IAFM, CPS, CamPro, All Discussions here.

TSericmaxman
post Apr 7 2008, 09:38 PM, updated 14y ago

-
7,951 posts

What is it with Proton? Why so many name? We have the Waja CPS, Persona with IAFM. SO which is which? I know that CPS is Cam Profile Switching..but the rest? blink.gif blink.gif
Why so many names?then what about the previous generation Waja Campro? or GEN-2 Campro?

This post has been edited by ericmaxman: Apr 8 2008, 01:26 PM
RCrex
post Apr 7 2008, 09:42 PM

The man who turn impossible to possible...
2,251 posts

campur
maCampro

jlce10
post Apr 7 2008, 09:43 PM

1,061 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 7 2008, 09:38 PM)
What is it with Proton? Why so many name? We have the Waja CPS, Persona with IAFM. SO which is which? I know that CPS is Cam Profile Switching..but the rest? blink.gif  blink.gif
Why so many names?then what about the previous generation Waja Campro? or GEN-2 Campro?
yeah i wonder why too?
TSericmaxman
post Apr 7 2008, 09:43 PM

-
7,951 posts

Because simply its -----> Buatan MALAYSIA?
dstl1128
post Apr 7 2008, 09:45 PM

4,464 posts

Malaysian like buzz word, eg VVT-i, DVVT, VTEC, IAFM, CPS, lol.
andychan
post Apr 7 2008, 09:58 PM

ASTERLAVISTA BABY
2,662 posts

IAFM mean what?
sphiroth
post Apr 7 2008, 10:01 PM

2,804 posts

Here you go..

http://www.proton.com/innovation/rnd/campro.php
RCrex
post Apr 7 2008, 10:08 PM

2,251 posts

QUOTE(andychan @ Apr 7 2008, 10:58 PM)
IAFM mean what?

IAFM = ! M Fat Man
yu_wang
post Apr 7 2008, 10:17 PM

144 posts

more info here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Campro_engine

For those lazy ppl, i'll try to summarize. There are 3 Campro engines out there:
1. Plain old CamPro (all proton cars after Waja and before New Saga)
2. CamPro IAFM (New Saga and latest batch Persona)
3. CamPro CPS (Gen-2 CPS and Waja CPS)

The plain CamPro was supposed to have cam profile switching technology since the very first version, but it was dropped to save cost(?). As a result it had a big ugly torque dip at lower rpms (i.e. no power unless you rev high).

IAFM stands for Intake Air Fuel Module (lol @ i am fat man). I dont know how it works, but basically the torque dip is gone. No need to rev so high, easier to handle in city driving and traffic jams.

CPS is the real Cam Profile Switching technology, which also has the same effect as IAFM. Maybe a little bit more overall power. It comes together with something called VIM (Variable Intake Manifold) but usually it's shortened to CPS only.

Interesingly, if you try to read CamPro CPS in full (no short form) then it sounds like Cam Profile Cam Profile Switching. blink.gif It should also be noted that none of these are cutting edge technology developed by proton. They exist in many other cars, probably under different names.

Sorry if i made any mistake in my post...cya icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by yu_wang: Apr 7 2008, 10:20 PM
SUSathlonxp
post Apr 7 2008, 10:17 PM

1,067 posts

campro = no variable cam, no variable valve, no nothing

iafm = TVIS found on 1st gen 4AGE from AE86 from year 1985 yawn.gif

cps = variable valve lift which dont work. a sophisticated and well designed engine with valve lift tech should make 165hp like B16A. this "new technology" could be found in 1988 EF9 CRX B16A

vim = variable inlet manifold

today is 7/4/2008. phailed

This post has been edited by athlonxp: Apr 7 2008, 10:19 PM
sphiroth
post Apr 7 2008, 10:30 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(yu_wang @ Apr 7 2008, 10:17 PM)
more info here:

For those lazy ppl, i'll try to summarize. There are 3 Campro engines out there:

The plain CamPro was supposed to have cam profile switching technology since the very first version, but it was dropped to save cost(?). As a result it had a big ugly torque dip at lower rpms (i.e. no power unless you rev high).

IAFM stands for Intake Air Fuel Module (lol @ i am fat man). I dont know how it works, but basically the torque dip is gone. No need to rev so high, easier to handle in city driving and traffic jams.

CPS is the real Cam Profile Switching technology, which also has the same effect as IAFM. Maybe a little bit more overall power. It comes together with something called VIM (Variable Intake Manifold) but usually it's shortened to CPS only.

Interesingly, if you try to read CamPro CPS in full (no short form) then it sounds like Cam Profile Cam Profile Switching.  blink.gif It should also be noted that none of these are cutting edge technology developed by proton. They exist in many other cars, probably under different names.

Sorry if i made any mistake in my post...cya  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thats why they doesn't mention Campro CPS, just CPS. Even the emblem at the boot also just CPS 1.6.

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Apr 7 2008, 10:17 PM)

iafm = TVIS found on 1st gen 4AGE from AE86 from year 1985  yawn.gif

cps = variable valve lift which dont work. a sophisticated and well designed engine with valve lift tech should make 165hp like B16A. this "new technology" could be found in 1988 EF9 CRX B16A

To be fair, the hp in CPS is low than the older VTEC engine, some are contributed by complying with Euro-4 standard (something about polution etc... sweat.gif ).

RCrex
post Apr 7 2008, 10:35 PM

2,251 posts

technology followed far from behind the century eh?
yu_wang
post Apr 7 2008, 10:37 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 7 2008, 10:30 PM)
Thats why they doesn't mention Campro CPS, just CPS. Even the emblem at the boot also just CPS 1.6.
Whoops. I stand corrected, thanks. doh.gif
SUSathlonxp
post Apr 7 2008, 10:38 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(RCrex @ Apr 7 2008, 10:35 PM)
from the 80s rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

sphiroth
post Apr 7 2008, 10:40 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(RCrex @ Apr 7 2008, 10:35 PM)
What to do.. sweat.gif Even CPS they got from Lotus, if develop from scratch.. doh.gif

QUOTE(yu_wang @ Apr 7 2008, 10:37 PM)
Whoops. I stand corrected, thanks.  doh.gif
Maybe they want to drop the name 'Campro' becoz it already have bad reputation.. whistling.gif
yu_wang
post Apr 7 2008, 10:45 PM

144 posts

Then again, Gen-2 CPS engine block still says Campro CPS. I have photographic evidence. whistling.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 7 2008, 10:47 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(yu_wang @ Apr 7 2008, 10:45 PM)
Then again, Gen-2 CPS engine block still says Campro CPS. I have photographic evidence.  whistling.gif
Same with Waja, but Campro is not mention in car registration.. whistling.gif
RCrex
post Apr 7 2008, 10:48 PM

2,251 posts

then what is in the registration?

campur?
o maCAMPRO ?
hehe
sphiroth
post Apr 7 2008, 10:51 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(RCrex @ Apr 7 2008, 10:48 PM)
then what is in the registration?

campur?
o maCAMPRO ?
hehe
CPS 1.6 only. nod.gif
the_catacombs
post Apr 7 2008, 11:47 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

btw, rebore the campro block and fit bigger bore piston to increase the displacement lor....
aizad02
post Apr 7 2008, 11:50 PM

Look Further, Work Harder
784 posts

errr...IAFM is external device at the air intake rite?so,is there any chance to put it to normal campro arr??
sphiroth
post Apr 7 2008, 11:54 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 7 2008, 11:47 PM)
btw, rebore the campro block and fit bigger bore piston to increase the displacement lor....
I prefer changing the hi-cam to a higher one. Can save petrol if kept revving under 4k rpm. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Apr 7 2008, 11:50 PM)
errr...IAFM is external device at the air intake rite?so,is there any chance to put it to normal campro arr??
I think its possible. hmm.gif
aizad02
post Apr 7 2008, 11:57 PM

784 posts

it tot original cam campro oledi use high cam.or i'm wrong???dat's why campro power only comes at high revs.
sphiroth
post Apr 7 2008, 11:59 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Apr 7 2008, 11:57 PM)
it tot original cam campro oledi use high cam.or i'm wrong???dat's why campro power only comes at high revs.
CPS has 2 set of cam, once hit 3.8rpm, it will change to high-cam.
cloudstrife07
post Apr 8 2008, 04:06 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

u can't compare with an old generation engine. new engine has stricter rules on emissions etc etc.

try compare the CPS 1.6 with Toyota Altis VVT-i 1.6 or Suzuki Swift Sport VVT 1.6. that's the closest that i can compare.

CPS is leading in that comparison theoretically.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Apr 8 2008, 12:07 PM
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 04:43 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 7 2008, 11:54 PM)
I prefer changing the hi-cam to a higher one. Can save petrol if kept revving under 4k rpm.  icon_idea.gif
I think its possible.  hmm.gif
change to highcam can save petrol??.. hmm.gif hmm.gif

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 7 2008, 11:59 PM)
2 sets of cam??... or u mean the cams has 2 profile lobes like vtec??... blink.gif blink.gif

somehow i dont see any difference in performance during switch over of the cam profile.... doh.gif doh.gif
paultantk
post Apr 8 2008, 06:45 AM

407 posts

Campro is the engine family. They're phasing out the normal Campro and are now offering it in two flavours.

1) Campro IAFM - think Honda i-DSI
2) Campro CPS - think Honda VTEC

Added on April 8, 2008, 6:46 am
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 7 2008, 11:47 PM)
I think there's not much engine block to bore it already unfortunately sad.gif

This post has been edited by paultantk: Apr 8 2008, 06:46 AM
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 07:16 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 04:43 AM)
change to highcam can save petrol??..  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
2 sets of cam??... or u mean the cams has 2 profile lobes like vtec??... blink.gif  blink.gif

somehow i dont see any difference in performance during switch over of the cam profile....  doh.gif  doh.gif
The 2nd cam in CPS is not as 'wild' as VTEC and it also engage early (3.8k) compared to VTEC.
farique
post Apr 8 2008, 07:47 AM

8_8
2,147 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 04:43 AM)
change to highcam can save petrol??..  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
seriously, this is the first time I heard such thing as installing high cam can save petrol. laugh.gif

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 07:16 AM)
The 2nd cam in CPS is not as 'wild' as VTEC and it also engage early (3.8k) compared to VTEC.
so, they basically have the secondary cam eh? How's the activation of the higher cam? Is it similar of to the VTEC's?

I thought CPS is something like DVVT, VVTI, etc? hmm.gif
kulaan
post Apr 8 2008, 08:48 AM

164 posts

can install CPS or IAFM to older CamPro engine? How much the cost? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 09:22 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(farique @ Apr 8 2008, 07:47 AM)
seriously, this is the first time I heard such thing as installing high cam can save petrol. laugh.gif
so, they basically have the secondary cam eh? How's the activation of the higher cam? Is it similar of to the VTEC's?

I thought CPS is something like DVVT, VVTI, etc?  hmm.gif
CPS got two profile cam (low lift and high lift)... As long as keep revving before the activation point, it still use low lift, thus normal FC. whistling.gif
SUSaltimi
post Apr 8 2008, 10:38 AM

2,173 posts

B16A is useless below 5000rpm even with B20B block but after that thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif .....
For drivability and fuel economy I think CPS is better.

TSericmaxman
post Apr 8 2008, 10:50 AM

-
7,951 posts

And if so the CPS is better, how come the redline is still at 6500RPM (same as 2002 Waja). I thought it can rev higher?
SUSaltimi
post Apr 8 2008, 11:01 AM

2,173 posts

The actual red line is 7200 rpm (rev cut). Try for yourself la....
yngwie
post Apr 8 2008, 12:09 PM

| Ãøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÃðmÑ!
3,092 posts

CPS = cannot perform smoothly tongue.gif
SUSaltimi
post Apr 8 2008, 12:16 PM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Apr 8 2008, 12:09 PM)
CPS  = cannot perform smoothly  tongue.gif
It's quite smooth actually... have u actually driven one before?

TSericmaxman
post Apr 8 2008, 12:17 PM

-
7,951 posts

As mentioned earlier, in THEORY, it can outperform VVT-i and those. Anyone tested yet?
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 12:19 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ Apr 8 2008, 06:45 AM)
Campro is the engine family. They're phasing out the normal Campro and are now offering it in two flavours.

1) Campro IAFM - think Honda i-DSI
2) Campro CPS - think Honda VTEC
noler doh.gif doh.gif

IAFM is about variable length intake manifold... something like VIM, but controlled mechanically.... totally different with i-dsi.... i-dsi utilises 2 sparkplug at each cylinder.... they fires in sequence for good fuel saving or fires together for better power.... it is controlled by car onboard ecu....

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 07:16 AM)
then whats the use of cps leh??... jz to cover the torque dip in the dyno chart??.. doh.gif

QUOTE(farique @ Apr 8 2008, 07:47 AM)

I thought CPS is something like DVVT, VVTI, etc?  hmm.gif
nope... think CPS as something like vtec.... they have similar number of camshaft with any other engine.... but normal engines have 1 cam lobe per valve.... but cps/vtec has 2 different cam lobes on 1 valve... when cps/vtec activates, a solenoid activates and slides a rod to connect both cam profile rocker arm together and thus, the valves play according to the higher cam lobe/profile...

understand??.. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(kulaan @ Apr 8 2008, 08:48 AM)
can install CPS or IAFM to older CamPro engine? How much the cost? biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
can.... get complete set cylinder head and intake manifold with wiring and ecu all together and fit into ur existing campro...

ehh wait... does normal campro has the same cylinder block as the new campro cps??... hmm.gif
TSericmaxman
post Apr 8 2008, 12:24 PM

-
7,951 posts

should be as proton is fitting it in all cars in stages
yngwie
post Apr 8 2008, 01:11 PM

| Ãøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÃðmÑ!
3,092 posts

QUOTE(altimi @ Apr 8 2008, 12:16 PM)
It's quite smooth actually... have u actually driven one before?
already tested the new saga / gen2 and waja cps. helping my friend to decide either on gen2 or waja.
compare with the campro without cps, the one with cps has better and smoother ride.
and most of all, better low end torque distribution.
no more auto revs / jerking thumbup.gif
TSericmaxman
post Apr 8 2008, 01:19 PM

-
7,951 posts

Gen2 or waja? why no persona or waja? more comparison..
-gemini-
post Apr 8 2008, 01:24 PM

B& OF /B/LOCKAIDS
615 posts

QUOTE(yngwie @ Apr 8 2008, 12:09 PM)
CPS  = cannot perform smoothly  tongue.gif
quoted for pure win and gold status.
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 01:34 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 12:19 PM)

then whats the use of cps leh??... jz to cover the torque dip in the dyno chart??..  doh.gif

VIM cover the torque dip I thinks. Because CPS open earlier than VTEC, it cannot use a wild cam like VTEC. A high lift cam would only give optimum power a high RPM. The higher the RPM, the higher lift is better. VTEC open at 7k (if not mistaken), thus it can utilize higher cam than CPS. High cam (high lift) is useless in low RPM. This is what I understand about cam profile system. Pls correct me if I'm wrong. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
WisePrince
post Apr 8 2008, 01:41 PM

320 posts

CPS is for volumetric efficiency for the engine due to the inertia of the petrol + oxygen mixture entering the combustion chamber..
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 03:34 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 01:34 PM)
VIM cover the torque dip I thinks. Because CPS open earlier than VTEC, it cannot use a wild cam like VTEC. A high lift cam would only give optimum power a high RPM. The higher the RPM, the higher lift is better. VTEC open at 7k (if not mistaken), thus it can utilize higher cam than CPS. High cam (high lift) is useless in low RPM.  This is what I understand about cam profile system. Pls correct me if I'm wrong.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
vtec open at about 5k plus i guess.... 7k almost end of the power graph lor....

campro cps using what ecu??... siemens??... u think anyway in the future someone would take campro cps cams and regrind the higher profile camlobe for better performance??.... hmm.gif den we can have power jump/increase like vtec or mivec... drool.gif drool.gif

QUOTE(WisePrince @ Apr 8 2008, 01:41 PM)
CPS is for volumetric efficiency for the engine due to the inertia of the petrol + oxygen mixture entering the combustion chamber..
u've mistaken VIM for CPS ler... doh.gif
WisePrince
post Apr 8 2008, 05:07 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 03:34 PM)
u've mistaken VIM for CPS ler...  doh.gif
owh.. really ar? hehe.. y ar? so, what is VIM and what is CPS?
Oly
post Apr 8 2008, 05:16 PM

Permanent Banned
3,827 posts

for b series...vtec open at 5800 rpm till rev cut and close down at 5500 rpm...
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 05:19 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 03:34 PM)
vtec open at about 5k plus i guess.... 7k almost end of the power graph lor....

campro cps using what ecu??... siemens??... u think anyway in the future someone would take campro cps cams and regrind the higher profile camlobe for better performance??....  hmm.gif  den we can have power jump/increase like vtec or mivec...  drool.gif  drool.gif
u've mistaken VIM for CPS ler...  doh.gif
Dont know much bout VTEC, but isn't 5k is too low, even MIVEC open at 5.5k.. hmm.gif

Donno what ecu CPS are using, how to know? shocking.gif

I also hope R3 would try to experiment regrind the lobe, which I think is possible icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif ... But how to change the activation point?

QUOTE(WisePrince @ Apr 8 2008, 05:07 PM)
VIM are commonly mistaken because CPS and VIM both are usually referred as CPS only.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Lim Ling Yang
post Apr 8 2008, 05:44 PM

I Drive Slowly. Do You?
2,545 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 05:19 PM)
But how to change the activation point?
Put new ecu or piggyback?
Find vafc....woops....find cafc .
Haha.
WisePrince
post Apr 8 2008, 06:03 PM

320 posts

from what i understand through readings from proton website & learnings..

what actually happend when we suddenly ram the accel pad is,
1st, more air come in,
2nd, due to bernoulli principle, the air 'drives' the fuel to come out from inside a venturi tube alike..
3rd, they mix together and enter inlet manifold...

this whole process takes time..
sometimes, in sudden accel, more air come..
the air flow cannot drive fuel to go out the venturi instantly...
thus, creating a weak mixture to be burned in combustion chamber...
oh yeah, it lags just milisecond, maybe microseconds..
but, the impact to the engine performance is tremendous...

so, they introduces the IAFM...
IAFM is all about adjustment made at inlet manifold..
it 'injects' fuel at the same proportion as the amount of air entering..
thus, creating a stable (same fuel-air mixture proportion) entering inlet manifold..

so, it helps reduce in 'power lagging' when we sudden ram the accelerator pedal..
and yes, it is due to inertia principle.

but, due to the same fuel-air proportion entering the combustion chamber, it does not help in increasing the horsepower.. it just able to give instant power..

however, at the inlet valve...
the mixture still have problem to enter the combustion chamber.. yeah, again it is due to inertia..
the mixture does not have sufficient time to enter combustion chamber bcoz the valve open and close at a very high speed... the time interval is so damn small..

so they introduce the CPS..

CPS is the adjustment of the cam, so that the inlet valve opens more, or longer, to let more air come in and more used air go out at high rev., to reduce error due to mixture inertia... how? by increasing the valve stroke length..

more mixture DOES enter the combustion chamber...
more used mixture DOES goes out from the combustion chamber to the exhaust..
in other words, the engine have more volumetric efficiency...

so, it does gives more horse power..

however, it does not disturbs the otto cycle opening (leading) and closing (lagging) degree..
nah~~ im not going into otto cycle anyway..

anyway...here some quotes from proton website..

