101 posts

QUOTE(likeness @ May 31 2018, 03:41 PM)
Non bumi can take ?
It's only for the bumis :/

QUOTE(di3hard @ May 31 2018, 05:27 PM)
Hi, I have existing Maybank Loan 200k since mid 2014
Existing rate is 5.15%

Want to refinance, Can i ask normally how long it take to refinance?
Can i apply first? then terminate later?
I understand I might lose few months divident due to processing time from old loan to new loan.
Termination will take up to 2 mths max - you can reapply first for preapproval before terminating the existing one. Disbursement will take about a week (in Ambank) once existing loan has been terminated.

Anyway, our current 5% promo in Ambank will be ending soon so do feel free to drop me a PM if interested - also rebates will still be personally given as well smile.gif
wild_card_my
post Jun 1 2018, 06:28 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(di3hard @ May 31 2018, 05:27 PM)
Hi, I have existing Maybank Loan 200k since mid 2014
Existing rate is 5.15%

Want to refinance, Can i ask normally how long it take to refinance?
Can i apply first? then terminate later?
I understand I might lose few months divident due to processing time from old loan to new loan.
Existing effective rate, correct?

1. Best if you apply first, and then once you do get approval you can terminate the current one, which will take a few weeks to monts depending on MBB.

2. yeah, unfortunately you stand to lose 1/12 of the dividend declared for this year (to be declared next year) due to the minimum balance calculation of each month.

let me know if you are interested at 5% for 30 years.
haziqnet
post Jun 1 2018, 10:17 AM

1,305 posts

Ambank offer 5% ended soon.

Cimb offer currently is 5.05% and end on 30 june.

More info please feel free to drop me a pm.

This post has been edited by haziqnet: Jun 1 2018, 11:00 AM
haziqnet
post Jun 1 2018, 10:54 AM

1,305 posts

For those who want to teminate and reapply, i suggest u to terminate on early nov. So u can get full dividend for this year. Hopefully the promo rate will be extend.

However if u still want to terminate to catch the promo rate you can reapply first and terminate later. Make sure ask first the bank or agent still can give the promo rate or not if the loan is process after the promo ended. Im afraid once u apply and because the existing loan yet to fully terminate they will process your loan using the new rate. (If the rate is the same or lower than your previous rate is ok but otherwise u might end up paying more later)

For those who still not max out the 200k loan yet for example 100k better to apply first and after the loan approved then you issue termination for the existing loan.

This post has been edited by haziqnet: Jun 1 2018, 11:10 AM
wild_card_my
post Jun 1 2018, 11:06 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jun 1 2018, 10:54 AM)
For those who want to teminate and reapply, i suggest u to terminate on early nov. So u can get full dividend for this year. Hopefully the promo rate will be extend.

However if u still want to terminate to catch the promo rate you can reapply first and terminate later. Make sure ask first the bank can give the promo rate if the loan is process after the promo ended. Im afraid once u apply and because the existing loan yet to fully terminate they will process your loan using the new rate. (If the rate is the same or lower than your previous rate is ok but otherwise u might end up paying more later)
Hi Haziq. Can you elaborate on the relevance of terminating in November to get the full dividend for the year, as oposed to doing it anytime during the year? Isn't the calculation for ASB dividend:

CODE
[monthly minimum balance of each month] x declared asb dividend rate / 12 months a year]

So if the ASB units are withdrawn in November, you would still lose out your returns for November. Likewise, if you withdraw the units now May, you would still lose out for this month because the minimum balance for the month of May would also be reduced, before it can be replenished by the new bank. The dividends are applied flat for the year for each month (dividend/12 * minimum balance for that month).

Did i get this wrong?

