QUOTE(ponomariov @ Apr 7 2008, 08:14 AM)
To play winger system... full winger system .. is to built a team around CR.... regardless he plays or not you can't change a team formation overnite.. you have to replace that player accordingly... with the next best available option.
To play central attack like arsenal.. is to suit fabregas style of passing.... maximize his passing.....Counter attack when they have henry.. when he was younger...
You have to see barcelona... real madrid.... no matter who they got.. they play as required by the coach .. not otherwise... if not you are benched... dun play well even you are out of position.. you still get benched.
For example.. beckham.. went to real madrid... he has to play central midfield at times...
Raul.. full finisher... have to play support striker..or left wing...
Xavi at times at the right and at times in the middle.
Messi either as a forward or winger..
Henry.. striker or winger..
all these players have to do different function to suit the team strategy..
What the difference.. when you lose a player built around it, the team might not be as effective... you play to a team strategy.. players unable to maintain the form and consistency.
I beg to differ if you're saying United is playing around CR's ability. If you really watch United's game you could see that CR is more likely having a free role. And that is interchangeable either with Rooney or Tevez or Nani/Giggs/Park. He plays as a winger alright but he tends to run off with the ball or drift inside and change positions with the strikers.
But still, I wonder people still comparing AM with wingers? And everyone doesn't even highlight players like Ribery, Joaquin and others. In terms of quality, I think they are on the same level as CR does. It's just that CR scores more. Not to forget CR's compatriot, Quaresma as well.