Home Theatre Which BD movies to demo your system with?

TSDigitalKL
post Apr 2 2008, 09:18 PM, updated 18y ago

1,360 posts

you know how you have friends coming over to check your HT system out. you want to poison them into getting their own Blu-ray player, etc.

which Blu-ray movie would you normally use to best show off the best possible picture and sound?
Name 5 Blu-ray movies and state WHY you choose these movies as your demo

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Apr 2 2008, 09:21 PM
scotty
post Apr 2 2008, 09:19 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

rat-tat-too-ee biggrin.gif

u can test out the surround during the rat chase. it highlights the surrounds smile.gif

This post has been edited by scotty: Apr 3 2008, 02:55 AM
TSDigitalKL
post Apr 2 2008, 09:27 PM

1,360 posts

cartoon usually look good but cannot see real skin tones
apisgogo
post Apr 2 2008, 10:41 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

hm, im more into audio... so here are my recommendation:

1) Die-Hard 4 - those shooting scene and explosion sounds is superb. LFE is active almost 70% of the movie and its shakes your heart... and of course its DTS-HD-MA. even core 1.5mbps is enough to poison peoples...

2) Celine Dion: A new Day - A best for Dolby TrueHD. The mix is perfect. Crystal clear sounds. its like having a best seat live!

3) I am Legend: Surrounds is real and perfect. Explosive scene also trembles your heart. Also one of the best for Dolby TrueHD

4)Black Hawk Down: Superb Sound. Makes u feel u in the battlefield and got shot down. Best for PCM
arremie
post Apr 2 2008, 11:12 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Why no BD Transformers. Only HD-DVD. Cr@p tongue.gif
htkaki
post Apr 2 2008, 11:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I only have 'Susah Mati 4.0'

Bro apis, megatron told me that Black Hawk Down aint that good in AQ. Seriously, if Saving Pvt Ryan BD is out, I will buy w/o hesitation
scotty
post Apr 3 2008, 02:47 AM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 2 2008, 11:15 PM)

Bro apis, megatron told me that Black Hawk Down aint that good in AQ. Seriously, if Saving Pvt Ryan BD is out, I will buy w/o hesitation
u are right. not so great bout that movie. i haven't try the susah mati yet. will give it a try if i get hold of that blu blu biggrin.gif
apisgogo
post Apr 3 2008, 09:33 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Apr 2 2008, 11:12 PM)
Why no BD Transformers. Only HD-DVD. Cr@p  tongue.gif
Paramaount shoot us down! haha... its coming...

QUOTE(htkaki @ Apr 2 2008, 11:15 PM)

owh really?

'Burung Gagak Hitam bawah' really shines on my setup... damn those shooting scene makes me feel im in the middle of war!

but im agree on the story.. not so good tho..

'Selamatkan Pvt Ryan' its a must buy! i hav the special edition on DVD.. and it awesome! smile.gif
JiauBoy
post Apr 3 2008, 09:47 AM

727 posts

300, the part with his wife b4 going to the battlefiled tongue.gif tongue.gif
idoblu
post Apr 3 2008, 10:18 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

saving private ryan, the film macam blur blur wan and like shot in high speed film
rx330
post Apr 3 2008, 12:02 PM

11,808 posts

htkaki, u gotta expeirence it urself

megatron says not nice, doesnt mean so

for me, black hawk good AQ even on legacy DD , but then for me, ayam legend i feel nothing good abt it (sori apis biggrin.gif )

didikl,
reference disc, even with the highest PQ marks awarded also wont swoop ur frens (new to HD or blurays) over , trust me

the easiest to poison them is planet earth and one disney cartoon (especially cars) , although i like tikus more.

but then for me, my reference disc is easy
1. bikini destination
2. debbie does dallas
3. JAV

tis shud do it, but all above sold liao tongue.gif
ar188
post Apr 3 2008, 12:40 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Apr 3 2008, 09:47 AM)
not the scene with the oracle and the drunk girl ar? biggrin.gif
sunauto
post Apr 3 2008, 01:34 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, my pick will be Celine Dion's concert on BD, excellent PQ and AQ.
JiauBoy
post Apr 3 2008, 01:45 PM

727 posts

aiya u know, i know lah
yonggoh
post Jan 31 2009, 10:08 AM

1,314 posts

1) The Dark Knight. Just check out the opening scene of the camera panning closer to the building. Best bluray moment ever IMHO. Great sound to boot as well.

