Request: Buzz/Nudge feature, Notification

TSJoshua_0718
post Apr 3 2008, 11:55 AM, updated 18y ago

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

I am not sure this situation goes to other forumer a not. I used to go to different section and post. But mainly focusing on 1 section only. When that section has nothing much to discuss, I then will proceed to other section to see and discuss.

Eventually, sometime, I feel that I post already, but will not go back. And sometime when feel that I need to go back, it is hard to go back. Even though search from my profile post search, it might take some time as it could be days ago already.

What I may want is something like buzz to inform me that someone request me to go back and post. Or is like putting a 'flag' on my post, once people quote my post, I will receive a notification and I shall go back and have a look.

Situation:
1. When people wanted us to go back and post
2. When we want to know is our opinion is right or wrong

I am not sure whether this will be understood and be approved a not blush.gif
feyhime
post Apr 3 2008, 12:13 PM

257 posts

You can use the -Track this topic- option? (It's selectable from the top right corner of each topic).

It'll trigger options for you that look like this >>

Topic Subscription: Request: Buzz/Nudge feature
Please choose your notification method.
Forum subscriptions will notify when new topics have been made and topic subscriptions notify when a reply has been made.

No Email Notification
This option will not send out any email notification but will retain the topic or forum in your subscriptions panel.

Delayed Emailed Notification
This option will send out a notification if a new topic or reply has been made and you're not active on the board.

Immediate Email Notification
This option will send out a notification immediately after a new topic or reply has been made regardless of your activity.

Daily Email Digest
This option will send out a daily digest showing all new replies or topics for that day

Weekly Email Digest
This option will send out a weekly digest showing all new replies or topics for that week

goldfries
post Apr 3 2008, 12:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

use RSS or Email subscription lor. are they not enough?
temptation1314
post Apr 3 2008, 12:23 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Apr 3 2008, 11:55 AM)
I am not sure this situation goes to other forumer a not. I used to go to different section and post. But mainly focusing on 1 section only. When that section has nothing much to discuss, I then will proceed to other section to see and discuss.

Eventually, sometime, I feel that I post already, but will not go back. And sometime when feel that I need to go back, it is hard to go back. Even though search from my profile post search, it might take some time as it could be days ago already.

What I may want is something like buzz to inform me that someone request me to go back and post. Or is like putting a 'flag' on my post, once people quote my post, I will receive a notification and I shall go back and have a look.

Situation:
1. When people wanted us to go back and post
2. When we want to know is our opinion is right or wrong

I am not sure whether this will be understood and be approved a not blush.gif
You'll invoke more spam for yourself.... Track the topic is good enough.
TSJoshua_0718
post Apr 3 2008, 12:30 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 3 2008, 12:23 PM)
use RSS or Email subscription lor. are they not enough?
What is RSS all about actually? I don't use that

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Apr 3 2008, 12:23 PM)
You'll invoke more spam for yourself.... Track the topic is good enough.
Track the topic, but not the post. It is difficult to track where is my post actually

SPAM, quite true. Maybe when only 1 user click the buzz, only 1 buzz is allow?

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Apr 3 2008, 12:33 PM
goldfries
post Apr 3 2008, 12:33 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Apr 3 2008, 12:30 PM)
What is RSS all about actually? I don't use that

Here's a little article on RSS that I wrote.

Hope it enlightens you. smile.gif

http://www.goldfries.com/computing/feed-me-rss-feed-me/

TSJoshua_0718
post Apr 3 2008, 12:43 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 3 2008, 12:33 PM)
Here's a little article on RSS that I wrote.

Hope it enlightens you. smile.gif

http://www.goldfries.com/computing/feed-me-rss-feed-me/
Okay, understood. Will try it out rclxm9.gif
Actually, it is real enough, but it is to track the topic, not post.

Like my situation, I will simply go to my unusual active section and post. I will not be there after that post/day, meaning I won't be coming back to post.

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Apr 3 2008, 12:43 PM
goldfries
post Apr 3 2008, 12:45 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah. RSS tracks the thread.

i think perhaps you're referring to those like "someone has replied you" notification?

like say I replied you in particular? like that right?
TSJoshua_0718
post Apr 3 2008, 01:05 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 3 2008, 12:45 PM)
yeah. RSS tracks the thread.

i think perhaps you're referring to those like "someone has replied you" notification?

like say I replied you in particular? like that right?
Yes, that the point I am actually saying biggrin.gif

I am not sure it is necessary a not, but for me, it is useful

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Apr 3 2008, 01:05 PM
linkinstreet
post Apr 3 2008, 01:42 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

There is a function that will email you when someone replied to a certain post you made. Never turned that on tho. And besides, you can always bookmark a thread that you always go to
wKkaY
post Apr 3 2008, 02:12 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

I think something else that can work is keyword notification. So you could for example put your nickname as a keyword. And you'll get a notification when people quote you because your nickname's in the quote.
linkinstreet
post Apr 3 2008, 02:19 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,277 posts

wKkay is in programming mode XD
suiteng
post Apr 3 2008, 04:39 PM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

wkkay needs milk.

Josh, did you mean a function like My controls > Buzz

You have been buzzed in the following topics :

Topic A
Topic B
Topic C

Something like that?
Azuma-kun
post Apr 4 2008, 02:53 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Apr 3 2008, 02:12 PM)
I think something else that can work is keyword notification. So you could for example put your nickname as a keyword. And you'll get a notification when people quote you because your nickname's in the quote.
I like this one. Can notify when somebody quote urself. With the link of the thread or post.

TSJoshua_0718
post Apr 5 2008, 11:44 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Apr 3 2008, 04:39 PM)
wkkay needs milk.

Josh, did you mean a function like My controls > Buzz

You have been buzzed in the following topics :

Topic A
Topic B
Topic C

Something like that?
Something like that, again not topic, but post. tongue.gif
It is should be

You have been buzzed in the following post :
Post A
Post B
Post C
se7en
post Apr 5 2008, 11:49 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

this is not gonna be implemented. it just seems a bit redundant.
TSJoshua_0718
post Apr 6 2008, 03:51 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Apr 5 2008, 11:49 AM)
this is not gonna be implemented. it just seems a bit redundant.
Okay, the big boss said it, everyone has to fine with it.

Guess best way is just to PM the poster to come back with the link

Thread closed

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Apr 6 2008, 03:51 AM

0.0163sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:50 AM