University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

Miss Terious
post Nov 17 2008, 11:44 PM

15 posts

Hi there. I would like to ask if there is anyone taking up the Bachelor Of Science (Hons) Biochemistry degree in the UTAR Kampar Campus for next year's (2009) January intake.

Or is there anyone here who will be my senior when I enter next year?

And I am curious, what is the course schedule like? As in, is it a compact and heavy timetable or laid back relax? Or is it just nice? How many hours per week do you have to attend classes? (I hope I'm not asking a "stupid" question) biggrin.gif Anyone care to enlighten me?

Thanks in advance. smile.gif

p/s: tried to post this reply in the BSc (Hons) Biochem page but an error had occurred because it says that the thread is too old and not available for new replies and so i resorted to posting it here, hope you guys don't mind. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Miss Terious: Nov 17 2008, 11:50 PM
Miss Terious
post Nov 18 2008, 12:27 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Nekochan @ Nov 18 2008, 02:25 AM)
Hi Miss Terious, I will be going to Utar Biochem next year as well. Have you feel in the declaration form? I was wondering what you put for the year of study, 1 or 2 because I thought it was 3 years for biochem. Somehow, my question sounded like a stupid question as well. XD

And what is the condition for PTPTN? Do they need to see our STPM result?
Yes, I have. I think it is Year 1, Semester 1. It is probably there because there are some advanced diploma/diploma students who can go through the fast track entry, straight into year 2.

I get confused about what to pass up and what not to. Did you get the small card which you have to fill in your particulars? I do not know what term address is supposed to mean. If it means the address where you'd be staying in while in Kampar, then how am I supposed to know now considering the fact that I have not even got myself a room there? Does it mean that I have to pass it up during registration day or together with the declaration forms? I am confused and there is no guidelines attached with the forms they have sent to me. Anyone can help me? biggrin.gif

I am not sure about the conditions for PTPTN but reading through some posts by other LYN forumers, it is not that hard to get, although our course is not accredited by the MQA yet. Please correct me if I have mistaken. One thing though, it has been announced that only SSPN account holders can apply for PTPTN effective this year, so do open an SSPN account at the BSN bank. I am curious though, is it really that strict? That only SSPN account holders can apply for PTPTN? Or is it in reality actually more lenient? smile.gif

Miss Terious
post Nov 18 2008, 09:35 PM

15 posts

Thank you very much, Akane.

And about the exemptions, is Malaysian Studies = Pengajian Malaysia? Because I have taken it (Malaysian Studies) and I sent in the letter from my college regarding my "status" (that I have taken Malaysian Studies) to the university when I applied and the only one subject they exempted me from taking (written in the offer letter) is Bahasa Kebangsaan.

Or is there something more complicated that I have to get done in order to be exempted from it? smile.gif (I really don't want to repeat this subject biggrin.gif)

Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Miss Terious: Nov 18 2008, 09:43 PM
Miss Terious
post Nov 18 2008, 10:06 PM

15 posts

I see. So how does this whole application for exemption work like? Is there a special "exemption application form" which I need to take from somebody or do I have to write a formal letter and attach my proof of having studied that particular subject to a certain somebody?

Does this apply for the Moral Studies subject in year 2 as well? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Miss Terious: Nov 18 2008, 10:10 PM
Miss Terious
post Nov 18 2008, 10:23 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Nov 18 2008, 10:11 PM)
If you have taken all these LAN subjects before, you can apply for exemption. Herm, IIANM, you can apply for exemption during the beginning of each semester. You only apply for it, when you have to take that sub during the upcoming semester. Anyway, those were my days. I am not sure if they have change this system. Cause the new president is implementing a lot new changes within the management and the UTAR overall structure itself.
Okay. So we'd have to apply for exemption before we have to take the classes. Meaning to say in my case, I would have to apply for exemption for only Pengajian Malaysia upon entry and exemption for Pendidikan Moral the next year. Did I get it right?

Oh dear. I hope they do not change the system too much. I hope it is for the better, not the worse. It makes me cringe when somebody says that. biggrin.gif No idea why.

Thank you very much for your response. I really appreciate it. smile.gif
Miss Terious
post Nov 19 2008, 10:14 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Nov 18 2008, 11:11 PM)
Yup, ur right. During our time we had to apply at the beginning of each semester, but things might have changed, so you better check when school starts. smile.gif
Standard industrial training for bioscience courses is 8weeks, but it can be longer depending on you and the company. smile.gif

Yup, only the thing you study in that semester will be tested. But of course, you will use some of the knowledge in the earlier semesters when ur in Y2 or Y3.
Thank you very much, SuN_RaE198. smile.gif
Miss Terious
post Nov 22 2008, 01:15 PM

15 posts

Hi guys, I would like to ask any current Kampar UTAR students, what bank is there in Kampar? Or rather, what is the most convenient bank to get to there? Is there a bank in the UTAR campus itself?

Thanks a lot.

This post has been edited by Miss Terious: Nov 22 2008, 01:23 PM
Miss Terious
post Nov 24 2008, 12:48 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Nekochan @ Nov 22 2008, 02:46 PM)
All I know there's Public Bank ATM machine there in Block C in the campus.
QUOTE(Dr@gon @ Nov 23 2008, 11:48 PM)
Like what NekoChan said, the most convinient is Public Bank, right inside the campus got ATM, you gonna need one anyway if you want to apply for PTPTN. By the way there are MayBank ATM machines at the Taman Bandar Baru too.
QUOTE(Chartry @ Nov 24 2008, 01:53 AM)
As far as I know there will be Public Bank staff at UTAR at orientation to help u to open a bank account. they also come once a week to do basic banking smile.gif
Thank you all so much! smile.gif
Miss Terious
post Nov 25 2008, 05:29 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Miss Terious @ Nov 18 2008, 09:35 PM)
Thank you very much, Akane.