SUSathlonxp
post Apr 8 2008, 06:20 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 01:34 PM)
VIM cover the torque dip I thinks. Because CPS open earlier than VTEC, it cannot use a wild cam like VTEC. A high lift cam would only give optimum power a high RPM. The higher the RPM, the higher lift is better. VTEC open at 7k (if not mistaken), thus it can utilize higher cam than CPS. High cam (high lift) is useless in low RPM.  This is what I understand about cam profile system. Pls correct me if I'm wrong.  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
the problem is with proton do not have the ability to produce a high revving and reliable engine at a reasonable cost..proton can put in any degree cam lobe they want..but the engine will not be reliable because it is made by proton at constant 7-8k rpm.

cps is running on a rather high cam profile (but not high enough to produce astonishing power), this make low end suffer and make fuel economy worse.

if proton want to make it a high peformance engine, the low rpm power too will suffer badly like a B16A or 4AGE.

we can say that campro is something in between power and fuel economy. but both dont works

cps as a high performance engine = phailed
cps as a fuel economical engine = phailed

japanese manufacture rarely produce those high peformance engine in low price family saloon anymore.
allenultra
post Apr 8 2008, 06:57 PM

9,027 posts

athlonxp

in GEN CPS and Waja CPS

both engine equip with VIM at low end, CPS at high end.
I don't see "make low end suffer and make fuel economy worse" in it.

Is CPS high performance engine? Maybe but not as high as vtec. I don't see any recent Honda 1.6litre car with vtec. Maybe compared with City/Jazz 1.5 Vtec?
CPS never meant to be fuel economical engine but with the VIM, it does gives some improvement.

Thus it isn't fail. Its just not good enough compared to the mature vvt-i or dual vvt-i.
syyang85
post Apr 8 2008, 07:05 PM

982 posts

is satria neo still stucked with campro?
or it has already upgraded with cps or iafm?
SUSathlonxp
post Apr 8 2008, 07:08 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Apr 8 2008, 06:57 PM)
athlonxp

in GEN CPS and Waja CPS

both engine equip with VIM at low end, CPS at high end.
I don't see "make low end suffer and make fuel economy worse" in it.

Is CPS high performance engine? Maybe but not as high as vtec. I don't see any recent Honda 1.6litre car with vtec. Maybe compared with City/Jazz 1.5 Vtec?
CPS never meant to be fuel economical engine but with the VIM, it does gives some improvement.

Thus it isn't fail. Its just not good enough compared to the mature vvt-i or dual vvt-i.
vim at low end? cps at high end? proton website tell u this of course..but real life it is not like this

CPS is not high peformance engine and not fuel economical engine..then wat is this engine good at? boat anchor perhaps.. thumbup.gif

if cps isnt mean for fuel economy..why should proton make something that is not economical and put it in a low cost everyday family saloon?
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 07:27 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Apr 8 2008, 07:08 PM)
vim at low end? cps at high end? proton website tell u this of course..but real life it is not like this

CPS is not high peformance engine and not fuel economical engine..then wat is this engine good at? boat anchor perhaps.. thumbup.gif

if cps isnt mean for fuel economy..why should proton make something that is not economical and put it in a low cost everyday family saloon?
I've managed to get average 18cent/km with highway cruising at 140km/h (CPS engage) and often rev till 7k rpm.. I've notice that by cruising at 120km/h and less revving above 4k rpm, I've managed to get 16cent/km. My previous ride, Saga LMST also give me 16cent/km for 120km/h cruising. whistling.gif

IMHO, Gen.2 and Waja is not a low cost family car. Saga is.

Gen.2=sporty
Waja=premium saloon

icon_rolleyes.gif

cloudstrife07
post Apr 8 2008, 07:33 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 8 2008, 12:17 PM)
As mentioned earlier, in THEORY, it can outperform VVT-i and those. Anyone tested yet?
yeah like i mentioned up there. sometimes THEORY can't be use in REAL LIFE situation, hence need hands-on testings. brows.gif
aizad02
post Apr 8 2008, 07:38 PM

784 posts

ya,in theory we only see the power of the engine.but what in real life alot other things have to be considered xspecially power to weight ratio.and even how well the person drives each car.
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 07:39 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Apr 8 2008, 07:33 PM)
yeah like i mentioned up there. sometimes THEORY can't be use in REAL LIFE situation, hence need hands-on testings. brows.gif
I don't think at low rev CPS can perform as efficient as VVT system as the latter varies the timing across the RPM range. But the best I think is i-Vtec where the lift is varies across the RPM range and VVT-L system (variable valve timing + lift) . notworthy.gif
tcting
post Apr 8 2008, 07:51 PM

No more GTI
1,448 posts

Someone with CPS please give comments...
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 07:54 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(tcting @ Apr 8 2008, 07:51 PM)
Someone with CPS please give comments...
Already have.. have uploaded 0-175 sprint video in Waja CPS thread an LYN top speed thread. whistling.gif
allenultra
post Apr 8 2008, 08:26 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Apr 8 2008, 07:08 PM)

Do you own a Waja CPS?
CPS for better performance, VIM for better fuel economy.

From the specs, the Waja CPS comes with CPS+VIM. So it isn't a fuel economical engine? Theoritically, it is compared to CamTakPro. Thus this engine beat CamTakPro in term of power and fuel efficiency, I don't see anything wrong with it.
Remember, it is an improved version compared to CamTakPro. Not compared to vvt-i and vtech.

I was driving waja 4G18P, it gave me 19cent/km for town driving.
Based on sphiroth driving method with high rev etc, 16cent/km certainly a good improvement. No?

The best I get on Waja 4G18P was 16cent/km, that was pure highway cruising.......
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 08:57 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(WisePrince @ Apr 8 2008, 05:07 PM)
VIM = variable intake manifold

at the intake manifold of the engine, it has 2 separate path for air/fuel to enter.... 1 is longer, another one is shorter.... when to use which one??... well, longer one is used during light throttle or cruising.... longer intake manifold path allows air and fuel to mix properly prior to combustion... besides, long intake path induces certain amount of backpressure, which is good for low end torque, especially for auto tranny cars...

shorter intake manifold path is used during heavy/full throttle... shorter path means air/fuel able to reach the combustion chamber faster.... thus, more power at high rpm range.....

what about IAFM??... its basically the same with VIM... the only difference is VIM is activated electronically while IAFM is activated via vacuum hose (mechanically)....

CPS is as i said before, similar with vtec/mivec technology.... the camshaft has 2 separate cam profile per valve.... 1 is normal street cam, another is highcams.... below a certain rpm activation point, it runs on standard cam profile.... pass that activation point, it switches to higher cam profile lobe, which will induce more power.....

why CPS and IAFM/VIM phails??... VIM phails because there isnt any major difference manipulating the intake length path... CPS phails because the higher cam profile isnt as great/powerful/high as vtec or mivec.....

I also hope R3 would try to experiment regrind the lobe, which I think is possible  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif ... But how to change the activation point?
VIM are commonly mistaken because CPS and VIM both are usually referred as CPS only.. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
err.... by manipulating the ecu mayb??... as far as i know, vtec has a vtec controller which controls which rpm to activate the rpm... not sure if proton/R3 will create some sort of gadget for CPS or not....

wait, i dont think it is necessary since there isnt any significant switchover between both cam profile... haha... laugh.gif

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 07:39 PM)
I don't think at low rev CPS can perform as efficient as VVT system as the latter varies the timing across the RPM range. But the best I think is i-Vtec where the lift is varies across the RPM range and VVT-L system (variable valve timing + lift) .  notworthy.gif
CPS and vvt is totally different thing lah... vvt/dvvt/vvti all those manipulates the cam timing (advance or retard according to driving condition/style)... while cps the technology of the valvetrain, similar to vtec or mivec....
rcracer
post Apr 8 2008, 09:07 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 08:57 PM)

at the intake manifold of the engine, it has 2 separate path for air/fuel to enter.... 1 is longer, another one is shorter.... when to use which one??... well, longer one is used during light throttle or cruising.... longer intake manifold path allows air and fuel to mix properly prior to combustion... besides, long intake path induces certain amount of backpressure, which is good for low end torque, especially for auto tranny cars...

shorter intake manifold path is used during heavy/full throttle... shorter path means air/fuel able to reach the combustion chamber faster.... thus, more power at high rpm range.....

what about IAFM??... its basically the same with VIM... the only difference is VIM is activated electronically while IAFM is activated via vacuum hose (mechanically)....

CPS is as i said before, similar with vtec/mivec technology.... the camshaft has 2 separate cam profile per valve.... 1 is normal street cam, another is highcams.... below a certain rpm activation point, it runs on standard cam profile.... pass that activation point, it switches to higher cam profile lobe, which will induce more power.....

why CPS and IAFM/VIM phails??... VIM phails because there isnt any major difference manipulating the intake length path... CPS phails because the higher cam profile isnt as great/powerful/high as vtec or mivec.....
err.... by manipulating the ecu mayb??... as far as i know, vtec has a vtec controller which controls which rpm to activate the rpm...  not sure if proton/R3 will create some sort of gadget for CPS or not....

wait, i dont think it is necessary since there isnt any significant switchover between both cam profile... haha...  laugh.gif
CPS and vvt is totally different thing lah... vvt/dvvt/vvti all those manipulates the cam timing (advance or retard according to driving condition/style)... while cps the technology of the valvetrain, similar to vtec or mivec....
Why do you say IAFM and CPS fails? doesn't that mean that VTEC also fails and all the earlier variable intake manifold fails?

It's not fail it's applied differently not according to what you like that's all. I keep seeing paper figures being quoted here. VTEC as fun as it may be only lasts what? 3 seconds in 3rd gear before you hit the redline?

I'm sure if proton made it as aggressive as VTEC, there will be people saying 'whatlah same only have to rev high'
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 09:11 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 08:57 PM)

wait, i dont think it is necessary since there isnt any significant switchover between both cam profile... haha...  laugh.gif

I dont think VIM/IAFM phailed since it removed the torque dip in Campro. I also don't think CPS phailed although it maybe not as great as VTEC. At least it allows me to get 0-100km/h approx at 10sec and to 175km/h in 35sec without any modification. thumbup.gif

Both 'valve timing' and 'lift' has its own advantage and disadvantage. Thats why I said that VVT-L is better since it has both. Valve timing at low rev and lift at high rev. I-Vtec uses solenoid to control the valve lift, giving it variable lift. CPS uses VIM and lift to produce a 3 stage engine operation.
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 09:25 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ Apr 8 2008, 09:07 PM)
Why do you say IAFM and CPS fails? doesn't that mean that VTEC also fails and all the earlier variable intake manifold fails?

It's not fail it's applied differently not according to what you like that's all. I keep seeing paper figures being quoted here. VTEC as fun as it may be only lasts what? 3 seconds in 3rd gear before you hit the redline?

I'm sure if proton made it as aggressive as VTEC, there will  be people saying 'whatlah same only have to rev high'
okla... dont say it fail la... say it incomplete.... isnt outstanding....
vtec engines took years and millions of money to improve its technology... we'll see how cps will fair in the future... rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 09:11 PM)
I dont think VIM/IAFM phailed since it removed the torque dip in Campro. I also don't think CPS phailed although it maybe not as great as VTEC. At least it allows me to get 0-100km/h approx at 10sec and to 175km/h in 35sec without any modification.  thumbup.gif
yea... jz like malaysia football.... didnt lose 10-0 consider ok lor.... lost 2-0 considered win as well... doh.gif doh.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 09:31 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 09:25 PM)
okla... dont say it fail la... say it incomplete.... isnt outstanding....
vtec engines took years and millions of money to improve its technology... we'll see how cps will fair in the future... rolleyes.gif
yea... jz like malaysia football.... didnt lose 10-0 consider ok lor.... lost 2-0 considered win as well... doh.gif  doh.gif
True2.. CPS can't be considered as a perfect engine, more like a decent engine only. It actually quite challenging to do R&D for Campro as the cost is high and total sell volume is quite low compared with other engine. Thats why they use CPS from Lotus.

About the torque dip, it is a problem that should exist in the fist place until someone decided to release the Campro without the cam profile system. sweat.gif
Max
post Apr 8 2008, 09:45 PM

1,705 posts

how the cps operate?
i mean, like vtec it uses rocker arm n solenoid to allow oil pressure engage the high lift rocker arm.

got any cps cross/cut away section of engine/head ar?
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 09:49 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Apr 8 2008, 09:45 PM)
how the cps operate?
i mean, like vtec it uses rocker arm n solenoid to allow oil pressure engage the high lift rocker arm.

No idea.. interested to know also. tongue.gif

Found this.. but cannot understand oso rclxub.gif
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KkE6oQnCuWI&feature=related

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Apr 8 2008, 10:02 PM
imperialrealcs
post Apr 8 2008, 10:30 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(yu_wang @ Apr 7 2008, 10:17 PM)
more info here:

Interesingly, if you try to read CamPro CPS in full (no short form) then it sounds like Cam Profile Cam Profile Switching.  blink.gif It should also be noted that none of these are cutting edge technology developed by proton. They exist in many other cars, probably under different names.

Sorry if i made any mistake in my post...cya  icon_rolleyes.gif
CPS doesnt have same effect as IAFM.. they are totally diffrent system

they need to comply with emission standard.. get ur facts right before blindly bash.. u can notice most cars especially the corolla altis 1.6 vvti producing low and lower power

QUOTE(yu_wang @ Apr 7 2008, 10:45 PM)
Then again, Gen-2 CPS engine block still says Campro CPS. I have photographic evidence.  whistling.gif
the campro is not meant to be read as cam profile..
its a name, juz that the word derrived from the word cam profile

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Apr 7 2008, 11:57 PM)
original campro power comes in high rev because there is a torque dip in low rpm, hence u need to rev surpass the dip to get back the power it should have

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 7 2008, 11:59 PM)
2 set of cam since it is DOHC, not because it is CPS..
they have 2 sets of lobe on 1 camshaft

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Apr 8 2008, 06:20 PM)
the problem is with proton do not have the ability to produce a high revving and reliable engine at a reasonable cost..proton can put in any degree cam lobe they want..but the engine will not be reliable because it is made by proton at constant 7-8k rpm.

cps is running on a rather high cam profile (but not high enough to produce astonishing power), this make low end suffer and make fuel economy worse.

if proton want to make it a high peformance engine, the low rpm power too will suffer badly like a B16A or 4AGE.

we can say that campro is something in between power and fuel economy. but both dont works

cps as a high performance engine = phailed
cps as a fuel economical engine = phailed

japanese manufacture rarely produce those high peformance engine in low price family saloon anymore.
again with your blind bash doh.gif
high revving engine as in 4G92 MIVEC and B16 VTEC is because the lobes is a wild 1 and u need to keep revving to extract all the power out..
since the campro using milder profile, revving pass the max hp and torque is a waste as u dont get any significant power and yet the fuel is drained doh.gif
im using MIVEC auto and i can easily 140km/h without switching the second lobe

indirectly u r saying latest i-VTEC all are trash as their redline also till 6.5k whistling.gif

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 07:39 PM)
I don't think at low rev CPS can perform as efficient as VVT system as the latter varies the timing across the RPM range. But the best I think is i-Vtec where the lift is varies across the RPM range and VVT-L system (variable valve timing + lift) .  notworthy.gif
CPS is considered a VVT system as it varies the valve timing but not continously..
VVTL-i has been phased out due to bad emission it make..
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 10:35 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 8 2008, 10:30 PM)

2 set of cam since it is DOHC, not because it is CPS..
they have 2 sets of lobe on 1 camshaft

CPS is considered a VVT system as it varies the valve timing but not continously..
Ooo.. So the correct one is 2 sets of lobe on 1 camshaft, not 2 cam sets. notworthy.gif

Isn't CPS varies the lift, not the timing? rclxub.gif
cloudstrife07
post Apr 8 2008, 10:51 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

actually i don't see what's this commotion about.

it's a new generation 1.6 engine that has to abide the emission rules etc etc and ppl comparing it with an old valve-timing 1.6 that runs crazy on high revs and huge hp due to much loosen rules at its time.

"comply to future exhaust emission legislation requirement" or http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_emission_standards

true, i can't compare with other 1.6 engine because the only new generation engine that i can compare with are those VVT ones and not VTEC/MIVEC ones (in which Campro shares the same characteristic as them)

and i can't compare with many other engines either because this Campro is DOHC unlike most cars around this CC range that uses SOHC (new gen engines)

well, i'd hold my horses and see what Campro 1.8 and 2.0 will do (if proton came out with it la)

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Apr 8 2008, 11:00 PM
mTk
post Apr 8 2008, 11:11 PM

401 posts

Those who say that CPS "fails" because the high-lift cam isn't as powerful as Japanese engines like B16A, please consider this:

Why is the Toyota Altis 1.6 with VVT-i have even less horsepower than the plain non-CPS Campro engine? Same goes to Nissan's 1.6 engine.

Engines today are not just all about power. It's also balancing fuel economy and emissions, as well as drivability (low-end torque). I have absolutely nothing against Honda engines. My dream car (realistically) is still either a 4th-gen Honda Prelude or the mid-90's Accord with a H22 engine swap. biggrin.gif

The CPS principle works very similar to the old VTEC engines, by having 2 sets of cam lobes. However, they are not as "wild" compared to engines like B16A. Yes, it's an old tech compared to the continuous variable valve timing that VVT-i and i-VTEC has.

The VIM and IAFM principle both works similarly by altering the length of the intake manifold. This helps mix the air and fuel better. The difference is that VIM is electronically operated and IAFM is vacuum-operated, if I'm not mistaken. Again, this tech isn't very new, though it definitely helps the Campro engine.

This post has been edited by mTk: Apr 8 2008, 11:16 PM
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 11:14 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Apr 8 2008, 09:45 PM)
how the cps operate?

cps operates like vtec... wanna know how vtec operates??... watch this..

technology is the same... but design might be slightly different.... thats why CPS is called cam profile switching... it switches to higher cam profile at certain rpm....

im using MIVEC auto and i can easily 140km/h without switching the second lobe

my car also can hit 140kmh without any mivec/vtec/cps/vvt/dvvt/vvti larr... whistling.gif

CPS is not VVT ler.... VVT is variable valve timing... it varies the valve timing continuously according to driving condition.... CPS, as i said, switches cam profile like how mivec does....
mTk
post Apr 8 2008, 11:18 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 9 2008, 02:14 AM)
CPS is not VVT ler.... VVT is variable valve timing... it varies the valve timing continuously according to driving condition.... CPS, as i said, switches cam profile like how mivec does....
The different cam profile causes the valve timing to be different, so yes, CPS does vary the valve timing, just not continously like VVT-i or i-VTEC (old VTEC is not continuous). You said CPS works like VTEC what. I thought VTEC = Valve Timing Electronic Control? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mTk: Apr 8 2008, 11:19 PM
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 11:18 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(mTk @ Apr 8 2008, 11:11 PM)
Those who say that CPS "fails" because the high-lift cam isn't as powerful as Japanese engines like B16A, please consider this:

Why is the Toyota Altis 1.6 with VVT-i have even less horsepower than the plain non-CPS Campro engine? Same goes to Nissan's 1.6 engine.

Engines today are not just all about power. It's also balancing fuel economy and emissions, as well as drivability (low-end torque). I have absolutely nothing against Honda engines. My dream car (realistically) is still either a 4th-gen Honda Prelude or the mid-90's Accord with a H22 engine swap. biggrin.gif
The CPS principle works very similar to the old VTEC engines, by having 2 sets of cam lobes. However, they are not as "wild" compared to engines like B16A. Yes, it's an old tech compared to the continuous variable valve timing that VVT-i and i-VTEC has.

