University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

chicaman
post Apr 9 2008, 11:44 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(sevenheaven @ Apr 9 2008, 08:32 PM)
I'm from UTAR PJ, doing foundation studies lah. From my point of view, only those who can't get into local U or didn't study well in form 6 will come for foundation studies. Well, they can do better because some subjects we studied in foundation has already been touched during form six, so I don't think form 6 people will have any problem with it.

What I am unhappy with UTAR is, when we apply for foundation, we need to list out what degree we wanted to pursue, and they say we can change our degree course at the end of the foundation course. What they didn't tell us in the very beginning is, we need to pay RM300 to change the name of degree course we wrote down on the form 1 year ago. I find this is totally absurd. Just because they want to make sure we have a 'space' booked for us for degree and it cost RM300. There you go.

And to those who don't like Maths, Please do not choose Stream C, because we have General Maths for 2 semester, many people 'died' on the spot. That's why my current course have 3 classrooms only.

And I am very concern about WHEN am I going to Kampar. Some degree will be held there. And some will stay here for 1 or 2 years then only go to Kampar. They should at least list down the degree courses which will be held in Kampar for us. Not keep us guessing.

And I just called Westlake just now, Yale is fully booked now and Manchester's room is running out soon. I think UTAR and the Danish house thing 'pakat'. Why don't they just build a bridge across the lake? Why must we go around the lake? I hate the fact that we need to cycle everyday. And the distance is not very short. Perhaps it's just me. And I think PD block is nicer than UTAr Kampar itself.

Oh yea, Westlake laundry service is 4 times a month. And I heard Danish's laundry service is 8 times a month. Why I have the feeling that UTAR and KTAR never come together? Why must it be separated? I think I am crapping. Sigh, stressed la. Whenever I think about Kampar, my mood all gone. Sigh.
Maths in foundation is easy...

try degree maths 1 and 2 and die on the spot.
chicaman
post Apr 24 2008, 09:12 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE([="@k£LwIN@"=] @ Apr 24 2008, 01:20 AM)
hello juniors ..haha... how r u all? My dad sent me this link and I juz had a quick browse-thru, so I'm gonna put my 2 cent in hehe..

FYI, I'm currently pursuing 2-yr Master of Biotech (Food Science & Tech) at RMIT, Melbourne smile.gif

Yeah, I was like you guyz, UTAR sux, rite? Lolz.. in terms of facilities (I mean Setapak coz I've never been to Kampar), UTAR wasn't that good and was not up to standard, I expected a CAMPUS life with balanced life style.

if u talk about academic-related skills and job-related skills (FYI again, I worked in a pharmaceutical factory for 2 months b4 I came to Melbourne) such as presentation skill which is important in presenting ideas, procedures and all sort thing when u r in work or when u wanna present your reports and discuss with other international students.. UTAR gave everything u needed smile.gif Frankly speaking, I can ensure u guyz UTAR syllabuses are within international standards. I'm glad my lecturers in UTAR teached me everything that is applicable in my job and Master course in Australia. Imagine, when u're studying in a class with people from all around the world, Mali, Macau,Taiwan, China, Maritius, India, Australia, Arabian countries, and etc u may think "Oh, I'm frm UTAR, a lousy Uni, I won't b as good as others" then u r wrong! As a second-upper class grad, I'm happy with what I've been equipped with, I may not b the best in the class but I would say I am competitve enough for the Master course smile.gif

the problem is the students' attitude, they were always hoping for tips, hints and etc.. low initiative to learn and to explore more abt what's happening out of the textbook or the exams, for example biotech world, new technique for vaccination such as DNA vaccination, new genetically-modified crop that can be a new source for biofuel and stuff

Ask yourself, have u done your reports, assignments, practicals seriously? Have u learnt the proper skills to write your report? do you reference or in-text ref your reports properly? What do u actually have to write for your intro, material & methods and blabla to make the whole report flows? How to do a good presentation?.. these little small things are very very useful n are goin to b crucial in the future, either u r goin to work or further study. And u were given so many chances to practice but u were complaining at that moment, which myself had neglected as well(not to say totally) LOlz... if not I'll suffer here like my friends from Macau and Taiwan, they had a hard time with English coz their degree was Chinese-medium. Furthermore, one of them DOES NOT know how to do a proper referencing,it's kinda disgrace for a graduated undergrad student who should have familiarized it when she was doin thesis or some kinda project, and she DOES NOT know how to look for journals and etc etc etc.. Trust me, u will get annoyed when ppl started asking u the things they should have known...

So now, take up the initiative, do your homework or researches first b4 start throwing questions to your lecturer(s). I think they will b more than happy to answer questions from a prepared student smile.gif Over and out!

Cheers!

Regards,
Kelwin
tl;dr lulz, jk la, i read all, this is wat i call human post.