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 1 2018, 11:18 AM
haziqnet
post Jun 1 2018, 11:16 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2018, 11:06 AM)
Hi Haziq. Can you elaborate on the relevance of terminating in November to get the full dividend for the year, as oposed to doing it anytime during the year? Isn't the calculation for ASB dividend:

CODE
[monthly minimum balance of each month x declared asb dividend rate / 12 months a year]

So if the ASB units are withdrawn in November, you would still lose out your returns for November. Likewise, if you withdraw the units now May, you would still lose out for this month because the monthly minimum blaance would be reduced, before it can be replenished by the new bank

Did i get this wrong?
Usually the termination process will take up to 2 month till fully termination. So if u issue termination on nov, ur loan will fully terminate after december usually. I more recommend to issue termination between 10-15 nov so the loan will terminate after december. Try also to discuss with the officer in charge if possible to discuss about your intention.

And at the same time apply for new loan so it will start on january next year.

Additional note : when u issue termination ur loan dividen still calculate till it fully terminated.

This post has been edited by haziqnet: Jun 1 2018, 11:20 AM
wild_card_my
post Jun 1 2018, 11:23 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jun 1 2018, 11:16 AM)
Usually the termination process will take up to 2 month till fully termination. So if u issue termination on nov, ur loan will fully terminate after december usually. I more recommend to issue termination between 10-15 nov so the loan will terminate after december. Try also to discuss with the officer in charge if possible to discuss about your intention.

And at the same time apply for new loan so it will start on january next year.
But that would not have any bearing on the amount of dividend that you would receive by next year in January.

If you terminate in November, and the units are fully redeemed in December and replaced with new units deposited in December from a different bank... the monthly minimum balance for December would be zero

Likewise, if you did the replacement process in June, and the loan is fully terminated in July, and the units are fully redeemed in July, but replaced with new units deposited in July... the monthly minimum balance for July would also be zero

So... what is the relevance in terminating the loan only in November? You can do it anytime, now especially since there are so many promotions. Let me know if I got this wrong. About discussing with the officer in charge... well a lot of them are mistaken too, they are trained to sell, not really to understand the product biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jun 1 2018, 11:16 AM)
Additional note : when u issue termination ur loan dividen still calculate till it fully terminated.
No lah. Each month's dividend is based on monthly minimum balance. So if you withdraw the money half way during a month... the dividend for that month would be RM0

Here is an example that I usually use with my (mortgage) clients when discussing ASB and ASB loans:

In this month of June, you currently have RM200k ASB loan with CIMB. last month in May, you decided to close the account with CIMB and get a new one with RHB.... On 1st June, CIMB closed your account, and fully redeemed the units in your ASB account... at this point, your ASB balance is RM0 correct? 10 days later, on the 11th of June, RHB deposited RM200k into your ASB account... making your current balance as of 11th of june at RM200k.

But what is your minimum balance for the month of June? RM0 lah, because for those 10 days, your balance was RM0.

So if the dividend is declared at 8% for this year... your dividend for the month of June is 8%/12 x RM0 = RM0

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 1 2018, 11:36 AM
haziqnet
post Jun 1 2018, 11:47 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2018, 11:23 AM)
But that would not have any bearing on the amount of dividend that you would receive by next year in January.

If you terminate in November, and the units are fully redeemed in December and replaced with new units deposited in December from a different bank... the monthly minimum balance for December would be zero

Likewise, if you did the replacement process in June, and the loan is fully terminated in July, and the units are fully redeemed in July, but replaced with new units deposited in July... the monthly minimum balance for July would also be zero

So... what is the relevance in terminating the loan only in November? You can do it anytime, now especially since there are so many promotions. Let me know if I got this wrong. About discussing with the officer in charge... well a lot of them are mistaken too, they are trained to sell, not really to understand the productย  biggrin.gifย  biggrin.gifย  biggrin.gif
Yes its always relevant to terminate the loan anytime to get lower rate. My posting above incase the promo rate is not extend, their new loan might end up with higher rate later if terminate now. Unless like i say if the bank can reconsider to give the same promo rate even the promo rate is already ended (new rate is higher) then you can issue termination and reapply at this month.

If u see on my previous post i always advise them to get for better rate if their loan already 1 year and above plus no takaful.