The VIM and IAFM principle both works similarly by altering the length of the intake manifold. This helps mix the air and fuel better. The difference is that VIM is electronically operated and IAFM is vacuum-operated, if I'm not mistaken. Again, this tech isn't very new, though it definitely helps the Campro engine.
vr agree.... but still disappointed on campro cps.... hope things will improve in later campro cps batch.... icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on April 8, 2008, 11:20 pm
QUOTE(mTk @ Apr 8 2008, 11:18 PM)
The different cam profile causes the valve timing to be different, so yes, CPS does vary the valve timing. You said CPS works like VTEC what. I thought VTEC = Valve Timing Electronic Control?  tongue.gif
VTEC = Valve Timing Electronic Control ?? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VTEC

This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Apr 8 2008, 11:20 PM
mTk
post Apr 8 2008, 11:26 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 9 2008, 02:18 AM)

VTEC = Valve Timing Electronic Control ??  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VTEC
OK, Variable Valve Timing and Lift Electronic Control then. Still, my same point remains. VTEC = variable valve timing. Just not as continuous and advanced as today's stuff like i-VTEC, VANOS and VVT-i biggrin.gif

the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 11:29 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(mTk @ Apr 8 2008, 11:26 PM)
OK, Variable Valve Timing and Lift Electronic Control then. Still, my same point remains. VTEC = variable valve timing. Just not as continuous and advanced as today's stuff like i-VTEC, VANOS and VVT-i biggrin.gif
of coz.... i-vtec is more advance compare to vtec.... because got 'i' mah.... icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 11:36 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 11:18 PM)
vr agree.... but still disappointed on campro cps.... hope things will improve in later campro cps batch.... icon_rolleyes.gif

Care to clarify? whistling.gif

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Apr 8 2008, 11:37 PM
the_catacombs
post Apr 8 2008, 11:41 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 11:36 PM)
Care to clarify?  whistling.gif
since it utilises high cam profile at higher rpm like vtec or mivec, why not make it a little wilder and produce more horsepower??... hmm.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 8 2008, 11:46 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 11:41 PM)
since it utilises high cam profile at higher rpm like vtec or mivec, why not make it a little wilder and produce more horsepower??... hmm.gif
Since petrol is getting pricier everyday.. laugh.gif And the reliability issue. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Apr 8 2008, 11:47 PM
tcting
post Apr 8 2008, 11:51 PM

No more GTI
1,448 posts

Yup... Just like mivec, not every version using the most powerful RS version. And not every VTEC using B16C...
cloudstrife07
post Apr 9 2008, 12:01 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

CPS R3 anyone?
yu_wang
post Apr 9 2008, 12:04 AM

144 posts

CPS doesnt have same effect as IAFM.. they are totally diffrent system
Yes, i agree they are totally different. But they both eliminated the torque dip didn't they? That's why i say same effect...juz my opinion

the campro is not meant to be read as cam profile..
its a name, juz that the word derrived from the word cam profile
[sarcasm] Fine, CamPro Cam Profile Switching. Sounds much better. [/sarcasm] doh.gif
imperialrealcs
post Apr 9 2008, 01:53 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 8 2008, 10:35 PM)
Ooo.. So the correct one is 2 sets of lobe on 1 camshaft, not 2 cam sets.  notworthy.gif

Isn't CPS varies the lift, not the timing? rclxub.gif
varies lift.. okay, when u switch to aggressive lobe, it open/lift the valve longer for more air intake etc etc..
thats y u said it varies the lift of the valve hence the timing of the valve also varies accordingly
thats y it is still consider VVT

i stand to be corrected though blush.gif

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 8 2008, 11:14 PM)
my car also can hit 140kmh without any mivec/vtec/cps/vvt/dvvt/vvti larr...  whistling.gif

boss, diffrent case coz that basher said all CPS/VTEC/MIVEC engine with wild profile will be underpowered if the profile is not activated.. i wana tell him even without turning on MIVEC, i still able to easily reach 140km/h

btw, the VVT that u mention about is more like VVT-i lol..
any technology that change the timing of the valve opening/closing duration can be considered as VVT

QUOTE(tcting @ Apr 8 2008, 11:51 PM)
Yup... Just like mivec, not every version using the most powerful RS version. And not every VTEC using B16C...
as far as i know, RS version of MIVEC engine is the same as regular 4G92 MIVEC..
RS is the car trim option, like VTi, VTi-S as in Honda..
RS is a strip down version of mirage cyborg to make it lighter, suitable for Rally Sport
if u r talking about RalliART tuned then diffrent lor brows.gif

QUOTE(yu_wang @ Apr 9 2008, 12:04 AM)
Yes, i agree they are totally different. But they both eliminated the torque dip didn't they? That's why i say same effect...juz my opinion
[sarcasm] Fine, CamPro Cam Profile Switching. Sounds much better. [/sarcasm]  doh.gif
cps dont eliminate the torque dip, its the VIM that eliminate it..
VIM and IAFM working principle should be the same.. CPS only switch the camlobe, nothing much

Added on April 9, 2008, 1:56 ambesides, why is there the need to discuss/bash the name? since it is named campro then campro lor laugh.gif
nobody read PROTON as PeRusahaan OTOmobil Nasional right?
or PERODUA as PERusahaan Otomobil KeDUA Berhad?
imo, campro is a good name.. too bad, tarnished by the limp campro lol laugh.gif

This post has been edited by imperialrealcs: Apr 9 2008, 01:56 AM
kcng
post Apr 9 2008, 12:15 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(mTk @ Apr 8 2008, 11:11 PM)
Why is the Toyota Altis 1.6 with VVT-i have even less horsepower than the plain non-CPS Campro engine?
waitin for that particular person to reply
whistling.gif

CPS 1.6 has 125 HP

vvti 1.8 has 135 HP
whistling.gif
mTk
post Apr 9 2008, 02:33 PM

401 posts

I said 1.6 didn't I?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_ZZ_engine#3ZZ-FE

The 3ZZ-FE is the 1.6 L (1598 cc) version built in Japan. It is found in Asian Toyota Corolla Altis which is available in countries such as Singapore, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand and Taiwan. In South Africa the motor can be found in the Rux 160 and Corolla 160. The entire exterior design and chassis is the same as the American Corolla. Bore is 79.0 mm and stroke is 81.5 mm. Max. Output is 109 hp (81 kW) @ 6000 rpm. Max. Torque is 111 lb·ft (150 N·m). of torque (150 Nm) @ 3800 rpm.

Applications:

* Toyota Corolla (Europe, 109 hp)
* Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6E (Asian, 110 hp)
* Toyota Corolla and RunX 160 (South African, 81 @ 6000Kw and 146 @ 4400Nm)

OK I lose. The Asian version of the Altis 1.6 has 110 bhp too, with a much better torque figure (not the max torque, the curve) than the Campro. The CPS has better horsepower and same amount of max torque though I'm not sure which one has better low-end torque.

Still, my point is that horsepower numbers don't mean everything.

This post has been edited by mTk: Apr 9 2008, 02:34 PM
kcng
post Apr 9 2008, 02:56 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(mTk @ Apr 9 2008, 02:33 PM)
I said 1.6 didn't I?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_ZZ_engine#3ZZ-FE

The 3ZZ-FE is the 1.6 L (1598 cc) version built in Japan. It is found in Asian Toyota Corolla Altis which is available in countries such as Singapore, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand and Taiwan. In South Africa the motor can be found in the Rux 160 and Corolla 160. The entire exterior design and chassis is the same as the American Corolla. Bore is 79.0 mm and stroke is 81.5 mm. Max. Output is 109 hp (81 kW) @ 6000 rpm. Max. Torque is 111 lb·ft (150 N·m). of torque (150 Nm) @ 3800 rpm.

Applications:

* Toyota Corolla (Europe, 109 hp)
    * Toyota Corolla Altis 1.6E (Asian, 110 hp)
    * Toyota Corolla and RunX 160 (South African, 81 @ 6000Kw and 146 @ 4400Nm)

OK I lose. The Asian version of the Altis 1.6 has 110 bhp too, with a much better torque figure (not the max torque, the curve) than the Campro. The CPS has better horsepower and same amount of max torque though I'm not sure which one has better low-end torque.

Still, my point is that horsepower numbers don't mean everything.
errr... not you...
the other person...

and CPS torque curve climbs and max out at 4.4k rpm
but at 2k rpm onwards, u have more torque then non-cps campro and more importantly, there is no dip at 2.5k - 3.5k region...

This post has been edited by kcng: Apr 9 2008, 02:59 PM
mTk
post Apr 9 2008, 03:06 PM

401 posts

Oh the other person biggrin.gif

Yea, I know CPS has better torque than non-CPS Campro. I mean... low-end compared to the Toyota 1.6 engine.

From the dyno chart I've seen on Paultan's website, it sure looks good though! thumbup.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 9 2008, 06:28 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(mTk @ Apr 9 2008, 03:06 PM)
Oh the other person biggrin.gif

Yea, I know CPS has better torque than non-CPS Campro. I mean... low-end compared to the Toyota 1.6 engine.

From the dyno chart I've seen on Paultan's website, it sure looks good though! thumbup.gif
Torque curve in Altis will provide better drivability across RPM range.. CPS curve is more suited for spirited driving style. brows.gif

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Apr 9 2008, 10:09 PM
TSericmaxman
post Apr 9 2008, 09:57 PM

-
7,951 posts

Driving curve? so sepang curves no problem?
quick_shaq
post Apr 9 2008, 10:03 PM

872 posts

hope to test drive CPS someday ..

sphiroth
post Apr 9 2008, 10:09 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 9 2008, 09:57 PM)
Driving curve? so sepang curves no problem?
Opss.. spirited driving style. doh.gif
TSericmaxman
post Apr 9 2008, 10:11 PM

-
7,951 posts

hehehe..and so we have the CPS, and a Lotus tuned suspension system..a sleeper proton perhaps?
sphiroth
post Apr 9 2008, 10:15 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 9 2008, 10:11 PM)
hehehe..and so we have the CPS, and a Lotus tuned suspension system..a sleeper proton perhaps?
Don't put too much hope on CPS if want a VTEC like kick... Only can feel the kick in 2nd gear. laugh.gif
TSericmaxman
post Apr 9 2008, 10:18 PM

-
7,951 posts

So bascily the CPS should be in manual gear? auto cannot?
the_catacombs
post Apr 9 2008, 10:21 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 9 2008, 10:18 PM)
So bascily the CPS should be in manual gear? auto cannot?
auto tranny also can geh.... mivec n vtec also has variant in auto tranny....
sphiroth
post Apr 9 2008, 10:25 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 9 2008, 10:21 PM)
auto tranny also can geh.... mivec n vtec also has variant in auto tranny....
Yap.. got both AT and MT, get the MT to use it full potential... but AT also not bad. nod.gif
kcng
post Apr 9 2008, 10:52 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

as the saying goes, real man drive manual

(dun really hold water nowadays with the introduction of DSG etc)
the_catacombs
post Apr 9 2008, 10:55 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Apr 9 2008, 10:52 PM)
as the saying goes, real man drive manual

(dun really hold water nowadays with the introduction of DSG etc)
so u mean got kukujiao drive manual??.... hmm.gif hmm.gif
kcng
post Apr 9 2008, 10:58 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 9 2008, 10:55 PM)
so u mean got kukujiao drive manual??....  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
got CB also can drive manual wan
TSericmaxman
post Apr 10 2008, 08:48 AM

-
7,951 posts

Does the Waja CPS has the HOLD button to lock to that particular gear?
mytrader
post Apr 10 2008, 11:01 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 10 2008, 08:48 AM)
Does the Waja CPS has the HOLD button to lock to that particular gear?
No, too bad.. tongue.gif
kcng
post Apr 10 2008, 11:06 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

no need hold kua ?
Ultima
post Apr 10 2008, 11:08 AM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

HOLD? for wat?
mytrader
post Apr 10 2008, 11:36 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Apr 10 2008, 11:08 AM)
HOLD? for wat?
It will force the gearbox to stay in the current gear and not upshift.

It still can be done with a normal autobox, just downshift to 3 or 2. Just that with a hold button, it is easier.
imperialrealcs
post Apr 10 2008, 12:18 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

wait, the HOLD button is to prevent the gearbox from jumping into lower gear when u full throttle.. this is to prevent sudden power surge which is dangerous in wet road which u might ended up sliding..
hold the gear using the 'OD' button instead.. but as far as i concern, CPS is using 3-2-L configuration..
Ultima
post Apr 10 2008, 12:20 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

QUOTE(mytrader @ Apr 10 2008, 11:36 AM)
It will force the gearbox to stay in the current gear and not upshift.

It still can be done with a normal autobox, just downshift to 3 or 2. Just that with a hold button, it is easier.
is there any auto car tht hav hold function? as far as i know only got od button or normal 3-2-l auto gear...

sphiroth
post Apr 10 2008, 12:44 PM

2,804 posts

Use MT lar.. Can 'hold' any gear you want.. tongue.gif
imperialrealcs
post Apr 10 2008, 07:29 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Apr 10 2008, 12:20 PM)
is there any auto car tht hav hold function? as far as i know only got od button or normal 3-2-l auto gear...
got lar, my wira auto MIVEC got, perdana also got
sphiroth
post Apr 10 2008, 09:25 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 10 2008, 07:29 PM)
got lar, my wira auto MIVEC got, perdana also got
Cool.. thumbup.gif
TSericmaxman
post Apr 11 2008, 08:39 AM

-
7,951 posts

So, the so called CamPro Waja...what Campro does it have? part of CPS? part of IAFM? or just the stupid logo?

ps, not to be confused with the recently launched CPS waja..the one i'm talking about a generation earlier

This post has been edited by ericmaxman: Apr 11 2008, 08:40 AM
sphiroth
post Apr 11 2008, 09:43 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 11 2008, 08:39 AM)
So, the so called CamPro Waja...what Campro does it have? part of CPS? part of IAFM? or just the stupid logo?

ps, not to be confused with the recently launched CPS waja..the one i'm talking about a generation earlier
Campro is just a name lar.. sweat.gif
TSericmaxman
post Apr 14 2008, 09:10 AM

-
7,951 posts

Like what Proton always does..name first, product later..
cloudstrife07
post Apr 14 2008, 09:59 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 14 2008, 09:10 AM)
Like what Proton always does..name first, product later..
blame it on tunku mahaleel.

we need a business-minded person to tackle the market of a normal user car, not an ex-racer.
ahkau
post Apr 14 2008, 05:13 PM

wah .. 0-100km/h in 10s .. honda crx 1st gen (1.5L carb) can do that as well doh.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 14 2008, 05:24 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ahkau @ Apr 14 2008, 05:13 PM)
wah .. 0-100km/h in 10s .. honda crx 1st gen (1.5L carb) can do that as well  doh.gif
Pls refer to previous post about emission standard compliance regulation. Tq. doh.gif
the_catacombs
post Apr 14 2008, 05:45 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Apr 10 2008, 12:18 PM)
hold the gear using the 'OD' button instead.. but as far as i concern, CPS is using 3-2-L configuration..
campro cps has 4 speed auto gearbox??...

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 10 2008, 12:44 PM)
Use MT lar.. Can 'hold' any gear you want..  tongue.gif
icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 11 2008, 08:39 AM)

read back previous posts to learn more about cps and iafm lar.... ask n ask again not bored meh??... doh.gif

wah .. 0-100km/h in 10s .. honda crx 1st gen (1.5L carb) can do that as well  doh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 14 2008, 05:53 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 14 2008, 05:45 PM)
campro cps has 4 speed auto gearbox??...

read back previous posts to learn more about cps and iafm lar.... ask n ask again not bored meh??...  doh.gif

The AT only has 4 gears...thats why I choose MT. brows.gif

Some people just doesn't bother to read even in a forum. doh.gif
the_catacombs
post Apr 14 2008, 06:02 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 14 2008, 05:53 PM)
The AT only has 4 gears...thats why I choose MT.  brows.gif

Some people just doesn't bother to read even in a forum.  doh.gif
MT ftw~!!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 14 2008, 06:12 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Apr 14 2008, 06:02 PM)
MT ftw~!!!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Agrees... until can afford a car with DSG that is. laugh.gif
cloudstrife07
post Apr 14 2008, 06:16 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

emission regulation dude, emission regulation. and the FC too. if proton were to build a 5sec century sprint car, would you buy it?NO, because it's a proton right?so they had to build rep first after being tarnished badly last time. so the target consumers are the normal road users first to bring their image back.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Apr 14 2008, 06:20 PM
kelv!n
post Apr 15 2008, 12:46 AM

275 posts

but seriously i dun feel that there is any performance improvement with the waja cps..

and yea.. wonder when their image get better will they put a "wild" cam like the vtec inside their campro engine.. LoL

This post has been edited by kelv!n: Apr 15 2008, 12:47 AM
TSericmaxman
post Apr 16 2008, 02:43 PM

-
7,951 posts

Feel? sure cannot..must test at sepang..
sphiroth
post Apr 16 2008, 02:44 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 16 2008, 02:43 PM)
Feel? sure cannot..must test at sepang..
I'm waiting for Sepang open day.. drool.gif
bizzy
post Apr 16 2008, 02:49 PM

369 posts

my friend just brought saga. wanna try out doh.gif

see wheater really improved.

but i heard the oil consumption is not bad.
sphiroth
post Apr 16 2008, 02:53 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(bizzy @ Apr 16 2008, 02:49 PM)
my friend just brought saga. wanna try out doh.gif

see wheater really improved.

but i heard the oil consumption is not bad.
Improved in term of what? Have to wait until after 2nd service to get acurate FC figure. nod.gif
bizzy
post Apr 16 2008, 02:54 PM

369 posts

improve in term of anything. doh.gif

performance, stablity, voltage stable? any kind of s**T tongue.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 16 2008, 03:00 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(bizzy @ Apr 16 2008, 02:54 PM)
improve in term of anything. doh.gif

performance, stablity, voltage stable? any kind of s**T tongue.gif
Sure improved, if compared with old Saga that is. laugh.gif
bizzy
post Apr 16 2008, 03:40 PM

369 posts

haha i think sure got little bit improve but . REAL abit suchs as like 1 to 3 hp with those 400Rm above i think is not worth it.

sphiroth
post Apr 16 2008, 03:51 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(bizzy @ Apr 16 2008, 03:40 PM)
REAL abit suchs as like 1 to 3 hp with those 400Rm above i think is not worth it.
Whats ur trying to say? rclxub.gif
DomoTomato
post Apr 16 2008, 04:16 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Apr 7 2008, 10:38 PM)
from the 80s  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
got retro feel ma...
TSericmaxman
post Apr 16 2008, 07:21 PM

-
7,951 posts

quality improved or not? most important lo
AllFoodsCanEat
post Apr 16 2008, 07:47 PM

469 posts

Omg... Post wrong... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AllFoodsCanEat: Apr 16 2008, 07:47 PM
the_catacombs
post Apr 16 2008, 07:53 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(bizzy @ Apr 16 2008, 03:40 PM)
haha i think sure got little bit improve but . REAL abit suchs as like 1 to 3 hp with those 400Rm above i think is not worth it.
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

QUOTE(AllFoodsCanEat @ Apr 16 2008, 07:47 PM)
Omg... Post wrong...  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
doh.gif doh.gif
TSericmaxman
post Apr 18 2008, 09:11 AM

