71 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Bottom

University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

Nekochan
post Nov 27 2008, 07:45 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(shimy @ Nov 27 2008, 07:44 PM)
i got an acknowledgement card frm utar 2day n dey wan me 2 send dem de certified school leaving cert but i did send dem de college leaving cert 2 dem as i completed my alevels dere ..so i was wondering de school leaving cert dat dey wan is de one frm secondary school izit?
Yes, they will want your secondary one. The school that you completed your spm.
billygoh
post Nov 27 2008, 07:49 PM

1,606 posts

can i know...everyone(chinese) in UTAR all talk mandarin??
shimy
post Nov 27 2008, 07:49 PM

381 posts

=.=""""""" ... i din noe dat de one dey wan is de secondary school one..now hv 2 resend dem de certified copy again .... argh .... leceh la ..... n i nid to go back my secondary school 2 certify de cert oso ......haizzz ..
SuN_RaE198
post Nov 27 2008, 08:02 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(billygoh @ Nov 27 2008, 07:49 PM)
laugh.gif NO. dont worry bout that, if non chinese can fit in, why cant a chinese who doesnt speak mandarin? smile.gif

Anyway, good chance to learn. tongue.gif
Dr@gon
post Nov 27 2008, 09:09 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

For Kampar campus, I would say:

- Among lecturers: 99% English, 1% etc.
- Between lectures and students: 95% English, 5% etc.
- Among students: 50% English, 20% Cantonese, 20% Mandarin and 10% etc.

Merely for reference purpose, based on my observation. tongue.gif
shimy
post Nov 27 2008, 09:15 PM

381 posts

can i ask ketua kampung or wakil rakyat 2 certify my school leaving cert 4 me? is dat acceptable?

This post has been edited by shimy: Nov 27 2008, 09:16 PM
Nekochan
post Nov 27 2008, 09:57 PM

324 posts

Ooo I don't think I will be speaking any mandarin there. When I reach there, I guess I will learn it among them. Haha.
QUOTE(shimy @ Nov 27 2008, 09:15 PM)
can i ask ketua kampung or wakil rakyat 2 certify my school leaving cert 4 me? is dat acceptable?
I think you have to ask the utar people. You can write an inquiry or call them. I think actually you can get the wakil kampung to sign for you but I'm not sure. Hope that help.

This post has been edited by Nekochan: Nov 27 2008, 10:11 PM
Akane
post Nov 28 2008, 12:42 AM

1,197 posts

I speak England there. But I learn Mandarin from my mates instead ! What a good deal !

Added on November 28, 2008, 12:43 amShimy: You can get any respected figures such as the wakil rakyat, your school principal or a figure recognized by most to certified your cert.

This post has been edited by Akane: Nov 28 2008, 12:43 AM
Miss Terious
post Nov 28 2008, 12:22 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Chartry @ Nov 27 2008, 02:12 PM)
u will be given a detailed syllabus so dun worry smile.gif
QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ Nov 27 2008, 05:34 PM)
haha. first sem students are always like that. biggrin.gif after that, it wil slowly dwindle. tongue.gif

the detailed sylabus is available online in the intranet as well smile.gif
QUOTE(Akane @ Nov 27 2008, 06:57 PM)
Once you get your ID and you can try to log-in into the UTAR Intranet. From there, you can check your syallabus and most of the time there are some reference books below that list. Those are the books where the lecturer refer to, and students are normally encouraged to purchased or borrow those books.
Thanks so much! smile.gif

Oh, I think about the certification, I heard from someone that as long as it is a "grade A" officer, he/she can certify things. I have no idea what a grade A officer is, but I got my own dad to certify some of my certs before (since he had the certifying chop) and I don't think they noticed it. As long as it is certified I don't think there will be a problem. That is only my opinion, mind you. smile.gif

And I thought I was the only "chinese" who don't speak mandarin going to Kampar. Haha. Ada kawan la this. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Miss Terious: Nov 28 2008, 12:25 PM
Nekochan
post Nov 28 2008, 01:02 PM

324 posts

Haha ada kawan2 di sini. But we will learn that language as well. Miss Terious, which language are you going to take for your language elective? Jap, Tamil, Thai or French?
Miss Terious
post Nov 28 2008, 01:13 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Nekochan @ Nov 28 2008, 01:02 PM)
Haha ada kawan2 di sini. But we will learn that language as well. Miss Terious, which language are you going to take for your language elective? Jap, Tamil, Thai or French?
I hope I'd get to pick up Mandarin and I really cross my fingers and hope that I won't fail that class. biggrin.gif

