ASB loan, worth to get it???

Bold III
post Mar 12 2017, 09:50 PM

36 posts

Guys,

Just got an idea, take personal loan for asb and then i use the asb dividen to pay my home loan installment. I only pay instalment for the personal loan. After 10yrs, when the personal loan completely paid, i only use the dividen to pay for home loan instalmet or just use the saving for fully settlement of the home loan.

Home loan rm176,000.00 20yrs, 4.55% maybank, instalment 1137/monthly, 13644/ annualy

Personal loan 150000 + asb saving 50,000= 200,000
Take average dividen 7%, 14000

Personal loan instalment 1780 monthly, 3.7% for 10 yrs

After 10 yrs,
Option a, continue pay home loan instalment using asb dividen

Option b, fully paid home loan using the saving from personal loan.

Is it worth? Or is there any better plan and opinion?

This post has been edited by Bold III: Mar 13 2017, 06:16 AM
Bold III
post Mar 13 2017, 11:55 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Mar 13 2017, 09:55 AM)
personal loan is using flat rate. its not useĀ  the same rate like ASB loan facility does. If u use personal loan + saving and put into asb account, u will only get the dividend distributions profit + bonus. Principal you dun get. Plus in the long term PL is much more expensive than asb loan rate even though look higher...go read about Flat Rate vs Effective Rate... You will understand what i'm talking about.

Your idea to use dividend to cover for your housing loan installment is good. But the idea to use PL and put into ASB is very bad idea.

So my suggestion for you

Apply ASB financing / loan facility and calculate how much you need to apply so the dividend distribution can cover for your house loan installments. For example :

ASB Loan 200k
6.75 % dividend = 13500 @ 1125/month

so if your house loan installment range is between 100-1100 than you can use the dividend to pay for the installment. For the asb financing installment you pay using your own money. This is what we call switching payment method.

When you finished your housing loan, you terminate your asb loan and you will earn the last dividend + any extra dividend balance (after paid house installment) + principal surrender value + available asb bonus

Calculation example

first year

Apply 200k asb
30 years
1100/ month

2nd year
apply housing loan
20 years
1000/month

After 21 years your housing loan is settle and terminate ASB financing. Look at below how much you get roughly.

Last dividend = 13,500
Dividend balanced x 20 years = 2,500
Principal SV = 105,754
Total earning = 121,754

If you use PL facility + ASB saving

you will only get
Last dividend = 13,500
Dividend balanced x 20 years = 2,500
Total earning = 16,000

Which one you will get more? Use ASB financing / loan method or PL + ASB Saving method?

Extra Note :
Your PL monthly is 1780 which is more than asb financing only 1100 or less...why should you use PL instead of ASB Financing? Both are loan facility. But with ASB you will get more... smile.gif
Thanks for your advice and explaination boss..previously i dont even know about flat rate and effective rate.

I thought interest calc for all loan are the same..still newbie bos..

And another question, nowaday asb dividen quite lower than average, is it still benefit for me to take asb loan?

This post has been edited by Bold III: Mar 14 2017, 06:25 AM
Bold III
post Mar 14 2017, 06:20 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Mar 14 2017, 05:20 PM)
First you need to confirm with the bank your current loan is no lock in period. If it does than you can terminate and reapply without any penalty. But take note whenever u apply for termination u might paid more interest for that month and still pay your installment until your termination process complete. If not, bank will take the unsettled payment first than after that will refund available principal into your bank account.

Most people terminate and reapply to get better rate, apply with no takaful, max loan tenure and so on.

Some people terminate and reapply because they want to get the cash in hands.
Apply with no Takaful? Is that allowed by bank?
And isn't better with takaful because if anything happen, The debt will settle itself..

Any explanations is much appreciated.
Bold III
post Nov 29 2017, 09:58 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Nov 25 2017, 09:15 PM)
Last minit promotion utk pembiayaan asb bank sotong dan ambank.

Abam akan belanja yuran proses RM63 utk mereka yg mohon pembiayaan ASB 200K bagi ASB atau ASB 2 atau kedua2nya sekali

Bank sotong rate 4.8% - ASB shj
Bank ambank rate (4.75%) ASB dan ASB 2

Mesti submit permohonan sebelum @ pada 30 november 2017 utk layak dpt promotion ni
bro, please pm me how..thanks..