The missing dividen still cant avoid (im correcting my statement) sorry my mistake. Just for those who want to get full dividend this year should issue termination on nov.

Tq bro for enlighten me. Sometime we r wrong too.

This post has been edited by haziqnet: Jun 1 2018, 12:02 PM
vondutch
post Jun 1 2018, 11:49 AM

60 posts

I think what he meant was that by terminating end of the year you will get the full dividen on that year and lose out the dividen on January.
By terminating middle of the year you would have to wait few more months to get the dividen and it will be a reduced dividen.
Basically it is just a matter of convenience.

But i agree with @wild_card_my, at the end of the day the amount of dividen that u get is the same.
wild_card_my
post Jun 1 2018, 11:56 AM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(vondutch @ Jun 1 2018, 11:49 AM)
I think what he meant was that by terminating end of the year you will get the full dividen on that year and lose out the dividen on January.
By terminating middle of the year you would have to wait few more months to get the dividen and it will be a reduced dividen.
Basically it is just a matter of convenience.

But i agree with @wild_card_my, at the end of the day the amount of dividen that u get is the same.
Unless it is for a mortgage application, I do not see the relevance. For mortgages, the dividend received matters quite a bit, because you can use the dividend to "counter" the commitments that come with the ASB loan...

So if you are planning to apply for a mortgage, it may be somewhat wise to plan ahead, that is to redeeem the units next year, and not this year so your dividend received in January of next year would be maxed up

otherwise, it is a futile process, especially if there is a pretty good promotion going on right now that you are letting go just to do this "planning" which may not amount to anything

Plug: if anyone wants to do ASB loan can as me for the full details. I can explain top to bottom as much as I can do the same for mortagages, if not better (because ASB is so straight forward!) biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jun 1 2018, 11:47 AM)
Yes its always relevant to terminate the loan anytime to get lower rate. My posting above incase the promo rate is not extend, their new loan might end up with higher rate later if terminate now. Unless like i say if the bank can reconsider to give the same promo rate even the promo rate is already ended (new rate is higher) then you can issue termination and reapply at this month.

If u see on my previous post i always advise them to get for better rate if their loan already 1 year and above plus no takaful.

The missing dividen still cant avoid (im correcting my statement) sorry my mistake. Just for those who want to get full dividend this year should issue termination on nov.

Tq bro for enlighten me. Sometime we r wrong too.
No problem mate, we help each other. Market is so big, we are like in a group of like-minded people fighting for proper financial planning and filling our pockets at the same time hehehehe

This post has been edited by wild_card_my: Jun 1 2018, 11:57 AM
Ronald K.
post Jun 1 2018, 12:13 PM

101 posts

I believe thereโ€™s a misperception about ASB termination in which no dividend will be earned for the loan eg 200k during the whole termination period eg 2 mths (if termination takes more than a month).

For example if the whole termination process took around 2 mths then youโ€™ll actually gain 1 month of dividend for the 200k loan since the units will still be in account up to the point of complete loan termination in the 2nd month. For the 2nd month there would be no dividend for 200k tho since lowest balance for the month is zero (assuming no other balances in account).

As for our 5% promo rate in Ambank, rate will be locked in upon application so there is no issue in the event that rate increases after the promo period.

Edit: Sorry, to clear up the confusion, rate will be locked in upon application however itโ€™s still dependent on Base Rate so if BR changes then so will the loan rate.

This post has been edited by Ronald K.: Jun 1 2018, 02:00 PM
haziqnet
post Jun 1 2018, 12:21 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Ronald K. @ Jun 1 2018, 12:13 PM)
I believe thereโ€™s a misperception about ASB termination in which no dividend will be earned for the loan eg 200k during the whole termination period eg 2 mths (if termination takes a longer than a month).

For example if the whole termination process took around 2 mths then youโ€™ll actually gain 1 month of dividend for the 200k loan since the units will still be in account up to the point of complete loan termination in the 2nd month. For the 2nd month there would be no dividend for 200k tho since lowest balance for the month is zero (assuming no other balances in account).

