the screen protector cos never had this problem before. only happened yesterday. so must be either a software or hardware problem.

Added on June 8, 2008, 9:44 am
QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Jun 8 2008, 08:38 AM)
i dont think its the screen protector cos never had this problem before. only happened yesterday. so must be either a software or hardware problem.

OK GUYS!! did a google and it seems most of the time its because when playing itunes or whatever on the iphone with the earphone jack, and we unplugged the jack while playing, the earpiece is disactivated. To get sound again, just plug in the earphone again while playing then stop the music and unplug the earphone. do this a few times, and should work.

thanks for the help u all smile.gif))

This post has been edited by chuan1961: Jun 8 2008, 09:44 AM
gengstapo
post Jun 8 2008, 10:18 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

^ thanks for the tips even i never encounter the situation. havent playing music with earphone yet tongue.gif

nokia2003
post Jun 8 2008, 01:37 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(chuan1961 @ Jun 8 2008, 08:38 AM)

Added on June 8, 2008, 9:44 am
OK GUYS!! did a google and it seems most of the time its because when playing itunes or whatever on the iphone with the earphone jack, and we unplugged the jack while playing, the earpiece is disactivated. To get sound again, just plug in the earphone again while playing then stop the music and unplug the earphone. do this a few times, and should work.

thanks for the help u all smile.gif))
hmm, as far im concerned for most ipods. the song will automatically be paused prior to the removal of the earphones.
IpohBoY
post Jun 9 2008, 04:40 PM

722 posts

Sorry for being off-topic. But I just want to ask any iphone users here experience having the bad condition of speaker? Where if you open some song, u can hear the 'exploding" or 'bursting' sound from there speaker.
d@odao
post Jun 9 2008, 04:43 PM

Daodao
2,648 posts

QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Jun 9 2008, 04:40 PM)
Sorry for being off-topic. But I just want to ask any iphone users here experience having the bad condition of speaker? Where if you open some song, u can hear the 'exploding" or 'bursting' sound from there speaker.
the speaker is mono...thats why the quality is bad...
if u try listening in softer volume still ok...for me at least...
IpohBoY
post Jun 9 2008, 04:45 PM

722 posts

And sometimes i also feel that the volume is too soft despite having turn it to the max. And i tried installed this thing called volume booster but no difference

0.1238sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:50 PM