71 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

sevenheaven
post Apr 11 2008, 10:34 PM

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 11 2008, 07:52 PM)
Don't worry about PTPTN bcoz, all utar subject is applicable for PTPTN... and don't worry is it accredited o not, cause if u work in private company, they wont care so much, unless you going to apply government job.

but i'm curious, y all PJ campus student suffer while other campus is not bad, what an unfair. PJ is main campus? what a bad place.

Y must everyone say UTAR is good? did u think b4 some priviledges is belong to us, we should fight for it, and not juz only say yes to it. We have our own right to request for what we want.

1)
I admit that 190 rent (kampar) is cheap if compare to KL. but dun try do calculation wif me.  I can briefly explain to you.
Comparing to KL, 190 is called very cheap. But 190 rent in Kampar is considered high, according to land revaluation and survey on Kampar that area, the rent for a single storey house which is 22*65 (3 room 1 bathroom) should be around 400 per month. If you compare the rent back to Kampar own area, the rent is considered high. some more Kampar which is considered as a rural area should not achieve that high rent. Mayb KL is expensive, but it is capital of our country.

2)
Utar admin is doing work by those moz easy way. first, they do as wat LAN say. LAN say what then they do wat.
Did you ever comparing those subject in a course between UTAR and others. You will know that UTAR is wasting first year for nothing for moz of subject.

3)
UTAR buses mayb increases. But why don't you juz build a bridge in KAMPAR. It is moz jimat than using buses in long term. Y use bus? UTAR
earn money.... Buses increases does not mean that u will get buses in every half hour.

UTAR student mostly will face tis problem. class at 12 am. But the last bus is at 9.30. so how? take 930 bus and waste time in school. Did it worth?
Then ppl will say buy motor buy car la. Then i wan ask, if they build bridge, walk also can reach la. If the housing area is not owned by that construction company, then did we nid to walk so far? Did UTAR really fight something better from us? or juz keep earning money?

4)
Did you heard before UTAR president son come here study? where he get his benz S class which is worth for 7 digit? is from our money

5)
UTAR PJ PD block currently financial situation :
Calculation of UTAR degree year 1 student : 1 group 20 student, average value for group is 44.
44 group X 20 student X 3800 fee per person for 1 sem (3 month) = 3344000.

Cost of UTAR operate :
Building rental : 100000 for 3 month
Electricity and water : 30000 for 3 month
Administritive expenses : 180000 for 3 month
Lecturer : 450000 for 3 month
Other expenses : 100000 for 3 month
Don't say about renovation, bcoz UTAR PD nvr renovate

Total revenue for every 3 month : 2484000
NOTE : THIS IS ONLY AMOUNT OF REVENUE FOR YEAR 1 DEGREE STUDENT for UTAR PD BLOCK ONLY.

If you add up 3 year studnet in PJ PD BLOCK, then add with PJ PA PB PC student. THEN add with SETAPAK and SG LONG. THEN YOU WILL Know how much they earn.

And such high revenue. yet still create a low standard environment, low standard of lecturer + teaching method. Where does our money go?
Their pocket. And now you still don't want fight for your right and get what you suppose to get?

If they unable to give a good quality. THEN UTAR shouldn't become a spoiler. UTAR gives us choice and hope. but they break your dream hope after you come in. IF THIS IS THE WAY, i rather suffer in PUBLIC UNIVERSITI.
I can get a house with 1 HUGE master room attached with bathroom, 1 medium room, 2 single room all attached with bathroom and 1 HUGE living room and a BIG kitchen for RM400 through an agent.

Then my friend found the exact same type of house for RM250 only. Just that without ceiling fans. Haiya. But my mum insisted that I should stay in Westlake. Westlake is such a rip off! Expensive and We can only wash our clothes once per week? Absurd!

And not to forget about the parking space in UTAR Kampar! I heard that we have to pay RM300 per year and Rm200 Per year in Westlake. Though I don't have a car, just find it ridiculous!

The distance to school, the westlake homes, the far away from town issue, the management and the stupid guards which wouldn't let us in even we have our student id. They say there will be more bus but I doubt. Even in PJ area, we don't have much bus anyway. I doubt there will be 20 buses as people claims as it should be.