2) Transformers. Watching Optimus transform in Full HD will send even the hardest man into LALALand and think he is 10yo again smile.gif

3) Kung Fu Panda. This one even edges out Rataouille in terms of PQ and AQ. Scenes i like to show off in particular are the kungfu auditions for the animals (super colourful) and the TyLung escape scene (spectacular sound)

4) Nine Inch Nails: f*** Celine Dion. THIS is the greatest BD concert footage ever shown. Which you rather see anyway? Aging grandma walk around on stage or Trrent Reznor and gang smashing up guitars/drums/keyboards smile.gif
anyway check out the info on this BD here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beside_You_in_Time

I'll be keen to test out Black Hawk Down...mainly for the SQ qhich has become legendary in Hi-Def enthusiast circles
peter32
post Jan 31 2009, 12:23 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

I am sorry to bulge in, cos I don't have a BD except just a 32' LCD.

But here's my take.

After years of playing around with movies, HT (basic only) equipment, and personally love photography etc.. in order to demo HD stuff, I would suggest to separate the functions. ie, play different disc when you demo the pictures, and play something else if you want to test the audio itself.

Some movies, eg. O brother where art thou, the movie has been shot in film, but digitally modified to even change the green leaves into golden yellow to bring up the autumn, dusty, old-film appearence. Some movies featuring ocean, sea water, will be more skewed towards bluish tint, and intensified to bring up the colour tone, both skin and the water. Saving Private Ryan are deliberately mod to appear grainy, greyish, low skin tone, to reflect the cold, inhumane conditions of the war itself. However, being an Oscar best sound winner, Saving Private Ryan will be ideal to test its audio functions.

It is therefore better to collect some more nature related movies, eg. some IMAX nature features, or one of my old time favourite Baraka, which was shot in 70mm, with excellent wide angle take, I think those with 50inches screen or wider will feature it very very well.

Live concert is very bad for screening purposes, except perhaps for its sound recording, nothing else. Its colours are artificial, depending only on the live concert lighting.

This post has been edited by peter32: Jan 31 2009, 12:34 PM
callmevil
post Jan 31 2009, 12:43 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

i start it out with

The Rock (first 5mins), then i put on Bee Movie to show 1 particular scene where the bee wasnt visible on the DVD, then i put on Harold n Kumar escape from guantanamo to show of the change the movie feature, then i put on casino royale to show the special feature.. then i end it with a scene from cloverfield..
azbro
post Jan 31 2009, 12:48 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Apr 3 2008, 09:47 AM)
I like the part with his wife 'after' he gone for battle drool.gif

Yeah..with the politician

This post has been edited by azbro: Jan 31 2009, 12:52 PM
ar188
post Jan 31 2009, 01:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 31 2009, 12:48 PM)
I like the part with his wife 'after' he gone for battle  drool.gif

Yeah..with the politician
actually she can kick ass.. I liked her more in Sarah Connor Chronicles.. another great BD TV series to show off your AV setup.. rclxms.gif
tepetlah
post Jan 31 2009, 02:42 PM

349 posts

best AQ to poison should be kungfu panda
best PQ to poison should be casino royale..

for now....
yonggoh
post Jan 31 2009, 03:23 PM

1,314 posts

ahhh and of course...
Planet Earth smile.gif
megatron007
post Feb 2 2009, 12:00 AM

4,000 posts

u all go n watch king kong biggrin.gif & listen to him snorr biggrin.gif
samlee860407
post Feb 2 2009, 08:26 AM

4,631 posts

i still like to showoff dragon tiger gate biggrin.gif

all my friends say whao for HK movie, lol
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Feb 2 2009, 11:46 AM

801 posts

Transformer BD---AQ & PQ all the shooting scene biggrin.gif
Transformer DVD9....Set to DTS ( to show them that a good av is imp )
Red Cliff DVD9.....the battle scene
HellBOy II 7.1
TDK the shooting part
For music I used Crystal Method DTS ( audio cd with dts ) good bass & AQ
All my CNY visitor get poisoned tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif rclxms.gif
But when ask for price all........... rclxub.gif
htkaki
post Feb 2 2009, 12:20 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

BD - U571 (Deep charge), TDK (Opening sequence and carpark melee), Iron Man (prototype design, escaping from the cave), Indy Jones (THX Intro), Kung Fu Hustle and Shakira Oral Fixation Tour

DVD - DTS Vol 9 Demo disc, THX demo disc, LOTR

My friends can immediately feels the sub powerful bass against my previous sub. Told them that the old one is half-dead. Another one who just returned from overseas for a short holiday was deeply impressed by the HD audio and visual. Then (same case as Hornyangmoh), asked abt the price for whole setup. When i told him, he was like shocking.gif

The other fellas said they ll come to my pad whenever I got new movies doh.gif
ar188
post Feb 2 2009, 02:01 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 2 2009, 12:20 PM)
BD - U571 (Deep charge), TDK (Opening sequence and carpark melee), Iron Man (prototype design, escaping from the cave), Indy Jones (THX Intro), Kung Fu Hustle and Shakira Oral Fixation Tour

