QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ May 23 2011, 10:57 AM)
I've also went to a "preview" of this, and yes, the scheduled 4 days training was to be held in SJ too, either Grand Dorsett or Holiday Villa - i can't recall.
It was very easy (imho) to spot the "Sales orientation" rather than training orientation (apologies to those who find it good):
1. The "volunteer graduates" are paid some commission. In addition, they mostly (not all) know nuts compared to an active trader with their own systems / methodologies of entries & exits from trading non-options. Even a neophyte may know more than some of these "graduates" in terms REASONING of the methodologies - which, imho, are the most important element of any types of trade.
2. When it is STATED that there are "volunteers" coming back to "help out", U know that the methodologies taught aint working well - if they were, would they be back to help out FOC (supposedly)? I'm sure doing good and good karma comes back to U but via such a channel meh? Donate the $ lar better.
3. The BIGGEST in my face thing jumping around was: It's so easy, xx minutes a day cukup + the "now now now discount! & easy payment".
Alo, if it's true and it's a near sure thing - then why would they be selling the methodology instead of making a killing every day (or whenever there's no holidays, Feds' announcements, etc.)? Options wor, HUGE leverage wor. The "preview" made it sound as though "leverage" is a sure win / +ve thing WITHOUT highlighting that it's a double-edged sword - it can kill U easily if you're on the wrong end. No mention on REASONINGs and Interpretation / Analysis was said - just follow the 20+ counters that Guru-ji says to track and trade those.
end of "Guru-jis BS filter"

Oh btw, for RM14K to RM20K - I'd have bought several basics to advance options trading books + learned hands-on liao. Note - either the above or self-education, your mileage may vary (drastically in some cases)
hi wong, i agree with most of the points you make and all i can say is that this is the nature of the training business, and i feel the "problem" is that none of the companies involved is willing to market it differently because it is almost impossible to guarantee success. Leveraged products are high risk investments and definitely not easy to master. I have attended one such workshop by another and have so far so good combined with other critical factors, been able to trade consistently and that is after 3 solid years of hard work. No short cuts.
Your 2nd point, i beg to differ.

I also volunteered a number of times for my guru on 2 main reasons, firstly, to assist out of friendship and mentorship, secondly, i thought it appropriate that we should share the difficulty in the trading journey through our real life experiences.
These are my humble experiences.
QUOTE(edyek @ May 27 2011, 10:40 AM)
So many So call Guru of investment in properties, stocks, options, etc. etc.
And all they did was make profit from one or two investment, then make more money from the course they are giving rather than investing.
Totally bullshxt, I must say.
edyek,
not total bullshit (though i agree a lot of it is bullshit) i would say ..
I believe these sort of things comes in 2 sides. First, there are definitely a lot of courses built on hype. Secondly, many people just simply love these sort of hype.
There have been successes but what people fail to see most of the times is that those successes did not come easy for those who have been successful. Many trading wannabes need to reign in their desires and over zealousness when looking for gurus. Making money is not an easy game, what more the game is trading of margin products.