ASB loan, worth to get it???

Syd G
post Dec 15 2008, 05:49 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

2008 return is 8.75 sen/unit. I'm not sure how much is dividend and how much is bonus.
Syd G
post Dec 15 2008, 10:34 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(afique @ Dec 15 2008, 07:40 PM)
7% divident and 1.75% bonus. a slightly lower than last year punya divident and bonus.
Anyway thanks to PNB and our G rclxms.gif
Bonus is pretty worthless. 7% dividend only?

Bonus is only good if uve been maintaining stable balance for the past 10 years or so shakehead.gif
Syd G
post Dec 16 2008, 09:24 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

A lot of people take ASB loan as a mean of 'forced saving'. You can sometimes get more return compared to saving on ur own but you also have to take into account the probability of BLR going up, and if you fail to service your loan, they'll just sell your cert and make more money out of you.

I take the middle road - use savings to buy ASB cert and do an OD against it. Improves my cashflow a lot and I dont hv to worry about interest or repaying back too much - I only hv to serve the interest of whatever amount that I withdrew. At the same time my ASB is still untouched and can get decent amount of dividend smile.gif

Syd G
post Dec 16 2008, 10:54 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Vieri,

Hi. Appreciate your thoughts smile.gif First of all, it's not risk free. Investment-linked products are never risk free. Yes ASB typically beats returns from other type of investments as well.

But you have to remember that prior to 2004, ASB loans were BLR+something, typically BLR+1.00 (this was when BLR was around 6.00). If they take a loan during this period, after 2006, they have to serve 7.75% interest on 7.30sen return (2006) and 8sen return (2007).

(1.25% / 1% / 1.75% bonus is only worth something if you've been maintaining a good balance for the past 10 years). This year, they're paying 603m every 1% dividend and only 678m on 1.75% bonuses.

If you want to argue about 'free money' on the 1-2% - then I have to agree with you. But remember that , for these people, banks typically push for max loans that they can afford (or cant afford). I was offered 50k ASB loan on 2k salary at BLR+0.5% a couple of months back - go figure. That's excluding hidden fees such as MRTA, stamping fee, agreement fee, sijil fee, early exit fee etc.

Currently the market loan rate is very good. I'd say go for it if you can. Make sure that you have enough money to cover the interest for a year. Dividend is compounding ONLY if u keep them inside (means payment for interest hv to come from your own pocket). Shop around for better rates - Maybank's rate for home mortgage is among the lousiest, I assume the ASB loan rate is the same too.

Syd G
post Dec 17 2008, 03:57 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Collected info :

RHB : BLR - 1.25% for whole tenure
CIMB : First three BLR - 1.6%, rest BLR - 1.3% or First 5 years BLR - 1.4, rest BLR - 1.3%

Maybank's rate given by Vieri777 is only for loan >50k
Syd G
post Dec 18 2008, 08:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

There's another rate by Maybank but only for 50k and above

First 2, BLR - 2. Rest is BLR - 1.25

You can always refinance after 2 years. No exit penalty whistling.gif

Added on December 18, 2008, 8:30 am
QUOTE(Darkchild11 @ Dec 18 2008, 01:15 AM)
Agree with u on this.. I'm glad i did the OD too.. biggrin.gif
This only works if you do hv a decent sum of dough to start with, else the ASB loan is the only other option smile.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Dec 18 2008, 08:30 AM
Syd G
post Dec 19 2008, 09:12 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

ASB loan Maybank BLR-2? I called my personal loan officer smile.gif

OD can start from 5k onwards. BLR-1 for CIMB (90%), BLR for RHB (100%), BLR for Maybank (90%)

I heard from the radio news that OPR is going down again (US planning to cut to 0.25%. wow). Good news to people with good payment history. Cheap loans smile.gif
Syd G
post Dec 31 2015, 07:46 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(soulmixx @ Dec 29 2015, 12:07 PM)
ASNB just stated that dividend for ASB 2015 is 7.25 + 0.50sen/unit.. quite low..
don't know if still worth to take/keep ASB loan?
Depends on how far you are in the loan. A few Ks that you paid upfront was for insurance for the whole X years that the loan was for.. so if you're just 1-2 years in, I'd recommend keeping it in there.

If you've had it for 10 years or more then diff story.