Added on April 11, 2008, 10:46 pmSo sad lah, at the same time unhappy with UTAR, but no other choices. I know many people will say, you don't like UTAR then go to LKW, INTI, Taylors, Sunway etc. etc. lah!

If i got the money I will be there lah. KDU foundation course is Rm14,000 overall. But UTAR is RM7000. BUT! UTAR increase from RM4000 to RM7000. You Judge.

I even have a lecturer who claims that UTAR foundation course is there for a 'good will'. She say she don't earn much and UTAR don't earn much from Foundation studies. But they still have this course because they want to 'help' students out.

By looking at the calculation above, I see they do earn very very much. From PA, PB, PC, PD and added a new PE. Actually we have 2 PE, but now they rent a new one beside PD block.

Where all the money comes from lah?

Yes, I do admit I dislike Kampar because it's a kampung place. You can say I am selfish and I wanna play around in city places instead of really studying in Kampar.

Hello, don't gimme such bullsh-t ok? Study for degree doesn't mean have to turn yourself into jailbird and pay unnecessary price for such outcome.

I am just unhappy, that's all.

This post has been edited by sevenheaven: Apr 11 2008, 10:46 PM
TSmphpopular
post Apr 12 2008, 12:05 AM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

QUOTE(sevenheaven @ Apr 11 2008, 10:34 PM)
I can get a house with 1 HUGE master room attached with bathroom, 1 medium room, 2 single room all attached with bathroom and 1 HUGE living room and a BIG kitchen for RM400 through an agent.

Then my friend found the exact same type of house for RM250 only. Just that without ceiling fans. Haiya. But my mum insisted that I should stay in Westlake. Westlake is such a rip off! Expensive and We can only wash our clothes  once per week? Absurd!

And not to forget about the parking space in UTAR Kampar! I heard that we have to pay RM300 per year and Rm200 Per year in Westlake. Though I don't have a car, just find it ridiculous!

The distance to school, the westlake homes, the far away from town issue, the management and the stupid guards which wouldn't let us in even we have our student id. They say there will be more bus but I doubt. Even in PJ area, we don't have much bus anyway. I doubt there will be 20 buses as people claims as it should be.

Added on April 11, 2008, 10:46 pmSo sad lah, at the same time unhappy with UTAR, but no other choices. I know many people will say, you don't like UTAR then go to LKW, INTI, Taylors, Sunway etc. etc. lah!

If i got the money I will be there lah. KDU foundation course is Rm14,000 overall. But UTAR is RM7000. BUT! UTAR increase from RM4000 to RM7000. You Judge.

I even have a lecturer who claims that UTAR foundation course is there for a 'good will'. She say she don't earn much and UTAR don't earn much from Foundation studies. But they still have this course because they want to 'help' students out.

By looking at the calculation above, I see they do earn very very much. From PA, PB, PC, PD and added a new PE. Actually we have 2 PE, but now they rent a new one beside PD block.

Where all the money comes from lah?

Yes, I do admit I dislike Kampar because it's a kampung place. You can say I am selfish and I wanna play around in city places instead of really studying in Kampar.

Hello, don't gimme such bullsh-t ok? Study for degree doesn't mean have to turn yourself into jailbird and pay unnecessary price for such outcome.

I am just unhappy, that's all.
Ya, i agree. but i wish at least u all kampar will be better in PJ. cause PJ expenses all high. but still environment like shit. only thing is, ONE U, IKEA, IKANO, MIDVALLEY and so on only.

You still ok like tis. cause you know my brother foundation studies even worst, teached by degree year 3 studnet. is it UTAR SO Lack of lectuerer???

Added on April 12, 2008, 12:21 am
QUOTE(LYR @ Apr 11 2008, 09:19 PM)
mphpopular,
come to UTAR Perak Campus and i'm sure that you'll take back your words.  smile.gif anyway, i'm wondering how did you get the amount of the operating cost of UTAR.  hmm.gif
If you are studying costing , then you will be able to calculate all. This is what my job does. I hope i can accept UTAR wif full of my heart.

PJ PD block, dean, the head of PD block.
He always said : I am master from America, i talking america language america slank.
But his english is even worst than those in secondary school. worst than even a small little boy. Cant even pronouns speak nor use correct word.

