QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 22 2008, 10:52 PM)
Am also planning to go back to school so I might need to recalculate some cost due to RM0 income for 18 months *gulps*
MBA?When or How do you know you're ready to buy
May 24 2008, 05:05 PM
5,989 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
May 24 2008, 07:01 PM
1,504 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Petaling Jaya |
hi tinkerbel,
your 18-months hiatus at school will cost a bomb right? do you think it's worth the forgone opportunity cost? i've sliced and diced this issue of education advancement many times, perhaps you can share your opinion at how you view this matter. i'm not getting any younger, and i have doubt that the industry will be willing to pay more for the paper qualifications than the experience gathered over time. i'm mindful of the cost of acquiring the education. leveraging is good, especially during stable times.. how much downpayment is one thing, but i believe that, there's great value in the ability to close/settle/dispose the loan should situation becomes so adverse (e.g loosing a job and bleeding interest rates).. my dad once advocates saving 50% of the property price before acquiring it. how the acquisition is completed (e.g. how much downpayment to pay, and how much loan to take) is secondary. QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 22 2008, 10:52 PM) @GreyBear, 20% downpayment is considered high. Most people I hear takes up max 90%. I too am looking at putting 20% down and taking a 80% loan. I can take a 75% loan but I'm keeping that 5% as a cushion. At least if I lose my job, I still have at least 6 months of reserve in the bank. Am also planning to go back to school so I might need to recalculate some cost due to RM0 income for 18 months *gulps* |
May 25 2008, 12:55 AM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@lwb,
U haf a point re the forgone opportunity cost vs the need for an education advancement esp since in my line, education is not seen as a criteria in climbing the ladder [I'm sure U know what I mean] but I'm getting a little tired running the rat race hence am considering taking a short break. Within my industry, there's an annual scholarship offered in conjunction with Astro and our local Association and I'm aiming for that scholarship. Assuming if I get it, I probably can afford to leave the rat race for 12-18 months. There's a pretty interesting course related to my field of work at RMIT and with my current qualifications, I should be able to complete the 18 month accelerated course within 12 months. The only thing that stopped me from going in 2008 was my failure in being awarded the scholarship. I probably try for it again this year. Assuming I get it, I probably will go otherwise I will just stick around. There are just too few courses available locally to pick from I also have this passion for education hence it might lead me to a different field altogether but if I had to advise someone, I would ask him to consider ROI. I was speaking to a friend and we both feel it's not worth investing RM98k on the Manchester Business School MBA especially in MY as most employers are not willing to pay the kinda salary unlike in the West. As to buying of the property, I certainly do not have 50% of the property price, just 28% but am going ahead to get it. Am still considering my application for the 2008 scholarship as I don't want to deplete my savings!!! *grins* Ah well.. perhaps it's high time I find a man. What say U? *grins* |
May 25 2008, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(lwb @ May 24 2008, 07:01 PM) your 18-months hiatus at school will cost a bomb right? do you think it's worth the forgone opportunity cost? i've sliced and diced this issue of education advancement many times, perhaps you can share your opinion at how you view this matter. This is a very important point to consider. I remember reading an article years ago about the viability of doing an MBA. Even for people in the USA, the breakeven point (i.e. when your MBA course fees are matched by extra income) is several years - can't remember how many exactly, but slightly less than a decade.i'm not getting any younger, and i have doubt that the industry will be willing to pay more for the paper qualifications than the experience gathered over time. i'm mindful of the cost of acquiring the education. Here in Malaysia, the value of post-grad qualifications is not well recognised by employers so the opportunity cost is very high indeed. |
May 25 2008, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 25 2008, 12:55 AM) Am still considering my application for the 2008 scholarship as I don't want to deplete my savings!!! *grins* Ah well.. perhaps it's high time I find a man. What say U? *grins* Perhaps it's high time for a man to find u!! Go for the scholarship application. Wish you success in getting it. |
May 25 2008, 03:40 PM
Yes it is important to evaluate ROI before taking on the MBA if the purpose is for U to make more $ - as I've mentioned, it's v difficult to justify spending RM100k on an MBA as it will take probably a decade before that ROI is met; unlike in the West where it's about 2-3 years [I got this from a survey except I no longer have the URL, sorry]
QUOTE(jchong @ May 25 2008, 02:27 PM) U haf one/any to introduce? This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 25 2008, 03:41 PM |
May 25 2008, 05:03 PM
May 25 2008, 07:37 PM
@jchong,
Yea - please don't turn this into some Kopitiam thread |
May 25 2008, 09:52 PM
Don't have resume, but he's Head of Private Banking at a local bank.
May 25 2008, 10:04 PM
@jchong,
HmMm... bank officers do get special home loan interest |
May 25 2008, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 25 2008, 10:04 PM) @jchong, Haven't found the right girl. Must be choosy mah! HmMm... bank officers do get special home loan interest Just like you, so eligible... you're not simply gonna take any guy that comes after u right? Oops, going OT again |
May 26 2008, 12:36 AM
6,657 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ May 25 2008, 10:04 PM) @jchong, u think i m dead? HmMm... bank officers do get special home loan interest QUOTE(jchong @ May 25 2008, 10:19 PM) Haven't found the right girl. Must be choosy mah! haha Just like you, so eligible... you're not simply gonna take any guy that comes after u right? Oops, going OT again |
May 26 2008, 01:09 AM
5,170 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: /k//k/, /k/undasang |
if you can afford the course, better pay for it and give it to more deserving poor ppl.
May 26 2008, 01:47 AM
@yewkhuay,
Of course U aren't dead; Ur just not mine @jchong, Perhaps U should check if he's looking before U make that recommendation. I don't take rejections too easily @ah_suknat, I definitely won't be able to make ends meet if I paid for the course on my own hence the scholarship |
May 26 2008, 09:46 AM
May 26 2008, 10:19 AM
5,170 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: /k//k/, /k/undasang |
you won't need a scholarship if you can afford an 800k house would you?
there are parents who would do ANYTHING just to get money for their kids to higher education. |
May 26 2008, 10:29 AM
@ah_suknat,
It is not a 'public' scholarship which is opened to the entire world; just for industry members and it is only valid for post graduate studies. From what I see, I don't think any of those applicants were 'needy' last year. If at all there are any this year I might just opt out - I afterall have a disadvantage as this would be my 2nd Masters. @jchong, So when U gonna start doing something instead of just talking? I think we're totally going OT so let's get back to it! This post has been edited by tinkerbel: May 26 2008, 10:30 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0166sec
5 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:26 AM |