ASB loan, worth to get it???

wild_card_my
post Mar 30 2020, 03:01 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Mar 30 2020, 02:57 PM)
Boss, this method of calculation applies to house loan also right?

Say if my outstanding house loan is RM450k at 4% profit rate, 6 months of accrued interest will cost me extra RM9k.

Suddenly I'm thinking whether it's worth it to defer my payment or not hmm.gif extra 9k wor hmm.gif

Yes it should be. Unless the banks specifically say they will not accrue any interests during the moratorium. From what I am reading, they only said they will not compound the interest, but interest, by default of the LETTER OFFER THAT YOU SINGED, should accrue on a daily basis, as per daily-rest interest calculation method

wild_card_my
post Mar 30 2020, 07:11 PM

6,562 posts

RM0.00 RHB: Your loan/financing instalment will be automatically deferred for 6-mth. To opt out, reply RHBOPTOUT to 66300 by 5/4/20. FAQ @ rhbgroup.com/s/COV

For RHB
wild_card_my
post Mar 31 2020, 05:52 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Mar 31 2020, 05:41 PM)
how about the loan table? anyone can help?

I just want to know if the bank reduce the interest according to asb dividen

your financing interest is based on BR+[spread] right? As the bank reduced their BR, your interest is also reduced

The BR is affected by a lot of things, including the country's economy; ASB dividend (Actually it is called distribution) is also paid according to the country's economy. So your financing interest rates would move in tandem with the ASB distribution.

wild_card_my
post Mar 31 2020, 11:50 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Mar 31 2020, 11:40 PM)
Sifu wild card, as per hlb,

No compounding of interest/profit for the deferred repayments.

Does this mean it's a good or bad thING?

https://www.hlb.com.my/en/personal-banking/...elief-plan.html
If you are taking the moratorium, it is a good thing.
wild_card_my
post Apr 1 2020, 01:34 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Apr 1 2020, 01:11 PM)
good luck mate.

just had a quick look at one of the stocks i'm holding, bought them at $1.20/share and now they're $0.20 (lost 83%) biggrin.gif

I'm not cut out for this  doh.gif

I'll stick on course with 'safe' bets like ASNB & EPF..though now I may have to add a couple more years of working which is fine.
which counter is that if you do not mind me asking?

also... Maybank RM4 ALL IN. Liquidate everything. hahahahahahhaha
wild_card_my
post Apr 2 2020, 03:37 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(teen08 @ Apr 2 2020, 02:49 PM)
Need advise, IF I have the cash should I take the moratorium for housing loan and asb 1 and 2 or pay the loan. Car loan I’ll be taking since no further interest. But for this two not sure if I keep the money in asb3 would be better or just paying the loans. Asb3 profit would be much more lower next year. So I’m confused in what should I do. I hope sifus can help me. Thanks in advance.

In general, i would advise keeping cash in hand in the next few months. If everything is fine and dandy, you would have the option of paying the accrued interest, continuing the moratorium and extending your tenure by 6 months (or more, depends on the bank), etc.

For RHB for example, they claim that the extension of your tenure would be limited to just 6 months and no increment of installment? Does that mean they are not accruing interests? Sure, that's how I read it. But as it is, even if they do like other banks, it is still best to keep your cash in hand and expand your options

wild_card_my
post Apr 2 2020, 06:50 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Apr 2 2020, 05:02 PM)
thanks sifu wild card. i guess that should be the way now.

5 months can become some significant money too

grim times ahead. Make use of all the facilities available to you, even if you can afford to pay the installments anyway
wild_card_my
post Apr 2 2020, 07:27 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Apr 2 2020, 07:24 PM)
If I want take back asb loan now, still need to pay monthly? or got moratorium no need pay?

For most banks, any loans disburse after 31st March would not qualify for moratorium.

Answering for the benefit of those who genuinely wonder about this
wild_card_my
post Apr 6 2020, 04:46 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(MrFay @ Apr 6 2020, 04:38 PM)
This does not applicable to ASB financing right? Only for housing loan.. as for ASB financing, even if you pay more monthly, it does not increase your principal nor reduce your interest.. instead it will be counted as advance payment
It depends on the bank, you need to check and read the banks' own t&a for the financing.