This post has been edited by Bold III: Nov 29 2017, 09:58 AM
Bold III
post Feb 6 2018, 12:36 PM

36 posts

Is it ok if friend of mine who is not bumi, pump money to my asb acc then the dividen share 20:80?
She got the 80%..
Bold III
post May 24 2018, 02:31 PM

36 posts

What is current interest for maybank?
Bold III
post Nov 16 2018, 08:02 PM

36 posts

My wife apllied for LASB with maybank at end of oct, but untill today the loan amount still not appear in ASB acc.. normally how long does it take for maybank to release the loan to asb acc?
Bold III
post Nov 22 2018, 09:05 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Nov 19 2018, 09:57 AM)
Sometimes the process will take longer because too many apply asbf. Even my cimb client take more than a month some of them after 3 month than the loan is approved. That after many email i sent to the officer in charge of the loan. If not i think it will take longer or never approve at all.
My wife receive sms told that her loan approved just a few days after application.. but till today amount no release in asb acc..
Bold III
post Nov 25 2018, 09:00 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 23 2018, 12:02 AM)
Give it a bit more.. It'll come through.

Edit... How many days since loan approved and today?
The application date about 27 oct iinm..
Bold III
post Dec 3 2018, 04:09 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Nov 26 2018, 11:23 AM)
usually after approved loan it only take about 1 - 2 weeks to disburse into your asb account. If more than that please contact the officer who process your loan.
At last amount disburse in my wife asb acc on 28 nov..

But want to ask for an opinion, which one is better to pay for the instalment, monthly or yearly? I mean pay using own source, not rolling the dividen..
Bold III
post Dec 3 2018, 08:22 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(faizfizy39 @ Dec 3 2018, 04:45 PM)
If it's from your own pocket then both option also should be the same. Just that if you paid yearly you won't mistakenly used the allocated money for the installment.

If talking about maximum return, you can also put the allocated cash money in ASB (if you still have the quota) or ASB2 and transfer the cash to your loan/financing account every month. The extra profit is not that significant but if you think it is worth it, why not? Also can consider paid your loan quarterly or biannually.
Thanks for the reply.
Bold III
post Jan 2 2019, 10:04 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(buggie @ Jan 2 2019, 07:18 PM)
You're still missing the point. For this asbf, I would always wanna be at max loan tenure. Settling the loan is never on the agenda. How much the bank makes from me is irrelevant. Its about how much ROI I make. To get max ROI is keeping your repayments low. And getting back amortised value.

I'm too lazy to give figures... I've done so many times in my previous posts before haziq and wild card came on the scene. And when these two workhorses came on, they gave even more detailed calculations than I could ever give.

My advice, just read the posts. In the end, if you're still unconvinced, go with your gut and trust your calculations. As long you're still making money that's fine.

But if you wanna max your returns on investment, however you slice it... Max loan tenure is the way to go

As a real life example, I've just reached 7 figures, and I've still 25-27 years on the loans to repay...
Wow! Please share your method sifu!
Bold III
post Jan 7 2019, 09:05 PM

36 posts

Sorry to interrupt, i ve been reading about unit boleh beli cap, so just check mine.. currently my sijil is 200k plus saving 26k, total 226k and my unit boleh cap up to 18k..i already pay instalment for 1 year and i also potong gaji 1.5k per month to my asb acc..so my question is if the 18k cap is use up, do the limit will increase? Or i have to stop monthly potong gaji?
Bold III
post Jan 11 2019, 05:47 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jan 11 2019, 09:35 AM)
Yes once the potong gaji already reach the 18k cap, your deduction suppose to temporary disable because u already reach your cap until you received dividend next year.
Thanks for the reply sir!
Bold III
post Jan 29 2019, 03:52 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jan 29 2019, 11:37 AM)
How to buy a car and get money by combine asb financing

Here is the step you need to do.

Assume your car loan installment is 800.00. Meaning 1 year RM9600

Search for a loan amount that can give dividen more than 9600 a year.

