Trading Card Games [TCG] Magic The Gathering | V3

Fyrekat
post Apr 20 2008, 08:54 PM

2,232 posts

Is it just me or does anyone else also feel that Shadowmoor is a bit underwhelming?
Fyrekat
post Apr 20 2008, 10:00 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(blade825 @ Apr 20 2008, 09:37 PM)
nope most of ermm are crap standalone rares
Guess most people won't be cracking packs like they did with previous sets, huh?
Fyrekat
post Apr 21 2008, 02:13 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Apr 21 2008, 01:19 PM)
Yeah prerelease was damn fun... abit tiring but lots of fun... best prerelease ive ever played and i think i improved abit... consistent win of 3-1 in all matches

but I... lost my folder of new cards... all lorwyn to shadowmore gone.... Im pretty in a bad mood now...
Aiyo, how did that happen?
Fyrekat
post Apr 21 2008, 03:17 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Apr 21 2008, 03:08 PM)
put it aside while i was rearranging my cards... side of my chair... cushion at the back place there... suddenly after rearranging my cards forgot id put it there and berambus hahaha.... stupid me... dope~

im still hoping the hotel mgmt are keeping them tho... coz when i left... no one is around dy that time...
Well, call them quick, hopefully it's been kept in lost & found. Maybe you can ask Mike to help also coz he's got a good relationship with the hotel people there since all his big events are run there.
Fyrekat
post Apr 21 2008, 04:13 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Apr 21 2008, 03:26 PM)
Dear Lord...
I called this morning... luckily they kept for me.... Im so damn lucky... Just got the call from CITITEL... Guess ill keep on playing magic after all hahahaha
Good for you thumbup.gif
Fyrekat
post May 15 2008, 03:26 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(munyip7 @ May 12 2008, 11:26 PM)
Lolz.... Mike... judge....lolz......
Dun la say like that...
Fyrekat
post May 15 2008, 03:50 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(ho_chg @ May 14 2008, 08:00 PM)
To answer your question..no it cannot be returned to your hand from the graveyard. Usually an ability on a creature applies only when it is in the play zone. It only works in other zones, if it says so.
You're pretty much spot on that a permanent's abilities can only be played when it is in the in-play zone and when an ability refers to an object it is usually an object in the in-play zone as well.

If an ability can be played in another zone it will be stated unless it's clear that the ability can only be played from a particular zone i.e. Faerie Macabre

'Discard Faerie Macabre: Remove up to two target cards in graveyards from the game.'

You can only play that ability when Faerie Macabre is in your hand since you can only discard cards that are in your hand.
Fyrekat
post May 15 2008, 05:53 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 15 2008, 04:52 PM)
another question is can my opponent response to me playing Faerie Macabre ability (discard into RFG 2 cards in grave)...

and indescent soulstroke rite...
i activate its ability and then how it goes?
is it i play the creature first and only pass my priority to the opponent or vice versa?
thanks...
Yes, the ability can be responded to like anything else that goes on the stack. They can't respond to the discard since that is a cost.

For the Soulstoke, when you play the ability it goes on the stack. Then you have priority. If you pass, your opponent has priority. If he also pass then the ability resolves and you put the Elemental into play.
Fyrekat
post May 23 2008, 10:47 AM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(Playbook @ May 23 2008, 05:49 AM)
2 Questions on Lark

First Question
I have a Mirror Entity and Body Double in Play.
Body Double is copying a Reveillark in the Graveyard.
Graveyard: Reveillark, Venser, Shaper Savant and Mulldrifter.

I activate Mirror for zero (X + Y activations to bounce X permanents in play, and to retrieve Y instances of Mulldrifter).

My question is whether the Body Double(d) Reveillark that goes to the graveyard, can target the Body Double once it's in the Graveyard, thus permitting the combo to loop.

Reveillark says when it leaves play, trigger effect...  But can the Body Doubled Reveillark go to the graveyard first before I target it? That's the question I have.

Second Question
I have a Crovax, Ascendant Hero in Play.

