ASB loan, worth to get it???

AtMostFear
post Oct 7 2011, 02:53 PM

809 posts

just found out if we do the loan, we'll get the loan amount deposited in certificate form into our ASB account. how do we check if the loan money is deposited already then? cause if we update our book it won't show the money in certificate form..please correct me I'm wrong.
AtMostFear
post Nov 11 2011, 11:59 AM

809 posts

I'm pretty sure those who take ASB loans only plan to pay the first year with their own money and later use the dividends to cover the rest of the instalments.

for example I took 100k loan for 25 years. I only have to commit about RM8k to pay for the first year. The rest of the years can be covered with the dividends.

Total money spent out of my pocket = 8k
Total money received after 25 years without doing anything = 100k

unless inflation gets crazy and 100k in 25 years is only worth 8k in current value, I don't see why ASB loan isn't a good choice.
AtMostFear
post Nov 11 2011, 04:07 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(clutchkick @ Nov 11 2011, 03:29 PM)
+1 smile.gif
You know bank already calculate all this interest, dividend and so on. Of course bank will make profit, if not they won't introduce this. If one side is gaining, what happend to the other side?
please explain how I'm not gaining when I only have to fork out RM8k of my own money and get RM100k 25 years later.
AtMostFear
post Nov 11 2011, 05:21 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Nov 11 2011, 04:50 PM)
Alamak haiiii..still dont get it ka? What u pay is more what u will get...u fork out more than 100k for 30yrs to get 100k fiat money in 30yrs later meanwhile banks enjoy the fruitness dividend of asb.

Dont talk about robbery la.if u save it in your asb account, still can be robbed ka?

Talking of fiat money, us dollar lost its value nearly 90% since 1971 thanks to President Nixon moves.Google it.

Do u have any idea 30yrs back, what is the living cost comparing nowadays?
Alamak haiiii..still dont get it ka? I know I'll be paying more than what I will get in the end, but I'm not paying them with money from my own pocket. I'm paying the bank with the dividends that I get.

so technically the amount of money spent out of MY pocket, is only RM8k.

not sure if trolling or too smart..
AtMostFear
post Jan 28 2020, 11:47 PM

809 posts

Hi guys, recently I acquired 80k from inheritance. currently all parked in ASB while deciding what to do with it.

I'm planning to apply for max ASB loan, let the dividend compounds & cancel loan after >3 years, then repeat.

Initially I was thinking of taking 15 years loan for 200k just for the sake of paying less interest, but after playing around with ammortization table (20 & 30 years), I realized the ROI % when cancelling for longer tenure is higher. e.g. dividend + principal gained - money out.

Here's my plan:

Apply loan 200k for ASB1 & ASB2. Park my 80k (to pay monthly instalments) in Tabung Haji. Transfer manually every month from TH to loan. This way I'll get dividend from ASB1, ASB2 & TH (but cash in TH will get eventually gets lower when loan is paid monthly).

Based on current rate, I should first apply ASB loan RM200k for 33 years (this year age 32) from banks that could offer ~4.5% interest, without insurance (or lowest insurance/takaful), without lock-in period and RM60 loan fee (or all banks have started 0.5% stamp duty?).

1. For the second loan RM200k, ASB2 financing still available? I read around and some said this is not available anymore. If this is not available or not a good choice, which way should I go for?
a) apply ASB1 RM200k loan under my child's name
b) apply ASB1 RM200k loan with joint loan under my wife's name

2. If I successfully managed to apply for both RM200k + RM200k (400k) loan, my debt service ratio will be at 44% using gross salary. Will there be an issue to apply for other loans in the future? (currently have 1 house mortgage & 1 car loan)

Mitigation plan if I suddenly need higher monthly cash flow, turn to hybrid mode (ASB2 dividend to pay for ASB1 installment) or worse case just cancel both loans.
AtMostFear
post Mar 4 2020, 12:31 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Mar 4 2020, 07:19 AM)
Asb dividend 5.5%
Asb loan interest 4.5%
Your net dividend 1%
Compared to fd 4%

Dont take loan guys. Much better to save own money
diam lah, mintak calculation in previous post tak bagi2.

luckily most of us here aren't like u who depend on hearsay instead of doing own research & calculation.
AtMostFear
post Jun 4 2020, 10:21 AM

809 posts

Applied for ASBF 200k on February from HLB with effective rate of 4.5%.

I believe OPR has been reduced twice since then, -0.25 & -0.5.

So...where do I check my latest effective interest rate on HLB portal? already tried searching but can't find it. (I believe the OPR adjustment is more than RM50 for my case)

AtMostFear
post Jul 22 2020, 03:32 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(Bold III @ Jul 18 2020, 05:05 PM)
Hi guys, recently due to OPR reduced my LASB interest rate reduce to 3.4% as well.
But why the monthly instalment maintained and not reduced?
QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 18 2020, 05:26 PM)
For cimb and hlbb, confirmed they wont reduce if the reduction is less than rm50. Need to wait another round of BR reduction

Also some banks take awhile before they start sending instructions to reduce the installments
For HLB, just got SMS last week my new instalment will be reduced from RM989 to RM862 effective in August.

First instalment adjustment received since this loan tenure effective in February 2020.
AtMostFear
post Jul 24 2020, 03:48 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(sulab @ Jul 24 2020, 02:21 PM)
May I know did you opt in for the 6 months moratorium or just continue paying every month like usual?
As per reason below. But I had to manually transfer every month since Standing Instruction was stopped by the bank.

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jul 24 2020, 03:02 PM)
Interests accrue, so might as well just make the payments
AtMostFear
post Oct 2 2020, 01:11 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(RDS88 @ Oct 2 2020, 12:16 PM)
Hi Guys. Wanna ask something in here.

Let me share. I think im in deep shit (Panic Mode).

Last November Nov 2018, I apply for 200k loan ASB-i. At that time, I have no problem to pay monthly up until last 2 months. now here come the problem. I got into some financial problem, but still manage to pay monthly BUT i will only have few hundreds left (for food, travel to work etc).

Ive heard that you can pay your monthly by dividen? try to google but got confuse. Already plan to go to Maybank next week, but no harm if i ask first here, how to do it?

I dont really know how ASB works actually. Got some money back then, and just invest. now menyesal kaw2.

If I can pay by dividen, Its a relief. if no other option, got to terminate my loan next week lah.  bye.gif
Pay using dividend means you wait until this year dividend is announced, then wait for the dividends to be deposited to your ASB account, then manually withdraw the dividend to your bank account to be automatically deducted monthly for loan installment.

This is also called rolling method. In order to do this, you need fork out your own cash for at least 1-year. The following years until end of loan tenure just repeat the manual withdrawal process once every year.
AtMostFear
post Oct 5 2020, 11:37 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Oct 5 2020, 10:33 AM)
By the way, one more question, why you guys insist not to take takaful at the first place? The agent told me that if add in the takaful, the price of the installment is the same.

So what is the use of that?
First, what is takaful? Would a bank or any institution offer such benefit for free? No such thing as free lunch.

Like others mentioned, maybe agent tipu.

0.2267sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:12 PM