He most clever thing is, Plz do not make noise. If not i will deduct your mark from your CGPA (ugutan)

Lecturer also cant speak well, what we still can hope. I admit kampar good. i already go inside and c before. But did you think of how many money he cheat u every month. (we calculate one aspect : living)

Why i nvr criticise on other college or UNI like ktar? bcoz they charge a reasonable price for their own facilities and locations. ktar half prices of UTAR, and he providing This level of services, which is reasonable. The profit margin for UTAR is already too high, they already bcome earning company. not a charity uni. tis uni is corrupted alrady

This post has been edited by mphpopular: Apr 12 2008, 12:21 AM
Akane
post Apr 12 2008, 01:31 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 11 2008, 07:52 PM)
Don't worry about PTPTN bcoz, all utar subject is applicable for PTPTN... and don't worry is it accredited o not, cause if u work in private company, they wont care so much, unless you going to apply government job.

but i'm curious, y all PJ campus student suffer while other campus is not bad, what an unfair. PJ is main campus? what a bad place.

Y must everyone say UTAR is good? did u think b4 some priviledges is belong to us, we should fight for it, and not juz only say yes to it. We have our own right to request for what we want.

1)
I admit that 190 rent (kampar) is cheap if compare to KL. but dun try do calculation wif me.  I can briefly explain to you.
Comparing to KL, 190 is called very cheap. But 190 rent in Kampar is considered high, according to land revaluation and survey on Kampar that area, the rent for a single storey house which is 22*65 (3 room 1 bathroom) should be around 400 per month. If you compare the rent back to Kampar own area, the rent is considered high. some more Kampar which is considered as a rural area should not achieve that high rent. Mayb KL is expensive, but it is capital of our country.

2)
Utar admin is doing work by those moz easy way. first, they do as wat LAN say. LAN say what then they do wat.
Did you ever comparing those subject in a course between UTAR and others. You will know that UTAR is wasting first year for nothing for moz of subject.

3)
UTAR buses mayb increases. But why don't you juz build a bridge in KAMPAR. It is moz jimat than using buses in long term. Y use bus? UTAR
earn money.... Buses increases does not mean that u will get buses in every half hour.

UTAR student mostly will face tis problem. class at 12 am. But the last bus is at 9.30. so how? take 930 bus and waste time in school. Did it worth?
Then ppl will say buy motor buy car la. Then i wan ask, if they build bridge, walk also can reach la. If the housing area is not owned by that construction company, then did we nid to walk so far? Did UTAR really fight something better from us? or juz keep earning money?

4)
Did you heard before UTAR president son come here study? where he get his benz S class which is worth for 7 digit? is from our money

5)
UTAR PJ PD block currently financial situation :
Calculation of UTAR degree year 1 student : 1 group 20 student, average value for group is 44.
44 group X 20 student X 3800 fee per person for 1 sem (3 month) = 3344000.

Cost of UTAR operate :
Building rental : 100000 for 3 month
Electricity and water : 30000 for 3 month
Administritive expenses : 180000 for 3 month
Lecturer : 450000 for 3 month
Other expenses : 100000 for 3 month
Don't say about renovation, bcoz UTAR PD nvr renovate

Total revenue for every 3 month : 2484000
NOTE : THIS IS ONLY AMOUNT OF REVENUE FOR YEAR 1 DEGREE STUDENT for UTAR PD BLOCK ONLY.

If you add up 3 year studnet in PJ PD BLOCK, then add with PJ PA PB PC student. THEN add with SETAPAK and SG LONG. THEN YOU WILL Know how much they earn.

And such high revenue. yet still create a low standard environment, low standard of lecturer + teaching method. Where does our money go?
Their pocket. And now you still don't want fight for your right and get what you suppose to get?

If they unable to give a good quality. THEN UTAR shouldn't become a spoiler. UTAR gives us choice and hope. but they break your dream hope after you come in. IF THIS IS THE WAY, i rather suffer in PUBLIC UNIVERSITI.
There are blardy hell alot of houses out there. No one force you to stay in Westlake areas. You can opt to stay outside if you want. Its the same thing.

