I used to like Animal Crossing but the story like never ending.
The best DS RPG you have played, Share your thoughts here;)
Apr 9 2008, 07:44 AM
64 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
I used to like Animal Crossing but the story like never ending.
Apr 9 2008, 02:19 PM
669 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: From Cheras Currently @ Kota Kinabalu |
Apr 9 2008, 07:43 PM
2,234 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
QUOTE(jangwl @ Apr 9 2008, 07:44 AM) does animal crossing even have a story in the first place? QUOTE(ccm @ Apr 9 2008, 02:19 PM) without the pretty graphics, i dun think ff3 is that good. at least i think golden sun is beta than it. |
Apr 9 2008, 11:53 PM
84 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
1. ZELDA <----has always been a RPG
2. Pokemans Diamond/Pearl /end tread. ![]() This post has been edited by mecharojak: Apr 10 2008, 12:04 AM |
Apr 10 2008, 03:10 PM
1,274 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Shah Alam |
/b/??
nooo.. anyway how bout ninja gaiden? |
Apr 10 2008, 04:04 PM
Apr 10 2008, 06:03 PM
69 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
Define traditional RPG. Zelda existed before Final Fantasy so that would make Zelda sort of "traditional" as well, being one of the earliest RPGs introduced... I think a few of us here are wondering what you meant by traditional RPG. Dungeons and Dragons tabletop games also can pass as traditional RPG since people were playing it before the console games caught on.
I think the term you are looking for is turn-based RPG. |
Apr 10 2008, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(Kiraneko @ Apr 10 2008, 06:03 PM) Define traditional RPG. Zelda existed before Final Fantasy so that would make Zelda sort of "traditional" as well, being one of the earliest RPGs introduced... I think a few of us here are wondering what you meant by traditional RPG. Dungeons and Dragons tabletop games also can pass as traditional RPG since people were playing it before the console games caught on. correct!I think the term you are looking for is turn-based RPG. when i mean traditional rpg, i am referring to games like dragon quest. |
Apr 10 2008, 09:20 PM
84 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
If you want to nitpick.
Traditional RPG = Pen & Paper RPG JRPG(Dragon Quest, Final Fantasy, Pokemon) is not real RPG then. Real RPG = Dungeons & Dragons, Baldur's Gate, Forgoten Realms.... By your logic, there are no real RPG on DS. Tread Starter asked for "The best DS RPG you have played" not "The best Traditional DS RPG you have played" This post has been edited by mecharojak: Apr 10 2008, 09:25 PM |
Apr 10 2008, 09:54 PM
1,274 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Shah Alam |
also got like tat eh?
traditional or not.. it still a RPG |
Apr 10 2008, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(mecharojak @ Apr 10 2008, 09:20 PM) If you want to nitpick. hehe, everyone has their different traditional rpg i think. Traditional RPG = Pen & Paper RPG JRPG(Dragon Quest, Final Fantasy, Pokemon) is not real RPG then. Real RPG = Dungeons & Dragons, Baldur's Gate, Forgoten Realms.... By your logic, there are no real RPG on DS. Tread Starter asked for "The best DS RPG you have played" not "The best Traditional DS RPG you have played" for me, it is always gonna be turn based rpg. haha, paiseh. i tot when ts states out that he was playing ff, he shud have hinted at ff3, but there are ff chocobo, ff renevant wings, ff ta2. the way square enix milked this series has made me confused. |
Apr 12 2008, 12:06 PM
6 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
hmm,the best rpg i have played
1.luminous arc 2.mario and luigi: partners in time 3.pokemon diamond & pearl |
Apr 13 2008, 04:32 PM
108 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Your Backyard |
my definition of RPG has always been a gameplay that depends on your stats, strategy and luck rather than skill to affect the outcome of the game. Traditional RPG would one way or another implement the dice roll mechanics (1d6, 2d20 lol) that's similar to D&D tabletop RPG. The fact that it's turn based (think FF), or combat/auto dice roll based is just a matter presentation as the basic mechanics still apply.
So Zelda games are what I would call Adventure games, rather than traditional RPGs. My favourite RPG for the DS would be Revenant Wings. But it's more of a Strategy-RPG than anything else. also Pokemon, obviously. I'm looking forward to The World Ends With You, and also that Sonic RPG produced by Bioware. |
Apr 13 2008, 06:12 PM
1,028 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(Kiraneko @ Apr 10 2008, 06:03 PM) Define traditional RPG. Zelda existed before Final Fantasy so that would make Zelda sort of "traditional" as well, being one of the earliest RPGs introduced... I think a few of us here are wondering what you meant by traditional RPG. Dungeons and Dragons tabletop games also can pass as traditional RPG since people were playing it before the console games caught on. IMO, Zelda is not an RPG simply because it has better category for it to fit in, Adventure game.I think the term you are looking for is turn-based RPG. That said, if Zelda is an RPG then the following games would have been RPG as well: Resident Evil, Devil May Cry, God of War, etc. QUOTE Traditional RPG = Pen & Paper RPG * Agreed! QUOTE JRPG(Dragon Quest, Final Fantasy, Pokemon) is not real RPG then. JRPG = Console RPG. QUOTE Real RPG = Dungeons & Dragons, Baldur's Gate, Forgoten Realms.... Computer RPG/Westerner RPG. |
Apr 13 2008, 09:39 PM
281 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
so far the best RPG on ds?hmm....tales of innocent...mario&luigi...TOI really syok...now reaching 45hours gameplay..wohoho...only 65% completetion
Apr 14 2008, 12:57 AM
431 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Hierarchical City of Kagutsuchi |
yahoo. tales of innocence!
Apr 14 2008, 05:52 PM
669 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: From Cheras Currently @ Kota Kinabalu |
Agreed with you, zelda is more like adventure game..
QUOTE(Voxdei @ Apr 13 2008, 04:32 PM) my definition of RPG has always been a gameplay that depends on your stats, strategy and luck rather than skill to affect the outcome of the game. Traditional RPG would one way or another implement the dice roll mechanics (1d6, 2d20 lol) that's similar to D&D tabletop RPG. The fact that it's turn based (think FF), or combat/auto dice roll based is just a matter presentation as the basic mechanics still apply. So Zelda games are what I would call Adventure games, rather than traditional RPGs. My favourite RPG for the DS would be Revenant Wings. But it's more of a Strategy-RPG than anything else. also Pokemon, obviously. I'm looking forward to The World Ends With You, and also that Sonic RPG produced by Bioware. |
Apr 14 2008, 07:24 PM
Apr 14 2008, 10:28 PM
281 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
namco not so interested in ang mo market gua...still remember TOP gba only release Eng ver after 3 yrs...so wait lo...
Apr 14 2008, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(hamtarox @ Apr 14 2008, 10:28 PM) namco not so interested in ang mo market gua...still remember TOP gba only release Eng ver after 3 yrs...so wait lo... yala, and top localization was done by nintendo team and not namco leh. no chance edy la. they are still not interested in reaching mass markets other than japanese i guess think. |
| Change to: | 0.0171sec
5 queries
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 12:55 AM |