-
7,951 posts

How come the CamPro engine cover is red? just to look sporty or....?

just bad taste?
leowhy
post Apr 18 2008, 10:13 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 18 2008, 09:11 AM)

just bad taste?
u dislike red color? then DIY it to black or other color then... tongue.gif
Ultima
post Apr 18 2008, 10:16 AM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

just bad taste?
to differentiate normal campro n cps...

n y u dun like it red? if like tht, u also dun like other engine cover eh, hmm like wat ek.. whistling.gif
TSericmaxman
post Apr 18 2008, 10:23 AM

-
7,951 posts

I did not say I do not like red. Isn't the VTEC engine cover red? like some Civic Type R
sphiroth
post Apr 18 2008, 11:56 AM

2,804 posts

just bad taste?
Whats wrong with red colour? doh.gif Maybe after this will be why use HID or why has gated shifter etc.. rclxub.gif
Ultima
post Apr 18 2008, 11:57 AM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

eh this gate shifter, can someone ask the SC if i can install it on my persona? juz wanna know only hehe biggrin.gif
sphiroth
post Apr 18 2008, 12:00 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Ultima @ Apr 18 2008, 11:57 AM)
eh this gate shifter, can someone ask the SC if i can install it on my persona? juz wanna know only hehe biggrin.gif
Wait for Proreka to manufacture it... they already come ou with gated shifter and winged mirror for normal waja. Go to Waja thread for more info thumbup.gif
WisePrince
post Apr 19 2008, 10:42 AM

320 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 18 2008, 12:00 PM)
Wait for Proreka to manufacture it... they already come ou with gated shifter and winged mirror for normal waja. Go to Waja thread for more info  thumbup.gif
gate shifter tu apa? blush.gif
yu_wang
post Apr 19 2008, 12:27 PM

144 posts

something like this...
sphiroth
post Apr 19 2008, 01:15 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(WisePrince @ Apr 19 2008, 10:42 AM)
gate shifter tu apa? blush.gif
imperialrealcs
post Apr 19 2008, 01:27 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 18 2008, 11:56 AM)
Whats wrong with red colour?  doh.gif  Maybe after this will be why use HID or why has gated shifter etc..  rclxub.gif
when it is proton, they juz have tonnes of issue to complain eventhough it wasnt any issue in the 1st place laugh.gif
TSericmaxman
post Apr 21 2008, 10:47 AM

-
7,951 posts

Yeah. My mistake. I really can't understand why ppl critisice proton for doing red meters for the Waja. BMW had it for donkey years and no one complained.
imperialrealcs
post Apr 21 2008, 11:35 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 21 2008, 10:47 AM)
Yeah. My mistake. I really can't understand why ppl critisice proton for doing red meters for the Waja. BMW had it for donkey years and no one complained.
because bmw did it for years and proton doing the same = copycat = flamebait
TSericmaxman
post Apr 21 2008, 10:27 PM

-
7,951 posts

poor proton..but once CPS mainstream, we shall see how well it competes.
beatlesalbum
post Jun 1 2008, 12:03 AM

1,711 posts

Which one is most fuel efficient among the 3?? Need to decide between Persona with IAFM, or GEN2 with CPS. Anyone?

This post has been edited by beatlesalbum: Jun 1 2008, 12:20 AM
Azuma-kun
post Jun 1 2008, 01:35 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

He left a Gen2 M-line IAFM
beatlesalbum
post Jun 3 2008, 01:14 AM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Jun 1 2008, 01:35 AM)
He left a Gen2 M-line IAFM
Is thatt your answer? You have M-line IAFM? Whats your FC then.
Esky
post Jun 3 2008, 08:35 AM

394 posts

I noticed that here in JB, there's hardly any Waja or Gen2 CPS after they were launched... ppl not convinced by the 1-spec (full-spec) pricing?

dirsly
post Jun 4 2008, 02:35 PM

Safe Trader
1,426 posts

QUOTE(Esky @ Jun 3 2008, 09:35 AM)
I noticed that here in JB, there's hardly any Waja or Gen2 CPS after they were launched... ppl not convinced by the 1-spec (full-spec) pricing?
but if the prc below market prc... the buyer tht already bought ths type of car few years ago will suffer...
mushpop
post Jun 14 2008, 06:30 AM

100 posts

to those proton basher, what are you guys complaining about? this is my fair view bout what they are trying to do. Which release of proton cars that can consume less fuel but give better mileage? within in its class? it's tengku mahaleel era that give proton bad name. Persona is just to resurrect Proton sales coz that darn ol' man reject the design earlier. building an engine, to me is like playing lego set. we start from small experimental module then evolve to better design. if campro cps + vim model is expected to be rolled out from scratch without doing try-n-error sets, i think we wont have it today. IAFM is ONLY to fix torque dip in current campro engine which control air flow to the intake.

Latest engine is CAMPRO CPS + VIM. This engine has variable valve timing (low & high cam shift) and also air flow control which previous CAMPRO lack of these. Not to expect much from the engine but the purpose is to consume fuel economically right but the deliver power when in need. Yes we have VTEC, MIVEC, DVVT, VVTi, iVTEC, B-TEC and the list go on, but how long those car makers have been existed?

but, proton musn't celebrate yet coz they have to catch up lots of thing. The design team needs to me new head of designer. I really do hate Proton facelift cars. Design wise, much have to be brushed up. How could someone approve those designs - WAJA / CHANCELOR / GEN.2 / NEW SAGA. Even the Campro and CPS logo and GEN.2 logo weren't good.

It is good to see that proton can develop its own engine wherelse P2? Even worst. And now developing for 1.8 and 2.0 CPS engine. See how it goes later on.

I suggest Proton make a local competition of car design and best design will used to develop it. I know lotsa talented designer out there can design better car from what Proton had in their design department.

** I like neo to be supersized and it will become murano look a like.
TSericmaxman
post Aug 4 2008, 08:03 AM

-
7,951 posts

I did hear some news about some guy's Campro disintegrated. As far as I can tell, this should not happen under normal circumstances, right?
squareballs
post Aug 4 2008, 08:53 AM

4,331 posts

I was rushing home for badminton yesterday, and i trashed my campro like mad..Seriously cannot feel the umph..Tekan den after 1-2 sec only pecut.
TSericmaxman
post Aug 4 2008, 08:55 AM

-
7,951 posts

First gen Campro or CPS Campro?
squareballs
post Aug 4 2008, 08:59 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 4 2008, 08:55 AM)
First gen Campro or CPS Campro?
Campro..Mods so far done just K&N and Denso iridium.
TSericmaxman
post Aug 4 2008, 09:00 AM

-
7,951 posts

I think its normal for that to happen. Let me guess, your car is a GEN-2 auto?
squareballs
post Aug 4 2008, 11:42 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 4 2008, 09:00 AM)
I think its normal for that to happen. Let me guess, your car is a GEN-2 auto?
Waja Auto..
TSericmaxman
post Aug 4 2008, 11:47 AM

-
7,951 posts

>.<

Sorry. Even if tekan harder? Still got delay?
squareballs
post Aug 4 2008, 11:54 AM

4,331 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 4 2008, 11:47 AM)
>.<

Sorry. Even if tekan harder? Still got delay?
Not that sluggish but still delay a bit..Especially 3rd gear, sucks..Maybe will consider exhaust system or Mythelogy LCP..
the_catacombs
post Aug 4 2008, 01:37 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 4 2008, 08:03 AM)
I did hear some news about some guy's Campro disintegrated. As far as I can tell, this should not happen under normal circumstances, right?
yeap.... the crank sensor misalligned, causing damage to the target wheel... the whole target wheel disintegrated inside the engine, causing the crankshaft to break into 2.... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(squareballs @ Aug 4 2008, 08:53 AM)
I was rushing home for badminton yesterday, and i trashed my campro like mad..Seriously cannot feel the umph..Tekan den after 1-2 sec only pecut.
its normal... proton tuned it to allow the throttle body open progressively even how violent u step on the pedal....
TSericmaxman
post Aug 4 2008, 01:48 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Aug 4 2008, 01:37 PM)
yeap.... the crank sensor misalligned, causing damage to the target wheel... the whole target wheel disintegrated inside the engine, causing the crankshaft to break into 2.... rclxub.gif
its normal... proton tuned it to allow the throttle body open progressively even how violent u step on the pedal....
I did go through the website. But I don't undersatnd how did it happen. Can elaborate more?
the_catacombs
post Aug 4 2008, 02:35 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 4 2008, 01:48 PM)
I did go through the website. But I don't undersatnd how did it happen. Can elaborate more?
i wasnt clear as well.... but i guess its the cranksensor misalligned... causing it to hit the target wheel.... the target wheel broke into half, causing a whole lot of mess inside.... and in the routine, jammed the movement of the crankshaft, causing the crankshaft to break into 2.... doh.gif
TSericmaxman
post Aug 4 2008, 03:32 PM

-
7,951 posts

Quite complicated hmm.gif
the_catacombs
post Aug 4 2008, 05:38 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Aug 4 2008, 03:32 PM)
Quite complicated hmm.gif
yea... me too... how can the cranksensor sudently misalligned.... and how the target wheel can damage the whole crankshaft... and how the hell the strongest part of the engine, crankshaft, can break into 2... doh.gif doh.gif
sportivo
post Aug 28 2008, 09:53 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(mTk @ Apr 8 2008, 11:26 PM)
CPS is way better, similar to porsche VARIOCAM but in simplified form. Both came from Lotus Engineering Dept.
meanwhile, Toyotas' Variable Valve Timing and Lift is a flop.
do u know Toyota has now ceased production of its VVTL-i engines for most markets, because the engine does not meet Euro IV specifications for emissions. As a result, some Toyota models have been discontinued, including the Corolla T-Sport (Europe), Corolla Sportivo (Australia), Celica, Corolla XRS, Toyota Matrix XRS, and the Pontiac Vibe GT, all of which had the 2ZZ-GE engine fitted.
Exception on Lotus Elise which still use this powertrain, bcoz Lotus managed to reverse-engineering this 2ZZ-GE and made it compliant.
TSericmaxman
post Aug 29 2008, 07:25 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(sportivo @ Aug 28 2008, 09:53 PM)
CPS is way better, similar to porsche VARIOCAM but in simplified form. Both came from Lotus Engineering Dept.
do u know Toyota has now ceased production of its VVTL-i engines for most markets, because the engine does not meet Euro IV specifications for emissions. As a result, some Toyota models have been discontinued, including the Corolla T-Sport (Europe), Corolla Sportivo (Australia), Celica, Corolla XRS, Toyota Matrix XRS, and the Pontiac Vibe GT, all of which had the 2ZZ-GE engine fitted.
Exception on Lotus Elise which still use this powertrain, bcoz Lotus managed to reverse-engineering this 2ZZ-GE and made it compliant.
Where did you find this info? Quite enlightening to see that Toyota ain't that great after all.
zacevox
post Aug 29 2008, 07:39 AM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

copy paste from wikipedia laugh.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VVT-i
the_catacombs
post Aug 29 2008, 12:25 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(zacevox @ Aug 29 2008, 07:39 AM)
copy paste from wikipedia laugh.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VVT-i
pwned... laugh.gif
farghmee
post Aug 29 2008, 03:41 PM

91 posts

reading thru this thread, is it correct that:
*both VTEC & VVT need to open valve for mixture to flow thru?
*the main difference is the way to open the valve; VTEC(mechanical) & VVT(electronic)?

i dunno much...

about the campro, i always drive the non-cps campro auto.
if i want to feel the acceleration, i choose the 3rd gear rather than D.
then slam the accelerator wink.gif

zacevox
post Aug 29 2008, 09:15 PM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Aug 29 2008, 12:25 PM)
pwned... laugh.gif
tongue.gif

but in wikipedia said vvtl-i engine is 10 years old, Lotus Elise is among that still using it until now.

This post has been edited by zacevox: Aug 29 2008, 09:16 PM
the_catacombs
post Aug 30 2008, 12:09 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(farghmee @ Aug 29 2008, 03:41 PM)
reading thru this thread, is it correct that:
*both VTEC & VVT need to open valve for mixture to flow thru?
*the main difference is the way to open the valve; VTEC(mechanical) & VVT(electronic)?

i dunno much...

about the campro, i always drive the non-cps campro auto.
if i want to feel the acceleration, i choose the 3rd gear rather than D.
then slam the accelerator wink.gif
vtec/cps/mivec system is more towards increasing the lift of the valve at certain rpm by switching to the higher cam profile...
while vvt is variable valve timing... it switches the cams advance or retard according to load of the engine...

both also controlled by electronics...
TSericmaxman
post Sep 10 2008, 06:43 PM

-
7,951 posts

Are there any mechanical vvt?
the_catacombs
post Sep 10 2008, 08:28 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Sep 10 2008, 06:43 PM)
Are there any mechanical vvt?
nope.... if u understand what is vvt...
TSericmaxman
post Sep 10 2008, 08:30 PM

-
7,951 posts

doh.gif

I don't.

I only know it makes more POWAHHH !!
TSericmaxman
post Sep 12 2008, 09:22 PM

-
7,951 posts

Guys, I heard that Proton wont be putting the CPS system into the Persona, is it true? Heard from a salesman
Ultima
post Sep 13 2008, 01:49 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

persona is more towards family use, so they dun intend to make it for youngsters...

thts y u can c they use soft type suspension, coz persona more towrds comfort..

for wat they wan to plonk in cps to persona as normal one sufficient enuff to carry all the family from a to b..

rumors tht cps may be put into neo is still reasonable, coz neo is aiming for younsters n single ppl..
zacevox
post Sep 13 2008, 03:47 PM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

now got 1.3 CPS or IAFM or not?
the Saga is using IAFM or normal Campro?
the_catacombs
post Sep 13 2008, 04:59 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(zacevox @ Sep 13 2008, 03:47 PM)
now got 1.3 CPS or IAFM or not?
the Saga is using IAFM or normal Campro?
the new saga 1.3 using normal campro engine with IAFM intake system...
only the new gen2/persona 1.6 using campro CPS with VIM intake system...
zacevox
post Sep 13 2008, 05:50 PM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

the old gen2 is using normal campro without any IAFM right?
TSericmaxman
post Sep 13 2008, 05:51 PM

-
7,951 posts

Yeah. Which makes its, err, un-CAMPRO
zacevox
post Sep 13 2008, 05:55 PM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

can the un-campro using IAFM or mod to CPS? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zacevox: Sep 13 2008, 05:55 PM
TSericmaxman
post Sep 13 2008, 05:56 PM

-
7,951 posts

Maybe. If can find the exact part that the CPS uses. But the ECU programming may be different
the_catacombs
post Sep 13 2008, 07:20 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(zacevox @ Sep 13 2008, 05:50 PM)
the old gen2 is using normal campro without any IAFM right?
nod.gif nod.gif

QUOTE(zacevox @ Sep 13 2008, 05:55 PM)
can the un-campro using IAFM or mod to CPS? tongue.gif
yeap... but first u must know in detail how IAFM and CPS works...

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Sep 13 2008, 05:56 PM)
Maybe. If can find the exact part that the CPS uses. But the ECU programming may be different
i think its possible to swap the complete wiring and ecu over.... hmm.gif
vobboblogs
post Sep 14 2008, 03:24 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(WisePrince @ Apr 8 2008, 06:03 PM)
from what i understand through readings from proton website & learnings..

what actually happend when we suddenly ram the accel pad is,
1st, more air come in,
2nd, due to bernoulli principle, the air 'drives' the fuel to come out from inside a venturi tube alike..
3rd, they mix together and enter inlet manifold...

this whole process takes time..
sometimes, in sudden accel, more air come..
the air flow cannot drive fuel to go out the venturi instantly...
thus, creating a weak mixture to be burned in combustion chamber...
oh yeah, it lags just milisecond, maybe microseconds..
but, the impact to the engine performance is tremendous...

[/spoiler]
bro... i believe u r talking about carb there, not FI
sAm fIsher
post Nov 7 2008, 10:27 AM

149 posts

IAFM can be added directly to persona. i had a fren who had this done. it's kinda add-on module. as for CPS if not mistaken, certain crucial parts have to be changed like the cam, engine top and ECU.
dstl1128
post Nov 7 2008, 10:41 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(sportivo @ Aug 28 2008, 09:53 PM)
2ZZGE has the 'lift bolt' issue as well.

Anyway Lotus Exige and ExigeS manage to tune it to meet emission spec as well as even give it ample of torque from low to high - this is by far the best mod for 2ZZGE being done by non-Toyota for Toyota engines. Haha.

Esky
post Nov 7 2008, 11:42 AM

394 posts

So, the Waja CPS doesn't have the VIM module?
loong2020
post Nov 7 2008, 01:03 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

cps has vim as well..before 3.5k rpm..after 3500rpm...cps will engage...which is high cam....just my opinion...
the_catacombs
post Nov 8 2008, 06:04 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Nov 7 2008, 01:03 PM)
cps has vim as well..before 3.5k rpm..after 3500rpm...cps will engage...which is high cam....just my opinion...
but is there a significant power improvement when cps engaged, jz like vtec??...
shinjite
post Nov 8 2008, 07:05 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

I think something like fast road spec only.....
the_catacombs
post Nov 8 2008, 07:09 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Nov 8 2008, 07:05 PM)
i thought something like "to cover the torque dip in campro engines"??... sweat.gif

Added on November 8, 2008, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(shinjite @ Nov 8 2008, 07:05 PM)
i thought something like "to cover the torque dip in campro engines"??... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Nov 8 2008, 07:10 PM
loong2020
post Nov 8 2008, 11:26 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 8 2008, 07:09 PM)
i thought something like "to cover the torque dip in campro engines"??...  sweat.gif

Added on November 8, 2008, 7:10 pm
i thought something like "to cover the torque dip in campro engines"??...  sweat.gif
cps solve the low pickup frm original campro engine...
shinjite
post Nov 9 2008, 12:18 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

Low end problems solved for 1.6 I thought because of both CPS + VIM combined?