DVD - DTS Vol 9 Demo disc, THX demo disc, LOTR

My friends can immediately feels the sub powerful bass against my previous sub. Told them that the old one is half-dead. Another one who just returned from overseas for a short holiday was deeply impressed by the HD audio and visual. Then (same case as Hornyangmoh), asked abt the price for whole setup. When i told him, he was like  shocking.gif

The other fellas said they ll come to my pad whenever I got new movies  doh.gif
wah liddat you angkat Megatron more, maybe every week got new movies to watch? like IP man etc... tongue.gif
rx330
post Feb 2 2009, 02:31 PM

11,808 posts

SHOW OFFSS!!!!!
ar188
post Feb 2 2009, 02:35 PM

9,206 posts

cannot fight people who bought two HD projectors..
cmw_kwl_6923
post Feb 2 2009, 02:43 PM

759 posts

for me 'stealth' , the action when Josh Lucas refill the plane gas~~!

Added on February 2, 2009, 2:45 pm tongue.gif but only with DVD 9

This post has been edited by cmw_kwl_6923: Feb 2 2009, 02:45 PM
mpyw
post Feb 2 2009, 03:12 PM

3,603 posts

best AQ....still House of the flying daggers where Zhang Zhiyi dances to the drum....spectacular!!!

Deep LFE - U-571, Iron Man, Red Cliff (the war drum), Sunshine.

best PQ to me so far....crank, casino royale, POTC series, kunfu panda, and most animation like meet the robinson, open season, tinker bell.
megatron007
post Feb 3 2009, 10:57 AM

4,000 posts

oh ya forgot sunshine

also u all should go n watch AVP-R the DTS HD MA aint kidding

ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 11:28 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Feb 3 2009, 10:57 AM)
also u all should go n watch AVP-R the DTS HD MA aint kidding
]
maybe 1200R even more kheng! tongue.gif

htkaki
post Feb 3 2009, 11:36 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

aiya... Taukeh, even the CHT-10R is a leap forward compare to his current SW150 liao. That's why he is seriously considering it. I do hope he go for SPL-1200R as his massive room could accomodate it. *cabut*

Back to topic, I do hope LOTR BD will be out soon with top notch AQ and PQ
ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 11:38 AM

9,206 posts

yeah lor LOTR.. if trilogy pack lagi chun..
piscesguy
post Feb 3 2009, 11:40 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

But I found LOTR extended version quite boring...too much talking..i wanna see more fighting..tongue.gif
htkaki
post Feb 3 2009, 11:41 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 3 2009, 11:38 AM)
yeah lor LOTR.. if trilogy pack lagi chun..
Taukeh, better buy when it is launched. Else, ppl refer you as 'RIP KING' tongue.gif
ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 11:43 AM

9,206 posts

people using IPOD / sony digital walkman/MP3 player also rip king wat.. if not how to store music? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Feb 3 2009, 11:43 AM
samlee860407
post Feb 3 2009, 11:44 AM

4,631 posts

LOTR blu ray....wonder's when will come out

when out liao if no money i terus go sell backside and buy

PS: but don't knw can sell anot >.<
wiNd
post Feb 3 2009, 11:51 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

IP MAN Blu-ray biggrin.gif
nadky
post Feb 3 2009, 12:06 PM

117 posts

on top of those mentioned, Incredible Hulk, kung Fu Panda and Spiderman (last episode) also not bad...
overfloe
post Feb 3 2009, 12:40 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,205 posts

ironman
the matrix trilogy

but if you really want to impress people, first play a dvd (with only 480p, hehehe).. and then switch to BD with the same title.. surely they will be impressed.
megatron007
post Feb 3 2009, 01:25 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(wiNd @ Feb 3 2009, 11:51 AM)
IP MAN Blu-ray biggrin.gif
fuyooo ... boss u watched the exclusive review copy oledi ar? biggrin.gif
wiNd
post Feb 3 2009, 01:32 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Feb 3 2009, 01:25 PM)
fuyooo ... boss u watched the exclusive review copy oledi ar? biggrin.gif
hohoho rolleyes.gif
rx330
post Feb 3 2009, 02:19 PM

11,808 posts

ip man kena rip liao?
J_Vansen_S
post Feb 3 2009, 02:37 PM

314 posts

bila IPMAN bluray out lehh?
wiNd
post Feb 3 2009, 02:48 PM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 3 2009, 02:19 PM)
ip man kena rip liao?
nolah, no rip.