And it also depends on how u look at the loan.. if it's a place for u to generate profit, it's not much.. about 2% ish a year.

But if it's a place for you to do forced savings, then just keep it. After finished paying, you'll get the whole amount anyway.

I'm a big fan of properties. So if I have an old ASB loan with about 50-100k difference inside (cert amount - loan amount), I'd rather withdraw and invest in properties.
Syd G
post Dec 31 2015, 09:44 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(exitsortie @ Dec 31 2015, 02:02 PM)
I largely agree with what you said, except for the part when you said 2% is not too much. If a married couple each has 200k, 2% of 400k a year = rm8k a year is actually quite a lot.

Buy you are right, once you have gotten your return, you can get more return by investing in property (that's what i plan to do this year), but one must remember property investment takes a lot of effort (and risk), asb loan is very rffortless as long as you understand the benefit/risk. smile.gif
You're right. But how many of us are married with both spouse having 200k in our ASB? smile.gif I personally dont have a ASB loan cause I dont like to be tied to a bank. It will effect my job choice, my lifestyle etc. But my husband does because he has quite a stable job and our installment is about 10% salary only. Forced savings biggrin.gif

Yes properties take more effort n risk. Bigger returns need bigger effort n risk ma biggrin.gif But I have almost 10 yrs experience of managing rentals, so that's within my alley. Some people may prefer stocks, gold, forex etc.

In the end, it all depends on your investment goals and your risk appetite nod.gif

Syd G
post Jan 6 2016, 05:20 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Jan 6 2016, 02:34 AM)
senyap saja semua, busy updating asb book? biggrin.gif

any news about the pnb gonna stop asb loan? am planning to do it in few days and reapply to cimb for 30 yrs..
didn't know that cimb offers asb financing for 30 years. previously max was maybank @ 25 years biggrin.gif
Syd G
post Jan 6 2016, 11:56 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Jan 6 2016, 07:52 AM)
Thanks for the hint. ROI 25% in 3 years is consider very good IMHO. I also active in property investment & rental. However, property investment seem going to slow down. Time find other strategy.

I haven't open ASB2 account yet. Having 100k ASB loan on the 3rd year and compound it. Let me try with small test 50k ASB loan for 2-3 years and see the outcome.

btw, I believe now most of the bank will waive CCRIS record for ASB loan when you applying Home Loan if you've copy of ASB Loan Letter Offer. I did that early last year.
Price:rental ratio is getting better compared to last year. The ratio was super crazy last year that rental is not enough to cover a 30y monthly installment at such a low interest rate environment. Well at least in areas that I'm interested in biggrin.gif

For capital appreciation, yes it's slowing down. But the best time to buy is during a slowdown when ppl dun hv enough holding power and prefer to dispose with some losses.

Syd G
post Jan 6 2016, 12:50 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(wts6819 @ Jan 6 2016, 12:27 PM)
With current property price, most rental cannot cover 30yrs monthly installment. That's why holding power and back up money is required.

Good thing about property slowdown now is the developer giving various discount and freebies. I found some developer giving a very good promotion. Sadly, I don't have enough bullet for big game yet.  2-3 years ASB loan with ROI 20-30% is one of decent way for me to regain bullets.

Subsale can't do much about it. Wait the owner throw price then.
Nowadays we can find subsales cheaper than auction prices.... brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

Anyhoo back to ASB loan. Banks are still offering them. What happened to the news that BNM wanted to limit them to jaga our household debt ratio? blink.gif
Syd G
post Jan 12 2016, 05:31 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Just came back from CIMB

ASB OD with them only allows for 67% margin. BR+1.35% (5.35%)
Syd G
post Jul 12 2017, 10:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jul 11 2017, 03:26 PM)
ASB promo 5% CIMB now everyone can apply...just need to apply loan atleast min 50k and above can entitle for this rate. Pm me for info.

- insurance optional
- max tenure 30 years
- no lock in period
- islamic financing

BR+1.1% Grab this offer now until end of this year.

TAKE NOTE most bank only provide conventional loan facility. So far i know only CIMB and MAYBANK provide this...other banks im not sure...

so before apply ask the banker if the loan is islamic or conventional.
Boss what's the upfront fees? 😁

0.0316sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:18 PM