1.3 will be the IAFM. Same goes with the 1.6 Campro with IAFM

This post has been edited by shinjite: Nov 9 2008, 12:23 AM
the_catacombs
post Nov 9 2008, 12:28 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

1.3 uses IAFM
1.6 uses VIM

IAFM n VIM has the same concept... but IAFM is vacuum controlled while VIM is electronically controlled...
shinjite
post Nov 9 2008, 12:30 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

Those engines with IAFM, the IAFM helps
So with CPS its because of the VIM right? CPS is like fast road spec cams from 3.8K onwards
the_catacombs
post Nov 9 2008, 01:17 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

CPS is like vtec lor... the solenoid engages, increasing the valve lift, improving engine performance...

vim/iafm is variable intake manifold... either increases or decreases the intake length for better low end torque or high rpm horsepower...
shinjite
post Nov 9 2008, 01:21 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

means correct ler, so its VIM more for the low end, mid to high end its the CPS

I wonder who was the one said that CPS is for low end >_>
loong2020
post Nov 9 2008, 09:42 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

yup...vim=low end, cps=high end....so suit for town and highway driving...
farghmee
post Nov 10 2008, 04:43 PM

91 posts

in paultan, one guy name sifu told smthg very useful regarding cps, vtec, vvti-l. but what post i dun remember.."persona got ngv" post , i think.

if i remember correctly:
*vvt, dvvt = valve timing; advance or retarding the valve opening cycle.
*vvti-l, cps = valve lift;

err..i dunno much..sweat.gif
the_catacombs
post Nov 10 2008, 09:03 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(farghmee @ Nov 10 2008, 04:43 PM)
in paultan, one guy name sifu told smthg very useful regarding cps, vtec, vvti-l. but what post i dun remember.."persona got ngv" post , i think.

if i remember correctly:
*vvt, dvvt = valve timing; advance or retarding the valve opening cycle.
*vvti-l, cps = valve lift;

err..i dunno much..sweat.gif
jeng jeng jeng

farghmee
post Nov 11 2008, 11:08 AM

91 posts

~~~
ni kt kete ape ni?
is it the ngv persona tank(s) is(are) placed in the boot?
i dunno much sweat.gif
the_catacombs
post Nov 11 2008, 06:58 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(farghmee @ Nov 11 2008, 11:08 AM)
~~~
ni kt kete ape ni?
is it the ngv persona tank(s) is(are) placed in the boot?
i dunno much sweat.gif
persona with CNG tank placed underneath the car... photo snapped during the proton technology week in shah alam.... smile.gif
farghmee
post Nov 12 2008, 06:34 PM

91 posts

hmm...will there be a cps persona?
i haven't drive a cps yet..just plain gen2 campro..
the_catacombs
post Nov 12 2008, 07:22 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(farghmee @ Nov 12 2008, 06:34 PM)
hmm...will there be a cps persona?
i haven't drive a cps yet..just plain gen2 campro..
i think will be... coz everything jz plug and play.... easy to swap campro cps between persona and gen2... similar chassis...
jigc
post Nov 14 2008, 07:57 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 10 2008, 09:03 PM)
jeng jeng jeng

wah, this car will become popular for terrorist!!
the_catacombs
post Nov 14 2008, 10:22 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(jigc @ Nov 14 2008, 07:57 AM)
wah, this car will become popular for terrorist!!
what about counter terrorist??... they dont like it??... hmm.gif
Reign
post Nov 16 2008, 05:56 PM

126 posts

Only Valvetronic had perfect VVT... with infinity profile (CVVT)... notworthy.gif
imperialrealcs
post Nov 17 2008, 12:13 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Reign @ Nov 16 2008, 05:56 PM)
Only Valvetronic had perfect VVT... with infinity profile (CVVT)... notworthy.gif
do u realise what are u talking about?
i-vtec and dual vvti also part of CVVT family doh.gif
so as the latest mivec 4B11
Reign
post Nov 18 2008, 03:55 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Nov 17 2008, 12:13 AM)
do u realise what are u talking about?
i-vtec and dual vvti also part of CVVT family doh.gif
so as the latest mivec 4B11
Its just for marketing purpose... Do you see any Valvetronic (VT) or Vanos emblem on BMW..? hmm.gif
Its different from Valvetronic because they only had 2 profile... but VT had a lot of profile depend on need... thumbup.gif

Valvetronic.

Valvetronic (variable valves and electronics) is a valve drive system with fully-variable lift control of the intake valves (with lift varying from 0 - 9.7 mm). Unlike all other petrol engines, it does not require a throttle butterfly, and engine output is controlled entirely by fully variable intake valves which regulate the amount of air (volume control) and reduce power loss considerably. For BMW drivers, Valvetronic technology means lower fuel consumption and exhaust emissions, while at the same time improving performance and engine smoothness

icon_rolleyes.gif
TSericmaxman
post Nov 25 2008, 10:39 AM

-
7,951 posts

Since the Proton MPV is coming soon, I bet that Proton would use the CPS engine. Not the crappy GEN2/Persona CamPro engine. But as for capacity, what do you guys think?
the_catacombs
post Nov 25 2008, 09:49 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Nov 25 2008, 10:39 AM)
Since the Proton MPV is coming soon, I bet that Proton would use the CPS engine. Not the crappy GEN2/Persona CamPro engine. But as for capacity, what do you guys think?
i heard it would be a 1.8L engine...
TSericmaxman
post Nov 25 2008, 09:49 PM

-
7,951 posts

But does Proton has a 1.8l CPS on hand?
the_catacombs
post Nov 25 2008, 10:03 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Nov 25 2008, 09:49 PM)
nope... they will design it... i believe they can do it...
iman_210
post Nov 26 2008, 10:02 AM

1.0 bar @ 221WHP
2,684 posts

guys,

ive yet to c the IAFM module live with my eyes..care to snap pics and share...
TSericmaxman
post Nov 26 2008, 10:04 AM

-
7,951 posts

the_catacombs
post Nov 26 2008, 11:11 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(iman_210 @ Nov 26 2008, 10:02 AM)
guys,

ive yet to c the IAFM module live with my eyes..care to snap pics and share...
intake manifold part of the campro....

jswong
post Nov 27 2008, 12:46 AM

200 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Nov 25 2008, 09:49 PM)
Campro is supposedly modular, and Proton is able to adapt it for applications from around 1.2 litre all the way to 2 litres (or even higher than 2 litres) if required. Heck, Proton even bragged that the Campro design can be adapted for V6 if required.
eastwest
post Nov 28 2008, 02:54 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Apr 7 2008, 11:54 PM)
I prefer changing the hi-cam to a higher one. Can save petrol if kept revving under 4k rpm.  icon_idea.gif
I think its possible.  hmm.gif
What do you mean by this statement? I'm confuse rclxub.gif

Added on November 28, 2008, 3:01 pm
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 8 2008, 06:04 PM)
but is there a significant power improvement when cps engaged, jz like vtec??...
Erm, so far, I doesn't feel any diff when the cam switches.Maybe becoz my car is AT?...the highest ever revving done is before 5k rpm. not sure after that range.

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 8 2008, 07:09 PM)
Make the torque curve in dyno more "fatter" laugh.gif

This post has been edited by eastwest: Nov 28 2008, 03:01 PM
the_catacombs
post Nov 28 2008, 09:03 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 28 2008, 02:54 PM)
What do you mean by this statement? I'm confuse rclxub.gif

Added on November 28, 2008, 3:01 pm
Erm, so far, I doesn't feel any diff when the cam switches.Maybe becoz my car is AT?...the highest ever revving done is before 5k rpm. not sure after that range.
Make the torque curve in dyno more "fatter" laugh.gif
edit..

they are making the torque curve FLATTER... not fatter....
eastwest
post Dec 1 2008, 11:30 AM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 28 2008, 09:03 PM)
edit..

they are making the torque curve FLATTER... not fatter....
Owh, ok. thanks for the clarification notworthy.gif
alamdamai1
post Dec 30 2008, 01:51 PM

210 posts

for a full desciption on what IAFM, VIM, CPS means - click the link below....in brief, the Sifu claims Saga IAFM outperforms Myvi....oops.gif

http://kereta.info/campro-engine-specifica...a-persona-gen2/
hulahu
post May 25 2009, 11:18 PM

so summarized...
does the VIM or IAFM or CPS help in practically improving the fuel consumption?

the_catacombs
post May 26 2009, 01:55 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(hulahu @ May 25 2009, 11:18 PM)
so summarized...
does the VIM or IAFM or CPS help in practically improving the fuel consumption?
yes... they remove the torque dip, hence allowing more linear power delivery... linear power delivery allows less footwork on the throttle pedal... hence, better fuel consumption...
seanlimys
post May 29 2009, 11:26 AM

2,751 posts

iafm can bolt on to gen2? can be installed in proton center? m using the campro normal ones
the_catacombs
post May 29 2009, 12:56 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ May 29 2009, 11:26 AM)
iafm can bolt on to gen2? can be installed in proton center? m using the campro normal ones
not as easy as that... u need the whole intake manifold unit...
seanlimys
post May 30 2009, 12:37 AM

2,751 posts

icic..costly?
the_catacombs
post May 30 2009, 01:34 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ May 30 2009, 12:37 AM)
icic..costly?
yes should be
-storm-
post May 30 2009, 02:25 AM

Hmmm........
2,105 posts

Whole IAFM cost Rm1400 labor should be 300-400. Plug and play for normal campro.
seanlimys
post May 30 2009, 09:14 AM

2,751 posts

QUOTE(-storm- @ May 30 2009, 02:25 AM)
Whole IAFM cost Rm1400 labor should be 300-400. Plug and play for normal campro.
available at where?
rcracer
post May 30 2009, 07:30 PM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(seanlimys @ May 30 2009, 09:14 AM)
available at where?
yeah sure only 1400?
-storm-
post May 31 2009, 06:04 AM

Hmmm........
2,105 posts

Available at original proton spare part shop or go directly to proton to order and install. I was quoted at glenmarie. But i think not worth it cauce the IAFM always break down after few months of usage and the car sounded like a lorry, if it's still under warranty can change la otherwise for modding you will be better off with other stuff.

This post has been edited by -storm-: May 31 2009, 06:06 AM
rcracer
post May 31 2009, 06:56 AM

?????
3,772 posts

QUOTE(-storm- @ May 31 2009, 06:04 AM)
Available at original proton spare part shop or go directly to proton to order and install. I was quoted at glenmarie. But i think not worth it cauce the IAFM always break down after few months of usage and the car sounded like a lorry, if it's still under warranty can change la otherwise for modding you will be better off with other stuff.
i think will need new ECU too right? otherwise what is the control mechanism for the switching
-storm-
post May 31 2009, 07:03 AM

Hmmm........
2,105 posts

IAFM uses vacuum for control so no need to touch the ECU.
the_catacombs
post May 31 2009, 12:11 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ May 31 2009, 06:56 AM)
i think will need new ECU too right? otherwise what is the control mechanism for the switching
dat one would be VIM... not IAFM...
TSericmaxman
post May 31 2009, 12:21 PM

-
7,951 posts

Cost of transplanting new engine is...?
-storm-
post Jun 1 2009, 12:42 AM

Hmmm........
2,105 posts

vim is ecu controlled, while iafm is vacuum controlled. Vim is in the cps, while normal campro uses the iafm.

This post has been edited by -storm-: Jun 1 2009, 12:43 AM
necromancer33
post Jul 15 2009, 11:39 PM

56 posts

DOHC?VTEC?VVT?VVTi?CPS? none of this manufacture can win any F1 and Rally nowadays.They should learn more...more & more.
vexus
post Jul 17 2009, 06:43 PM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,659 posts

my cam intake break during top overhaul. is it normal?
noelogy2007
post Jul 17 2009, 06:45 PM

32 posts

welcome to malaysia,

proton technology has upgraded
they need to catch up T brand or H brande
the_catacombs
post Jul 17 2009, 07:31 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jul 17 2009, 06:43 PM)
my cam intake break during top overhaul. is it normal?
ur camshaft break apart??... its not normal...
shinjite
post Jul 17 2009, 10:16 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

cam intake broke? how the heck it can break during overhaul ~~
Screw the mech man
the_catacombs
post Jul 17 2009, 10:27 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

yea use the broken camshaft whack him..
vexus
post Jul 18 2009, 02:16 AM

6,659 posts

i do not know why?

i also do not know how does cam intake looks like. tomorrow go to the shop n see.
the_catacombs
post Jul 18 2009, 02:44 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jul 18 2009, 02:16 AM)
i do not know why?

i also do not know how does cam intake looks like. tomorrow go to the shop n see.
yea go snap some photo let us see also ya...
vexus
post Jul 18 2009, 03:45 PM

6,659 posts

broken intake camshaft. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 18 2009, 04:31 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jul 18 2009, 03:45 PM)
broken intake camshaft.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
wah... really broken liao... drool.gif
vexus
post Jul 18 2009, 05:02 PM

6,659 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jul 18 2009, 04:31 PM)
wah... really broken liao...  drool.gif
that bloody cam intake rm350. Expensive.

who should pay for it?

me or the mechanic?
ah liew
post Jul 18 2009, 05:21 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jul 18 2009, 05:02 PM)
that bloody cam intake rm350. Expensive.

who should pay for it?

me or the mechanic?
mechanic lar.... need to ask meh. wink.gif
vexus
post Jul 18 2009, 11:16 PM

6,659 posts

QUOTE(ah liew @ Jul 18 2009, 05:21 PM)
mechanic lar.... need to ask meh.  wink.gif
u know mechaniclah. sure they blame campro engine parts very soft, very easy break, bla bla bla.
shinjite
post Jul 19 2009, 02:14 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

that is one rare problem....`
the_catacombs
post Jul 19 2009, 03:42 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jul 18 2009, 11:16 PM)
u know mechaniclah. sure they blame campro engine parts very soft, very easy break, bla bla bla.
how they remove it until can break apart??... even if soft and break easily, it cannot be broken by hand... sure he misplaced the cams and ran over by a car or some sort....

in short, ask ur mechanic pay for the damage..
zairee2580
post Jul 20 2009, 07:45 PM

385 posts

Even the part is soft, the thing broke under their supervision. Its their responsibility to replace the thing. Unless U want to change to special cam... brows.gif
davvycroix
post Jul 26 2009, 01:23 AM

178 posts

is our crank shaft for the 08 batch of campro engine stiffen enough compared to the 1st generation gen2's?
H20
post Jul 26 2009, 01:59 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(davvycroix @ Jul 26 2009, 01:23 AM)
is our crank shaft for the 08 batch of campro engine stiffen enough compared to the 1st generation gen2's?
I hope they are stronger now, I almost book a Neo CPS last 2 weeks, but luckily I saw the forum regarding cracked crankshaft. so i'll just wait and see... hope that the newer batch don't have such problem.
davvycroix
post Jul 26 2009, 08:15 AM

178 posts

i thought its the gen2 1st gen's issue only?
after that , all the other crankshafts are good / better than the gen2's?

ah liew
post Jul 26 2009, 02:48 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

It seems that you only have 3 choices.

1st - get mechanic to pay for damages
2nd - you pay & accept the fact that Campro is the fault
3rd - leave the workshop & get it repaired at another workshop under your own expenses.

There aren't many technical recomendation except who's gonna bare the cost & where to repair it now.
Good luck.
imperialrealcs
post Jul 26 2009, 06:34 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

what the hell, camshaft can easily break but u rev ur engine hard also no break? definitely is mech fault
the_catacombs
post Jul 26 2009, 10:31 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(davvycroix @ Jul 26 2009, 01:23 AM)
try whack urs and see lo...if broken adi time for b18c... tongue.gif
egiewan
post Jul 27 2009, 10:08 AM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

Camshaft breaking? Hahaha...I dare say that its not the mechs fault. It's Proton's fault...maybe the cam came from a bad batch. I've seen more expensive cams from Tomei, Today and JUN breaking as well. Factory error one....youre just unlucky sweat.gif
the_catacombs
post Jul 27 2009, 04:11 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Jul 27 2009, 10:08 AM)
Camshaft breaking? Hahaha...I dare say that its not the mechs fault. It's Proton's fault...maybe the cam came from a bad batch. I've seen more expensive cams from Tomei, Today and JUN breaking as well. Factory error one....youre just unlucky sweat.gif
if break when over revving, yes manufacturer's fault...

but if broken during engine overhaul (engine dismantle process), its mechanic's fault...
davvycroix
post Jul 27 2009, 07:00 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jul 26 2009, 10:31 PM)
try whack urs and see lo...if broken adi time for b18c... tongue.gif
gehgeh.. we'll see smile.gif

Added on July 27, 2009, 7:01 pmi mean crankshaft biggrin.gif
sorry.. lol

This post has been edited by davvycroix: Jul 27 2009, 07:01 PM
ah liew
post Jul 28 2009, 10:27 AM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

some bloody mechanic purposely spoil it or cause new problem to earn a quick buck. thats my personal experience lar.... i quickly scold the fella why you break my etc etc then look for the boss straight away.
settle on the spot.
ansari
post Aug 4 2009, 04:17 PM

Dont know much bout VTEC, but isn't 5k is too low, even MIVEC open at 5.5k..  hmm.gif

Donno what ecu CPS are using, how to know?  shocking.gif 

I also hope R3 would try to experiment regrind the lobe, which I think is possible  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif ... But how to change the activation point?
VIM are commonly mistaken because CPS and VIM both are usually referred as CPS only.. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
CPS is on went 3.8k RPM so no need ram high2 to get other performance "save fuel"

ahpaul82
post Aug 5 2009, 11:04 PM

.:ä¿ç½—:.
3,795 posts

hey guys,

i still don't understand why Gen2 CPS/Waja CPS engages on 3800rpm,
while Neo CPS engages on 4400rpm ??

i thought all are same engine? hmm.gif
how come CPS engages is difference ?
the_catacombs
post Aug 6 2009, 12:51 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Aug 5 2009, 11:04 PM)
hey guys,

i thought all are same engine?  hmm.gif
this one u ask proton lo...
smokey
post Aug 9 2009, 12:34 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

wanna ask whats the exhaust pipe size for campro 1.3 and 1.6?
is the size same across iafm,cps and camtakpro?
egiewan
post Aug 9 2009, 12:45 AM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(smokey @ Aug 9 2009, 12:34 AM)
wanna ask whats the exhaust pipe size for campro 1.3 and 1.6?
is the size same across iafm,cps and camtakpro?
My friends Waja Campro stock pipe size is 2" if I'm not mistaken. I think the 1.3 model should be around 1.5" smile.gif
ahpaul82
post Nov 8 2009, 12:59 PM

3,795 posts

How to get rid of burning smell when every-time doing high revv? sad.gif

Car model : 08' Gen2 CPS Manual.

loong2020
post Nov 8 2009, 03:00 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Nov 8 2009, 12:59 PM)
How to get rid of burning smell when every-time doing high revv?  sad.gif

i think normal kua...my plain campro also sometimes do have burning smell when rev....but recently i switch to fully-syn dont have wor... hmm.gif
the_catacombs
post Nov 8 2009, 03:15 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(egiewan @ Aug 9 2009, 12:45 AM)
My friends Waja Campro stock pipe size is 2" if I'm not mistaken. I think the 1.3 model should be around 1.5" smile.gif
inner diameter or outer diameter??
ahpaul82
post Nov 8 2009, 10:52 PM

3,795 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Nov 8 2009, 03:00 PM)
i think normal kua...my plain campro also sometimes do have burning smell when rev....but recently i switch to fully-syn dont have wor... hmm.gif
my fren advice me do frequent high revv to get rid of the smell laugh.gif

i would try Motul Fully-Syn engine oil on my next service... biggrin.gif
tofu
post Nov 10 2009, 04:50 PM

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Aug 5 2009, 11:04 PM)
hey guys,

i thought all are same engine?  hmm.gif
one possibility is that since the Gen2/Waja is heavier than the Neo, it needs power to come in sooner, hence 3800rpm, so proton set it that way

loong2020
post Nov 10 2009, 06:11 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Nov 8 2009, 10:52 PM)
my fren advice me do frequent high revv to get rid of the smell  laugh.gif

i would try Motul Fully-Syn engine oil on my next service...  biggrin.gif
haha....frequent high rev...manual boleh..la...auto abit takut... laugh.gif .....how much is the motul fully-syn???....wad grade??
ahpaul82
post Nov 10 2009, 10:11 PM

3,795 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Nov 10 2009, 06:11 PM)
haha....frequent high rev...manual boleh..la...auto abit takut... laugh.gif .....how much is the motul fully-syn???....wad grade??
Auto car one week doing few round high revv i guess still acceptable de.. biggrin.gif

you can refer : HERE
2fast2furious
post Nov 20 2009, 11:51 AM

32 posts

Btw, my 4500KM mileage Persona automatic now having this "tak tak tak" sound (not very loud though) during idle after start up. But it disappears after a while. Is that the sign of a failing IAFM module? I can't really tell because i am used to a noisy timing chain based MyVi 1.3 engine driven for almost 4 years.

