ramcooler problem, cant stick Y_Y

TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 7 2008, 10:04 PM, updated 18y ago

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

i'm using 2x40mm fans + 1x 40mm 'fan frame' coz everything i remove liao to show the light...

i have no idea how to stick it, so i used faber castell tack to stick it...but once my ram is hot, the tack will soften and my ramcooler will drop...

so what can i DIY to make it stay there?

This post has been edited by dj.eRicZzz: Apr 7 2008, 10:50 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 7 2008, 10:09 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Apr 7 2008, 10:06 PM)
gam kuat bro tongue.gif
gam kuat? later wan cabut ram how?
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 7 2008, 10:12 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 7 2008, 10:09 PM)
alamak that ram already got heatspread and light so its not "supposed" to use fan anymore.

It doesnt look any pretty to me now anyway tongue.gif
But which part u talking about using bluetack?

get some thermal sticky pad or something that called like that
T_T the ram cacat abit last time oc now need higher voltage oni can start...so now using 2.6v without oc...

so ram temp = can cook egg....

the tack is at the both fan blade(middle) of the other side, sticking to the ram
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 7 2008, 10:15 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 7 2008, 10:09 PM)

Added on April 7, 2008, 10:11 pmBtw is that 12" fan supposedly for the ram too?
abit over killing is it?
i let u see...it's for the HSF

TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 7 2008, 10:20 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Apr 7 2008, 10:18 PM)
if u have dawai bro, why dont u DIY a hook that can hook with the ram head closure?
i need smoething neat coz my cpu inside very very messy already...
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 7 2008, 10:24 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Apr 7 2008, 10:18 PM)
u can try to use industrial grade double sided tape..the black one..that one really strong even in high temp...it will leave mark on ur rams once u remove ur cooler, but easy to be clean and remove...
hmm good idea...but i will use only a small piece, can tahan?
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 7 2008, 10:46 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Apr 7 2008, 10:42 PM)
no prob...it can last longer than u thought.depends on the weight of the frame and fans.... smile.gif
see it drops again

TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 7 2008, 10:58 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(m2n-e @ Apr 7 2008, 10:54 PM)
where u stay? if near by, i can help la. tongue.gif
hmm..puchong...near or no...

Added on April 7, 2008, 10:59 pm
QUOTE(za_az @ Apr 7 2008, 10:53 PM)
Agreed notworthy.gif Can oso use ur hsf fan hole to hook it if u use dawai icon_rolleyes.gif Nice setup bro brows.gif
but i scad i hook it wont stay still

This post has been edited by dj.eRicZzz: Apr 7 2008, 10:59 PM
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 7 2008, 11:07 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Apr 7 2008, 11:04 PM)
LOL... make like allngap ram cooler, but alu version.  brows.gif
oni got thin alu..then the light also cover liao not nice liao

Added on April 7, 2008, 11:11 pm
QUOTE(karthyhu @ Apr 7 2008, 11:06 PM)
how does the ram cooler look like mind showing ?
simple 2x 40mm fan oni..it's in the pic...look at it..come on dude =.=

This post has been edited by dj.eRicZzz: Apr 7 2008, 11:11 PM
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 7 2008, 11:35 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(karthyhu @ Apr 7 2008, 11:14 PM)
i mean the other side other cooler
My suggestion is.

get few cable ties
tie 2 cable ties throu the fan hole on the left and right and tie 2 more cable ties throu the 2 cable ties. try to tie the 2 cable ties to the ram slot find some hole or something.

Hope u understand
understood but ram slot where got hole T_T

Added on April 7, 2008, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(clawhammer @ Apr 7 2008, 11:35 PM)
You should use cable ties or double sided tapes, etc. I don't think using glue is a good idea. Btw, why aren't you running dual channel?
biostar mobo, dual channel mode....the ram thingy abit weird one...

This post has been edited by dj.eRicZzz: Apr 7 2008, 11:36 PM
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 8 2008, 12:32 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Apr 8 2008, 12:25 AM)
I have 2 x 60mm fans on top of my Ballistix Tracers too and I just use zip ties but will change to double sided tape soon.
mind to post a pic of how u tie the fan?
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 8 2008, 01:30 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(bokbeng @ Apr 8 2008, 12:54 AM)
have u try the 3m tape?
hmm..at first i haven't think of taping it..but now maybe i will try the black double sided tape
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 8 2008, 08:53 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(amalmuahahax @ Apr 8 2008, 08:32 AM)
omg.. u put tacky on ur tracers.. i hope them tracers are not ruined.. tsk tsk cry.gif

my suggestion.. buy ram cooler from thermaltake.. its like a crab/ketam thingy.. clings onto the sides of ur ram slots nicely icon_rolleyes.gif
haha no worries the ram still look good as new....i need something cheap ma..thats why i DIY a ramcooler...if not i straight go buy lo
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 9 2008, 03:49 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

hahaa...so far working with the black double sided tapes...stick for hours without dropping...thanks to the dude who suggested it
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 9 2008, 10:20 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 9 2008, 07:46 AM)
shocking.gif !!!OH MY GOD!!! shocking.gif

Why did you use that gum on your tracers?
Obviously you've voided the warranty on your ram.

Crucial won't accept RMA when you've done that on your ram.
You shouldn't have done that in the first place. sweat.gif

Unless you have a way to remove those gums without leaving a single trace, Crucial won't accept your ram at all when you want to RMA.

Anyway, i know the reason why you need higher vdimm just to stabilize your system compared to when you first bought your ram. I don't know how to explain it, but i'll get my sifu to put on a new thread about using higher vdimm on hardwares.

By the way, you should've bought Vizo Armada and remove the fan rotor and frame just like what you did on your own modded ram cooler.
Vizo Armada has it's own clip on each side of the ram cooler.

Take a look on the picture below.

i din use gum, i just use the faber castell tack...something like plastacine but sticky...easily removed
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 10 2008, 09:40 AM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 9 2008, 11:21 PM)
Owh, good for you then.
Now i suggest you to RMA that ram before it's burnt.

Next time you want to use it at stock speed DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz @ 4-4-4-12, just use 1.9 ~ 1.95Volts.
The ram should be stable at that speed on those voltage. Unless your memory controller is faulty, then you might want to RMA your board too.

Faulty memory controller could lead into unstable system too.
It's not 100% faulty, it's the same as the ram, it deteorates as times goes by.
hmmm thx for your advise...normally to get 1100mhz need how many vdimm? just a rough voltage
TSdj.eRicZzz
post Apr 10 2008, 07:43 PM

Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

QUOTE(johnkor @ Apr 10 2008, 11:31 AM)
or u can get from AllnGap Ram cooler at a resonable price!
hmm now the ram cooler is fine...dont need to buy

0.0230sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:59 AM