TS, u are a biasing person who always think you are right

lol at my english , i wouldnt mind, its internet after all, and i really really really hate your first post, despite partially of it is true, seriously i dont like UTAR due to the management and certain sh1tty lecturer where the whole lecture group dont like him.

so about the no choice stuff, its not true at all. all the stpm student in my course is very smart, of course most of them didnt manage to apply for local U, however we know one thing which is the earthman stuff. since u are so smart, u should know wat i mean. UM is great isnt it? wooo~ best UNI in malaysia. look at the ranking now.

How are u gonna compare the campus in KL, sg long etc with a long established college like KTAR? futhermore its only a temporary campus. Go see what developement will UTAR bring foward in future at kampar. U will never know.

be it u like it or not, no one give a dam, UTAR student is always proud of the uni they are studying because we are studying there and we know well smile.gif

regards,
chicaman
chicaman
post Apr 25 2008, 08:54 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

The reason I stand up for UTAR the overall teaching is great. I don't have any problem with DSA in setapak, I sent them email to complain something and I can see actions being taken very quickly. Not sure about sungai long though, however its all about HUMAN problem, nothing to do with UTAR, its just that the particular person which is doing wrong and affected the whole UNI? NO?

The only thing I hate is certain arrogant lecturer who think he is a Ph.D holder and start odering around trying to act like he is the smartest fellar pronouncing sh1tty english with some stupid attitude. Obviously everyone dont like him.

Racist problem never happened in UTAR AFAIK. UM is the best in Malaysia? Racist problem is serious over there, it had been an issue since many years ago and its a social issue. Their upper management as usual is by their KIND. Students also their KIND. All also their KIND. However Indians in UTAR never get bullied by chinese? Never heard off also and never happened before.

To TS, come over here and get your fact right. Defend your facts if you think you are right smile.gif
chicaman
post Apr 26 2008, 08:57 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Apr 25 2008, 09:58 PM)
well, there is one thing u need to know, dsa headquaters is in fict. And in fict, NOTHING happens, because of them. To do something is just TOOOOOOO hard... where as in sungai long, it can be done promptly. They dun have a specific guidelines to what can be used and what cannot be used. To them (DSA manager) when mood bad, apa pun kenot, if good mood, maybe can la.... U can see very big contradictions in their words. Once i recorded what they said and then when they break their promice, i played it back to them to hear, they deny and deny and then force me to erase the recording. so................ I got nothing to say lor. U can ask those from fict who tried to organize things, in pes or pam is easier cuz ur handling with officers and they have been given some power to agree on certain things.
ques : "when u roll 6 die, what is the probability that u will get a sum of 30?"

so....die or dice?
Same here in Setapak la...... its all depends on their mood, mood good, all ok..... no good, cannot be done.

Why go against them, i wouldnt waste my time to deal with them like joining those commitee or club stuff. IMHO, its all waste of time and worthless. I rather use my time and stick in LYN KOPITIAM, at least i gain general knowledge than goin for watever club or events they organize.

PA go PD for exam is very common la, nothing to complain about, just live with it. About te BUS driver, i dont sit UTAR bus. Not even once, but all bus drivers are rude lol, last time I sit metrobus all of them are RUDE.
chicaman
post Apr 28 2008, 06:44 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(CaptWong @ Apr 26 2008, 06:11 PM)
Too bad i've never been taught by Miss Kong..

Only been taught by Mr.Ong before...
and i've few words for him..

"kanasai"
"you sucks"

Wahahahaha....
nolah, nolah, it should be
Mr. Ong, YOU ROCKS!!!!!!!

Did you guys see his friendster? we made a pink doraemon cake for him ... wahahaha for his farewell..
Taught by both of them.

Still remember when Mr Ong always call my name in lecture hall lulz.

He is one of the best maths lecturer I've met, compare to my current one. sleep.gif pathetic.
chicaman
post May 21 2008, 02:40 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

lecturer with phd doesnt mean good.

i prefer lecturer which have not graduated yet, at least the way the teach make us understand better.

higher level of education doesnt he/she is good in teaching
chicaman
post Nov 24 2008, 08:08 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(shimy @ Nov 23 2008, 08:51 PM)
i juz sent my application few days ago...did i miss out de application deadline?i wonder wen ll i get de offer letter..
No worries, even a few weeks after utar started their class, they still accept new student.

I did get my approval letter and i forgot to pay the bill cause busy working part time. Then I had to write in and they told me they will review it first and cannot accept payment anymore. I was afraid that time and almost went for form 6. But then I found out that its just a normal procedure and NO MATTER WHAT, as long as u are qualified they will take you in~
chicaman
post Dec 15 2008, 11:18 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

I know how to speak mandarin but I dont know how to write and read.

I mix around with those banana as well, but I can still communicate with the othes lah~

0.0364sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:23 AM