For this calculation i will take 149k loan because the installment is almost the same with the car loan RM800 and the dividend is more than 1 year car repayment.

Better apply the asbf a month early before january so can get full dividend next year.

1st year 2019 have 149k asbf. At december 2019 buy your dream car.

2nd year at january 2020 received 10,430 dividend out of 149k. Use 9600 from the dividend to pay for 1 year car repayment. Use the money to pay for the car loan to pay your asbf every month.

Repeat the 2nd step for the 3rd year onwards until year 10.

After 10 years make asb financing and 9 years car loan repayment terminate your asbf.

You will received ;

Prinsipal sv - 27,800
10th year dividend - 10,430
9 year dividend surplus - 7470
Total earning - 45,700

By combining asbf and car loan you will received 45,700 after 10 years. Is this a good amount of money???

-haziq-
I have read about this somewhere..But the drawback, not all people eligible to get loan such amount (car loan+LASB)..
But it is till better way to buy a car for some guys.. rather than serve 9 years without making any profit
Bold III
post Mar 22 2019, 05:52 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Mar 21 2019, 02:02 PM)
If no payment 2 month in a row, the loan facility will auto terminate and will be record in ccris. If this happen next time if u want to request for other loan bank might not approve it.

If the person died yes the deceased family need to bring the death certificate to the bank and request to terminate the loan. All the money in the asb acc will be transfer to amanah raya berhad. The heirs need to process the release of the money through there. Distribution will use the faraid law.

Same if u apply with takaful. It will also through the same process and will distribute use the faraid law.
Let say, when the person died, he only managed to serve the loan about 3 years out of 30 years. What about the rest of installment? I mean the 27 years balance of instalment. Do the takaful cover the balance or only the paid installment?
Bold III
post Jan 3 2020, 01:20 PM

36 posts

sorry for my noob question, if we keep cancel and reapply asb financing, our installment principal will keep restart right? isnt it quite a loss also?
Bold III
post Jan 3 2020, 02:57 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 3 2020, 01:34 PM)
Nope, because the principal that you have paid to the previous bank would be returned to you. You can further reinvest this funds into other ASB funds like ASB2, ASB3 or in other unit trust funds
the principal per year is increasing, is it? should be after several years, we pay principal more than interest, but then when we restart the loan, we restart paying more interest than principal. please correct me sifu..
Bold III
post Jan 3 2020, 04:06 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jan 3 2020, 03:21 PM)
You are correct. But your terms are off and that would create some confusion so I will address that.

1. Loan principal or loan balance is the terms used to refer the balance that you owe the bank. In this case, you can pay this loan balance to settle the loan. For example, if you borrow RM200,000 with a tenure of 40 years @ 4.75%, after 5 years you decide to end the financing, your loan balance would be RM190,549. Please refer to the amortization table below

2. Now, if you were to refinance today, you bank will sell the RM200,000 certificate, take back whatever is due to them, which is the current loan balance of RM190,549, and return whatever is left to you which is RM9,451 credited into your savings/current account you have with the bank

3. Sure, when you refinance you would start this loan balance at RM200,000 but everything is done with good intentions. You would have RM200,000 ASB certificate to generate its own distribution, and an extra RM9,451 for further reinvestments.

4. The objective of ASBF is not to settle the loan account, but to generate as much distribution income by holding as much capital as possible - because the distribution is paid to you based on the capital that you hold. The more capital you hold, the more distribution you would earn

5. If you look at the amortization table above, you will find that as you pay your installments, you would be paying more principal and less interest. You are correct in that sense, I simply do not want you to mistake the principal repayment for the loan principal
indeed, point number 3 and 4 superseded the principal increment that we have lost due to restart a new fresh installment.. Thanks a lot for the explanation..

This post has been edited by Bold III: Jan 3 2020, 04:08 PM
Bold III
post Jul 18 2020, 05:05 PM

36 posts

Hi guys, recently due to OPR reduced my LASB interest rate reduce to 3.4% as well.
But why the monthly instalment maintained and not reduced?

0.1041sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:54 AM