This applies even to mortgages, not all banks would consider the advanced payment as part of capital payment
wild_card_my
post Apr 9 2020, 11:51 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(MNF0 @ Apr 9 2020, 11:14 PM)
Seems like fixed rate car loan got 6 months extension of tenure (as expected) but fixed rate personal loan does not. Wonder why. These two loans are from the same bank.
some banks promote their PF as fixed rates, but are in actuality based on variable rates. For example, Bank Islam. Do check your LO and update here, could be an interesting case study
wild_card_my
post Apr 12 2020, 01:53 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Apr 12 2020, 01:51 PM)
I'm thinking of taking another asb loan now. And max my portfolio to 200k

hmm.gif
That sounds fair. I don't remember what your financing was.
wild_card_my
post Apr 13 2020, 07:58 PM

6,562 posts

Long story short, as long as the financing rate is lower than the distribution rate, you would be making profit.

The problem is predicting the results to favor you. So far, it has never failed - and I understand that past results do not guarantee future results, but it is a good benchmark.

While I cannot force everyone to subscribe to ASBF, I can invite you to look at all the missed opportunities of the past. You can only decide for yourself
wild_card_my
post Apr 13 2020, 08:59 PM

6,562 posts

Sorry for those quoted here from other threads, just putting my points across, i don't mean any harm

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Apr 13 2020, 08:49 PM)
Are there any FIs currently still offering ASB2 financing or the quota has been depleted?

None that I know of. the problem is not the FIs themselves, but the source - ASNB. They are not giving any financing quota to any FIs for financing. If you have been depositing cash into ASB2 funds you will also notice that sometimes you can't get any units since they would be out of cash quota as well. That's how "over subscribed" the funds are

And we have the non-bumis trying their best to "fish" for RM1,000 worth of units at a time, when they get it they will cheer happily! And here we have people casting doubt about ASNB funds' viability. If the non-bumis were allowed to subscribe to ASB, the fund would grow to a few Billion in no time - they hate us for it, and they are disgusted with out lackasadical attitude towards this opportunity

QUOTE(da_opera @ Apr 13 2020, 08:49 PM)
Good advice.

Why most of good advice outside comes with ‘buy my teknik ASB ebook’ ?  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

I think you can give good advice out there, bro. For the sake of the people, and i.m sure u will get more customers

Ie been an avid forummer here, and my style is a little different than most. I just share what I know, and people will send me messages on whatsap. Usualy these people are not even those who reply on the forums - they are the by standers, they dont even have LYN forum accounts

I am doing ok if I can say so myself. ASBF is just one of my five core businesses, all making money.

Actually I have an identity crisis, until recently I do not know what to call myself. Ive settled with "Insurance Agent" lately, despite its negative connotations. But whatever la
wild_card_my
post Apr 13 2020, 09:59 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Apr 13 2020, 09:24 PM)
no one is saying asb is bad. all im saying and it's true is that asbf is bad. take the full 5% dividend for yourself. dont share with bank. of course you would make profit with loan, but you will make much more profit if you dont take loan smile.gif
People have been posting over and over again, that those who invested using cash lost out to those with financing, with real data as we look back at past results. Real distribution and financing rates (for example, Maybank ASBF) for the past 10 years.

You just ignore the evidence presented to you like always.
wild_card_my
post Apr 14 2020, 12:38 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Apr 14 2020, 09:24 AM)
boss, if i dont take insurance with the bank together with asb.

what is the outside insurance you can recommend that can cover my asb as well?
There are a few of them, essentially you can look at a term insurance that may cover up till the age of 70, since your ASB financing and mortgages can go to 65 and 70. No point taking whole life in my professional opinion, because past 70 years old, you should not have any debt as you are way past retirement.
wild_card_my
post Apr 14 2020, 10:15 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(di3hard @ Apr 14 2020, 10:10 PM)
Guys, so what is the conclusion of the repayment thing during this period?

