Nokia Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE", Nokia's first touch S60 device

rayzrblade
post Nov 9 2008, 04:54 PM

You are nobody in cyberworld
5,040 posts

the price will be RM2000-Rm2500. the headset is sort of like a bonus for the early birds, so with or without the headset the price will be the same.

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Nov 9 2008, 04:55 PM
rayzrblade
post Nov 10 2008, 12:08 AM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(madman20 @ Nov 9 2008, 11:26 PM)
Here's my side..I arrived and saw the promoter holding the phone and chatting to her colleague..I didn't bother asking..I hoped that there's another unit..apparently not..
Went around the roadshow..then back to her..wanted to see the phone as she was holding it..but she buat tak tao =.=

Then I asked "Is this the 5800?"
Her muka like dunwan layan "Yeah"..I asked "Could I have a look?"

She just hand over to me and never really explain anything..

I took and mess around with what I know..lol

Camera + Flash - I couldn't really see the final picture..as the screen is small..need to actually upload it..but after snapping..it look quite sharp..and man..the flash is bright!

Screen - I love the touch screen..some comments over the net states that it's more like a "press-screen"..I've gotta disagree..just a slight tap from either finger or nail..it picks up..I wouldn't say it's perfect..sometimes it does not detects..but I'm pretty much happy

Messaging - Using the full qwerty is fun..though people with big fingers like me..may have slight trouble...but heck..there's a stylus-pick..though it's not attached with the demo phone

Price & Date of availability- Upon asking the price and expected date..she said price should be RM2k plus..and available end of December

I know that the date and price mentioned contradicts with everyone that has visited the booth..therefore I wouldn't recommend believing it yet =/

She then immediately ask "Want to pre-order this phone? Can get free stereo headset when you pre-order..no need to pay anything..."

I was like "Ngeh? Nevermind..It's coming out end of December right? I'll get it then"

I then left..lol
eh? either she is bad mood or she doesnt like u..hehe..
when i asked..i donno which one of them..they are only 2 units demo-ing..
She explained from the screen is 3.2 touchscreen..blabla....to the " what is AGPS"..i was like sweat.gif
She keeps talking n talking..like wanna promote and sell the phone at the spot... laugh.gif
let me test the headsets quality and stuff...how to type sms..the auto rotate thingy..almost everything she knows..
in the end..ask me wanna preorder or not..i was thinking "why not" even though i dont really like the phone..wahahahahahah
and guess what..when i left..i was like " crap..i forgot to test the loud speaker!!!"
then i went back and ask her to let me play with the phone again..she was like...SURE..try all u like...

my conclusion for the phone..
- too plasticky
- a lil bit laggy ( after she as explainined to someone bout the qwerty keypad..then she turn the phone back to vertical position, she wanted to start talkin bout other sms input method but the horizontal qwerty mode just hang there for a moment..then she quickly tap tap tap..then only it went back normal.. laugh.gif
- nothing much bout the touch UI..nothing fancy...just Symbian 60 with bigger icons..
- a bit on the bulky side
- camera..soso..
- loudspeaker..LOUD..but lack of bass..

i think thats it for me...there goes my "dream phone for 2009" cry.gif

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Nov 10 2008, 12:16 AM
rayzrblade
post Nov 13 2008, 03:28 AM

5,040 posts

are u guys sure its a BT headset or just a Wired nokia headset?
rayzrblade
post Nov 28 2008, 01:07 AM

5,040 posts

Accordin to gsmarena, 5800 already started shippin, costs slightly more than 700 euro though.
rayzrblade
post Nov 28 2008, 01:22 AM

5,040 posts

"The mass launch of the device now will most probably lower the retail price closer to the estimated target just in time for Christmas."

http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_5800_xpressm...re-news-692.php
rayzrblade
post Dec 31 2008, 03:10 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(BloodyCrystal @ Dec 31 2008, 02:00 PM)
with that pricing it wont be an exclusive phone as i bet everyone will afford to upgrade their phone to this phone
its was NEVER an exclusive phone since the start man..

every ali abu akao will get it..dont forget alian will get also... biggrin.gif
rayzrblade
post Dec 31 2008, 08:24 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 31 2008, 07:58 PM)
basically the price is around RM1350 - RM1380. biggrin.gif

but i got a special price, tho. hehehe. (sorry would not disclose here) biggrin.gif

my favourite Neko Ramen Video, wooohooooo!!!

AWESOME!!!

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 31 2008, 01:43 PM)
pics or GTFO. (whops sorry, too much of kopitiam.)

i still don't believe it to be THAT cheap  hmm.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
rayzrblade
post Dec 31 2008, 09:49 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 31 2008, 07:58 PM)
basically the price is around RM1350 - RM1380. biggrin.gif

but i got a special price, tho. hehehe. (sorry would not disclose here) biggrin.gif

my favourite Neko Ramen Video, wooohooooo!!!

AWESOME!!!

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 31 2008, 01:43 PM)
pics or GTFO. (whops sorry, too much of kopitiam.)

i still don't believe it to be THAT cheap  hmm.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 31 2008, 08:40 PM)
kekeke you got me tongue.gif

okay la, laugh la laugh la, hehehe!!
you just officially swallowed ur owns words.. whistling.gif
rayzrblade
post Dec 31 2008, 10:45 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(Blackbird @ Dec 31 2008, 09:44 PM)
Wow, looks like this phone has got quite a number of bugs/problem reported..
http://discussions.europe.nokia.com/discus...scending&page=1

And crazy test by the Russians.
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=r...tml&sl=ru&tl=en
its OUCH to see the crazy test man...
rayzrblade
post Jan 1 2009, 03:18 PM

5,040 posts

after a day usage, 5800 got so dirty, dusty and greasy

no worries, just rinse it with water..

make sure its thoroughly cleaned

what bout germs? well..just dip it into a jug of beer..

after that, put it into washing machine to spin dry..

Few minutes later.....Taa Daa!!! its as clean as new

WHAT? the battery cant last? ....hmm..just put it in freezer when not in use to prolong battery life..

Lastly, to make ur 5800 unique, just go skin it with fancy looking skins like this one...

This post has been edited by rayzrblade: Jan 1 2009, 03:21 PM
rayzrblade
post Jan 1 2009, 03:27 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(SEP1i @ Jan 1 2009, 03:22 PM)
to 5800 user,
does it better than iphone ?
let a non user answer u that..hehe..

u mean better in what sense?

design? - iphone sure more sleek
function wise - tube got a bit more.
UI - iphone sure more fancy..

others...let them debate for their tube.. biggrin.gif
rayzrblade
post Jan 1 2009, 04:57 PM

5,040 posts

QUOTE(ResQ @ Jan 1 2009, 03:56 PM)
where can i get this phone in pj area?
go subang parade..digital one
rayzrblade
post Jan 1 2009, 08:16 PM

5,040 posts

since those who bought it didnt bother to show u guys where they got the good deal..since i m free..i do a small favor for u guys who wanna get it...

atlantis ss2/60 ( if the address i got online is correct la)

0.0555sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:09 AM