Another question:

I am sure many heard and read that the horror stories of crankshaft breaking on earlier Campro engines for those loving high revs all the time. What about the current Campro engines? Have Proton rectified this matter? Any happenings still?

Review:

After few months of driving my new Persona automatic with IAFM Campro 1.6 DOHC engine... i find that the power delivery at speeds excess of 90kmh and above are quite decent. Reaching 160, 180kmh was quite easy during cruising on highway. Initial stand still pickup wise is a tad heavy and slow (can this be improved by means of changing to aftermarket headers?).

But since its just a regular old tech DOHC engine (Campro name that means nothing at all...other than just another name for an engine) without variable valve timing etc.... i find that going uphill is slightly a struggle whereby i need to press on the accelerator much more compared to a car with vvt / variable valves timing etc. I am used to driving MyVi with dvvt / vvt engine so i can really tell the difference between a non vvt and vvt engine...

This post has been edited by 2fast2furious: Nov 20 2009, 12:02 PM
allankoh007
post Nov 20 2009, 03:00 PM

67 posts

Good Day,
The basic Campro engine coded as S4PH is a basic DOHC 16-valve 1.6 L engine that produces 110 bhp (82 kW) @ 6,000 rpm of power and 148 N·m (109 ft·lbf) of torque. This is the engine that powers the Proton Gen-2. The S4PH engine can be fitted with Cam Profile Switching (CPS) and Variable Inlet Manifold (VIM) technology. Besides this 1.6 Litre engine, Proton has produced the 1.3 Litre version of the Campro engine.

Even though the S4PH engine seems to be quite powerful at higher revs, its performance is reportedly sluggish at lower revs and this is proven by driving the Gen-2 uphill where drivers who drive the manual transmission version have to shift a lot between 2nd gear and 3rd gear. This is due to its torque dip in the crucial 2,000 ~ 3,000 rpm operating range, where the torque actually decreases before picking up back to the maximum torque at 4,000 rpm. This torque characteristic can be clearly seen in manufacturer published engine performance curves.[1]

Another engine option for the basic DOHC engine is a 1.3L engine coded as S4PE. The S4PE engine produces 94 bhp (70 kW) @ 6,000 rpm and the torque of 120 N·m (89 ft·lbf) @ 4,000 rpm, which is more powerful than the other 1.3L rivals, even with variable valve timing technology, it also (like its bigger brother) displays a torque dip at typical engine speeds of 2,000 to 3,000 rpm.

The bore x stroke dimensions for both engines are as follows:-

S4PH (1.6L): 76 x 88 mm, resulting the displacement of 1598 cc.
S4PE (1.3L): 76 x 73.4 mm, resulting the displacement of 1332 cc.

Replacing after market is not necessary improving your torque and pick up. The engine is design differently. Just accelarate smoothly in the begining and once reaching is optimum speed , then you really feeling the engine power and roaring.

I been driving Proton Waja Campro 1.6E, year 2007. Firstly, i do had the same impression but later i felt once it reach 60 km/h or 3rd gear you can notice the engine power.
2fast2furious
post Nov 23 2009, 11:06 AM

32 posts

I think my 4650KM mileage old Persona automatic is having this "tak tak tak" engine sound already... what the happen?!
egiewan
post Nov 24 2009, 09:52 PM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 8 2009, 03:15 PM)
inner diameter or outer diameter??
Should be outer smile.gif
loong2020
post Nov 27 2009, 12:00 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Nov 23 2009, 11:06 AM)
I think my 4650KM mileage old Persona automatic is having this "tak tak tak" engine sound already... what the happen?!
can u describe more about the "tak tak tak" sound??....when u accelerate??.. accelerating time and tak tak tak at certain rpm???..... hmm.gif
stellabf
post Dec 6 2009, 10:05 PM

QUOTE(2fast2furious @ Nov 20 2009, 11:51 AM)
Btw, my 4500KM mileage Persona automatic now having this "tak tak tak" sound (not very loud though) during idle after start up. But it disappears after a while. Is that the sign of a failing IAFM module? I can't really tell because i am used to a noisy timing chain based MyVi 1.3 engine driven for almost 4 years.
thats sound coming from ur intake.. send ur car to Proton SC and ask them to check ur intake.. lots of IAFM owner facing that problem and usually they will change their intake..

swk_sam
post Dec 16 2009, 05:06 PM

This post has been edited by swk_sam: Dec 16 2009, 05:06 PM
allankoh007
post Dec 22 2009, 09:01 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Nov 8 2009, 12:59 PM)
How to get rid of burning smell when every-time doing high revv?  sad.gif

Burning smell shown that your engine oil breaks down prematurely due to high temperature which your engine oil is not design to. Take out the dipstick from your engine and try to smell it , if it smell burn strongly advise immediately change the engine oil to prevent engine damage in long run.

For optimum performance for high revving and high operating temperature Fully Synthetic engine oil is recommended as it oil vicosity is 5W-40 or 0W-40. I strongly recommend Castrol Edge.

By the way, your friend recommendation for more revving will get rid the burning smell is totally wrong. It do more harm and damaged to your engine's piston rather than fixing the situation. Petrol engine is not design for revving when idling. During revving when idling the petrol input is more into the combustion chamber to be burn to convert energy to move the camshaft but over revving will cause incomplete fuel burning and clean up the engine oil protecting the engine's piston and resulting premature damage to your engine. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by allankoh007: Dec 22 2009, 09:06 AM
boyzone
post Dec 24 2009, 08:33 AM

124 posts

Btw, If Gen 2 CPS able to reduce 100kg on the curb weight, the performance will further improve significantly. thumbup.gif
xshiro
post Dec 24 2009, 10:32 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(stellabf @ Dec 6 2009, 10:05 PM)
thats sound coming from ur intake.. send ur car to Proton SC and ask them to check ur intake.. lots of IAFM owner facing that problem and usually they will change their intake..
they will change the iafm module or some sc just modify the push rod that works inside the iafm. then the sound will be gone.

last time my frend changed the whole iafm, until now almost 6 months still ok...my car, the sc just modified the pushrod, last about 5k milage(2 months) then it starts making sound again..

This post has been edited by xshiro: Dec 24 2009, 10:36 AM
allankoh007
post Dec 25 2009, 03:18 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(boyzone @ Dec 24 2009, 08:33 AM)
Btw, If Gen 2 CPS able to reduce 100kg on the curb weight, the performance will further improve significantly. thumbup.gif
This apply to all car on the road. Well, to reduce the curb weight something gotta sacrifice to lighten it up for a original design car.
ahpaul82
post Dec 26 2009, 03:51 PM

3,795 posts

QUOTE(allankoh007 @ Dec 22 2009, 09:01 AM)
   Burning smell shown that your engine oil breaks down prematurely due to high temperature which your engine oil is not design to. Take out the dipstick from your engine and try to smell it , if it smell burn strongly advise immediately change the engine oil to prevent engine damage in long run.

For optimum performance for high revving and high operating temperature Fully Synthetic engine oil is recommended as it oil vicosity is 5W-40 or 0W-40. I strongly recommend Castrol Edge.

By the way, your friend recommendation for more revving will get rid the burning smell is totally wrong. It do more harm and damaged to  your engine's piston rather than fixing the situation. Petrol engine is not design for revving when idling. During revving when idling the petrol input is more into the combustion chamber to be burn to convert energy to move the camshaft  but over revving will cause incomplete fuel burning and clean up the engine oil protecting the engine's piston and resulting premature damage to your engine.  rclxub.gif
Thanks for your explanation,

burning smell came when i doing high revv IF my air-cond is ON...

turn off the air-cond, no burning smell at all. biggrin.gif

even now the smell become not so obvious anymore..

therefore, i don't think is the engine oil problem.

BTW, I'm using Motul 6100 SYNERGIE+ 10W-40, Semi-Syn.

This post has been edited by ahpaul82: Dec 26 2009, 03:53 PM
xin
post Dec 26 2009, 04:06 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

mayb is ur compressor leaking .. cuz mine was like tat too .. i on aircond onli can smell like wire melted or burn smell .. try get mechanic to give it a check .
ahpaul82
post Dec 26 2009, 05:16 PM

3,795 posts

QUOTE(xin @ Dec 26 2009, 04:06 PM)
mayb is ur compressor leaking .. cuz mine was like tat too .. i on aircond onli can smell like wire melted or burn smell .. try get mechanic to give it a check .
hmm.gif
car age is <2years, so fast compressor leaking?
but will take noted lah, thanks.
boyzone
post Dec 27 2009, 12:15 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(allankoh007 @ Dec 25 2009, 03:18 PM)
This apply to all car on the road. Well, to reduce the curb weight something gotta sacrifice to lighten it up for a original design car.
Change on full exhaust system + light weight rim will help to reduce 50kg ++ drool.gif

xshiro
post Dec 29 2009, 10:28 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(boyzone @ Dec 27 2009, 12:15 PM)
Change on full exhaust system + light weight rim will help to reduce 50kg ++ drool.gif
bro can you tell me a proper piping size for campro 1.3L? im really confused now...
the_catacombs
post Dec 29 2009, 10:59 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Dec 29 2009, 10:28 PM)
bro can you tell me a proper piping size for campro 1.3L? im really confused now...
1.75" will do..
amafz01
post Dec 31 2009, 02:37 PM

84 posts

Hi Bros out there, i,m driving Neo 1.6 MT late 2007 production. my problem since i bought my car is, i got smelly petrol each time i refueling. sent to SC for many times, what they said is, it was the carbon canister filter failed to filters the air from the fuel tank.>>>solution: they changed the carbon filter for a few times, the problem still occurs, tired enough to get proton to check for it. some mechanic said it was the overflow tube, which it was clogged. last few days, it is worse, the smells suddenly came to my cabin while I'm driving. so worry to drive now, concern the car will burn or catch in fire like what happen to some owner before.

need your bro's advice..TQ in advance

This post has been edited by amafz01: Dec 31 2009, 02:41 PM
SeNnDoh-7
post Dec 31 2009, 03:35 PM

492 posts

just test drive gen2 cps recently..it's a/t btw..well, i dont get what i expected..cps we can assume like vtec n mivec right?..
but i think the activation point of the cps is quite late..at 5.5k or so..whch is nearly redline..when i got back to showroom again, turned out when i was looking at the car brochure(power chart)..at 5.5k the graph is diff with normal campro..(power still going up until 6.smthing)

izzit ok or do you guyz agree with me?..i mean, who is crazy enuf to always full throtle to redline everyday?..

izzit other car(with vtec or mvec watsoeva) activation point like this?..earlier or more delay from this..

p/s:savvy amt gear shifting is sucx..damn sloooooooo..oso jerking on 2nd gear

This post has been edited by SeNnDoh-7: Dec 31 2009, 03:37 PM
sphiroth
post Dec 31 2009, 07:15 PM

2,804 posts

CPS engage at 3.8k rpm.
SeNnDoh-7
post Dec 31 2009, 07:28 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Dec 31 2009, 07:15 PM)
CPS engage at 3.8k rpm.
is there any reliable source i can get?..coz i really feel it kicks in at 5.sumthing k..only at that range.. blink.gif
sphiroth
post Dec 31 2009, 07:30 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(SeNnDoh-7 @ Dec 31 2009, 07:28 PM)
is there any reliable source i can get?..coz i really feel it kicks in at 5.sumthing k..only at that range.. blink.gif
Come to the CPS thread, can get real life source there. brows.gif
SeNnDoh-7
post Dec 31 2009, 07:37 PM

492 posts

based table on: http://paultan.org/2008/02/06/proton-waja-...um-cps-details/

ooh i c..it's already engaged when rpm reach 3.8 but variable intake manifold still in long runner..but when rpm hit 4.8 vim switch to short runner..
so, the rapid accel i feel is becoz of the vim?..however, bcoz the car i driven is auto trans, thats mybe the reason i cant get raw power from the engine at 3.8k..:-)

This post has been edited by SeNnDoh-7: Dec 31 2009, 07:38 PM
tqm_z
post Jan 1 2010, 06:18 PM

31 posts

considering speed limit in Malaysia is 110km/h,

my manual cps engine usually doing 110km/h @ 3.3~3.5k RPM

if cps kick-in @3.8k RPM & vim @ 4.8k RPM looks like no use acquiring cps machine blink.gif unless you are going to speeding all the way.

btw... my cps engine has done 11,000km within 6 month rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by tqm_z: Jan 1 2010, 06:22 PM
shinjite
post Jan 1 2010, 06:26 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

Wow....you travel a lot smile.gif
sphiroth
post Jan 1 2010, 07:29 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(tqm_z @ Jan 1 2010, 06:18 PM)
considering speed limit in Malaysia is 110km/h,

my manual cps engine usually doing 110km/h @ 3.3~3.5k RPM

if cps kick-in @3.8k RPM & vim @ 4.8k RPM looks like no use acquiring cps machine  blink.gif unless you are going to speeding all the way.

btw... my cps engine has done 11,000km within 6 month  rclxms.gif
Thats why I always change gear at 5k rpm. brows.gif
tqm_z
post Jan 1 2010, 10:13 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 1 2010, 07:29 PM)
Thats why I always change gear at 5k rpm. brows.gif
i believe 4th gear @ 5k rpm way toooo fast already doh.gif , i guess you can only doing that at empty highway/road ... ritee?

sphiroth
post Jan 1 2010, 11:37 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(tqm_z @ Jan 1 2010, 10:13 PM)
i believe 4th gear @ 5k rpm way toooo fast already  doh.gif , i guess you can only doing that at empty highway/road ... ritee?
Yeah, 5k @ 4th already about 150+. Usually drag on 2nd gear until redline (100km/h).
2fast2furious
post Jan 2 2010, 11:56 AM

32 posts

any recurrence of the IAFM after 1st time warranty replacement? I am going to do warranty replacement on the 6 January @ 8am.

My IAFM became really noisy at just 4k total mileage.
xshiro
post Jan 4 2010, 02:30 PM

133 posts

guys, can i put aftermarket campro 1.6 extractor into 1.3 campro car?

do they have different setup or gas flow optimized for 1.3L or 1.6L?

This post has been edited by xshiro: Jan 4 2010, 02:42 PM
the_catacombs
post Jan 4 2010, 04:15 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Jan 4 2010, 02:30 PM)
guys, can i put aftermarket campro 1.6 extractor into 1.3 campro car?

do they have different setup or gas flow optimized for 1.3L or 1.6L?
yes u can fit them in
xshiro
post Jan 4 2010, 04:33 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jan 4 2010, 04:15 PM)
yes u can fit them in
can effect the car performance hmm.gif cos of the difference in displacement?

the_catacombs
post Jan 4 2010, 05:11 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Jan 4 2010, 04:33 PM)
can effect the car performance hmm.gif cos of the difference in displacement?
difference wont be noticeable
ahpaul82
post Jan 7 2010, 12:01 PM

3,795 posts

QUOTE(tqm_z @ Jan 1 2010, 06:18 PM)
btw... my cps engine has done 11,000km within 6 month  rclxms.gif

Off Topic:

my cps has travel 10,000km within 4months ... whistling.gif laugh.gif
davvycroix
post Jan 9 2010, 01:09 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Jan 4 2010, 05:11 PM)
difference wont be noticeable
wah brother catak, tau tau je smile.gif
lu mmg pro biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
hehe..

the_catacombs
post Jan 9 2010, 04:56 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(davvycroix @ Jan 9 2010, 01:09 PM)
wah brother catak, tau tau je smile.gif
lu mmg pro biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
hehe..
u teach me one mar... brows.gif
dzerg
post Jan 10 2010, 12:27 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Jan 7 2010, 12:01 PM)

Off Topic:

my cps has travel 10,000km within 4months ...  whistling.gif  laugh.gif
After out of the showroom on 15.5.2009, my 1.3 IAFM done 33000km in 8 months.

loong2020
post Jan 10 2010, 09:34 AM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(dzerg @ Jan 10 2010, 12:27 AM)
After out of the showroom on 15.5.2009, my 1.3 IAFM done 33000km in 8 months.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif ..so any campro owner has exceed 150k-200k mileage??..any problems??? hmm.gif
dzerg
post Jan 10 2010, 09:51 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Jan 10 2010, 09:34 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif ..so any campro owner has exceed 150k-200k mileage??..any problems??? hmm.gif
If you send ur Campro for servicing on time, there shudnt be any problem..mine is doing great. thumbup.gif
imperialrealcs
post Jan 10 2010, 12:11 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

yesterday i drove a satria cps after 1st service with shell semi syn.. flat out the satria only can do 195km/h at 5k rpm at 5th gear.. it juz wont go up dunno why.. issit due to the speed limiter or thats the best for the engine? if thats the best then it is pretty upsetting coz vios 1.5 auto can do 195km/h also at the same road..

1 thing i liek about the cps is the 1st and 2nd gear wheel spin despite the 16" rim:hehe:
the whole car stock to the bone even using paper air filter only biggrin.gif
loong2020
post Jan 10 2010, 12:12 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

QUOTE(dzerg @ Jan 10 2010, 09:51 AM)
If you send ur Campro for servicing on time, there shudnt be any problem..mine is doing great. thumbup.gif
laugh.gif ...how far hv u clocked urs?? brows.gif
sphiroth
post Jan 10 2010, 10:56 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jan 10 2010, 12:11 PM)
yesterday i drove a satria cps after 1st service with shell semi syn.. flat out the satria only can do 195km/h at 5k rpm at 5th gear.. it juz wont go up dunno why.. issit due to the speed limiter or thats the best for the engine? if thats the best then it is pretty upsetting coz vios 1.5 auto can do 195km/h also at the same road..

