Schlumberger 2nd interview, group project interview, paper

TSvicgray
post Apr 2 2008, 09:34 AM, updated 18y ago

281 posts

Will be attending my second interview for schlumberger at 130pm.

It's a group project that involves a stack of paper. We are to build a strong platform to hold something.

Would like to ask how to build that platform. Thanks!
Karl5511
post Apr 2 2008, 02:42 PM

27 posts

Wow...tough question you got there. Any one from oil & gas industry?
Watching tv prog might help. At Astro, got a lot documentaries bout this. Good luck bro, really good and most wanted company to work with.

ikanez
post Apr 2 2008, 05:05 PM

291 posts

i think the main objective of the session is to see ur communication skills, like how you interact and cooperate with other team members.

so make sure u speak out and voice out when necessary. passiveness is not an option.
hihi_haha_hoho4
post Apr 2 2008, 07:26 PM

108 posts

roll the paper together into a big toilet roll something like that, its quite strong!
MangKoK^ayon
post Apr 2 2008, 07:36 PM

look at my stars
859 posts

my friend passed to 4th stage already...they want to see you talk, communicate, work well in group, don't bash your own team mate, and be confident smile.gif
enkadirmainbola
post Apr 2 2008, 07:45 PM

155 posts

It's not really the platform per se that they're evaluating.. I say don't worry too much about it. Main hantam kromo pun tak apa.

What they're looking for is your communication skills, how well you work with other team members and your reasoning skills.

My advice is.. during the group activity, be proactive and get involved....if your team mates elect you to be the group leader.. accept the responsibility but always be open to suggestions from others. When it's your turn to present, make sure to give credit to everyone in the team... (at least the ones who deserve it). Do NOT HOG the limelight.. they hate that. Explain how you came up with the design as concisely as possible.. be honest about the problems you faced coming up with the design. Don't be too argumentative when the interviewers question your decisions.. think about what you're gonna say before you do and reply in a calm and rational manner.. else you'll just give them more license to 'hentam' you.

SLB isn't really looking for the grad with the highest GPA. They want ppl who can work in a team, can communicate ideas and able to work under pressure without blowing his/her top off (trust me.. pressure comes from all directions.. supervisors.. colleagues.. clients).

Owh.. and never ever mention MONEY during the entire interview..
blasturanus
post Apr 3 2008, 02:15 AM

458 posts

so, TS did u make it through?
TSvicgray
post Apr 3 2008, 11:12 AM

281 posts

I failed. Team members elected me to be group leader but I rejected. In the end, my group leader passed the stage.

What can I say more? sad.gif
enkadirmainbola
post Apr 3 2008, 07:17 PM

155 posts

Aiyah.. you tak baca ka saya punya advice?!

You can try again in 12 months though.. I think
nagasie
post Apr 3 2008, 07:48 PM

343 posts

this thread remind me my group interview end of this month. thanks for the tips, cik enkadirmainbola.
samdidi
post Sep 18 2009, 07:33 AM

how long time between the 1st interview and the 2d

Salience
post Sep 18 2009, 08:14 AM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

hint : the bigger the base, the heavier the base, the stronger the structure will hold
nash9701
post Sep 18 2009, 09:42 AM

looking for a bright future...
1,356 posts

yah...make the structure hollow, stronger and lighter than solid, usually they ask to hold golf ball but i forgot for how many...

(^___^)
NedHarun
post Nov 11 2011, 12:14 AM

This post has been edited by NedHarun: Oct 17 2013, 07:56 AM
Azfar J
post Nov 13 2011, 05:01 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(NedHarun @ Nov 11 2011, 01:14 AM)
Hye ther! Im Ned...i just done with the interview with Schlumberger Malaysia today...ive took aptitude test and the group dynamic test..n passed those two...in about 1 month i were ask to expect an email detailing for the 3rd stage interview.I think that one is a 1-on-1 interview....can u share some tips with me hoe to get passed because im the only girl from the 12 selected people.n my pointer isnt that good..ive quite nervous to be frank...can u also tell me whut kind of questions/task/tricks that i should expect they wud pull at me???? share with me here ok
-Nedharun@gmail.com- Danke Schon!!! will be looking foward for ur reply!!!
Hahaha Nad... sbb schlumberger je ko post kat forum nie eh... tongue.gif

Anyway, congratz to both of us passing the second stage interview... notworthy.gif

NedHarun
post Nov 14 2011, 09:25 AM

:smile.gif

This post has been edited by NedHarun: Oct 17 2013, 07:54 AM
van_romario
post Nov 14 2011, 11:04 AM

Congrats on passing the Group Dynamic stage. It is the hardest stage of the recruitment process IMO because it's a lottery. The next stages will be kind of casual. Yes, I believe the next stage is 1-on-1 interview with Recruiting Manager. He/She just wants to see your personality. They won't ask you technical stuffs but still, be prepared and most importantly, be yourself. Oh, make sure you converse well in English and be or act tough. I have a friend who failed to pass the stage as the interviewer thought she was too soft to work in the harsh environment.

Good luck to you two.

This post has been edited by van_romario: Nov 14 2011, 11:05 AM
weekeng911
post May 10 2012, 07:21 PM

36 posts

enkardir is totally right. 100% do not hog the limelight and show more humility. act cooler but dont too passive.
but in actual fact, being more passive is >>> being more "wanted to show off".
of cz dun over passive though.
vergil88
post May 22 2012, 12:49 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(enkadirmainbola @ Apr 2 2008, 07:45 PM)
It's not really the platform per se that they're evaluating.. I say don't worry too much about it. Main hantam kromo pun tak apa.

What they're looking for is your communication skills, how well you work with other team members and your reasoning skills.

My advice is.. during the group activity, be proactive and get involved....if your team mates elect you to be the group leader.. accept the responsibility but  always be open to suggestions from others. When it's your turn to present, make sure to give credit to everyone in the team... (at least the ones who deserve it). Do NOT HOG the limelight.. they hate that. Explain how you came up with the design as concisely as possible.. be honest about the problems you faced coming up with the design. Don't be too argumentative when the interviewers question your decisions.. think about what you're gonna say before you do and reply in a calm and rational manner.. else you'll just give them more license to 'hentam' you. 

SLB isn't really looking for the grad with the highest GPA. They want ppl who can work in a team, can communicate ideas and able to work under pressure without blowing his/her top off (trust me.. pressure comes from all directions.. supervisors.. colleagues.. clients).

Owh.. and never ever mention MONEY during the entire interview..
very helpful indeed.. thanks bro. rclxms.gif
HellDan
post Nov 13 2012, 08:21 PM

Hello everyone,

Many good tips here...
For me, it ll start tueday 20th nov with the tests, company profile and interview at the end of the day i guess.
Do you have tips that you felt the interviewers liked about the follwing questions:
-why field specialist, why SLB, what motivate you ?
Hopefully, i ll be present for the second day with the presentation of 5 min with a ppt.
In this ppt, i described my self in the first one, and in the second one, i put ( PICK ME, I M ready) only, too much sense of humour ? tongue.gif
However, in the mail i received, they dont talk about a group working test.. we ll see

Ty and see u later

This post has been edited by HellDan: Nov 13 2012, 08:22 PM
Juggernut
post Nov 17 2012, 12:55 PM

74 posts

wow~ a dynamic team~

are you Tired of working at same job? rclxub.gif

Let me recommend you a foreign multi property developer company in Malaysia, a Strong Financial Listed Company. flex.gif

pm me if interested~ whistling.gif

0.0278sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:04 AM