I'm hoping to take Japanese or French. I'm particularly interested in French, but I was told that they have these weird way of classifying things. Like a chair is female and a table is female too (I forgot female or male already). Aiyoh. Make life hard la. tongue.gif
Corrupted Spirits
post Nov 28 2008, 01:26 PM

Somewhere out there
633 posts

I'm not good in Mandarin too..anyway,one of my friend said that we can choose any language class for our language elective?Advised me to get Mandarin class as the class is easier... tongue.gif
shimy
post Nov 28 2008, 07:37 PM

381 posts

language elective?? wats dat? sumbody mind 2 tell me? sounds interesting ..
yest i got acknowledgement card frm utar asking me 2 send dem certified school leaving cert bt 2day i received de offer letter frm dem,so do i stil nid 2 send dem my certified school leaving cert?? very confusing..
SuN_RaE198
post Nov 28 2008, 08:24 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(Miss Terious @ Nov 28 2008, 12:22 PM)
Thanks so much! smile.gif

Oh, I think about the certification, I heard from someone that as long as it is a "grade A" officer, he/she can certify things. I have no idea what a grade A officer is, but I got my own dad to certify some of my certs before (since he had the certifying chop) and I don't think they noticed it. As long as it is certified I don't think there will be a problem. That is only my opinion, mind you. smile.gif

And I thought I was the only "chinese" who don't speak mandarin going to Kampar. Haha. Ada kawan la this. biggrin.gif
whistling.gif my personal opinion, they dont really care. but again, its only my opinion. biggrin.gif the grade A officer certification is important only if you're applying for govt stuff i guess. so far, utar doesnt place an importance on that.

QUOTE(shimy @ Nov 28 2008, 07:37 PM)
language elective?? wats dat? sumbody mind 2 tell me? sounds interesting ..
yest i got acknowledgement card frm utar asking me 2 send dem certified school leaving cert bt 2day i received de offer letter frm dem,so do i stil nid 2 send dem my certified school leaving cert?? very confusing..
the new course sylabus has a elective subject where you get to choose a language. smile.gif
Nekochan
post Nov 28 2008, 10:18 PM

324 posts

The language is just introduction. Maybe we will learn the basic only though I wonder why mandarin was not there.
Dr@gon
post Nov 28 2008, 10:47 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(Nekochan @ Nov 28 2008, 10:18 PM)
The language is just introduction. Maybe we will learn the basic only though I wonder why mandarin was not there.
I guess because very little people will choose Mandarin if it is there, learning from the student community will do. biggrin.gif
I got a friend was banana but after staying 2 years in TARC now he talk Chinese fluently, just have some difficulties in reading though.
shimy
post Nov 28 2008, 11:16 PM

381 posts

do i still nid 2 send dem de certified school leaving cert since i ady got their offer letter?
Chartry
post Nov 28 2008, 11:16 PM

In the mood of love
1,616 posts

QUOTE(Dr@gon @ Nov 27 2008, 09:09 PM)
For Kampar campus, I would say:

- Among lecturers: 99% English, 1% etc.
- Between lectures and students: 95% English, 5% etc.
- Among students: 50% English, 20% Cantonese, 20% Mandarin and 10% etc.

Merely for reference purpose, based on my observation.  tongue.gif
most of the student speaks mandarin. some speak cantonese, english and hokkien.

btw where can i access the syllabus? intranet or wble? can find it on intranet

This post has been edited by Chartry: Nov 28 2008, 11:19 PM
Dr@gon
post Nov 28 2008, 11:33 PM

Malaysian
1,507 posts

QUOTE(Chartry @ Nov 28 2008, 11:16 PM)
most of the student speaks mandarin. some speak cantonese, english and hokkien.

btw where can i access the syllabus? intranet or wble? can find it on intranet
So far I haven't seen anyone speaking hokkien here. sweat.gif

You can find it at your faculty webpage.
zyphron
post Nov 29 2008, 08:00 PM

419 posts

did i need to mail my declaration form back to UTAR Main campus?in d booklet for freshmen 2009,it stated that i need to mail it back wit d index card,photo,bill's copy and offer letter copy after i pay d bill at public bank.cant call utar coz its weekend.anyway,i asked few of my fren that study at UTAR,they says just hand it when orientation.any1 mind helpin?

71 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:00 PM