1 thing i liek about the cps is the 1st and 2nd gear wheel spin despite the 16" rim:hehe:
the whole car stock to the bone even using paper air filter only biggrin.gif
Seems like all CPS is like that. At 5th gear, the rpm stuck at 5.4k. nod.gif
imperialrealcs
post Jan 11 2010, 09:48 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

alamak, boh song lah.. any other car that i drove easily break the cps engine 195km/h sad.gif
so sad get satria thought can high speed easily due to weight etc
shinjite
post Jan 11 2010, 10:51 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

The Neo is your new ride?
imperialrealcs
post Jan 12 2010, 12:26 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

no lah, my friend's ride lol.. mana ada wang for new car sweat.gif
i try to change the intake to drop in then see how again.. if still can go further that means the engine is out of breath or else either the engine is installed with speed limiter or thats the best the engine can do? lets see hmm.gif
sphiroth
post Jan 12 2010, 12:53 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jan 12 2010, 12:26 AM)
no lah, my friend's ride lol.. mana ada wang for new car sweat.gif
i try to change the intake to drop in then see how again.. if still can go further that means the engine is out of breath or else either the engine is installed with speed limiter or thats the best the engine can do? lets see hmm.gif
I've done intake, exhaust, FPR, LCP and SAFC. Still can only get 195 at best.
imperialrealcs
post Jan 13 2010, 06:40 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 12 2010, 12:53 AM)
I've done intake, exhaust, FPR, LCP and SAFC. Still can only get 195 at best.
woot! include safc still stuck at 195 doh.gif
looks like speed limiter is working yo
kobe10
post Jan 13 2010, 06:59 PM

Then how to remove the speed limiter?Stupid Proton, then buy the car for what?Like my friend, wira go install Mivec..Maximum 195.. i was like what the hell.. means when high speed any car at 196 can win you d la...he speechless..hahahhaa
the_catacombs
post Jan 14 2010, 12:17 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

proton car got speed limiter one meh??..
sphiroth
post Jan 14 2010, 10:10 AM

2,804 posts

Will try to dyno-ed my car without load to test the top speed. After that only can confirm got speed cut or not.
mosh
post Jan 14 2010, 11:02 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(kobe10 @ Jan 13 2010, 06:59 PM)
Then how to remove the speed limiter?Stupid Proton, then buy the car for what?Like my friend, wira go install Mivec..Maximum 195.. i was like what the hell.. means when high speed any car at 196 can win you d la...he speechless..hahahhaa
u mean installing a speed limiter meaning the company stupid izzit ? shocking.gif

in that case, u oso can recommend all the express busses, regardless of makers to remove the speed limiter lah...

reality check, does all manufacturer installed speed limiter on their standard family sedan passenger vehicle ? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by mosh: Jan 14 2010, 11:03 AM
SeNnDoh-7
post Jan 14 2010, 11:24 AM

492 posts

proton oso using speed limiter?..huh..nvr know bout this..if so, how to remove?..using aftermarket ecu?
sphiroth
post Jan 14 2010, 12:08 PM

2,804 posts

Other manufacturer use speed cut for safety purpose, I guessed Proton use it for durability purpose.
the_catacombs
post Jan 14 2010, 02:30 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(SeNnDoh-7 @ Jan 14 2010, 11:24 AM)
proton oso using speed limiter?..huh..nvr know bout this..if so, how to remove?..using aftermarket ecu?
use rsm can liao.. brows.gif
kcng
post Jan 14 2010, 02:39 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jan 13 2010, 06:40 PM)
woot! include safc still stuck at 195 doh.gif
looks like speed limiter is working yo
QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jan 14 2010, 10:10 AM)
Will try to dyno-ed my car without load to test the top speed. After that only can confirm got speed cut or not.
GAH how many F-king time must I repeat?

PROTON cars has no speed limiter......... only rev-cut

now which part of speed and rev that you all dont understand?
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

sheesh...
the reason why your proton cannot go beyond a specific speed its because the engine + drivetrain has no more power to propel the car beyond that speed
doh.gif doh.gif

haiz....
shinjite
post Jan 14 2010, 02:43 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

At 195km/h, how high was the rpm before the redline??
Proton doesn't have speed cut

Plus it depends on the HP and also the GB ratio, if GB don't allow then thats too bad, HP helps you get top speed faster

This post has been edited by shinjite: Jan 14 2010, 02:43 PM
kcng
post Jan 14 2010, 02:48 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

195km/h @ 4th gear will be 7k rpm
195 km/h @ 5th gear will be at 5.5k rpm
205 km/h @ 5th gear will be at 5.8k rpm

on federal highway.... early in the morning....

lets face it, campro cps or not, the 5th gear ratio is gay.....
coupled with the 1.6 gay final drive.... you wont go any faster....
and the engine has not enough power to compensate for that gay ratio...

those that claim to get 220 km/h before are actually helped by quite an incline.. namely MEX expressway...

ask them to do it on normal flat road, i doubt they will even touch 210...

This post has been edited by kcng: Jan 14 2010, 02:51 PM
imperialrealcs
post Jan 14 2010, 07:42 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

mivec stuck at 195? i thought all jdm only 180?

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 14 2010, 02:43 PM)
At 195km/h, how high was the rpm before the redline??
Proton doesn't have speed cut

Plus it depends on the HP and also the GB ratio, if GB don't allow then thats too bad, HP helps you get top speed faster
about 5.5k and redline at 6.5k
but wada hell, installing safc and other basic upgrades still stuck at 195 is sad

QUOTE(kcng @ Jan 14 2010, 02:48 PM)

those that claim to get 220 km/h before are actually helped by quite an incline.. namely MEX expressway...

ironically, i also tested at the maju express and at declining road, the max speed is still 195km/h
kobe10
post Jan 14 2010, 11:35 PM

i also dont know.. He show me his Mivec MD is it?the big mivec.. he say very fast then max speed d..
imperialrealcs
post Jan 14 2010, 11:44 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

mivec md is the fuel saving variant of the mivec engine.. besides the low fc during idle, everything else should be more or less same as conventional mivec 4g92 series.. max cap at 180km/h only
shinjite
post Jan 15 2010, 12:05 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

True, even with my manual GB, max also 220km/h, rpm already freaking close to 6.5k
Can't go any further, engine maxed out, GB also maxed out
kcng
post Jan 15 2010, 10:00 AM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Jan 14 2010, 07:42 PM)
ironically, i also tested at the maju express and at declining road, the max speed is still 195km/h
all my friends campro that claim to have speed cut... always have cake in their face when i prove it to them its not speed cut but engine got no more power to propel the car beyond the specified speed..
haiz, so much for kaki "main" kereta....

and 195 km/h is the manufacturer specified top speed for that particular model... u hit 195 km/h already so it is already the rated top speed...
anything more is a bonus...
wink.gif

campro red line at 6.5k rpm...
rev cut at 7.2k rpm...

unless u have ACP, driving beyond 6.5k rpm is useless because after that the power band will drop sharply...
shinjite
post Jan 15 2010, 12:23 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

You guy's Campros rev cut so high....mine is like extra 250rpm from redline cut adi XD
the_catacombs
post Jan 15 2010, 02:43 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jan 15 2010, 12:23 PM)
You guy's Campros rev cut so high....mine is like extra 250rpm from redline cut adi XD
modify ur ecu abit can get higher rev cut lo
shinjite
post Jan 15 2010, 03:12 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

Oh won't be doing that because ngam ngam max power is at 6.5k, tuned it to be like that

Unless I go gila cams then its different story
the_catacombs
post Jan 16 2010, 02:57 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

RPW cams malliiiii.....
chh1111985
post Jun 1 2010, 07:43 PM

I don't know why everyone said that campro engine not good as other same generation engine. I drive saga BLM 1.3(A) the rev toq low n pickup also quite good...the fc quite ok too...one tank MYR50 can goes to 460km. Average speed 70km/h-80km/h only.
archonixm
post Jun 1 2010, 11:54 PM

774 posts

rclxub.gif
yup the gay ratio is gay. lol.

sometimes i use 4th gear drag till 190km/h then change 5th gear drop 170km/h and dont want to increase anymore lol.

maybe im noob driver or wat haha rclxub.gif
shinjite
post Jun 2 2010, 12:05 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

Why drop to 170km/h
Drag all the way to 220 man smile.gif
sphiroth
post Jun 2 2010, 05:39 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 2 2010, 12:05 AM)
Why drop to 170km/h
Even on dyno, the max is 180 ++ km/h.
loong2020
post Jun 2 2010, 10:24 PM

Senior Star
771 posts

wonder have anyone's campro engine mileage pass 200000km?? brows.gif and what engine oil is used?? hmm.gif
shinjite
post Jun 3 2010, 01:47 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 2 2010, 05:39 PM)
Even on dyno, the max is 180 ++ km/h.
Weird....
sphiroth
post Jun 3 2010, 06:44 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 3 2010, 01:47 AM)
Weird....
Probably because of the gear ratio.
soonlee33
post Jun 3 2010, 02:19 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ Jun 2 2010, 12:05 AM)
Why drop to 170km/h
huhu
so ganas
shinjite
post Jun 3 2010, 02:37 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵÎŦ��
19,320 posts

Mine shift from 4th at 180km/h then at 5th it will go till max out 220
coolkwc
post Jun 6 2010, 11:51 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 3 2010, 06:44 AM)
Probably because of the gear ratio.
When gear ratio is long ppl complain can't go to top speed, when gear ratio is short ppl complain high rev at low speed...

I think Proton should release GRS (Gear Ratio Switching, new tech wat) rather than CPS... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jun 6 2010, 11:52 PM
xshiro
post Jun 7 2010, 07:44 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jun 6 2010, 11:51 PM)
When gear ratio is long ppl complain can't go to top speed, when gear ratio is short ppl complain high rev at low speed...

I think Proton should release GRS (Gear Ratio Switching, new tech wat) rather than CPS... tongue.gif
CVT la
mfa_145
post Jun 7 2010, 08:17 PM

145 posts

the siemens ECU is stupid bcoz it is a self-learning ECU.
if u REMBAT the car everyday, then ur car will be quite responsive.
but if u suddenly drive in a mild attitude, then it's hard to push the car to the max bcoz the ECU has learned the current driving behaviour.

that's y got some people claimed they can go up to 230kmh and some claimed can only go to 200.

more over, it is a mass production car fixed by mechanics with 'proton attitude', so some cars is quite perfect and some is rubbish.
mrl
post Jun 10 2010, 10:33 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(mfa_145 @ Jun 7 2010, 08:17 PM)
the siemens ECU is stupid bcoz it is a self-learning ECU.
if u REMBAT the car everyday, then ur car will be quite responsive.
but if u suddenly drive in a mild attitude, then it's hard to push the car to the max bcoz the ECU has learned the current driving behaviour.

that's y got some people claimed they can go up to 230kmh and some claimed can only go to 200.

more over, it is a mass production car fixed by mechanics with 'proton attitude', so some cars is quite perfect and some is rubbish.
response can affect top speed eh??? i thought only ratio and horsepower???

also, self-learning = stupid??? i thought intelligent???

but yeah, making things more and more intelligent, it can also become more and more stupid... laugh.gif
mfa_145
post Jun 10 2010, 03:01 PM

145 posts

not response can affect top speed. aiyoo. i never said that.
what i meant was, the ecu can control the top speed.
the ecu control it according to our driving style.
if our driving style is average, then it will perform average.
if our driving style is aggressive, it will perform responsively.
that's y i said that the EMS700 is stupid. eventhough it is considered as intelligent bcoz it is a self-learning ecu but it is still stupid bcoz it 'kacau' the engine performance based on our driving style.
isn't that stupid?
just imagine, u drive in a very relax situation, and suddenly u change to aggressive style, and of course u want the engine to perform responsively but u cannot get it! so? is that intelligent?
aiyoo if mau the engine to be very responsive, u have to rembat the car everyday ka? rosak woo itu macam.
that y i said the EMS700 is stupid.
mrl
post Jun 11 2010, 01:13 AM

977 posts

I dont remember ECU control the top speed... doesn't matter how I drive, still the same...

there's a shortcut to the good response when you need'em, and relaxing drive when you need'em... reset the ecu thumbup.gif
mfa_145
post Jun 11 2010, 06:58 AM

145 posts

owh yeah? how to reset the ecu?
so there will be a big waste la to those people who bought piggyback like dastek unichip and haltech interceptor just to make the car more responsive and powerful.
h4dRi
post Jun 11 2010, 12:37 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(mfa_145 @ Jun 11 2010, 06:58 AM)
so there will be a big waste la to those people who bought piggyback like dastek unichip and haltech interceptor just to make the car more responsive and powerful.
+1

mrl, i hope u don't mean reset ECU by disconect the battery...

This post has been edited by h4dRi: Jun 11 2010, 04:35 PM
soonlee33
post Jun 12 2010, 09:02 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(h4dRi @ Jun 11 2010, 12:37 PM)
+1

lol dat day i disconnect d battery to install my vs meaning to say i had reset-ed my ECU indirectly d lor? sweat.gif
mrl
post Jun 12 2010, 10:51 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(mfa_145 @ Jun 11 2010, 06:58 AM)
you have to differentiate the reason of installing piggyback and default ECU limitation...

piggyback is not to adjust the response only...

what i'm saying here is, force the ECU to relearn everything from scratch... everytime ECU lost his power supply, he'll lost his memory and have to relearn by himself... since it seems to be ECU learning has become a big issue like it's the world's end to you, i told you a shortcut for the ECU to unlearn everything so it'll response by default setting and relearn your driving style...

dont tell me ECU have permanent learning memory... and i'm 100% confident i am not wrong here as my engine always acting differently after this "ECU reset" and it's the same characteristic all over again...

piggyback is another whole issue... not only to improve the response, but a lot more tweaking of input to the ECU and output of the ECU so the engine have different response where ECU limited the performance of the engine before...

so, if your engine is topped at 180km/h by default, no matter what driving style you have it'll only go for 180, never 200... just how fast it gets there... when you got a piggyback helping you, you might go over the limit... that's all...

QUOTE(h4dRi @ Jun 11 2010, 12:37 PM)
+1

i think there's a fuse connecting to the ECU??? just take out the fuse for a while and plug it back... you're good to go...

but unfortunately yeah, i always disconnect the battery though... because usually i reset my ECU in conjunction with my radio hanging up... and till now, i still cannot find the fuse connecting to the HU... lazy to find some more... sweat.gif

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Jun 12 2010, 09:02 PM)
lol dat day i disconnect d battery to install my vs meaning to say i had reset-ed my ECU indirectly d lor? sweat.gif
yes... it'll have to re-learn your driving style all over again...

and guys, i'm not talking about resetting as in remapping or reflash the ECU with default firmware... i'm saying the ECU just have to relearn your driving style all over again... so, if you drive slow and having fuel economy response and it's a big issue to let the ECU learn for a while you want to drive fast, just force the ECU to learn all over again...
mfa_145
post Jun 13 2010, 01:13 AM

145 posts

heh3..this guy is pro. yes he is rclxms.gif
maybe can see u around in MUSC drag race this 20th june so that u can explain more on campro to widen my knowledge.
i really donno much about campro. blush.gif

This post has been edited by mfa_145: Jun 13 2010, 01:18 AM
jasondotcom
post Aug 21 2010, 11:04 AM

F**K RACISM
1,630 posts

resetting ecu does have its benefits.

I got my car from dealer for more than 6 months and the engine felt alright etc. The other day i took out my battery to do something...plug it back in.... the engine now operates much better. More responsive and better performance overall. Not by much OF COURSE but better. I guess because the car was filled with ron97 from factory till the dealer and when i got it, i hv been pumping ron95 till today. So resetting it causes it to relearn the setting due to different fuel type and run more efficient accordingly.

So yes... resetting the ecu does have its benefits.
ska_kay
post Aug 27 2010, 02:20 PM

mind sharing wat kind of piggyback that suitable for campro / cps ???
i heard some say e-manage cant control the campro/cps ecu is that rite???
the_catacombs
post Aug 27 2010, 10:16 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

unichip seems suitable for campro...
mfa_145
post Sep 1 2010, 11:33 AM

145 posts

dastek unichip, haltech interceptor, haltech sprint 500, platinum 1000, platinum 2000 bla3.

not e-manage. forget about it.
xshiro
post Sep 1 2010, 09:23 PM

133 posts

unichip is affordable ...unichip version Q is most suitable but if you are tight on budget, you might go for unichip type B (a little cheaper than version Q)...its compatible...

This post has been edited by xshiro: Sep 1 2010, 09:24 PM
sphiroth
post Sep 1 2010, 09:28 PM

2,804 posts

I use SAFC2. Only can tune the A/F ratio but its OK for me since I didn't dare to play with ignition timing.
sagacokelat
post Mar 11 2011, 04:03 AM

im already change my iafm but its still have tak2 sound but not so noticeable... anyway im driving saga blm... did persona iafm facing this problem too(tak2 sound)...

can 1.6 TB campro iafm fit to 1.3 campro iafm?
TSericmaxman
post Mar 25 2011, 11:08 PM

-
7,951 posts

[bamp]

why is it that the IAFM sound, is louder on a Persona compared to a BLM?
h4dRi
post Mar 26 2011, 11:01 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Mar 25 2011, 11:08 PM)
[bamp]

that's a suprise since Persona has better soundproofing than a BLM, either the persona running on performance filter or the IAFM is faulty..
Leonard liew
post Mar 29 2011, 01:57 PM

197 posts

Newbie here... just would like to ask izzit the 32bit ECU from Persona Elegance make a big difference towards the engine performance??
What about The CPS Engine? izzit CPS engine using 16Bit ECU??

Just wanna get more info to it due to considering to purchase Persona Elegance or Waja CPS. Hope Sifu-sifu can give some info here... Thanks... smile.gif
xshiro
post Mar 29 2011, 03:33 PM

133 posts

[bamp]

it depends bro, the sounds could indicate how serious the iafm problem is... sweat.gif

it started with low noise then it goes louder and louder...doesnt matter persona or saga

This post has been edited by xshiro: Mar 29 2011, 03:33 PM
TSericmaxman
post Apr 5 2011, 01:00 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Mar 29 2011, 03:33 PM)
it depends bro, the sounds could indicate how serious the iafm problem is... sweat.gif

it started with low noise then it goes louder and louder...doesnt matter persona or saga
iafm problem ><

mine is not that loud, just barely noticeable..
sphiroth
post Apr 5 2011, 06:12 PM

2,804 posts

[bamp]

Imo its because iafm are designed to be used with blm 1.3 engine. Using out with a bigger engine might have strain the unit.
xshiro
post Apr 5 2011, 06:13 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Apr 5 2011, 01:00 PM)
iafm problem ><

mine is not that loud, just barely noticeable..
sooner or later will be louder, but no worries, claim warranty, or buy new iafm rm250.
TSericmaxman
post Apr 5 2011, 09:42 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Apr 5 2011, 06:13 PM)
sooner or later will be louder, but no worries, claim warranty, or buy new iafm rm250.
you mean, it WILL fail, inevitably?

blink.gif
asrikerex
post Apr 30 2011, 05:24 PM

QUOTE(aizad02 @ Apr 7 2008, 11:50 PM)
Awak pakai engin apa?? Campro (GEN2) or Campro IAFM (PERSONA) or Campro CPS (GEN2 & EXZORA & NEO)
kalau guna CPS, tak ada harapan la nak pakai Campro punya sebab tapak & stud tak sama. kalau IAFM tu boleh tukar lagi la sebab cylinder head dia sama. biggrin.gif
MjMax15
post Apr 30 2011, 05:41 PM

Uncle Scrooge is back!
1,372 posts

so for upgrading to CPS, need the swap the whole engine?
SUSdantck
post Apr 30 2011, 06:39 PM

1,004 posts

I want buy campro kosong car , can i fit in iafm later?
sinister_sid
post Apr 30 2011, 07:20 PM

QUOTE(dantck @ Apr 30 2011, 06:39 PM)
I want buy campro kosong car , can i fit in iafm later?
can 3k plus by proton servise center
plus 5 k for cps head
mau brows.gif
SUSdantck
post Apr 30 2011, 10:20 PM

1,004 posts

QUOTE(xshiro @ Apr 5 2011, 06:13 PM)
see thisg guy say is 250 ,another say 1.4 include all , now u say 3k?
just iafm
sinister_sid
post May 2 2011, 12:56 AM

QUOTE(dantck @ Apr 30 2011, 10:20 PM)
see thisg guy say is 250 ,another say 1.4 include all , now u say 3k?
just iafm
just the unit 250 maybe rclxub.gif
1.4 this for the new iafm module only yes i buy it
3k plus workmanship by proton sc complete with ecu,iafm module,bla bla bla
dont blame me
i get the quote from sc at ss15

This post has been edited by sinister_sid: May 2 2011, 12:57 AM
zaffti84
post Jun 5 2011, 02:51 PM

21 posts

dear all. my dad's waja campro 2007 got like burning smell after change radiator coolant. temp show normal but dunno what the main cause. did anyone experiance this before?
gagak_84
post Jun 5 2011, 06:50 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(zaffti84 @ Jun 5 2011, 02:51 PM)
dear all. my dad's waja campro 2007 got like burning smell after change radiator coolant. temp show normal but dunno what the main cause. did anyone experiance this before?
what brand of radiator coolant? maybe during change the coolant.. the do some flushing on the radiator.. and some water spill over to engine and that is y u smell some burning..

alpha33
post Aug 31 2011, 04:37 PM

1,010 posts

thread ni macam dah mati jer...
conclusion tu, campro non iafm boleh rembat/mod masuk iafm tak?
archonixm
post Sep 1 2011, 02:25 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Aug 31 2011, 04:37 PM)
thread ni macam dah mati jer...
conclusion tu, campro non iafm boleh rembat/mod masuk iafm tak?
boleh, tp buat pe ko bazir2 buat iafm tu, ko angkat gsr je transplant....

ish......buat abis ribu2 pegi x kemana gak, kene tapau dgn gsr gak, baek pakai enjin gsr trus
alpha33
post Sep 1 2011, 08:25 AM

1,010 posts

huh???bukan transplant whole engine IAFM tu...
cuma masukkan IAFM manifold saja. Replacement.
TSericmaxman
post Sep 1 2011, 01:38 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Sep 1 2011, 08:25 AM)
huh???bukan transplant whole engine IAFM tu...
cuma masukkan IAFM manifold saja. Replacement.
Can. the IAFM is the intake manifold part.

should help smoothen the torque dip
alpha33
post Sep 1 2011, 04:12 PM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Sep 1 2011, 01:38 PM)
Can. the IAFM is the intake manifold part.

should help smoothen the torque dip
i assume u can help me more on this then.
1 : Is the intake manifold inlet(the diameter size and shape) is the same,rite? "Tear drop" shaped, or oval shaped?
2 : The mechanical/vacuum part, is it an easy job to mod?