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Feb 3 2009, 02:37 PM)
bila IPMAN bluray out lehh?
estimated release date : Feb 13, 2009
rx330
post Feb 3 2009, 02:58 PM

11,808 posts

u got the bluray copy with u aredi? and we dun take hohoho for an answer biggrin.gif
megatron007
post Feb 3 2009, 03:19 PM

4,000 posts

CAR BIG BOMB .... tongue.gif

yonggoh
post Feb 3 2009, 03:59 PM

1,314 posts

would love to get this for some demos...
puts the BLUE into BLu-Ray wink.gif

https://store.digitalplayground.com/dp/newp...il.php?pid=1077

WARNING: ADULT ORIENTED LINK
ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 04:05 PM

9,206 posts

mega, can bulk ar?
inesen
post Feb 3 2009, 04:13 PM

81 posts

i'm going out to buy dark knight laugh.gif
aiman04
post Feb 3 2009, 05:29 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

To the question of this thread, to demo my system for both audio and video, it will be Baraka. rclxms.gif
rthj
post Feb 3 2009, 06:19 PM

1,048 posts

i agree with aiman...Baraka for video. audio.....eh.....wanted/celine dion
ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 06:32 PM

9,206 posts

celine BD, subwoofer .1 kheng ar? can test audio?
rthj
post Feb 3 2009, 06:54 PM

1,048 posts

celine for the vocal clarity......for the subwoofer action...Wanted.
megatron007
post Feb 3 2009, 07:06 PM

4,000 posts

ya wanted a few scenes can shake u from ur coach

Added on February 3, 2009, 7:06 pmi nochet watch baraka..just test water nie

This post has been edited by megatron007: Feb 3 2009, 07:06 PM
rx330
post Feb 3 2009, 11:09 PM

11,808 posts

baraka so powderful? its a documentary right?
rthj
post Feb 3 2009, 11:36 PM

1,048 posts

baraka is documentary minus the narration...hence to me its more like a collection of video images taken around the world
ar188
post Feb 3 2009, 11:49 PM

9,206 posts

The Fall, anyone?
rx330
post Feb 4 2009, 09:47 AM

11,808 posts

something like chronos?

btw, IP MAN how? no reply?
wiNd
post Feb 4 2009, 09:51 AM

I'm watching you
12,683 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 3 2009, 02:58 PM)
u got the bluray copy with u aredi? and we dun take hohoho for an answer biggrin.gif
bluray disc on the way. meanwhile settle for DVD copy first... biggrin.gif

btw, anyone going for Indy 4 bluray? (abt usd17 at amazon)

This post has been edited by wiNd: Feb 4 2009, 09:53 AM
rx330
post Feb 4 2009, 09:55 AM

11,808 posts

u sounded like u sudah demo-ed...
but is it shipping already? hmmmm
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 10:04 AM

9,309 posts

I've seen demos of the new Bond movie in Blu ray. I can say, the detail is so superb, there's even some depth perception between close and far objects.
rx330
post Feb 4 2009, 10:05 AM

11,808 posts

u mean quantum of solace trailer in HD ?
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 10:10 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 4 2009, 10:05 AM)
I can't remember, didn't look at the title.
Wait, maybe it was. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by tunertoobe: Feb 4 2009, 10:11 AM
cmw_kwl_6923
post Feb 4 2009, 10:14 AM

759 posts

the original will get it on us on 24/03/2009, where did you saw it?
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 10:18 AM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(cmw_kwl_6923 @ Feb 4 2009, 10:14 AM)
the original will get it on us on 24/03/2009, where did you saw it?
I can't remember exactly, I was passing by this Sony-centre in KK and it was like a 30 second glance. Anyways what I meant by new is anything with the new Bond actor in it. laugh.gif
It doesn't matter, the quality of it was superb. If the shop's attempt was to poison people into buying Blu-ray, they picked the right movie to show it off.
cmw_kwl_6923
post Feb 4 2009, 10:21 AM

759 posts

as usual, you have got the poison, tongue.gif thumbup.gif
ar188
post Feb 4 2009, 10:32 AM

9,206 posts

maybe it was Casino Royale? many time I go TV shop, this title playing on BD + LCD.. biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 4 2009, 11:47 AM

11,808 posts

dunno bro, not i saw, have to ask tunertoobe

olga got go naked in 007 or not?
ar188
post Feb 4 2009, 12:16 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 4 2009, 11:47 AM)

can see any hidden tattoos?
tunertoobe
post Feb 4 2009, 08:48 PM

9,309 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 4 2009, 11:47 AM)

LOL.
I try and piece it together. The whole scene has Bond jumping out of/in to(forgot already) a jeep, and there's a security cam mounted on a wall. Man that security cam looks as if it popped out of the tv. The shadow of the cam, the edges of the casing, it was all well pronounced. Not to mention, every wrinkles on Bond's face is clear. laugh.gif
megatron007
post Feb 4 2009, 10:11 PM

4,000 posts

maybe CR 007 la

IP MAN bass i takut maybe over done sad.gif
baretta
post Feb 4 2009, 10:16 PM

1,853 posts

I think this trailer in HD format dah lama kuar...
htkaki
post Feb 5 2009, 02:20 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Feb 4 2009, 10:16 PM)
I think this trailer in HD format dah lama kuar...