Opponent has Spellstutter Sprite.  Can the Opponent cast the Spellstutter Sprite and use it to immediately counter a spell (before it dies) (assume no Scion of Oona in play)? Or does the -1/-1 effect take place immediately and the Spellstutter Sprite goes to the graveyard - does the trigger effect take off?  Or even does the Spellstutter Sprite come into play, the effect goes on the stack, the Sprite dies, then resolve counter effect without counting the Sprite that died?
For 1st question, ME's ability resolves setting all creatures P/T to 0/0, state-based effects check and puts all creatures into their owner's graveyard. BD Reveillark triggers and goes onto the stack. At this point, BD is already in the graveyard and so is a legal target. Right?

2nd question, the SS comes into play as a 0/0 and its ability triggers, state-based effects check and it's put into its owner's graveyard. Trigger ability then goes onto the stack and when it resolves it will counter the spell if it's converted mana cost is X or less, where X is the number of faeries in play not including the SS.

Edited the earlier mistake sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Fyrekat: May 23 2008, 11:34 AM
Fyrekat
post May 23 2008, 11:35 AM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 23 2008, 11:10 AM)
the 1st q i dunno...
but the 2nd one i agree wit fyrekat as when it comes into play the trigger goes on the stack b4 the state base effect kicks in...

btw fyrekat u mistaken spellshutter's ability XD
Hehe, somehow blur! Corrected, thanks for pointing out laugh.gif

Btw, the trigger only goes on the stack after state based effects are checked, not before.

This post has been edited by Fyrekat: May 23 2008, 11:36 AM
Fyrekat
post May 23 2008, 12:09 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 23 2008, 11:38 AM)
so confusing but then the ability does go to the stack so the spell is countered?
Yes, the ability will still go onto the stack after SS is put into the graveyard.

SS comes into play as a 0/0 and its ability triggers, state-based effects check and it's put into its owner's graveyard. Trigger ability then goes onto the stack and when it resolves it will counter the spell if it's converted mana cost is X or less, where X is the number of faeries in play not including the SS.

Added on May 23, 2008, 12:13 pm
QUOTE(blade825 @ May 23 2008, 11:51 AM)
Statebased effect triggers 1st before the ability is triggered. But ... If the player has say 4 mutavault in play. He may in fact activate 4 mutavault and cast the spellstutter sprite and counter for 4 or less...
Minor nitpick, statebased effects don't 'trigger'.

This post has been edited by Fyrekat: May 23 2008, 12:13 PM
Fyrekat
post Jun 16 2008, 12:02 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(Playbook @ Jun 16 2008, 04:28 AM)
Mun Yip! We haven't seen you play Magic for so long... are you still playing? Thought you would have been at the PTQ in KL.

p.s. Vincent Gan wanted US$750 for his place, so the f*cker might as well shove a stick up his ass. He better use the stupid invitation to actually go there, or he's just going to waste a slot in Berlin.

p.p.s. But it's really great that Hari's going.  He's already planned out his trip.
So he won the PTQ and selected the plane ticktet instead of US$375?
Fyrekat
post Jun 16 2008, 12:19 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(blade825 @ Jun 16 2008, 12:06 PM)
nope he is going berlin . he called me saying lets go together
SHUDDER! laugh.gif
Fyrekat
post Jun 16 2008, 03:26 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(Playbook @ Jun 16 2008, 02:08 PM)
aiya... cannot count minyak & toll like that lah... got kawan-kawan like you in Ipoh, sure must visit once in awhile  smile.gif
Wah, so you guys wanna come to Ipoh for a weekend of Magic and food ah? Hmmm... what can we plan out for you all? How many ppl are we talking about?
Fyrekat
post Jun 17 2008, 03:00 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(kalspawn @ Jun 16 2008, 11:23 PM)
Iypoh!!! I want come!!! If car pool than itll be no problem for me one hehehehe... plan it out... if it falls on a right date... i CONFIRM go one... my two senseis are there... time to get beaten again... ouch
What dates would be good? Since there are no public holidays in the next few months it'll have to be on a regular weekend right? And can't do on National Day since a number of people will be at GP-Manila.

