Trading Card Games [TCG] Magic The Gathering | V3

zio
post May 22 2008, 02:59 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(bansai @ May 17 2008, 09:11 PM)
karry won...... tongue.gif

i'll try to push them to do a draft and T2 every week and FNM during friday nights once they get all the stuff sorted out.. hope everybody had fun..
Heh, push us more tongue.gif Still looking at the best time for FNM, which is meant to be on Friday night but everyone got hot date? how? tongue.gif Need to check with ManaWerx and others so that leagues dont clash and that everyone will be able to play more MTG smile.gif

So go push hong again tongue.gif

QUOTE(michaeltoh @ May 17 2008, 10:09 PM)
who is the TO over at Toybox la?
Alvin, elvyn? Heh, I was told his name so not too sure what his spelling. smile.gif When are you going to TO over at our place la?
zio
post May 28 2008, 02:54 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Hey guys, I quit Magic since 4th Ed and now since Toybox (partly my store) is carrying the game, thought it will be a good time to dabble into the game.

I used to play a Black deck, mainly discard and land destruction with cards like Hymm to Tourach, Hypnotic Spectre, Drain Life, Strip Mine etc

Is there soemthing similar now? Or has the game changed entirely that this is no longer viable?
zio
post May 28 2008, 03:02 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(camlok @ May 28 2008, 02:56 PM)
Black has moved out from targeted LD, it's mostly red and sometimes green now. Discard is still around, but not much random discard anymore, it's either you choose, or your opponent choose.
Ahhh I see.. well i think back in those days, Red was the LD colour, Black, well, we had Strip Mine, cant remember what cards we have.. but it was really discard that was the theme.

Well, discard is something I like in any TCG, so that will still be my main choice.
zio
post May 28 2008, 04:15 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Playbook @ May 28 2008, 03:49 PM)

Lol I have no idea what cards those are. I dont have any of my old cards anymore, so starting fresh will be the way to go. Time to probably do some reading.. Its moer than 5 years of catch-up to do tongue.gif

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 28 2008, 03:56 PM)

as for black i would strongly suggest going rack/discard...
current meta u wont see much of discard hate (dun remember seeing dodecapods sb anymore for a long time)...
only problem would be the elf liege but playing black with access to removals, its not a problem especially with racks putting on the pressure together with the black kngiht (pro white = eat this liege!!!)...
Heh discard is always my favourite. Whats rack?

QUOTE(blueye @ May 28 2008, 03:57 PM)

U must like the line "u have no more cards, I win!!!!"  rclxms.gif

I like burning deck (not using fire la...)
Heh, well, lets jst say it is better than smacking 20 and saying I win. tongue.gif
zio
post May 28 2008, 05:31 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Oh they reprinted The Rack? I remembered having it in my deck during 4th Ed days.
zio
post May 28 2008, 06:33 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

lol alot of card names which I have no idea what they are. Looks like its back to the basic for me tongue.gif
zio
post Jun 18 2008, 11:20 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

How did Haste bock get mentioned here? tongue.gif Its more vicious than MTG I can tell you that!

Anyway:

Toybox 500G Tournament, July 20th @ Toybox

On July 20th, we will be having a RM500 tournament where the prizes are:

1st - RM200
2nd - RM100
3-4 - RM40 each
5-8 - RM30 each

And we will also be giving out a pack to participants from 9th to 40th. The maximum number of players is 40 players.

Fee is RM25 for those who register and pay by end of June. It will be RM30 from then onwards.

Date: July 20th, 2008
Venue: Toybox
Time: 11am onwards
Format: Standard

If you have any questions, feel free to ask. Thank you smile.gif
zio
post Jun 25 2008, 03:16 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

I think its a way to help generate awareness for their retailers. And also, allow more people to play in pre-releases without saying it is too far, no transport etc

Sometimes, players may not know that a store existed in a particular area and in-store pre-release will give the chance to that shop to market itself.

Just pop by your local hobby store and tada, you get a pre-release. As a retailer, I get where they are coming from but it will definitely lose the excitement and grandeur of a central pre-release.
zio
post Jun 25 2008, 06:49 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Playbook @ Jun 25 2008, 06:05 PM)
I respectfully disagree with this particular approach...

... I do agree that some players may not know stores exist in a particular area.

However, having in-store pre-release is not the best solution to that particular problem.

For example, having a centralised MTG website publicize the stores is quite useful - something that Karry's & Cassandra's & Melvin's website does quite well.

Furthermore, all stores having regular FNMs would also be listed on the Wizards pages for FNMs.

They would also be listed on the DCI tournaments page.
If I may take ToyBox for an example - I didn't know about that particular store, until I was recommended it by someone (and I must admit I really like the quality environment there) - thus, word-of-mouth & good website publicity helps it reach out to players.

A centralised pre-release, in fact, can aid this publicity.

(1) If you go to a centralised pre-release, it's often a chance to meet up with a lot of players. I have lost count of the number of times I have seen players meet each other for the first time, and they ask "So, where do you usually play Magic?" "Oh, I play at XYZ..." "Oh, I didn't know there was a place there, I should go there to..." or "Where do you live?" "I live in the ABC area" "Hey, me too! Maybe we can get together and play Magic".

(2) If you go to a centralised pre-release, it's a chance for the stores themselves to take up a publicity drive - we have seen how CCE Games does it with their buntings, Manawerx is also present, etc.