Wasting the students First Year ? LMAO ! I starting to believe whether you have experience in higher education or not. Relearning some subjects from STPM/A Levels is a waste of time? Mind you University level is totally different. You might relearn some similar subjects, but in more details. Try to ask STPM students who are doing their degree in UTAR and you will know whether they are relearning the subjects or enhancing their understanding towards the subject. And do some research before you post. Most University including the prestigous one are repeating their year one with subjects similar to ALevels/STPM. And if you seriously think that its tat easy, then try to get into the President List first.

Seriously you have good experience in building dont you ? Mind you, according to a friend of mine, building a bridge across the lake is not something cheap. He speculate that a construction like that will cost around 4-5 million. You wanna spend that money on a brigde whilst you already have a proper road that brings you straight into the campus. And yet you are saying UTAR is wasting the peoples' money. How absurb.

With the increase in buses, you think u need to wait for blardy 2 hours for a bus ? Come mon. Have you ever studied in KTAR ? How many buses KTAR had ? And how long you gotta wait for the bus ? With an increase of 20 buses is more than enough. Mind you that not everyone will take the bus route, some might walk to school and I believe majority will drive. Even in FES, with barely 3 bus, it only takes 1 hour the max for a bus to arrive. And no one ask you to be so damn retard to wait for the bus for that duration. You can always reach the bus stop 10 minutes before departure.

A Private University is not a Non Profit Organization. Of course they will make profit. But how much they exactly made, no one knows. Unless you are responsible for their financial, I doubt the figures are real. And a huge sum of money is used to finance the university research projects. A scientific research aint cheap.

I might agree with you on the part they are using some lousy lecturers, but its the same thing everywhere. You wan good lecturer, opt for Monash, Nottingham. I have a brother doing his degree in Monash and I know how good is their lecturer and their syllabus. But the cost ?. Think about it. We have our right to demand a better environment for our studies since we pay them, but not in this way. Like in FES, we demand them to change the canteen operator thru our Students Rep. Not by defaming UTAR in a public forum like this. It will never improve the situation.

And yeah, you wan me to intro you to some of my friends who jump boat from Public Uni to UTAR ? Lol. Bet you dont.

Parking fee is the same thing in FES. We are unhappy about it too, but due to demand > supply we have no choice. In fact, everyone is willing to pay for the parking after some safety issue in Setapak area. The bus will be there. Its just a matter of time. They are running a University with approximately 20k students. If they dont provide the transportation, how students are going to get to the campus for class.

Try to adapt to the kampung lifestyle then. Its nice. I am longing to go and finish my final year in Kampar but I dont have the chance. And yet you have it, then take it as an experience. Afterall there are students out there who are studying in some more Jungle places.

This post has been edited by Akane: Apr 12 2008, 02:09 AM
Fatimus
post Apr 12 2008, 02:02 AM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻â”â”»
634 posts

Kinda contradicting that he can calculate all the lecturers' salary but failed to calculate how expensive a bridge can be. :/

First year time wasting ? This show that you never manage your time well. I had one hell of a fun during first year. I join 2 clubs and participated in a public speaking competitions, so it's ain't time wasting for me. I am from form 6 so I am fully aware that first year I will have some subjects repeat from form 6, so ? Form 6 is PRE-UNI programmes, and the first year are recap so we can at least remember and go further details in the next few semesters.

Like it or not Lecturers are like that. They want attention. Infact this is one of the life skill you and me will have to learn when we come out and work, as we will meet various kind of people. And oh before you try to say how suck the lecturers' english is, check yours first, you ain't different than their speaking. So what I turn on my english nazi mode when someone like you criticise others' english when your post is full of it ?

"Ya, i agree. but i wish at least u all kampar will be better in PJ. cause PJ expenses all high. but still environment like shit. only thing is, ONE U, IKEA, IKANO, MIDVALLEY and so on only."

Is it just me or his england is damn powderful ? I don't get, first he said PJ campus sucks, and now wants the Kampar students to come and stay here, clarify for me please.

"Hello, don't gimme such bullsh-t ok? Study for degree doesn't mean have to turn yourself into jailbird and pay unnecessary price for such outcome."