Yes, Sony MY has the trailer in HD format

aiman04
post Feb 5 2009, 09:41 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(tunertoobe @ Feb 4 2009, 08:48 PM)
LOL.
I try and piece it together. The whole scene has Bond jumping out of/in to(forgot already) a jeep, and there's a security cam mounted on a wall. Man that security cam looks as if it popped out of the tv. The shadow of the cam, the edges of the casing, it was all well pronounced. Not to mention, every wrinkles on Bond's face is clear.  laugh.gif
That's Casino Royale, confirmed. Yeah, it's one of the reference release back in 2007. Now there are many more BD with amazing PQ/AQ.
baretta
post Feb 5 2009, 11:17 PM

1,853 posts

New Fast and furious trailer in HD also manyak syoook wooo
ReaperX
post Feb 5 2009, 11:26 PM

U can be the moon but still be jealous of the stars.
892 posts

Matrix trilogies!!! rclxms.gif
edwintey
post Feb 6 2009, 12:13 AM

66 posts

Kung Fu Panda-- Dolby True-HD, Great Picture Quality, Good bass effect
Open Season-- Great Picture quality,but other so so only.
Kung Fu Hustle-- Dolby True-HD,Interesting Story, good surrounding effect. (I have both;BD disc, Original DVD & pirated DVD)
Casino Royale-- Uncompress 5.1 PCM, Exciting, good sound effect
Celine Dion-- Dolby Digital 5.1, Must have collection
蔡琴-不了情-香港红勘体育馆现场演唱会-- DTS-HD, Must have collection
Black Hawk Down-- Realistic Picture & Sound quality, but must buy BD disc, don't buy DVD (I am not satisfied with the picture quality).
House of Flying Daggers 十面埋伏-- Great drum bass demo, Good surround effect. (but picture quality so so, especially poor in DVD)
Legends of Jazz: Showcase BD-- Great sound recording

Hope you will enjoy~ tongue.gif
baretta
post Feb 6 2009, 12:29 AM

1,853 posts

Edwintey

How bout Wall E??
aiman04
post Feb 6 2009, 07:44 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Feb 6 2009, 12:29 AM)
Edwintey

How bout Wall E??
Yup, Wall-E and Ratatouile tops as the best PQ/AQ for animation. The most impressive is how you could feel the sense of depth and liveliness, which is amazing considering it's an animation. PIXAR really got my respect. Their movies are pure animation, no motion capture at all. Here's a screenshot I took at the end of Ratatouille end credit:

Kung Fu Panda is also excellent with both PQ/AQ.

By the way, why would anyone watch Celine Dion BD with Dolby Digital? It's Dolby TrueHD 24-bit/96kHz is one of the best AQ for concert BD, on par with Dave Matthews BD and many other top rated movies. Overall it's also one of my top BD for AQ. For Casino Royale, the Dolby TrueHD from recent re-release deluxe edition is noticeably better than the original PCM track, in my opinion.

But, above anything Baraka still holds as the best BD to demo, for me. Even the DTS-HD MA 24-bit/96kHz is also one of the best I've ever heard. thumbup.gif
megatron007
post Feb 6 2009, 09:11 AM

4,000 posts

yes...for CR007 ..the truHD is better biggrin.gif

u can really crank it up biggrin.gif
edwintey
post Feb 6 2009, 02:23 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Feb 6 2009, 12:29 AM)
Edwintey

How bout Wall E??
Could be very excellent.
I am planning to get 1 soon. But now the price still high in Amazon, just waiting....
Ratatouille also a very good collection, but not so smooth when the object moving. Natural lighting & color effect.
daryl.k
post Feb 6 2009, 02:34 PM

467 posts

Hi, when buying BD movies, say from Amazon, how do we know what format the Audio & Video is? becos info is not provided by Amazon...

if its a BD, does it mean the Video will output 1080p for sure? or will some cases only 720p? i heard the Planet Earth series is in 720p format?
htkaki
post Feb 6 2009, 02:39 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:11 AM)
yes...for CR007 ..the truHD is better biggrin.gif

u can really crank it up biggrin.gif

Boss, not worry abt ur sub can't tk it ah? tongue.gif

aiman04
post Feb 6 2009, 02:48 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ Feb 6 2009, 02:34 PM)
Hi, when buying BD movies, say from Amazon, how do we know what format the Audio & Video is? becos info is not provided by Amazon...

