ASB loan, worth to get it???

AveoHzq
post Feb 3 2015, 10:08 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(prominen @ Feb 3 2015, 09:01 PM)
Hi, I start to pay starting this month for 100k loan (Maybank)...but it via debit every early month...so after 1 year, how can I let the bank know that I want to start pay using dividend instead after that?

and another thing, how to know the 100k loan already deposit to my ASB account? because during when signing the loan document, I didn't write in my ASB member number...I only can see all the transaction via M2U...

I would like to know this too. Ive been paying for a few months, only can see the transaction via M2U.
Shouldnt they give a cert or anything?
AveoHzq
post Dec 12 2015, 10:42 AM

172 posts

Confirm no more ASB loan next year?

AveoHzq
post Dec 12 2015, 10:42 AM

172 posts

Double post.

This post has been edited by AveoHzq: Dec 12 2015, 10:54 AM
AveoHzq
post Dec 12 2015, 04:29 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 12 2015, 12:38 PM)
yes! Faster go apply now before it's too late. Later miss the chance, don't cry baby tongue.gif
Already got 50k loan. Thought about getting another 100k next year but i guess i have to do it now. Aiyaa
AveoHzq
post Dec 29 2015, 06:35 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(fahrur_07 @ Dec 29 2015, 04:40 PM)
better if u can cel asb loan with rhb and change to cimb
cimb max tenure is 30 years, so the installment will be lower
i can help u with that icon_rolleyes.gif
Are you CIMB Asb loan agent?
Interested to change my MBB asb to CIMB also.
AveoHzq
post Mar 23 2017, 08:26 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Mar 23 2017, 06:34 PM)
Asb loan is still worthy. Dun worry too much about the downtrend. ✌
Bro, whats the current rate now? Heard its 4.8%?
CIMB can do without takaful?
Do pm me the details, thanks.
AveoHzq
post Aug 19 2017, 12:33 AM

172 posts

If im not wrong, to fully maximize ASBF you should take the longest tenure which is 30 years, so your monthly installment will be lower. So it will be more profitable than saving by yourself because of the principle surrender value.

AveoHzq
post Aug 20 2017, 08:56 PM

172 posts

His problem was that he only loan for 23 years, hence he is paying more monthly, about rm 100 more, so he cant fully enjoy the profits.
Plus, his dividends is not for 3 years, more like 2 years+ only. Should maximize the loan tenure and wait until january before terminating.
People did the maths and already experienced it, it only doesnt work for people who dont know.
AveoHzq
post Dec 21 2017, 02:43 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(Porie @ Dec 21 2017, 02:09 PM)
Hi guys,

Just want to ask you guys a quesiton.

If lets say I already have around 50k in my ASB account, am I still eligible for the 200k ASB loan? Thanks
Nope, only eligible for 150k. Even if you have rm 100 in there, can only get 199,900 loan.
AveoHzq
post Apr 8 2018, 04:54 PM

172 posts

Maybank raised my interest rate from 5% to 5.25% but monthly payment still the same.
Is that normal?

And for CIMB, any changes?
AveoHzq
post Apr 23 2019, 01:59 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Apr 23 2019, 10:02 AM)
At the bottom is my copy-pasted text on the steps to take when refinancing the ASB loan

Pros:

1. better rates, you pay less total interests
2. better installment (likely, but depends)
3. re-maximize the borrowing, get back your capital paid that can be used to be further reinvested

Cons:

1. loss of 1 month's dividend, but can be covered through the lower interest rates. Have to do calculations on this

The best rate of ASB-financing is now 4.85%, at 5.15%, you are looking at 0.3% p.a. interest rate differences. Simple calculation: for every RM100k that you borrow, at 0.1%, you are paying RM100 a year to the bank. If you borrowed RM200k, at 0.3%, you are looking to lose about RM600/year; however this figure gets reduced over the years due to the repayment of the loan. 

If you are looking to refinance, might as well go for the ones with the best rate. An ASB broker can do whichever bank you want, including the ones with the best rate as well as the ones with the longest tenure.
Steps to minimize dividend-loss when performing ASB-refinancing

1. Apply for an ASB financing. Note to the banker/agent/broker that it would be for a refinancing

2. Congratulations if financing is approved. If it is approved early and/or in the middle of the month, wait. Turn to point (3)

3. If approved and/or waited till end of the month, walk-in to the branch for your current bank and ask for a cancellation. Take note of the banker's name (ask for his/her business card) and mention you will check every few days to see if the application is in the system. This achieves your objectives to:

a. instill urgency
b. display that your are serious about the timeline

4. The current ASB-financing will likely be cancelled within a month, which gives enough time for the disbursement from the new bank to happen within the same month. I would take at most 3 days for disbursement; sometimes the RCO (retail credit officer) would disburse the funds within the same day upon request, near the end of the month (they need to chase their KPI as well hahahahaha  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif )

5. Take note that there are no guarantees when dealing with people. From my experience, not following up with the banker to ensure that the cancellation is in the system is the cause of most delays. Bankers do not get commissions from processing cancellations, but they are professionally required to do so. By calling the Customer Service and checking for the cancellation is the best show of force. But also understand that beyond the banker that you met, there are other officers that are working on these cancellations; some things are beyond our immediate control.

Threats are never good in a diplomacy though, but you need to display that you are serious about the cancellation and for them to stick to a reasonable timeline.

Figure 1. My client who applied for the cancellation and had the disbursement happen in the same month, so he only lost 1-month's dividend
Thank you.
This is a good one! thumbup.gif

Compact, easy to understand tips to do refinancing.
I myself am considering to refinance since my MBB interest is 5.25% cry.gif
AveoHzq
post Oct 20 2019, 11:18 AM

172 posts

Do you guys think this year will be the year we get below 6% dividend?

Share your opinions.
AveoHzq
post Dec 2 2019, 11:18 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Davez89 @ Dec 2 2019, 10:20 AM)
my bro just got 33 years from hlb.. but i think can fight for 35
Do you know the rate he got from HLB?

I didnt know we can do ASBF more than 30 years blink.gif

0.2280sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled