Is it necessary to got buy an insurance?

dreamer101
post Apr 4 2008, 09:28 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Apr 4 2008, 05:38 PM)
I have life insurance (investment type) + Medical card.
RM200/month.

Cant do much with just RM200/month if i'd wan to keep it useless in bank.
WaCKy-Angel,

<<Cant do much with just RM200/month if i'd wan to keep it useless in bank.>>

This is BS statement. If you do not want RM200/month in the bank, everyone is willing to take it from you. If you loose your for a period of time, you will appreciate the RM200 per month.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Apr 6 2008, 07:33 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Colaboy @ Apr 6 2008, 02:51 PM)
can you guranteed you gonna be healthy till the day you are not around . . .
end of the day what ever investment or savings you have made, you are just using it for your medical expenses
Colaboy,

The most reasonably priced medical insurance only cover up to about 200K. Above 200K, the premium increase exponentially because most Malaysians do not buy that level of insurance. So, if a person has at least 200K of emergency fund, the person is self insured. And, the fund cover all emergencies where medical insurance only cover medical.

Shopping for insurance is like shopping for anything else. It is worthwhile if you get MORE and BETTER protection than what you can do by yourself. Or else, you are throwing money away.

If you want to be a better insurance agent, do not give up those GENERAL INSURANCE BS. Start by giving people REAL INFORMATION so that people can make GOOD decision. For example, at what protection level, it is worthwhile to buy medical insurance. From what I know, it is 200K.

In advanced countries like USA, you can even get RISK level information so that you know at which age and what profile, what is the likelihood that you will spend X amount of money in Medical. So, why do people get coverage of 200K if the chances / risk level for their age is so low for them to get that kind of problem?? What if they are most likely to get injure from accident and PA coverage works better for them.

Most insurance agent that I come across is not even educated up to this level. Aka, at each age profile, what is the highest risk for each person and what coverage make sense. They just spill up BS like buy ALL the insurance that you can pay.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Apr 7 2008, 12:56 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Colaboy @ Apr 6 2008, 11:39 PM)
Dreamer101,

1st. . . there are not much people out there with 200K of emergency fund
even if they have 200k like some doctors or lawyer they still own a medical card which covered their medical

2nd . . . buying insurance is NOT like shopping, buying insurance is buy whatever you need & nessasary only
many factors need to take under consideration before buying an insurance such as nature or work, family, age,
budget / income & etc etc. It's not as simple as like you go to the mall & buy a loaf of bread.
if 1 who over insured, dont you thing it's a burden to him or his family
if 1 who under insured but touch wood something happens to him, is the insurance he bought will sufficient to help him

3rd . . "In advanced countries like USA, you can even get RISK level information so that you know at which age and what profile, what is the likelihood that you will spend X amount of money in Medical"

On an agent point of view, we can only advice people about the increasing of medical expenses day by day, we cant predict who & how much it gonna cost them when somethings happen. From what i know in some countries like UK & SG they have people with CFP- Certified Financial Planner, but the trend is still not in Malaysia cause many people still prefer not to "pay" for their profesional services

Lastly, i have to agree that many insurance agent only selling the "package - all in 1" stuff to the market
There are many products nowdays which serve different purpose . . .
Get a few opinion here & there before jumping into any conclusion
Colaboy,

<<2nd . . . buying insurance is NOT like shopping, buying insurance is buy whatever you need & nessasary only
many factors need to take under consideration before buying an insurance such as nature or work, family, age,
budget / income & etc etc. It's not as simple as like you go to the mall & buy a loaf of bread.>>

Which you did not provide any REAL INFORMATION to teach people on how to consider those factors. You just spill out more GENERAL INSURANCE BS.

<<On an agent point of view, we can only advice people about the increasing of medical expenses day by day, >>

Which is another GENERAL INSURANCE BS. Medical expenses can be cover by disability, PA, Medical insurance, and Critical illness insurance. There are factors involved depending on age, nature of work and so on what type of insurance make more sense to provide coverage for medical expenses.

As an insurance agent, at the minimum, you should know ENOUGH about your own products aka insurance to provide GOOD INFORMATION as what works under what circumstances. I am NOT ASKING you about anything else except insurance.

IMHO, most people are OVER-INSURED with the WRONG kind of insurance and UNDER-INSURED with the RIGHT kind of insurance.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Apr 7 2008, 09:26 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(clsiluf @ Apr 7 2008, 09:07 AM)
dreamer, that day i was approaced by my friends who a GE insurance agent ...

he intend sell me a saving plan, said put in RM3.8k, 10 years later can take back money, 1 year return is 7%, so is this another BS investment ? means as u always said, why pay more komisen to insurance agent if i can buy those investment plan like PT myself ?
clsiluf,

A) Rule of 72. So, if the return is 7%, in 10 years 72/7 ~ 10, that means the money should double to get 7%. So, at least you should get 7.6K.

B) Normally, it is projected aka not guaranteed.

C) Just think about this. In the last 2 years, the KLSE went up 15% to 30% per year. And, this investment only projected to return 7%.

D) The worst part of this is you have NO IDEA what you are buying. In UT, at least, you have prospectus to tell you in greater detail what is in the UT.

Let me just throw you a reverse question. Is this more or less risky than buying PBBank share now at RM11?? You get RM0.75 dividend which is around 6% to 7% dividend plus possibility of capital appreciation. And, you do not have to pay 1% to 2% annual fee and 5% to 7% front end load for domestic UT.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Apr 7 2008, 09:26 AM
dreamer101
post Apr 7 2008, 10:22 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Apr 7 2008, 10:14 AM)
the only good thing insurance is for tax purpose....instead of pay government with our hard earn money might as well buy insurance

dr2k3,

1) Most people that make a lot of more money that has to worry about tax is not salary worker. For those people, they hire a good accountant and incorporated their business. Then, they do not have that much taxable profits.

2) For most salary workers and even for those that make 10K per month, the tax level in Malaysia is not high enough to be a problem.

Dreamer

Added on April 7, 2008, 10:27 am
QUOTE(Colaboy @ Apr 7 2008, 10:17 AM)
the 4% interest is guranteed while another 3% is projection dividen  . . . .
most of the savings plan in the market works that way
Colaboy,

Why can't insurance agent just honestly tell us this upfront?? I am NOT talking about you. But, there is another insurance agent that BS about this 7% stuff all over this forum without telling people the WHOLE TRUTH.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Apr 7 2008, 10:27 AM
dreamer101
post Apr 7 2008, 07:00 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Apr 7 2008, 10:29 AM)
erm.....for those with 4-5k per month = 48-60k

taxable income 11% or 12% or 13% i dont know....is like 4-7k alredy
if not wrong i saw in tax thingy form that 1 year u can deduct tax up to 5k or 4k with insurance

or am i wrong?
dr2k3,

So, this is TAX RELIEF. You pay 5K to 6K to insurance in order to save (11% to 13%) aka RM550 to RM780. How smart is this? The person could have buy less insurance and save the money.

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Apr 7 2008, 09:32 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(dr2k3 @ Apr 7 2008, 07:11 PM)
erm...i never got tax before...is it yearly tax or monthly ??

what i mean is that if those 5-6k(yearly) are tax (must goto government pocket) might as well buy insurance for "protection"?

if 5-6k will be gone anyway which 1 would you choose tax or insurance
dr2k3,

<<what i mean is that if those 5-6k(yearly) are tax (must goto government pocket) might as well buy insurance for "protection"?>>

This is TAX RELIEF. It reduces your taxable income. The following number is in annual aka yearly.

So, let say you earn 60K and you buy 6K premium worth of insurance. Your taxable income is reduced by 6K. You ONLY save 13% of 6K = RM780.

So, why spend 6K on insurance just to save RM780 in tax?

Tax savings from insurance is another bunch of BS used by insurance agent. Do not get conned. Know how to calculate.

Insurance agent never bother to tell you the whole story.

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Apr 8 2008, 07:05 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(hamster9 @ Apr 8 2008, 04:34 PM)
For a self employed, it may not be feasible.

But for those who are working/ employed, isn't it one form that we can have tax relief? RM780 is quite a big figure to think about also. Spend as in what? We are spending in term of our protection with in the meantime get a tax relief. Same goes as I step into MPH and buy myself some books and get tax relief from it. I get the product and also the tax relief.

What other things i can get from tax relief?  hmm.gif
hamster9,

1) Spending RM87 to save RM13 is not a smart decision.

2) Oops. I forgot. You are another insurance agent.

3) For a person earning 60K per year, there is very little reason to spend all the way to RM6K on insurance annually.

Dreamer

Added on April 8, 2008, 7:09 pm
QUOTE(iluvena @ Apr 8 2008, 03:43 PM)
just take my advice..

i work in company A. got medical card & insurance for employee. no worry bout major disease.
then got kick from company A.
what happened if i don't have any health insurance? and i got major disease?
so better have one than never.
iluvena,

If you got laid off from a company and you have NO SAVINGS, you will starve to death first before you get sick. You are MORE LIKELY to lose your job than get sick or major disease. Why you ARE NOT insured against that by having EMERGENCY FUND?? The reason why NOBODY advice you on that is because they get NO COMMISSION for giving out this advice.

We seen ENOUGH people that OVERSPEND on insurance until they have NO SAVINGS.

Dreamer

Added on April 8, 2008, 7:15 pm
QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Apr 8 2008, 04:10 PM)
But well, u still need to buy insurance as protection.

If not, touch wood, if anything happen, u might need to claim 5k for medical u paid while u are in hospital...  smile.gif
g00glesYYl,

If a person is earning RM60K per year, it is FINANCIALLY STUPID for a person to buy medical insurance that PAY RM5K.

Financially, the person need to have 15K to 30K in the bank for emergency fund. So, he is covered for any emergency up to 30K. If not. the person will go to hell if he lose his job for a while.

The person will either

A) Buy ONLY Critical illness insurance cover up to 200K

B) buy no medical insurance because it is not worth the effort.

You ONLY buy insurance to cover RISK that present a SERIOUS financial problem for you. This is why you do not buy life insurance for your children.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Apr 8 2008, 07:15 PM
dreamer101
post Apr 8 2008, 09:16 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Apr 8 2008, 08:51 PM)
Im juz wondering how come u guys didnt includ EPF contribution into tax relief. COMBINE EPF and LIFE INSURANCE is 6000 MAX.
bafukie,

1) I do not know since I do not need to buy insurance for my whole life.

2) So, essentially, if a person is earning 60K per year, his EPF will used up all the tax relief and life insurance will enjoy no tax relief.

3) It is NOT in the insurance agent's best interest to tell and educate you.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Apr 8 2008, 09:40 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Apr 8 2008, 09:18 PM)
Do you have any suggestion what is the alternative for Insurance?
kockroach,

1) I did not have to BUY insurance. My job has extensive life, medical, disability insurance included.

2) I save 50% of my gross income. So, at certain stage, I am self-insured.

3) The problem I have is insurance is only worthwhile for me if the coverage far far above 200K. But, those insurance premium is so high that it is not worth the money.

Do not misunderstand me. I do not say people should not buy insurance. But, the problem is

A) People overspend on insurance until they have NO SAVINGS.

B) People buying WRONG KIND of insurance with WRONG coverage.

C) Insurance agents only interested in SELLING as opposed to EDUCATING people on the right kind and right amount of insurance to buy.

For example, why buy life insurance on children?? They generate NO INCOME. Their death represent minimal NEGATIVE financial impact. You MAY BUY medical insurance if you have NO COVERAGE from your job and you can get a good deal.

Why buy medical insurance that cover up to 30K if you have 100K in the bank?

Insurance is for RISK MANAGEMENT. You only buy it to protect

1) Things that are likely to happen.

2) Things that have HIGH FINANCIAL IMPACT to you

For young people, the worst case FINANCIAL disaster is disability aka you cannot work. But, you could cover this via Personal Accident or Disability protection. So, which one more likely to happen and which one give you the best deal (premium versus coverage)?

I started an insurance thread but too few insurance agent is willing to educate as opposed to selling.

People SPEND A LOT of money on insurance but SPEND TOO LITTLE time in studying about this subject. So, they lose a lot of money unnecessary in the process.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Apr 8 2008, 11:29 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Apr 8 2008, 11:08 PM)
Dear dreamer,

IMHO, I do think that life insurance is essential for low income individual. Why? Not everyone have savings at the end of the day to pay for any expenses caused by critical illness or suddenly sei 9 jor. Paying a little bit off their monthly income would result in saving their family a lot of headache if anything happens in the future.

Perhaps, for people like yourself who can manage money well would not have headache when anything happens to you, but not everyone is as lucky to have a good income.

Running away from tax may seem like a lame excuse for certain people, but it serves as a yearly discount for some low income people and it means a lot for them.

People are asking for opinion whether it is necessary to buy an insurance. There are people from different background who may or may not need insurance. Try to put yourself in their shoes instead of speaking from your opinion.

P/S : I'm not an insurance agent. I'm just an analyst.

Cheers!
susuteng
suiteng,

1) Define what you mean by low income.

2) Define what do you mean by <<Paying a little bit off their monthly income>>

<<to pay for any expenses caused by critical illness or suddenly sei 9 jor.>>

3) Which is a lower risk than starving to death when you are lower income.

Let's have some common sense here. If you are lower income, you are MORE LIKELY to lose your job and starve to death than anything else. Insurance does not help you in dealing with that. Emergency fund and saving does.

If you are NOT PROTECTED from MORE LIKELY RISK (aka lose your job and income ) and MORE PROTECTION (savings can be used for anything), you buy insurance to protect from LESS LIKELY event (death and critical illness).

Plus,

A) You are so poor that your life does not worth that much.

B) You are so poor that you cannot buy enough critical illness insurance to handle any critical illness.

Have you ever been REALLY POOR aka STARVING to begin with?

If you are lower income, make sure that you save money first. Then, maybe buy a little bit of medical insurance. Then, life insurance. That makes more sense.

In summary, if you have NO SAVINGS, you have NO BUSINESS buying insurance. Saving is your first level of insurance.

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Apr 9 2008, 04:12 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 9 2008, 02:23 AM)
But if you have low income and 30% goes to insurance and only 10% of savings per month; imagine there's one day you cannot afford to pay the 30% insurance fees when financial disaster hits. I.e. you loose your savings and insurance once and for all. That's what Dreamer is trying to educate certain naive ppl here about insurance over gearing.

But anyway I do think that medical card is a must nowadays. But than again, if company is paying for the medical expenses; does one really need medical card in the first place and pay the yearly premium?!
I have to disagree with Dreamer's idea on RM100k savings: <<<Why buy medical insurance that cover up to 30K if you have 100K in the bank?>>>
The problem nowadays is hospitalisation looks at money first and medical card is an effective way in emergency situation whereby not everyone is holding RM5k cash as hospital deposit. Credit card might be a good choice but than again it would be a hassle to go and withdraw money from the banks to pay bills incurred.
It's how much you value the expected emergency and calculating the premium so that it wouldn't burden one's expenses and commitments.
b00n,

<< I have to disagree with Dreamer's idea on RM100k savings: <<<Why buy medical insurance that cover up to 30K if you have 100K in the bank?>>> >>>

1) If you have 100K in the bank, you have a credit card. You can pay by credit card.

<<t's how much you value the expected emergency and calculating the premium so that it wouldn't burden one's expenses and commitments.>>

2) It is not worth the effort to claim insurance for small amount.

And,

3) The premium to insure for 200K and above is too much and not likely to happen.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Apr 9 2008, 09:44 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Apr 9 2008, 09:25 AM)
no offense , define Too much and how unlikely to happen ? 200K n above for critical illness or medical ?
yewkhuay,

1) What kind of medical condition require medical expenditure above 200K?

How likely for this to happen?

2) What kind of Critical illness require medical expenditure above 200K?

How likely for this to happen??

Call a few hospitals if you are interested.

3) What is the premium versus coverage for below 200K versus above 200K??

If you ever shop around for medical insurance and critical insurance, you will find that premium is reasonable for coverage below 200K. Above 200K coverage, the premium grew exponentially. This is because very few people can buy that amount of insurance in Malaysia.

The problem with the rich is that below 200K, they have the money to cover that. What they need is insurance that cover a lot more that 200K. But, the premium grow exponentially for coverage above 200K.

Anyhow, this is still not a big deal for people that are very rich. Since even if they waste money on insurance, it does not matter to them.

The worst problem is with people with lower income. Some of them bought so much insurance that they have NO SAVINGS.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Apr 9 2008, 10:28 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Dyong @ Apr 9 2008, 10:05 AM)
Emergency Funds
Accident/ Medical Insurance/ MRTA for Home
Investment

Life insurance is not necessary with a proper investment plan.

Many are buying a Life insurance just to get something back at the end of the day, without taking into consideration of pitiful returns.
Dyong,

Before you buy MRTA for home, you should consider buying term life insurance instead. You MAY or MAY NOT have the choice of doing that depending on how much down payment that you have.

There are MANY reason for this advice

A) MRTA pay for the house only. When someone died, you NEED CASH. If you have ONLY MRTA, the surviver MUST sell the house to get CASH. Selling a house in a short period of time get you a lousy deal.

B) With term life insurance, you get CASH. So, the surviver can decide to keep the house or sell it later. With CASH, you have the flexibility of deciding what to do (funeral, college education, living expense) and so on.

C) You can shop around for term life insurance but you must get MRTA from the bank providing loan. So, usually, you can get better deal than MRTA with the same amount of premium.

In summary, CASH is more flexible than HOUSE. So, term life insurance is better than MRTA.

<<Many are buying a Life insurance just to get something back at the end of the day>>

So, buy a term life insurance or whole life insurance with as little cash back value as possible.

Dreamer

P.S.: I am actually advising people to buy insurance. This is incredible.

Added on April 9, 2008, 10:38 am
QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Apr 9 2008, 10:26 AM)
Hi dreamer, May i know what is ur jobs?

I personally think that you are very free on replying threads. You should not be in management level as manager dun bother to online due to no time.

Or, you are retired person?

Btw, insurance is a must for most of the people. 

Of course, those getting rm1000 salary (low income), they can not affort to buy. They priority is "everyday, dun get hungry at least"

If you have extra money, you should spent some money for insurance. But just need to have suitable and affortable insurance plan.

Insurance was exist for many many years. It have his own strengths, if not, they would stay that long.
g00glesYYl,

<<Hi dreamer, May i know what is ur jobs?

I personally think that you are very free on replying threads. You should not be in management level as manager dun bother to online due to no time.>>

A) Personally, I think it is none of your business.

B) BTW, a good manager should never be busy. Read up on "one minute manager" if you are interested.

C) Obviously, you have never met a good manager before.

<<Btw, insurance is a must for most of the people. >>

Who cares?? The MORE RELEVANT question is

A) Do I need insurance??

B) If yes, how much and what kind?

<<If you have extra money, you should spent some money for insurance. But just need to have suitable and affortable insurance plan.>>

Which is GENERAL statement that provide NO INFORMATION to help anyone.

A) What is suitable??

B) How to calculate what is affordable?

My rule of thumb is if you CANNOT save 10% to 15% of your gross income, you are OVERSPEND.

<<Insurance was exist for many many years. It have his own strengths, if not, they would stay that long.>>

You are not OLD enough. It took average American about 15 years to figure out that whole life insurance is a waste of money and they should buy term life insurance instead. It will probably take that long or longer for Malaysians to reach that level of financial maturity.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Apr 9 2008, 10:38 AM
dreamer101
post Apr 9 2008, 11:20 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Apr 9 2008, 11:05 AM)
dreamer,

I personally think that you should start putting yourself in people's shoe before you give any "advice". I noticed some of your replies here are so bias because you hate insurance. You're making your own assumption on a few forumers (i.e. forumers who are optimistic about insurance are insurance agents) and so I "assume" you hate insurance.

Secondly, forumers are just curious about your job and how are you able to give good "advice". What you did is you just shut them up. You might be OLD enough to give financial advices but you're lack of something which is called emphathy.
suiteng,

A) With so MANY insurance agents running around selling insurance and others BIAS for insurance but do not know why, I provide a GOOD counter balance. Someone has to OFFER the counter point of view to balance thing out.

B) Do I REALLY hate insurance?? Does it matter?? As long as I can force people to THINK and MAKE a better decision, I have educated someone.

<<but you're lack of something which is called emphathy.>>

C) So?? There are ENOUGH nice people around that refuse to speak out. Where are them when you need someone to wake you up and make a better decision?? The world has TOO MANY nice people. One more NICE PEOPLE does not help anyone.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Apr 9 2008, 07:32 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Apr 9 2008, 03:25 PM)

A) Do I need insurance??
B) If yes, how much and what kind?

i have read some books, they are mentioning "good financial planning" should have the below:-

EPF 30% -> for retirement
FD  15% -> for emergency fund
Unit Trust -> 20% This is better than EPF and FD
Home -> 15% rental
Share -> 10%
insurance -> 10% protection/saving/retirement

g00glesYYl,

The numbers do not make sense.

A) EPF is 11% from employer and 11% from employee. So, it is around 22% to 23% of the gross income. To be 30% means that you put extra into EPF. Why would I want to do that?

B) FD = 15%? The goal is to create a 3 month to 6 month emergency fund. So, until you do that, 100% of your savings is into FD. Until you built the emergency fund, you do not put any more money into FD. So FD =15% do not make sense.

C) The total number added up to 80%. Tax is at least 15%. So, your living expenses excluding house is only 5%?? How does this work?

D) Insurance = 10%?? Isn't this what we have been arguing about?? There is NO SUCH THING. You may need more or less. To most people, they need less. People need to learn how to calculate and buy accordingly. Formula like this is used by insurance agent to get people to OVERSPEND on insurance. IMHO, 10% on insurance is TOO MUCH for most people. You should ONLY use insurance for PROTECTION. Savings and investment can be done with lower cost through other mean.

Dreamer

Added on April 9, 2008, 9:52 pm
QUOTE(hamster9 @ Apr 9 2008, 12:01 PM)
Why term life insurance? How long would the term be? 20 years? But what happened after the 20 year?

So happens that my house is RM800K (around Puchong). My life insurance premium is RM250/mth for 20 years, that if anything happened to me I get RM500K. I dun think it is enough to cover for my house. So I added MLTA instead which I presumed it's different from MRTA, where I get to cover the house and have the additional money back to my family (if ever my mortgage principal ever reduce  rclxub.gif ) but after 20 years, when I'm around 40 plus,  don't have a life insurance. So what shall I do?
hamster9,

A) How long do you plan to pay for the house??

20 years?? 30 years?? You can buy sufficient term life insurance to cover the term of the loan.

B) MLTA or term life insurance??

How much does it costs you to get the additional 300K coverage?? MLTA or term life insurance is cheaper?? This is like shopping.

<<but after 20 years, when I'm around 40 plus, don't have a life insurance. So what shall I do?>>

C) So, what is stopping you for getting longer term life insurance?? 35 years? Get a term life insurance that cover you up to retirement.

But,

D) After you paid off the house, you MAY NOT need that much coverage.

This is like any kind of shopping. You pay $X for $Y coverage over the period of Z. You choose the combination that cost you the least and still provide the sufficient coverage. It is not that hard.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Apr 9 2008, 09:52 PM
dreamer101
post Apr 9 2008, 11:41 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Apr 9 2008, 11:14 PM)
1&2 : when was the last time u call up hospital n ask about this figure n the incidence rate n frequency ? i m in medical line, everyday i m seeing doctors n patients n we discuss about 1 common thing, no money for suitable treatment.

3. when was the last time u ever shop around for insurance ? oh u don't . may be insurance agents here can answer the below 200K n above 200K question. get ur facts right.

wish u happy and healthy.
yewkhuay,

<<1&2 : when was the last time u call up hospital n ask about this figure n the incidence rate n frequency ? i m in medical line, everyday i m seeing doctors n patients n we discuss about 1 common thing, no money for suitable treatment. >>

So, since you know, tell us and educate us typically what kind of medical condition and treatment costs more than 200K in Malaysia. Do not speak in general term. Give us some examples.

<<3. when was the last time u ever shop around for insurance ? oh u don't . may be insurance agents here can answer the below 200K n above 200K question. get ur facts right.>>

Okay. If you have more up to date information, correct me. If not, the best that you can say is you do not know. Then, why argue with me? Please note that I am NOT in your age group.

It is VERY SIMPLE. If you have BETTER and MORE up to date information, tell us. Correct me. I want to learn.

Dreamer

dreamer101
post Apr 10 2008, 03:06 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Apr 10 2008, 12:11 AM)
What does it meant by under insured? Meaning to say the guy got money and didn't splash it out in insurance? or how do you put it? Those that are "under" insured are most of the time ppl with limited cash flow. That's my understanding.

Again back to the debate on insurance saving plans.
I still remember there's previously a debate whereby I raised this. Comes one day the person have cash flow problem and would he than be risking losing his "Insurance coverage + saving plans" in one shot?! Would it be safer if the guy previously bought insurance and kept his savings elsewhere for eg. FD. In the sense that he do not need to pump in money into his FD and use that cash flow elsewhere, maybe for his insurance for eg.
But when the insurance package he bought is tied in with "saving plans" can he than opt not to "pump in money" into the "saving portion" instead?! If cannot than obviously he would loose both the insurance coverage and "savings" at the same time. Or worst, the savings automatically becomes a "standing instruction" to feed the insurance. Even worst, he might not be able to "take out" all his savings for usage.
So is it wise than?!
b00n,

It get worse than that. You do not have to pay fee and commission to put money into FD. But, you have to pay fee and commission into the saving portion of the insurance. So, the return is much lower than FD.

Insurance as saving ONLY work for people that cannot save money into FD or bank.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Apr 10 2008, 07:24 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Apr 10 2008, 05:04 PM)
dreamer,
when u ask me to call up the hospitals to ask about the medical conditions tht require 200K n above n how likely it would happen, u should know the answer or hav the facts with u, if not , u r not different from ppl who can talk n divert conversation. obviously, u r either not willing to share or U DO NOT KNOW.

1. Ask a neurosurgeon to operate ur head, u need to get ready at least 15-20K , for what reason he operates on u is another story n another bill, that is only his fees.  DO u need a medical condition to get ur head operated ? No.Other ppl's accident can bring u to OT room, worse still if u r not conscious n ur family member doesn't know how to withdraw ur CASH. And we don hav to argue on how likely this will happen coz u agree tht personal accident is important but pls read the terms how much it covers for hospitalization.

i m here to promote insurance, but a person age 20 who purchase medical card of 60K/year, 200K/life time, the total premium he has to pay till age 70 is less than 60K, unless he is so sure tht he wouldn't need hospital service for the next 50years, getting a medical card doesn;t harm his finance n potentially help him. we can take care of our health as much but we can't guarantee we will be healthy n unhurt for tomorrow.

2. Cancer hit population age 20-99, when it hits , and too bad malaysian often got diagnosed late, and will require higher treatment cost. the best cancer treatment depends on type of cancer, can cost u upto 50K/month , still we are excluding some many other cost inccured.

i do not have to list all other medical conditions tht require LONG TERM treatment and the cost involve, may be for ur AGE u can find more ppl to ask about this n update us on ur findings.

3. Since the 1st day i got to know about life insurance, i hav not heard about above 200K coverage u hav to pay relatively higher premium (infact, where do u get this info may i ask?) , in fact it is lower if u purchase 200K in 1policy vs 40K x5policies, there is a discount incurred. Substandard premium applies on clients with Substandard health status. perhaps ppl who purchase above 500K coverage require some extra health screening and their health condition made them pay higher fees.

since we might some agents here, may be they can correct me if i m wrong.

i did not argue with u, did i sound so ? pls note tht i m not in ur AGE group, forgive me if i offended u, never mean so.
yewkhuay,

<<when u ask me to call up the hospitals to ask about the medical conditions tht require 200K n above n how likely it would happen, u should know the answer or hav the facts with u, if not , u r not different from ppl who can talk n divert conversation. obviously, u r either not willing to share or U DO NOT KNOW.>>

Okay. I am wrong. I do not have up to date information so I asked people to call. I do not know what is the latest price.

1) You are assuming that EVERYONE can afford to pay that amount of premium. My definition of whether someone can afford something is more flexible. If you cannot save 10% to 15% of your gross income, you have OVERSPEND. The problem here is people OVERSPEND on insurance until they have NO SAVINGS.

2) Under that condition. most people (99+%) of Malaysians do not have enough insurance to cover that. And, they cannot afford to pay the premium for that kind of coverage anyhow.

3) Read carefully. I am talking about Critical Illness and medical insurance. Not life insurance.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Apr 10 2008, 07:28 PM
dreamer101
post Apr 11 2008, 08:53 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(darthvader98 @ Apr 11 2008, 07:57 AM)
To be brutally honest, it is very difficult to get enough insurance to cover every eventuality or medical treatment. This is because it depends on whether you can afford to get the maximum coverage, which means higher premiums. And also don't forget that medical costs increases by roughly 20% yearly.

Then there is also the annual and lifetime limit on medical claims. Medical insurance can only partly cover your costs.  It is almost impossible to cover all your medical costs for all illnesses.
darthvader98,

1) So, this is like everything else in life. You shop for what you can afford and make sense.

2) You make sure that you can save at least 10% to 15% of your gross income every month. Use that to build your emergency and investment. That is your first level of insurance.

3) Then, you budget for some insurance to protect against your greatest risk. And, your risk profile is different depending on your job, age and so on.

4) Do more exercise and eat healthy. It is cheaper in the long run and you live a better life.

5) Stop smoking.

Dreamer

0.0272sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:41 AM