Thus, I don't think having a centralised pre-release is to the detriment of the "publicity" of the other stores.  I do think that it's a detriment to the immediate economic benefits that can be gained by the other stores - yes, stores getting to hold a pre-release will certainly be a big boost in 1st week revenues following a pre-release - that's the time when a new set is in high demand.

But sometimes, having a centralised pre-release that benefits the community at large, will lead to trickle-on effects at the stores at later dates.

Again, another case in point, I remember at one of the pre-releases, CCE Games mentioned they would start kicking off drafts with whatever product they had obtained during the pre-release.  This was a natural feed for players to move from a large pre-release event to regular drafts at their local store(s). Local store(s) took the opportunity to cement knowledge about where they were based, and the events they were offering, during this large, centralised pre-release.

Speaking of events, again, that's another bullet point of support for centralised pre-releases.  A large centralised pre-release is the natural avenue for stores to publicize their upcoming store events, no?  Great chance to reach out to the gaming public.

If there was a large centralised event held every week, or every 2 week, then that would be very detrimental to the stores.

But this is a large centralised event held every few months, followed by a regular circuit of tournaments at local stores.

If we want to fix publicity of unknown stores, or just raise general store awareness, I would offer the following solutions:
(a) Publicize store locations, store opening hours and store events via MTG-Malaysia or similar website.  Also publicize it via the Wizards website.
(b) Hold Sanctioned events - they are automatically listed on the DCI tournaments page.
© Stores should volunteer to hold main circuit events (GPTs, etc.) or even just Special Sanctioned Events e.g. Manawerx's Block Constructed afternoons, or CCE Games tournaments (forgot what it was called), etc. If they rotate these events across the stores, great publicity for each store...
(d) Stores should send flyers to each other - for their own customers to know where the other places to play are - this requires collaboration and trust, of course.

Anyway, those are just my thoughts.
True, those are true for the market in this region. I agree with your points and have been trying to implement some of them as well. Because the players are usually mainly in one area. Seriously, if we did MTG earlier and no one knew about us, that would have been a failure on our part.

But since they implemented it worldwide, I believe the whole implementation was with States in mind where traveling to a centralised pre-release can be a pain in the butt.

And having pre-releases is not exactly a shoo in for sale though. Many people will just travel to these stores to play and purchase the bulk of their stuff from their favourite local store, so de-centralising the pre-release will not garner sales but it will generate more traffic to a certain extent.
zio
post Jul 4 2008, 04:46 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Jul 3 2008, 08:43 PM)
Just a side question,

Does anyone knows where to buy Ultra Pro Deck Boxes?

I checked both Manaverx and CCE Games House and they said they don't sell them.
We sell them. Oh, we are Toybox. tongue.gif We are located at Paramount Garden.

We also do draft sessions but at the moment its a bit impromptu tongue.gif

zio
post Jul 4 2008, 06:32 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(munyip7 @ Jul 4 2008, 06:30 PM)
Pls post your for sale stuff under Garage Sales with [WTS] heading..... moderator pls give warning..... lolz!! smile.gif
Hey, was just answering his question. tongue.gif Cant help it if I was the store owner ma. tongue.gif
zio
post Jul 8 2008, 01:32 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

The last centralised pre-release tongue.gif Still got pre-releases ma after this.

But I'll be in Singapore. sad.gif
zio
post Jul 8 2008, 02:57 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Candy bear but eating hash brown? tongue.gif
zio
post Jul 9 2008, 09:30 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Lol damn. Haatyai. tongue.gif I was about to say it was Sunway Pyramid tongue.gif
zio
post Jul 14 2008, 04:29 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Just a reminder (I can do this right?):

Toybox 500G Tournament
On July 20th, we will be having a RM500 tournament where the prizes are:

1st - RM200
2nd - RM100
3-4 - RM40 each
5-8 - RM30 each

All participants will get one Eventide booster each. The maximum number of players is 40 players.

Date: July 20th, 2008
Venue: Toybox
Time: 11am onwards
Format: Standard
Fee: RM30

For the boosters, if you are wondering, if we cannot give it out on that day (if stock never sampai), then we will let you claim it once the stock arrives.

Map to Toybox can be found at our website, www.toybox.com.my
zio
post Jul 14 2008, 04:43 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(munyip7 @ Jul 14 2008, 04:42 PM)
SOooooooooo misleading....... I tot can win 500 Grand...... ahahah
Lol what currency can I use to get 500 Grand? tongue.gif
zio
post Jul 15 2008, 04:43 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

hrmm i think i can get even more zeros at some African country. Zimbabwe maybe? smile.gif
zio
post Jul 30 2008, 10:57 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Its Friday and Saturday. Anytime we have 8 ready players, terus boleh draft. This will run for the whole day for both days.

And once you are bored with drafting, can go check out board games, Flames of War miniature or even cross over and play WoW TCG tongue.gif
zio
post Jul 30 2008, 11:52 AM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(Haiyo @ Jul 30 2008, 11:34 AM)
Question, is the draft sactioned?
Yep, it is.

QUOTE(snowdrop89 @ Jul 30 2008, 11:38 AM)
What set is it again ?

SSE or EEE ?
It is EEE. But if anyone wants to draft any other set, just let us know earlier so we can prepare the stock for it.
zio
post Jul 30 2008, 01:01 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

What should be a regular event? The draft? smile.gif

Lets jst say it might be biggrin.gif *cues mysterious music* tongue.gif

0.0562sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:51 AM