P1 P1 W1Max Thread unofficial thread., The One and Only WiMax Broadband

SUSMatrix
post Jul 8 2008, 09:11 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Suk @ Jul 7 2008, 04:51 PM)
omg, today i saw WiMAX Trial BETA in mamak outside FTZ.net Subang.
I tried to connect but it doesn't seem able to connect using my laptop wireless.

I think need special device to connect.
You need a Wimax modem. Wifi doesn't works. Mass rollout of Wimax will probably in 2009 or later when most laptop have Wimax built-in just like wifi today. I understand the new Intel chip has support for this, so we will not see Wimax in mass market until there's more lappy's out there with the tech built-in. It'll take some time for price to go down and so.

Added on July 8, 2008, 9:13 am
QUOTE(hokkianu @ Jul 1 2008, 05:13 PM)
FYI: Redtone also have WiMax license smile.gif in progress
No point having a license and sitting on it. Probably just waiting for someone else to buy it from them....damn license-squatters!!!

Like Time....now sold 3G license to DIGI... doh.gif

This is malaysia boleh....Cronies get license, become middle-man, sell the thing for a profit for doing nothing.

Welcome to Pak Lah's goverment.

Added on July 8, 2008, 9:14 am
QUOTE(kons @ Jun 27 2008, 02:23 AM)
With fresh 50M injected by Intel, they have the juice to delay the rollout while keep paying the staff. smile.gif
50million for Intel is chicken feed...sneeze also gone already....but hopefully they're committed to help companies like P1 to see the implementation through.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 8 2008, 09:14 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jul 8 2008, 04:56 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(eucalyptol @ Jul 8 2008, 09:17 AM)
Will it be implemented in handphones as well?
Being limited to laptops only seems like a waste to me.

Prefer a solution for all hardware ... desktop & laptop being able to connect to handphone for connectivity as well.
Wimax mobile already available back in 2005...in Korea that is.

http://www.gizmag.com/go/4845/

0.0509sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:42 PM