7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE", Nokia's first touch S60 device

Seaedge
post Apr 10 2008, 03:26 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

every brand wants the piece of the cake... trying to get some market share...
Seaedge
post Oct 6 2008, 10:53 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(dirsly @ Oct 6 2008, 09:50 AM)
i thnk prc wil b ard rm2500..i want 1..
lol... rm2.5k for things like that... catching up with iphone's pricing ka???
Seaedge
post Oct 6 2008, 04:28 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 6 2008, 03:13 PM)
buy da phone!!! you'll get the pick for FREE! biggrin.gif
lol... go buy a black pic and stick a nokia sticker oso same wat~
Seaedge
post Oct 7 2008, 09:55 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

spOp.. no wonder u look so familiar.. saw ur face in siaogang's pictar..

y this tube no bat sonar?
Seaedge
post Oct 7 2008, 10:39 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

early 2009 most probably.. as i read in engadget...

QUOTE(engadget)
The Foundations said it best in their 1968 classic, but seriously, why let us down like this? Nokia didn't mind busting out a litany of press shots and all the specifications one could need to get amped up about the 5800 XpressMusic, but it obviously has something holding it back from launching in "mature markets" before 2009. In an announcement that's just as disappointing to the suits in Espoo as it is to those in North America and Down Under (just to name a couple), we've now learned that the touchscreen-dominated handset will only be available in seven countries in Asia, the Middle East and Europe before 2009 dawns. Even worse? Not knowing how deep into next year we'll have to wait for this thing here in the US of A. Catch our feelings spelled out in video form after the break.

Seaedge
post Oct 9 2008, 01:29 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Oct 8 2008, 10:36 PM)
monash uni....

i tink i see it quite clearly with red and green buttons at btm and full touch screen...

unless there is a similiar phone like that i din noe
dun be surprise if that is a chinaphone ... icon_rolleyes.gif

or is it omnia that you saw? or the best, find back that fella...
Seaedge
post Oct 9 2008, 10:04 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

russia phone launch oso quite fast... alot of phone oso they can review earlier than others...

from the review, the screen is on par with iphone's screen.

looks like CNY phone for me... laik spOp said.. hahhaha

QUOTE(mobile-review)
Impressions
Call quality was never an issue with the 5800, as it easily lived up to our expectations of a Nokia-branded phone. Ring tones sounded quite loud and we were happy with them even in noisy environments. The vibro alter was of moderate strength.

You also can mute the 5800's notification sounds and ringtones simply by flipping it face-down.

So, first things first, when the 5800 Tube is going to arrive? On October 5th it will kick off in Russia and several other markets; however the rest of Europe won't see it until early 2009 solely because Nokia don't want to tear up their own portfolio before the Christmas season. The 5800 XpressMusic will retail for 279 Euros before subsidies and rebates on all European markets. Intestingly, while they will face some deficit early on, nobody is going to alter the phone's price tag. It's vitally important for Nokia to stick to the price point they announced several days ago to get themselves another bestselling phone.

Nokia's first touchscreen smartphone isn't a mixed bag by any means. Going for it are a stable OS, decent sales package that very few other phones have, and a wealth of multimedia features onboard. For a moment it may feel like a perfect phone, but there is no such thing, right? In fact it does have some glitches in the way of software (for example when adding the Birthday field the phone automatically closes the contact menu), but we certainly expected to see more of them in this newly designed operating system.

On balance the 5800 Tube offers pretty decent sound quality, audible stereo speakers, WiFi connectivity, and a sizable display that will remain the best on the market for a quite a while. Frankly, I can hardly find anything to criticize the 5800 for, given how little it goes for - there has never been a phone like this before and now it raises the bar to a wholly new level. Well, it's about time I wrapped it all up - no point in praising this phone any further, I suppose.

Another thing of note about the 5800 Tube is that it simply won't face any challenges on the market - the Apple iPhone is a steep, fashion-savvy offering that has been deprived of many standard features, so a comparison between these two phones would seem a little too far-fetched. It does have smoother and more eye-candy menus, similar video capabilities, but that's about it - in fact the iPhone packs in around a tenth of what the Nokia 5800 has to offer in terms of functionality. It wouldn't be right to put them in one league and then berate the iPhone for lacking so many useful feats. So let the iPhone remain the ultimate choice for all fashion-conscious users, while the Nokia 5800 will be the way to go for everyone who is after a well-rounded do-it-all solution.

The revolution is already here and its name is "Nokia 5800 XpressMusic" - there will be no other similarly geared and at the same time well-balanced phone in 2009. It sports an unparalleled price/quality ratio and changes the rules for all phone makers out there, including Nokia itself.

In the next installment of this review we will cover the 5800 Tube's OS - S60 5th edition - as well as all its features and abilities. Don't forget to check back for more!
I like how they comment 5800 comparing with iphone. basically it is not to piss off those iphone owners.