Becos i heard somewhere that our old campro intake manifold uses gasket, but the IAFM uses o-ring instead.(between head and manifold). True?
sg999
post Sep 4 2011, 08:16 PM

1,027 posts

anyone about remapping ecu for blm?
TSericmaxman
post Sep 4 2011, 10:25 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Sep 4 2011, 08:16 PM)
anyone about remapping ecu for blm?
Remap not sure, but got PDT tuning.
sg999
post Sep 8 2011, 11:51 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Sep 4 2011, 11:25 PM)
Remap not sure, but got PDT tuning.
u turned?
spOiLerz
post Nov 13 2011, 06:17 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(MjMax15 @ Apr 30 2011, 05:41 PM)
so for upgrading to CPS, need the swap the whole engine?
I read from the beginning to end of this thread..finally got someone asked bout this.

Can Manual IAFM been upgraded to Manual CPS?

How much the cost?

Need to change a whole engine?
TSericmaxman
post Nov 13 2011, 06:51 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(spOiLerz @ Nov 13 2011, 06:17 PM)
I read from the beginning to end of this thread..finally got someone asked bout this.

Can Manual IAFM been upgraded to Manual CPS?

How much the cost?

Need to change a whole engine?
I believe a whole engine swap is necessary.
spOiLerz
post Nov 13 2011, 06:54 PM

74 posts

wow..really..d cost?
TSericmaxman
post Nov 13 2011, 07:00 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(spOiLerz @ Nov 13 2011, 06:54 PM)
wow..really..d cost?
Last I saw was RM5k for the engine parts.

Hmm, what IAFM car u driving? Persona? GEN2? Saga?
spOiLerz
post Nov 13 2011, 07:09 PM

74 posts

Persona..

Walla..5k? uhuk3..
TSericmaxman
post Nov 13 2011, 07:10 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(spOiLerz @ Nov 13 2011, 07:09 PM)
Persona..

Walla..5k? uhuk3..
At least. Still haven't factor in installation chargers etc.
spOiLerz
post Nov 13 2011, 07:12 PM

74 posts

Seem like i need to forget bout it..huhu..

I blame Proton because they ceased production of Gen2 CPS..can I?hik3
TSericmaxman
post Nov 13 2011, 07:23 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(spOiLerz @ Nov 13 2011, 07:12 PM)
Seem like i need to forget bout it..huhu..

I blame Proton because they ceased production of Gen2 CPS..can I?hik3
Hehe. Can ask around see who got transplant from CPS to MIVEC, take that engine lo brows.gif
spOiLerz
post Nov 13 2011, 07:44 PM

74 posts

same cost?

TSericmaxman
post Nov 13 2011, 08:00 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(spOiLerz @ Nov 13 2011, 07:44 PM)
same cost?
Not too sure
spOiLerz
post Nov 13 2011, 08:03 PM

74 posts

myb i'll ast this guy, mfa_145 since he running business bout this...
sagacokelat
post Nov 26 2011, 09:57 PM

hello sifu's just wanna ask, what is the cause of cranshaft break after overhaul... i heard it from the owner, his waja campro 2 time facing this prob huhuhu lastly he change mivec ck... he said it becoz of wrong cranshaft bearing size/type??

it is crankshaft campro are diffrent with other engine? bearing size for crankshaft should be same rite? for 1 set(5pcs)..

vr2turbo
post Nov 27 2011, 03:41 PM

Something must have jammed for crankshaft to break, and must be driving fast too....
kicksense
post Dec 2 2011, 04:46 AM

285 posts

CPS is a good machine. I love my campro no matter what others said. If you are truely interested in this campro technology, dig in more. Just dig and dig. Dont afraid to ask around and meet people that play with this campro. Got few workshops and tuners out there to tune ur campro and bring it to another level.

BK motorsport, G Car Care, Teknik Kosmo Sdn Bhd, Dori-Dori Autoworks, Wazi Motorsport, DNT Tune and much more. These tuner got track and street proven machines. Some pro in turbo some in NA tuning.

What ever it is, i never regret buying my Neo Campro B-Line after sell my SEG 101 4AGE 20v. The OEM Ecu is not stupid, just the people dont know how to tune it yet. Will let u wait and see.

Oh btw, have y'all seen the result of MUSC Drag Putrajaya 2011? (Round 8). See under category 1.6 open. Gen2 with Campro win 2nd place. (alot of powerfull 4G mitsu and 4A toyota in this category) biggrin.gif

Every machine is great for me! Long live motorsports!

Added on December 2, 2011, 4:51 amBut to convert normal campro to IAFM or to CPS is very hi-cost. Normal campro, IAFM, and CPS using different-different wiring. Need to change wiring and ecu also if wanna convert.

CPS is the best among these 3 engine.

This post has been edited by kicksense: Dec 2 2011, 04:51 AM
samwongjyhhorng
post Dec 2 2011, 11:19 AM

QUOTE(kicksense @ Dec 2 2011, 04:46 AM)
CPS is a good machine. I love my campro no matter what others said. If you are truely interested in this campro technology, dig in more. Just dig and dig. Dont afraid to ask around and meet people that play with this campro. Got few workshops and tuners out there to tune ur campro and bring it to another level.

BK motorsport, G Car Care, Teknik Kosmo Sdn Bhd, Dori-Dori Autoworks, Wazi Motorsport, DNT Tune and much more. These tuner got track and street proven machines. Some pro in turbo some in NA tuning.

What ever it is, i never regret buying my Neo Campro B-Line after sell my SEG 101 4AGE 20v. The OEM Ecu is not stupid, just the people dont know how to tune it yet. Will let u wait and see.

Oh btw, have y'all seen the result of MUSC Drag Putrajaya 2011? (Round 8). See under category 1.6 open. Gen2 with Campro win 2nd place. (alot of powerfull 4G mitsu and 4A toyota in this category) biggrin.gif

Every machine is great for me! Long live motorsports!

Added on December 2, 2011, 4:51 amBut to convert normal campro to IAFM or to CPS is very hi-cost. Normal campro, IAFM, and CPS using different-different wiring. Need to change wiring and ecu also if wanna convert.

CPS is the best among these 3 engine.
persona elegance 32bit ecu can tune or not?i wan tune it if possible
TSericmaxman
post Jan 19 2012, 01:11 PM

-
7,951 posts

changed my IAFM last year (June). now got some minor tapping noises..

gotta check the Canister Purge Valve now

rclxub.gif

any other IAFM users having the same problem?
zeone
post Jan 19 2012, 01:32 PM

A Friend...
784 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jan 19 2012, 01:11 PM)

rclxub.gif

So fast give probs meh? sad.gif

IAFM phobia? Mayb juz loose tappets? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by zeone: Jan 19 2012, 01:33 PM
Vervain
post Jan 19 2012, 11:09 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Iafm= I am failure model.

When proton is giving free repair on power window the iafm is now a new problem.
sg999
post Jan 23 2012, 09:08 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jan 19 2012, 02:11 PM)

rclxub.gif

iafm gt taktak sound
noneed to change
just adjust the rod will settle
mine adjusted until now no problem nod.gif
whereas my friend keep claim new iafm
the problem will be back after period of time.

This post has been edited by sg999: Jan 23 2012, 09:09 PM
TSericmaxman
post Jan 23 2012, 09:38 PM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Jan 23 2012, 09:08 PM)
iafm gt taktak sound
noneed to change
care to elaborate more?
dadurtyz
post Jan 23 2012, 10:33 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Jan 23 2012, 09:08 PM)
iafm gt taktak sound
noneed to change
adjust the ROD? interesting to know, please gib more info about this, sharing is caring biggrin.gif
sg999
post Jan 23 2012, 11:32 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jan 23 2012, 10:38 PM)
care to elaborate more?
i"m not so clear also
but it written on my bill
"adjust IAFM push rod"
the iafm tak tak sound does not affect ur performance and fc
everything normal just the annoying tak tak sound
this is what i observed last time
hope it helps laugh.gif
try come to puchong proton sc
quite friendly and reliable. biggrin.gif
i read other forum got member mentioned about this issue
even replace with new iafm the sound will come back again
so can eradicate the sound by adjust the push rod (cut it shorter) nod.gif

This post has been edited by sg999: Jan 23 2012, 11:32 PM
TSericmaxman
post Jan 23 2012, 11:59 PM

-
7,951 posts

puchong?

if it makes sounds again laugh.gif
sg999
post Jan 24 2012, 12:11 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jan 24 2012, 12:59 AM)
puchong?

if it makes sounds again laugh.gif
No 6 & 8, Jalan Serindit 3, Puchong Jaya Industrial Park, Bandar Puchong Jaya, 47100 Puchong, Selangor

go rev 6000rpm
the sound will back fast icon_idea.gif
TSericmaxman
post Jan 24 2012, 09:01 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Jan 24 2012, 12:11 AM)
No 6 & 8, Jalan Serindit 3, Puchong Jaya Industrial Park, Bandar Puchong Jaya, 47100 Puchong, Selangor

go rev 6000rpm
i do

hmm.gif
sg999
post Jan 24 2012, 11:46 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jan 24 2012, 10:01 AM)
i do

hmm.gif
no worry after cut it shorter
rev as u wan laugh.gif
TSericmaxman
post Jan 24 2012, 11:59 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(sg999 @ Jan 24 2012, 11:46 AM)
no worry after cut it shorter
rev as u wan laugh.gif
so wait for this to spoil first?

tongue.gif
sg999
post Jan 24 2012, 12:14 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Jan 24 2012, 12:59 PM)
so wait for this to spoil first?

tongue.gif
of course biggrin.gif

eric ur blm top speed hw much?
i just did this last month during highway cruising

TSericmaxman
post Jan 24 2012, 01:34 PM

-
7,951 posts

slow car sad.gif
sagacokelat
post Jan 24 2012, 03:17 PM

good day all sifu's..
wanna ask about iafm on flx, my frend told me iafm at flx are different with blm n fl, betol ke 0:). he said the iafm flx much more like vim system.. so no more tak tak tak sound huhu

Added on January 24, 2012, 3:25 pm
QUOTE(sg999 @ Jan 23 2012, 11:32 PM)
i"m not so clear also
but it written on my bill
"adjust IAFM push rod"
the iafm tak tak sound does not affect ur performance and fc
everything normal just the annoying tak tak sound
this is what i observed last time
hope it helps laugh.gif
try come to puchong proton sc
quite friendly and reliable. biggrin.gif
i read other forum got member mentioned about this issue
even replace with new iafm the sound will come back again
so can eradicate the sound by adjust the push rod (cut it shorter) nod.gif

bro how much they charge?

Added on January 24, 2012, 3:29 pm
QUOTE(sg999 @ Jan 24 2012, 12:11 AM)

go rev 6000rpm

no wonder la my iafm got sound tak tak tak again huhuhu

This post has been edited by sagacokelat: Jan 24 2012, 03:29 PM
sg999
post Jan 24 2012, 08:45 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(sagacokelat @ Jan 24 2012, 04:17 PM)
good day all sifu's..
wanna ask about iafm on flx, my frend told me iafm at flx are different with blm n fl, betol ke 0:). he said the iafm flx much more like vim system.. so no more tak tak tak sound huhu

Added on January 24, 2012, 3:25 pm

bro how much they charge?

Added on January 24, 2012, 3:29 pm
no wonder la my iafm got sound tak tak tak again huhuhu
under warranty
so FOC laugh.gif
sagacokelat
post Jan 27 2012, 02:25 AM

can anybody tell me where to tune AFR to get optimum power and good FC.. for campro iafm huhuhu
sg999
post Jan 28 2012, 09:13 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(sagacokelat @ Jan 27 2012, 03:25 AM)
can anybody tell me where to tune AFR to get optimum power and good FC.. for campro iafm huhuhu
go g car care biggrin.gif
samwongjyhhorng
post Jan 29 2012, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(sg999 @ Jan 28 2012, 09:13 PM)
go g car care biggrin.gif
where is g car care?can tune persona elegance wit 32 bit ecu?
sg999
post Jan 30 2012, 01:37 AM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Jan 29 2012, 08:31 PM)
at pj
not sure for persona
but blm confirmed can tune
mosh
post Jan 30 2012, 01:49 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Jan 29 2012, 07:31 PM)
if got... dun forget me wehh... biggrin.gif
samwongjyhhorng
post Jan 30 2012, 03:20 PM

QUOTE(mosh @ Jan 30 2012, 01:49 PM)
if got... dun forget me wehh...  biggrin.gif
Oledi ask g care.pe cant tune due to use 32bit ecu.so my next mod is rebore and pnp throttle body at dori2
sagacokelat
post Jan 31 2012, 10:28 PM

what is the time for 0-100kmh for standard 1.3 iafm?
sg999
post Jan 31 2012, 10:40 PM

1,027 posts

QUOTE(sagacokelat @ Jan 31 2012, 11:28 PM)
12second?
TSericmaxman
post Feb 1 2012, 09:06 AM

-
7,951 posts

QUOTE(sagacokelat @ Jan 31 2012, 10:28 PM)
between 10-12s
saru04
post Jul 3 2012, 06:55 PM

1,358 posts

guys, may I know what intake manifold is recommended for Proton Gen 2 1.6 Auto Campro IAFM engine?

omara86
post Jul 5 2012, 10:53 PM

0mg nicotine juice
707 posts

QUOTE(sagacokelat @ Jan 31 2012, 10:28 PM)
this is mine, stock N-Line BLM 1.3 Manual before any mod done.. 10.5s

iXora.ix
post Jul 6 2012, 11:45 AM

scoot scoot
1,682 posts

fuh omara... racing betul kereta tu!
goldenhit92
post Jul 17 2012, 10:46 PM

CPS and IAFM engine is the same..
tokidoki
post Jul 18 2012, 01:56 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(goldenhit92 @ Jul 17 2012, 10:46 PM)
CPS and IAFM engine is the same..
Bro, these two engines not same at all. Care to share why you said this engine is same?

Other than that, how did G Car Care 'tune' you guys ECU?

Vervain
post Jul 19 2012, 02:29 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Maybe he meant the block is same.
convicted_knight
post Aug 5 2012, 12:58 AM

506 posts

my wife blm auto i think got problem, engine light come up right after 3k rpm n top speed only 130km on the dot with paddle floored... any suggestion before i ask her to send her car to mechanic.. (i like to do some revision & preparation before i go into mech shop..)

This post has been edited by convicted_knight: Aug 5 2012, 01:02 AM
h4dRi
post Aug 5 2012, 06:17 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(convicted_knight @ Aug 5 2012, 12:58 AM)
my wife blm auto i think got problem, engine light come up right after 3k rpm n top speed only 130km on the dot with paddle floored... any suggestion before i ask her to send her car to mechanic.. (i like to do some revision & preparation before i go into mech shop..)
Prolly got prob. with exhaust sensor..need to send the car to workshop that have pdt..
the only time my engine light come up is when my thortle stuck with aquarium filter..not enuf air for engine...
4wawa
post Aug 16 2012, 12:49 PM

Hi all,

I'm driving a Saga BLM(IAFM) auto , mileage 15000km only. I would like to check if anyone experience bad vibration(same with aircon on and off) when the autogear box is in "DRIVE" or "Reverse" gearhe vibration is really bad and when the gear is switch to neutral, I can feel a very obvious jerk. In Neutral gear, no vibration at all,very smooth.

I can also feel the engine "pushing" the car to move with the foot brakes step on. Its very obvious that I have to step the brakes real hard to prevent the car from moving forward(in "DRIVE" gear) or backwards(in "reverse" gear - very dangerous). It feels as if the brakes are not biting but I rule that out cos the car has no problem stopping, when driving 80-120km/h.

I suspect its either E-throttle or something wrong with the gearbox? Btw, The rpm reading is 750rpm is "drive" gear and 900rpm in "neutral" gear. Gearbox no problem shifting gears.

Another problem is , I can hear "marble rolling" noise when the car is in first gear moving slowly , 10-20 km/h. But once I step on more on the accelerator, the noise will go away. (Sounds like pinging)

Is this normal for campro engine? Thank you in advance.

TSericmaxman
post Aug 16 2012, 12:52 PM

-
7,951 posts

Its a proton, what do you expect? whistling.gif
Vervain
post Aug 16 2012, 06:30 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

QUOTE(4wawa @ Aug 16 2012, 12:49 PM)
Hi all,

I'm driving a Saga BLM(IAFM) auto , mileage 15000km only. I would like to check if anyone experience bad vibration(same with aircon on and off) when the autogear box is in "DRIVE" or "Reverse" gearhe vibration is really bad and when the gear is switch to neutral, I can feel a very obvious jerk. In Neutral gear, no vibration at all,very smooth. Could be transmission issue. any check engine light?

I can also feel the engine "pushing"  the car  to move with the foot brakes step on.  Its very obvious that I have to step the brakes real hard to prevent the car from moving forward(in "DRIVE" gear) or  backwards(in "reverse" gear - very dangerous).  It feels as if the brakes are not biting but I rule that out cos the car has no problem stopping, when driving 80-120km/h. Either it's the IAFM faulty or the ignition timing is retarded too much

I suspect its either E-throttle or something wrong with the gearbox? Btw, The rpm reading is 750rpm is "drive" gear and 900rpm in "neutral" gear.  Gearbox no problem shifting gears. Normal, because at neutral there is no load, in drive there's load and counter off by the brakes.

Another problem is , I can hear "marble rolling" noise when the car is in first gear moving slowly , 10-20 km/h. But once I step on more on the accelerator, the noise will go away. (Sounds like pinging) Ignition timing issue.

Is this normal for campro engine? Thank you in advance. Not normal. try resetting the ECU. probably the ECU retard the ignition timing too much.
Do you have aftermarket custom cam pulley?
TSericmaxman
post Aug 16 2012, 06:37 PM

-
7,951 posts

No eye see Campro liao.

Go make your own thread if you want.

/thread

0.1402sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:42 PM