And about the exemptions, is Malaysian Studies = Pengajian Malaysia? Because I have taken it (Malaysian Studies) and I sent in the letter from my college regarding my "status" (that I have taken Malaysian Studies) to the university when I applied and the only one subject they exempted me from taking (written in the offer letter) is Bahasa Kebangsaan.

Or is there something more complicated that I have to get done in order to be exempted from it? smile.gif (I really don't want to repeat this subject biggrin.gif)

Thanks. smile.gif
I just realised that the Malaysian Studies and Moral Education subject code in the UTAR timetable for Biochem students is MPW2133 and MPW2153 respectively but the ones I have taken is coded as MPW1133 and MPW1153 (only difference is the number 2 there)

Is there any difference between those two codes or is it the same? Because the subjects are the same.

It's really making me confused. Now I do not know whether I could ask for exemption for this subject or not.

Anyone can help me clarify this matter? Thanks. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Miss Terious: Nov 25 2008, 05:31 PM
Miss Terious
post Nov 25 2008, 06:34 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Dr@gon @ Nov 25 2008, 05:51 PM)
Not quite sure about this but from my observation, the code of subject in Y1 starts with 1, i.e. 1xxx while it is 2xxx for Y2. So I think they are the same but taken in different academic year.
erm, in the Biochem course structure guide, Pengajian Malaysia is in Y1S1 and Pendidikan Moral in Y2S2 but both the codes start with MPW2XXX. I took both the subjects in college 2 years ago and I was surprised to find out that the letter which my college has written for me was coded differently (MPW1XXX) although the subjects are the same.

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Nov 25 2008, 06:03 PM)
laugh.gif TARC KL need to pay but Kampar dont need to?
Yup, ur right. The course code is mostly dependent on the year and semester, its not followed strictly. If you have taken the subject, provided the sylabus is the same, exemptions should be no problem biggrin.gif
I really hope the syllabus is the same so I can be exempted from it.

Thanks a lot for your replies. smile.gif
Miss Terious
post Nov 27 2008, 12:47 PM

15 posts

Haha. Interesting. Kiasu first sem students. I have a feeling I'd be one too. Then everything shall cease slowly by the end of the semester. biggrin.gif

By the way, would you guys be given a detailed syllabus at the start of every semester or you'd just have to sit and wait for what the lecturer would teach?

Or do you have to find for it yourselves online/library/other forms of resources? smile.gif
[See, going "kiasu" already tongue.gif]

Thanks a lot for all the infos. It has been really really helpful. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Miss Terious: Nov 27 2008, 12:48 PM
Miss Terious
post Nov 28 2008, 12:22 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Chartry @ Nov 27 2008, 02:12 PM)
u will be given a detailed syllabus so dun worry smile.gif
QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Nov 27 2008, 05:34 PM)
haha. first sem students are always like that. biggrin.gif after that, it wil slowly dwindle. tongue.gif

the detailed sylabus is available online in the intranet as well smile.gif
QUOTE(Akane @ Nov 27 2008, 06:57 PM)
Once you get your ID and you can try to log-in into the UTAR Intranet. From there, you can check your syallabus and most of the time there are some reference books below that list. Those are the books where the lecturer refer to, and students are normally encouraged to purchased or borrow those books.
Thanks so much! smile.gif

Oh, I think about the certification, I heard from someone that as long as it is a "grade A" officer, he/she can certify things. I have no idea what a grade A officer is, but I got my own dad to certify some of my certs before (since he had the certifying chop) and I don't think they noticed it. As long as it is certified I don't think there will be a problem. That is only my opinion, mind you. smile.gif

And I thought I was the only "chinese" who don't speak mandarin going to Kampar. Haha. Ada kawan la this. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Miss Terious: Nov 28 2008, 12:25 PM
Miss Terious
post Nov 28 2008, 01:13 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Nekochan @ Nov 28 2008, 01:02 PM)
Haha ada kawan2 di sini. But we will learn that language as well. Miss Terious, which language are you going to take for your language elective? Jap, Tamil, Thai or French?
I hope I'd get to pick up Mandarin and I really cross my fingers and hope that I won't fail that class. biggrin.gif

I'm hoping to take Japanese or French. I'm particularly interested in French, but I was told that they have these weird way of classifying things. Like a chair is female and a table is female too (I forgot female or male already). Aiyoh. Make life hard la. tongue.gif
Miss Terious
post Dec 7 2008, 08:44 PM

15 posts

okay. this is interesting. and all these while i thought i was the only banana around going to UTAR. haha.

we shall learn mandarin & cantonese together. biggrin.gif
Miss Terious
post Dec 10 2008, 01:28 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Dec 7 2008, 09:42 PM)
laugh.gif dont worry, you arent the only banana around. smile.gif there's many in the UTAR thread
QUOTE(dongdong86 @ Dec 7 2008, 11:11 PM)
ok all the bananas, we should meet up, watch hk drama, i teach you Chinese, you teach me English ;p
hahaha. i am relieved. biggrin.gif

0.0307sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:31 AM