Pay up as per normal or dump the money into ASB3?

I had max out ASB1 and ASB2.
Take the moratorium. Keep you cash and deposit into ASB3
wild_card_my
post Apr 14 2020, 10:24 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(da_opera @ Apr 14 2020, 06:06 PM)
Bro i read up and above u have mutiple streams of income. Why dont u share with us and give some sage advice..
Sage? Nothing sagey about it. I simply left the bank and landed on my feet with the experience that I have. Started my own business in mortgage and asbf since it was the closest thing to what I was doing as a Relationship Manager serving high networth clients

Joined insurance/takaful three years ago. In any case, many people can learn from the rich. Rich people take loans even when they have the cash to buy or invest outright. Loans are also considered as leverage, leverage is also known as gearing

When you are dealt a good hand, you bet the house. You can do it with your measly RM2k that you spared each month or you can take the financing.

P/s i joined Prudential only three (3) years ago, managed to buy a German marque in January with that income. If any of you wants to help yourself with a side-career path feel free to ask laugh.gif

There are plenty of things to consider when taking up financings, but in general you would insure the paymaster when he's taking up a loan - that's where I come in (again, that is after I talked to them about mortgages and/or ASBF)
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2020, 08:22 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Apr 15 2020, 08:16 AM)
The guy is clueless for someone who refers himself as a 'financial guru', he does not even know that the monthly installments we pay to the bank includes payment to the principal amount ( see https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=96123287)

Good move on your part - i would not listen to him either.

And no, I'm not an insurance salesman lol (the buffoon thinks I'm a dupe of another insurance salesman)  biggrin.gif
Vocrane is a "financial guru"? Practicing (commission-based/fee-based) or for-fun only?
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2020, 08:32 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(JoeK @ Apr 15 2020, 08:25 AM)
To be honest tho, I'm just trying to get some advise here.

I admit to all of you that I'm not expert, but please dont belittle and condescending with others la.. I'm just trying to learn here

I noticed people who claim to have made it would give advice based on "my way or the highway". Their advise are based on their very limited personal experience and would take personal offense when others contradict or refuse them

That's the difference between practitioners vs someone doing it for his own on his spare time. I have a business (consultancy) to run, and all my clients have different backgrounds, coming from higher-end B40, M40, and T20, you name it. So when I go through their finances I have to consider their current situation such as their family, commitments, aspirations, etc

There was another old guy in Kopitiam who claimed to have made it. Gives same types of advice, calling everyone that doesn't adhere to his boring life (don't spend money of expensive cars, etc) to be doing it wrong. He was not a practitioner but felt equipped to churn out advice based on his singular experience

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Apr 15 2020, 08:34 AM
wild_card_my
post Apr 15 2020, 04:39 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(da_opera @ Apr 15 2020, 04:19 PM)
Yup. If u can find a good location, and no plans to move, go for it. Cash on cash return from property, if done wisely, can give us huge return. Much more than ASB

I met a CFP years ago, he always asked his clients to fill up ASB first. I told him that is generally right but his clients may lose other opportunities especially property. Although money and ASB is precious, but the old adage ‘masa itu emas’ aka TVM should be considered in devising financial planning.

But his clients are high net worth people, and i.m just an old friend who makan gaji hehe i just give my below average reasonings too  tongue.gif

Generally ASB is Good for young fellas, but open up your mind and dont stop learning.
Properties are illiquid, and it is very high big-ticket. Plenty of people go bankrupt from buying properties. It isn't something that you can pick up from just listening to "gurus". A single mistake that you made and you will be paying off the loan for the rest of your life through bankruptcy, unable to sell the property due to the reduced value, and constantly in the red due to the low rental yield being unable to cover the installment

You have met a CFP, now you have met an Associate RFP. A practitioning one; with mortgages being one of his biggest bread and butter - yet he would be the first one to tell you not to buy property unless you have thoroughly learned about it.

37 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.2235sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:53 PM