ASB loan, worth to get it???

yugimudo
post Jan 23 2014, 09:28 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(luqe @ Jan 17 2014, 07:28 PM)
For that case, actually the amount RM196,714 already include 100k asb certificate from the beginning. Pendapatan is my own term (i m not expert in financing terms) to mean whatever owned or will be owned by account holder. Which is why the total installment to the bank must be deducted at the end to get net profit. Hope that clear. :icon_rolleyes.gif:
Adui abang, dah silap kira dah ni.

It is correct that you paid rm127,080 to the bank. But you cant use the below calculation to compare between loan and self saving.

Jumlah pendapatan (yearly div stays in asb, assume div 7%, include amount 100k): rm196,714
Untung bersih (money in asb after 10yrs - total pay to bank): rm69,634

Because, if you want to be fair then you have to use the same calculation for case 2:

You deposit 1059 per month, then you are "paying" to ASB RM127,080

Thus, "pendapatan" according to calculation is:

Jumlah pendapatan (yearly div stays in asb, assume div 7%, every month depo 1059): RM182,237
Untung bersih (money in asb after 10yrs - total pay to ASB): rm55157

Hence, the difference between case 1 and case 2:

rm69,634 - rm55,157 = rm14,477

rm1,447.7 per year profit if you use ASB loan.

P/S: Why does this happen? It happens because of compounding power. You are compounding an amount so big that you can gain profit. But from my calculation, it is not effective with small numbers.

This post has been edited by yugimudo: Jan 23 2014, 09:29 PM
yugimudo
post Jan 28 2014, 03:28 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(MonkeyDSoul @ Jan 28 2014, 02:54 PM)
Loan ASB Maybank Islamic dont have lock in period. Conventional not sure. How about CIMB?
As of Dec 2012, my loan also is promised with out lock in period. Maybe to attract investors?
yugimudo
post Jan 28 2014, 03:38 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 26 2014, 12:36 AM)
Investing In Amanah Saham via Personal Loan, should you or should you not?
various scenarios explained.....may not be agreeable to some....

http://invest-made-easy.blogspot.com/2013/...a-personal.html
+1 Solid calculation with neutral opinion.

This is my take on ASB loan:

It is not a must but if you are not taking the loan, you MUST save your money in ASB. The simplest mistake is you dont want to take the loan because of risk and "hukum hakam" but you let your money rot in the bank.

My preference is to save in ASB to gain modal a.k.a bullets for other investment. Paper investment will no get you far.

yugimudo
post Jan 29 2014, 02:21 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(/AxmaD\ @ Jan 29 2014, 12:16 PM)
I wanna ask 1 theoretical question:

Lets say if I took an ASB loan of RM 100k for 20 years, if I terminate it during year 10 which is halfway, will I be entitled for 50% of the certificate value, i.e. Rm 50k that will be disbursed back?

TQVM
Mad, dont confuse between ASB loan and ASB certificate.

After 10 years of payment, you have to check how much principal left to be paid to the bank.

But your certificate, will always be 100k. <== Correct me if Im wrong as I never cash in the cert.
yugimudo
post Jan 29 2014, 03:29 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(/AxmaD\ @ Jan 29 2014, 02:44 PM)
Sorry bro yugimodo, got it mixed up. In that case, what will happen to me after terminating the loan:

1) the insurance paid will be recouped?

2) any penalties if I pay beyond the lock in period?

TQVM
I have yet to terminate my loan but what do you mean by paying beyond the lock in period plz clarify.

Lock in: A period where you promise to pay bank 3% if you terminate your loan early.
yugimudo
post Jan 30 2014, 01:22 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(cikalakacikaci @ Jan 29 2014, 11:46 PM)
i mean maybank islamic offer asb loan ka bcause asb loan is not islamic.  nod.gif
ASB loan is just a "loan".

Loan has 2 type in the market: Conventional and Islamic.

If you can buy car using Islamic loan, why not for ASB? It is just a loan where you buy a certificate from ASB.

You might be confused with the "hukum" of ASB and "hukum" of loan. Loan itself by "hukum" is haram when involving interest. ASB is deemed gray area as there is some questionable element.
yugimudo
post Feb 4 2014, 12:08 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Feb 4 2014, 10:38 AM)
This is true. However, we have to also consider for the long run. This ASB loan will affect your credit rating at CCRIS and thus might become an obstacle when you want to apply for housing loan etc in the future.
I dont think it is an obstacle. You need to pay yourself first before paying others. Take the loan only if you have confident enough of not taking any big loan in the coming 3 years.
yugimudo
post Feb 4 2014, 02:33 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Feb 4 2014, 12:41 PM)
Boss Nidz, i apply asb loan after bought my 1st house....and some says if you have asb loan with let say maybank, they will offset the installment and take it as an income when you apply other loan...but of course after few years servicing your asb loan without any bad record.

and i double check with my rhb friends and yes, they will consider as an income.
Owh, I got the same case. My friend want to buy a second hand car, but all bank reject coz records too "clean".

If you never take a loan before, banks will be hesitant to give you a new loan. So how to loan if you never apply a loan but need a loan to approve for your loan? rclxub.gif
yugimudo
post Feb 4 2014, 04:52 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Feb 4 2014, 03:45 PM)
Have u heard of building good credit rating by using credit card? By using credit card and paying promptly before due date that itself is sufficient. Bank wont be so hesitant to give u loan after u have build good credit rating.
Yup, this is also a good way. I support the use of cc. But the case I mentioned, he also got rejected by bank for his cc application, which shock me as hell as I thought applying for one is a piece of cakes.

Maybe too clean is a sin.
yugimudo
post Feb 4 2014, 05:08 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Feb 4 2014, 04:58 PM)
Never heard of such case before unless his income is less than 2k or he just started working(less than 6 months).
thumbup.gif I think that is the case.
yugimudo
post Feb 5 2014, 04:44 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(eikhwan4 @ Feb 5 2014, 12:25 PM)
hai otai otai and taiko. i just started to work. plan to get asb loan 30k for max duration payback. if i terminated the loan on 3rd year, how much profit can i get from dividend?
This is just rough estimation, you can use excel sheet and http://www.mycalculators.com to do the calculation.

Assumption:

Dividend is 7% per year.
Interest rate is 4.95% at BLR 6.6
Payment for 30 year loan.
MRTA at 1k (This one I am not sure how they calculate MRTA. As mine is around 2k+, yours might be around this)
All dividend is not used, no withdrawal or extra saving.

Loan installment = RM166 per month.
In 3 years, total paid = RM5976.
In 3 years ASB balance will be = RM36987.77
Outstanding loan balance = RM29546.49
Net Worth = RM7,441.28

Profit = NW-Paid = RM1,465.28
Profit per year = RM488.43

Let say the same method for 100k, total loan is RM102,750

Loan installment = RM549 per month.
In 3 years, total paid = RM19764.
In 3 years ASB balance will be = RM123,292.56
Outstanding loan balance = 97,932.75
Net Worth = RM25359.81

Profit = NW-Paid = RM5595.81
Profit per year = RM1865.27

Bigger loan, bigger return, bigger installment.
yugimudo
post Dec 22 2016, 06:03 PM

YugiX
506 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Dec 22 2016, 01:02 PM)
Asb dividend = 6.75+0.50

This is not a good sign.
I still get more than I pay but next year only get 150 pocket money sad.gif

0.2164sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:47 AM