if its a BD, does it mean the Video will output 1080p for sure? or will some cases only 720p? i heard the Planet Earth series is in 720p format?
Never seen 720p but 1080i is common for concert/documentary or movies shot on digital HD camera. Can check here:

http://www.blu-ray.com

http://www.highdefdigest.com

Not always reliable but that's best site for BD specs. To check region coding for discs from region B, go here:

http://bluray.liesinc.net/index.php?region=b

Can click on other tabs for other regions.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Feb 6 2009, 03:08 PM
megatron007
post Feb 6 2009, 02:50 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 6 2009, 02:39 PM)
Boss, not worry abt ur sub can't tk it ah?  tongue.gif
if it died... speed up the time to get a sub tongue.gif
htkaki
post Feb 6 2009, 02:52 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Feb 6 2009, 02:50 PM)
if it died... speed up the time to get a sub tongue.gif

SPL-1000 Ultra thumbup.gif Then, go home and crank up 9 9 nia wink.gif

mpyw, ar188 and myself will go to your pad to test your new subbie then rclxms.gif

megatron007
post Feb 6 2009, 02:53 PM

4,000 posts

better after i move house la

now paiseh ler sad.gif
arj
post Feb 6 2009, 02:59 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 6 2009, 07:44 AM)
By the way, why would anyone watch Celine Dion BD with Dolby Digital? It's Dolby TrueHD 24-bit/96kHz is one of the best AQ for concert BD, on par with Dave Matthews BD and many other top rated movies. Overall it's also one of my top BD for AQ. For Casino Royale, the Dolby TrueHD from recent re-release deluxe edition is noticeably better than the original PCM track, in my opinion.

But, above anything Baraka still holds as the best BD to demo, for me. Even the DTS-HD MA 24-bit/96kHz is also one of the best I've ever heard. thumbup.gif
The AQ of the Deluxe Edition is better than the first release? If I'm not mistaken when the DE first came out people were saying the bass lacks a bit of "oomph" compared to the first release. Dunno la, I personally haven't watched both laugh.gif
jmdibr
post Feb 6 2009, 03:06 PM

324 posts

here some of the BD suggestions....that feature excellent audio and video, not to mention incredible stories.

http://reviews.digitaltrends.com/guide/209...r-home-theaters

aiman04
post Feb 6 2009, 03:07 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Feb 6 2009, 02:59 PM)
The AQ of the Deluxe Edition is better than the first release? If I'm not mistaken when the DE first came out people were saying the bass lacks a bit of "oomph" compared to the first release. Dunno la, I personally haven't watched both laugh.gif
Depends on personal perception, but mostly agrees the deluxe/collector's edition is better. Even technically the deluxe/collector's edition is also better, sampled at 48kHz/24-bit while the original release is only 48kHz/16-bit.

Never read anything about the lack of bass, etc though. You haven't seen it? laugh.gif
arj
post Feb 6 2009, 03:10 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 6 2009, 03:07 PM)
Depends on personal perception, but mostly agrees the deluxe/collector's edition is better. Even technically the deluxe/collector's edition is also better, sampled at 48kHz/24-bit while the original release is only 48kHz/16-bit.

Never read anything about the lack of bass, etc though. You haven't seen it?  laugh.gif
I've watched it at the cinemas but not on BD laugh.gif
megatron007
post Feb 6 2009, 03:20 PM

4,000 posts

24bit vs 16bit got diff...

48hz vs 96hz... our ears canot difference... correct me if wrong smile.gif
aiman04
post Feb 6 2009, 03:21 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Feb 6 2009, 03:10 PM)
I've watched it at the cinemas but not on BD laugh.gif
Really different experience bro, try lah... I know you got a copy, watch once then sell as used lah... tongue.gif

Since last year I tried to avoid watching movies at cinemas, I wanna watch it the first time on BD, I'm willing to wait at least 3 months until BD release. For me the PQ/AQ much better watching at home. I don't like watching in complete darkness, the PQ is bad, black is always gray in cinemas, and the audio is not lossless! tongue.gif
edwintey
post Feb 6 2009, 04:41 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ Feb 6 2009, 02:34 PM)

Forget about the what is the BD disc in what resolution, Important is the player output resolution and area region, luckily Malaysia is same with USA under region A, but some of my friend bought BD disc from Europe also no problem, never try Japan's .
Amazon's information are depend on his distributors, so some time are not detail enough, but I never meet any problem, btw their service is very good. If you have problem, you can return and refund also.