As for our 5% promo rate in Ambank, rate will be locked in upon application so there is no issue in the event that rate increases after the promo period smile.gif
Easy to understand once the money is fully redeem from the client asb account than no more dividend calculation.

For example issue termination on july. July and aug stil available money in the asb account. Sept the money is no more, then no more dividend for sept. Am i correct?

As for our 5% promo rate in Ambank, rate will be locked in upon application so there is no issue in the event that rate increases after the promo period smile.gif

Wow thats is great.

This post has been edited by haziqnet: Jun 1 2018, 12:25 PM
wild_card_my
post Jun 1 2018, 12:32 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jun 1 2018, 12:21 PM)
Easy to understand once the money is fully redeem from the client asb account than no more dividend calculation.

For example issue termination on july. July and aug stil available money in the asb account. Sept the money is no more, then no more dividend for sept. Am i correct?
Wow thats is great.
Correct, because there is no money in the account for the month of September, then obviously no dividend.

but even in the event money is deposited into the account later in September... there is still no dividend pay out for that month because the monthly minimum balance for that month has already reached zero at one point.
haziqnet
post Jun 1 2018, 12:41 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ Jun 1 2018, 12:32 PM)
Correct, because there is no money in the account for the month of September, then obviously no dividend.

but even in the event money is deposited into the account later in September... there is still no dividend pay out for that month because the monthly minimum balance for that month has already reached zero at one point.
Yup true if the money deposited around sept still 0 dividen because the lowest amount on that month is start from 0 too. Only the next month the dividend will calculate the deposit amount. Hope this will help the other to understand more about how asb dividend is calculate. Its very straightforward actually hehe...
wild_card_my
post Jun 1 2018, 12:43 PM

6,562 posts

QUOTE(haziqnet @ Jun 1 2018, 12:41 PM)
Yup true if the money deposited around sept still 0 dividen because the lowest amount on that month is start from 0 too. Only the next month the dividend will calculate the deposit amount. Hope this will help the other to understand more about how asb dividend is calculate. Its very straightforward actually hehe...
If explain in person lagi senang.. someone ought to do a video on this la
voncrane
post Jun 1 2018, 02:57 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

TLDR: If one plans to terminate and reapply. Simultaneously apply and terminate close to the beginning of any month (promo dependent) to lock in specific rate (BLR rates dependent).. Process will take up till 2 months. If done right. One only loses 1 month dividends or max 2 months.. Life goes on.. Correct me if wrong. hmm.gif
Ronald K.
post Jun 1 2018, 03:40 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 1 2018, 02:57 PM)
TLDR: If one plans to terminate and reapply. Simultaneously apply and terminate close to the beginning of any month (promo dependent) to lock in specific rate (BLR rates dependent).. Process will take up till 2 months. If done right. One only loses 1 month dividends or max 2 months.. Life goes on.. Correct me if wrong. hmm.gif
Yup thatโ€™s correct ๐Ÿ˜„
voncrane
post Jun 1 2018, 04:24 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(Ronald K. @ Jun 1 2018, 03:40 PM)
Yup thatโ€™s correct ๐Ÿ˜„
Awesome... head almost rclxub.gif after reading the exchanges contained in the last 2 pages.. smile.gif
haziqnet
post Jun 1 2018, 06:05 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jun 1 2018, 04:24 PM)
Awesome... head almost  rclxub.gif after reading the exchanges contained in the last 2 pages..  smile.gif
Haha sorry for my bad english.
haziqnet
post Jun 1 2018, 06:09 PM

1,305 posts

Conclusion if someone want to terminate and reapply, they still lose 1 or 2 month dividend. Therefore if want to terminate anytime actually is ok unless u want to get the dividend after fully terminate so apply for termination around nov or dec. Happy reading hehe ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

This post has been edited by haziqnet: Jun 1 2018, 06:11 PM

378 Pages « < 165 166 167 168 169 > » Top

0.0895sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:53 AM