This post has been edited by Seaedge: Oct 9 2008, 10:17 AM
Seaedge
post Oct 9 2008, 10:17 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

snakevenom oldman ka?? red is good for oldman watttt

This post has been edited by Seaedge: Oct 9 2008, 10:18 AM
Seaedge
post Oct 9 2008, 10:52 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

but it wud be better if i can install garmin rather than looking at googlenokiamaps.

wonder if garmin support that touchscreen...

This post has been edited by Seaedge: Oct 9 2008, 10:56 AM
Seaedge
post Oct 9 2008, 11:37 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 9 2008, 11:31 AM)
i love you, sweetpop  wub.gif

so can we expecting a Phone Web Browser review from you?
i jeles....

u lap him coz he got 5800 in hand... biggrin.gif
Seaedge
post Oct 9 2008, 02:21 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 9 2008, 02:12 PM)
wow..Nokia 5800, first touch-screen phone by Nokia. Sounds really cool..but kinda risky though.

Any idea when its expected to be available here in Msia and wads the price like?
stated to be retail at Euro279...

but sampai here... adding taxes and stuff, prolly ended up to 1.7k
Seaedge
post Oct 9 2008, 04:03 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

Yeap, with euro retail tag, it wont go too far away. N78 was retailed RM1899 when it launched for ori set. smile.gif only if the phone is in high demand but low supply, then only might reach to the price u stated.
Seaedge
post Oct 9 2008, 06:20 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(derravile @ Oct 9 2008, 05:46 PM)
nokia's really no good at designs
second that...
Seaedge
post Oct 9 2008, 07:15 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 9 2008, 05:57 PM)
too barlike - aiyor nokia designer run out of ideas issit
buat qwerty - aiyor why so bulky one
make high specs - wahlao so expensive, buy laptop better
make low/mid specs - what the heck, so cheap one the phone
tag lower price - aiyor everyone will be holding the same phone as me
tag high price - siao ah, who wan to buy

human are hard to please  doh.gif  doh.gif
if human easy to please ah... the whole world is at peace liao lor...
dats y i owis sarcastic reply on those fellas..

Added on October 9, 2008, 7:16 pmbut i really second that nokia memang takde designer yg baik.. too many phone with n81-ish look.. come on.. they can do better than that alot.....

This post has been edited by Seaedge: Oct 9 2008, 07:16 PM
Seaedge
post Oct 10 2008, 10:35 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Oct 9 2008, 08:35 PM)
i know how you feel. just ignore ppl like that.

and also ppl who keep asking price and keep saying it will be 2.5k
ignore them if they dont even bother to read previous pages, surf mobile phone sites, read reviews etc
i dun ignore.. i ridicule them... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Oct 10 2008, 10:30 AM)
hey smashpop did they ever mention what's the RRp price for malaysia once release?
nope.

Added on October 10, 2008, 10:36 amif he did, there wont be speculated price...

This post has been edited by Seaedge: Oct 10 2008, 10:36 AM
Seaedge
post Oct 10 2008, 09:51 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

jehutyz so lucky able to play with it...
Seaedge
post Oct 13 2008, 03:32 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

so it is slow.. guess early batch firmware wont do any good judgement. iphone during the 1st time also isnt as good as it had become now. biggrin.gif

Seaedge
post Oct 14 2008, 02:48 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

i like 5800 better then...
Seaedge
post Oct 16 2008, 01:08 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(smashpOp @ Oct 15 2008, 11:39 PM)
ahah thats right. he is allowed to publish pics from any sites as long as the watermark is till there.

oh btw SymbianpOp does not have any advertisements. biggrin.gif
HAHAHA... looking for someone to advert ur blog? brows.gif

iphone smsing using its keyboard is nothing. tongue.gif takes me 1 week to get used to it though but after 1 month.. im in speed tapping~

so i hope tube does that same thing..

alphanumeric cannot shot off... rotate the screen and tap on qwerty -> YENG! (bergaya)

Added on October 16, 2008, 1:11 pm
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 16 2008, 09:12 AM)
yup, none of the touch screen is easy when comes to SMS-ing
i take 30 sec to complete a long SMS on a normal phone with keypad
but i need to double up the time if i type/touch with a touch screen phone, lol

still, nothing gonna stop me from getting a Nokia TUBE  rclxm9.gif
normally nokia would tagged at retail price
we might get it cheaper at handphone shops out there
u char only... laugh.gif i type equally fast with touchscreen and conventional... except samsung. havent own one b4.. sweat.gif

for HTC, i install those keyboard similar to iphone type.. if the original plain white keyboard, jangan harap..

This post has been edited by Seaedge: Oct 16 2008, 01:11 PM
Seaedge
post Oct 16 2008, 05:13 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 16 2008, 04:01 PM)
try tapping on your screen without looking at it  brows.gif
pana... i did type without looking on the screen sometimes... tongue.gif pasal know where is the qwerty key placing.. hahahahah

now kenot sad.gif coz sell my iphone ady... cry.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0411sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:22 AM