My advise is; if some one going to order any video disc from Amazon, please note that better don't exceed that 5~6 pc or USD100+/-, otherwise our custom dep. might invite you to their office and drink kopi.
samlee860407
post Feb 6 2009, 06:28 PM

4,631 posts

amazon is teh best coz cheap !! biggrin.gif

amazon UK lagi best but will trap noob like me. lol
aiman04
post Feb 6 2009, 09:32 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(edwintey @ Feb 6 2009, 04:41 PM)
Forget about the what is the BD disc in what resolution, Important is the player output resolution and area region, luckily Malaysia is same with USA under region A, but some of my friend bought BD disc from Europe also no problem, never try Japan's .
Amazon's information are depend on his distributors, so some time are not detail enough, but I never meet any problem, btw their service is very good. If you have problem, you can return and refund also.

My advise is; if some one going to order any video disc from Amazon, please note that better don't exceed that 5~6 pc or USD100+/-, otherwise our custom dep. might invite you to their office and drink kopi.
Amazon's been my favorite site to get DVDs and BDs since 2002. But I never believe their disc details specifications.

Bro, we have a dedicated BD discussion thread in the PlayStation section, now already version 10. We've been discussing about hot deals, new releases, buying experience, etc.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/895616

Come over and join the fun.
samlee860407
post Feb 6 2009, 10:16 PM

4,631 posts

amazing why blu ray movie discussion at console corner after so long tongue.gif
ar188
post Feb 7 2009, 12:01 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Feb 6 2009, 10:16 PM)
amazing why blu ray movie discussion at console corner after so long tongue.gif
you ask Megatron la.. I still dunno the full story why the BD thread here vanished.. tongue.gif
megatron007
post Feb 7 2009, 12:06 AM

4,000 posts

why me? i asked them to move long time oledi la

over there abit immature

some more the thread come sales thread..... sales men come n go

last time we share about movie watch experience & FR

now where got?

new release normally myself & a few kaki buying n share FR

others diam diam nie... sad.gif either buy cheap BDs or come in promo sales

SAD sad.gif
ar188
post Feb 7 2009, 12:37 AM

9,206 posts

dunno leh, I thought you know the story mah..
samlee860407
post Feb 7 2009, 07:10 AM

4,631 posts

apa tu FR?

Added on February 7, 2009, 7:11 am
QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 7 2009, 12:01 AM)
you ask Megatron la.. I still dunno the full story why the BD thread here vanished..  tongue.gif
ooo....here got BD thread also b4 isit...hmm

This post has been edited by samlee860407: Feb 7 2009, 07:11 AM
ar188
post Feb 7 2009, 10:00 AM

9,206 posts

I think so, but can't remember the details.. some time ago and hardly post dat time..
rx330
post Feb 7 2009, 10:04 AM

11,808 posts

hype over liao, sien...
ar188
post Feb 7 2009, 10:09 AM

9,206 posts

what hype? BD hype?
rx330
post Feb 7 2009, 10:18 AM

11,808 posts

abuthen? ar188, u how many years din buy bd liao?
Blackhart
post Feb 7 2009, 10:20 AM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

Yet another BD related thread in Audiophiles hijacked into a chat thread.
And you still wonder why the BD thread here is removed rolleyes.gif
rx330
post Feb 7 2009, 10:23 AM

11,808 posts

Chatting abt BD also salah?
ar188
post Feb 7 2009, 11:12 AM

9,206 posts

oh.. now I understand (that's the story behind BD thread banished from this section!!) .... rclxms.gif
danielcwo
post Feb 7 2009, 03:18 PM

35 posts

The Dark Knight BD

Kung Fu

Transformer

Mr. & Mrs. Smiths

Ironman

edwintey
post Feb 7 2009, 03:22 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Feb 6 2009, 09:32 PM)
Amazon's been my favorite site to get DVDs and BDs since 2002. But I never believe their disc details specifications.

Bro, we have a dedicated BD discussion thread in the PlayStation section, now already version 10. We've been discussing about hot deals, new releases, buying experience, etc.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/895616

Come over and join the fun.
Really!! Than I will to have a look.
megatron007
post Feb 8 2009, 12:38 PM

4,000 posts

wat movie is tat?? KUNG FU???
yonggoh
post Feb 9 2009, 11:12 AM

1,314 posts

For fellas who really want to work out their Subs, should test the scene from Black Hawk Down. Famously known as the "Fxxking Irene" scene...