Can I propose sometime in September? Say September 20 & 21? That gives people a bit of rest from after the GP.

Then maybe we can do some funky formats like Elder Dragon Highlander!
Fyrekat
post Jun 17 2008, 04:23 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(blade825 @ Jun 17 2008, 03:04 PM)
hmm actualli a non standard format will be pretty cool. maybe a two headed giant or like u said elder dragon highlander.  september sounds fine biggrin.gif
Okies, who else for September 20 & 21? Gives us 3 months to plan the trip and also format. A weekend of fun and games! Whee!

Crazy Constructed like Elder Dragon Highlander

Crazy Limited like Ironman booster draft! shocking.gif laugh.gif
Fyrekat
post Jun 17 2008, 05:37 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jun 17 2008, 04:32 PM)
Hari damn rich bugger .. LOL blink.gif
This kinda trip won't work if you're thinking purely in terms of a cost-to-benefit ratio. It'll have to be like a holiday trip, go for a weekend to enjoy the food in Ipoh and also play lotsa Magic. People will carpool and share room for hotel for one night. The last time I checked there was this pretty good hotel with a family room for like RM150 or so. 2 double beds and even a lounge area if I'm not wrong, so if you wanna continue gaming thru the night also can. And definitely the room can fit more than 4 ppl if that's what ppl want.

As for the gaming, I'm sure we can work something out in terms of prizes for participation. Some nice stuff can be given out for sure.

So really, if people are keen on this kinda idea, we'll definitely do something. Hmm, how about we do a poll in MtG Malaysia to see if we can get this baby off the ground?
Fyrekat
post Jun 17 2008, 06:53 PM

2,232 posts

QUOTE(Playbook @ Jun 17 2008, 05:47 PM)
i'm in with Hari. i'll definitely come, can skip any other events in Klang Valley. Should be real fun!

Request - can we do something on Saturday and Sunday? So we are actually spending a night there.  We can go out makan-makan also on Saturday night.  One day morning trip with evening return may be a bit too tiring and rushed =)  We can actually have a like a super Saturday Afternoon Magic ("SAM") session in one format, followed by another event on Sunday.

Mid-to-late September sounds good.
This is essentially the kinda thing I was thinking about. A day trip is just too rushed and if you wanna have gaming and food as well, it would be impossible. I was actually thinking if you guys are game, you could come down Friday after work! Something like:

Friday (evening) - Check into hotel, go for supper.
Saturday - Breakfast, then we start gaming. Break for lunch, more gaming. Break for dinner, even more gaming! Then supper again thumbup.gif
Sunday - Repeat as above, except that you'll return either before or after dinner.

This way, you max out on the food exploration and also gaming!
Fyrekat
post Jun 17 2008, 09:17 PM

2,232 posts

Well, so far we have playbook, blade825 and kalspawn who are very keen! Let's gather a few more people and have a gaming weekend!

And it's Haste Bock if I remember correctly laugh.gif
Fyrekat
post Jun 19 2008, 11:11 AM

2,232 posts

Hi guys, for your information the GPT-Manila in Ipoh has been rescheduled to this weekend.

GP Trial - Manila @ Game Vault, Ipoh

Our GPT-Manila has been rescheduled to run this coming weekend, 22 June 2008. Details again are as follows:

Date: June 22, 2008 (Sunday)

Time: 10.30 am

Format: Lorwyn Block Constructed (Lorwyn, Morningtide & Shadowmoor)

Entry fee: RM20

Prizes :
1st Place - 3 Round Bye to GP Manila + 15 Shadowmoor Boosters
2nd Place - 9 Shadowmoor Boosters
3rd & 4th Place - 5 Shadowmoor Boosters
5th to 8th Place - 3 Shadowmoor Boosters
9th to 16th Place - 2 Shadowmoor Boosters
17th to 36th Place - 1 Shadowmoor Booster