Apparently a scene with a 7 Hz infrasonic tone...
Check out youtube video here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9vnwCsA-L8M

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Feb 9 2009, 11:14 AM
choontoy
post Feb 10 2009, 12:14 PM

837 posts

1.Black Hawk Down
2.TDK
3.Ratatouille(still unopen yet)
bongo
post Feb 13 2009, 10:46 PM

116 posts

1. Ratatouille
2. TDK
3. Iron Man
4. Wall-E
5. Transformer
dirtrun
post Feb 19 2009, 02:35 PM

3,136 posts

1. Kung Fu Panda
2. Hellboy 1
3. Hellboy 2
4. Cloverfield ... but movie sucks big time..
geforce1999
post Feb 19 2009, 04:48 PM

Movie Lover.
1,336 posts

Black Hawk Down
Hellboy 2
I, Robot
Planet Earth
megatron007
post Feb 19 2009, 04:48 PM

4,000 posts

macadasgar 2? biggrin.gif
rx330
post Feb 20 2009, 11:43 AM

11,808 posts

debbie does dallas again!!!!!!!
mpyw
post Feb 20 2009, 12:34 PM

3,603 posts

actually Tinker Bell very good, got that 3D pop up effect

rx, not Pirates 2 ar brows.gif
yonggoh
post Feb 23 2009, 12:58 AM

1,314 posts

Pirates 2: Stagnetti's revenge is da bomb BLUE ray! smile.gif
shad19
post Feb 27 2009, 07:51 AM

30 posts

In no particular order:

1. Incredible Hulk
2. Dark Knight
3. Mr. & Mrs. Smith - I really like the soundstaging
4. First 2 Pirates movies - love the PQ
5. Casino Royale
bongo
post Feb 28 2009, 10:03 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Feb 23 2009, 12:58 AM)
Pirates 2: Stagnetti's revenge is da bomb BLUE ray! smile.gif
saw the trailer, looks like an ultra high budget production for a "private" viewing movie... rclxms.gif
ar188
post Feb 28 2009, 10:35 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 20 2009, 12:34 PM)
actually Tinker Bell very good, got that 3D pop up effect

rx, not Pirates 2 ar brows.gif
pirates 2, ask RX to pass you the MKV lor.. laugh.gif laugh.gif
chyu89
post Feb 28 2009, 10:51 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

lol wtf u guys. I thought Pirates 2 is a hollywood movie or what.

After google doh.gif
htkaki
post Feb 28 2009, 10:52 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Feb 28 2009, 10:35 PM)
pirates 2, ask RX to pass you the MKV lor..  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
blush.gif YB ala ah?

The THX intro in Indy Jones - Kingdom of Gray Skull is worthy to mention too. The deep pounding bass form the mechanical mushroom, the steel petal of flowers clicking in and those cylindrical ring, really addictive thumbup.gif
ar188
post Mar 1 2009, 12:01 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Feb 28 2009, 10:51 PM)

After google doh.gif
laugh.gif brows.gif brows.gif tomorrow RX inbox become full.. tongue.gif
megatron007
post Mar 1 2009, 12:16 AM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 28 2009, 10:52 PM)
blush.gif YB ala ah?

The THX intro in Indy Jones - Kingdom of Gray Skull is worthy to mention too. The deep pounding bass form the mechanical mushroom, the steel petal of flowers clicking in and those cylindrical ring, really addictive  thumbup.gif
ya lo

very nice thumbup.gif
FtecNano
post Apr 24 2009, 11:44 AM

QUOTE(chyu89 @ Feb 28 2009, 10:51 PM)

After google doh.gif
em?? ape benda nye pirates 2 tu? hmm.gif
movie baru ke?

Added on April 24, 2009, 11:50 amnvm dont tel me,i just watch the Trailer at google.. sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by FtecNano: Apr 24 2009, 11:50 AM
nismo91
post Apr 24 2009, 10:59 PM

foobar2000
2,193 posts

dunno whether mentioned already or not, this site got alot of trailers in 1080p.

http://www.demo-world.eu/trailers/high-def...on-trailers.php
yonggoh
post Apr 30 2009, 01:16 PM

1,314 posts

Dave Matthews on Blu Ray Dolby TrueHD 5.1 Surround @ 96kHz/24-bit

Nothing beats that!
zzzxtreme
post Apr 30 2009, 06:01 PM

Synth Freak
4,299 posts

I feel sentimental with blade runner HD. use it to test friend's 42"samsung+denon+jbl and my sister's panny 50" plasma.
vangelis is a genius and im a synth freak
megatron007
post May 3 2009, 09:40 AM

4,000 posts

can try QoS007... the opening car chasing scene biggrin.gif
htkaki
post May 3 2009, 11:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 3 2009, 09:40 AM)
can try QoS007... the opening car chasing scene biggrin.gif
then unleash the white snake. Eh, AQ better liao wor laugh.gif
fevercrash
post May 4 2009, 11:52 AM

671 posts

just order Casino Royale, I am legend & Incredible Hulk from Amazon.. smile.gif my first 3 BD movie! haha

0.0451sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:00 AM