Hello, don't give me bullshit, ok ? It's matter of time and budget managing.

This post has been edited by Fatimus: Apr 12 2008, 02:07 AM
kmhork87
post Apr 12 2008, 11:14 AM

136 posts

parking inside UTAR has always been rm 300
in westlake we must buy d sticker onli which is ONLY RM4..
so get ur facts rite?
if u feel UTAR aint providing u ppl well, jz make a complaint..
they r doing their best 2 provide whats best..
UTAR Kampar has jz completed phase 1 of building..
phase 2 is on the way n there will b phase 3 and 4..

come and c for urself...
if they build a bridge frm westlake 2 UTAR, will u stay there forever?some dy stated dat d rent is expensive..so y cont renting there n ask 2 build a bridge there?
use ur brain b4 u talk lar...

just my 2cents lar..
Bigblock
post Apr 12 2008, 01:24 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

Whats the feedback for mechanical eng in UTAR? My friend is interested to go ther... just an inquiry for my friend who's not a LYN member...
So i hope you can help me out.
My friend completed a diploma in telecommunications eng in MMU and is working...so he missed the intakes.

But he would like to start coll around may coz he's just finished bonding with his company
CaptWong
post Apr 12 2008, 05:50 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Akane @ Apr 12 2008, 01:31 AM)
There are blardy hell alot of houses out there. No one force you to stay in Westlake areas. You can opt to stay outside if you want. Its the same thing.

Wasting the students First Year ? LMAO ! I starting to believe whether you have experience in higher education or not.  Relearning some subjects from STPM/A Levels is a waste of time? Mind you University level is totally different. You might relearn some similar subjects, but in more details. Try to ask STPM students who are doing their degree in UTAR and you will know whether they are relearning the subjects or enhancing their understanding towards the subject. And do some research before you post. Most University including the prestigous one are repeating their year one with subjects similar to ALevels/STPM. And if you seriously think that its tat easy, then try to get into the President List first.

Seriously you have good experience in building dont you ? Mind you, according to a friend of mine, building a bridge across the lake is not something cheap. He speculate that a construction like that will cost around 4-5 million. You wanna spend that money on a brigde whilst you already have a proper road that brings you straight into the campus. And yet you are saying UTAR is wasting the peoples' money. How absurb.

With the increase in buses, you think u need to wait for blardy 2 hours for a bus ? Come mon. Have you ever studied in KTAR ? How many buses KTAR had ? And how long you gotta wait for the bus ? With an increase of 20 buses is more than enough. Mind you that not everyone will take the bus route, some might walk to school and I believe majority will drive. Even in FES, with barely 3 bus, it only takes 1 hour the max for a bus to arrive. And no one ask you to be so damn retard to wait for the bus for that duration. You can always reach the bus stop 10 minutes before departure.

A Private University is not a Non Profit Organization. Of course they will make profit. But how much they exactly made, no one knows. Unless you are responsible for their financial, I doubt the figures are real. And a huge sum of money is used to finance the university research projects. A scientific research aint cheap.

I might agree with you on the part they are using some lousy lecturers, but its the same thing everywhere. You wan good lecturer, opt for Monash, Nottingham. I have a brother doing his degree in Monash and I know how good is their lecturer and their syllabus. But the cost ?. Think about it. We have our right to demand a better environment for our studies since we pay them, but not in this way. Like in FES, we demand them to change the canteen operator thru our Students Rep. Not by defaming UTAR in a public forum like this. It will never improve the situation.

And yeah, you wan me to intro you to some of my friends who jump boat from Public Uni to UTAR ? Lol. Bet you dont.

Parking fee is the same thing in FES. We are unhappy about it too, but due to demand > supply we have no choice. In fact, everyone is willing to pay for the parking after some safety issue in Setapak area. The bus will  be there. Its just a matter of time. They are running a University with approximately 20k students. If they dont provide the transportation, how students are going to get to the campus for class.

Try to adapt to the kampung lifestyle then. Its nice. I am longing to go and finish my final year in Kampar but I dont have the chance. And yet you have it, then take it as an experience. Afterall there are students out there who are studying in some more Jungle places.
QUOTE(Fatimus @ Apr 12 2008, 02:02 AM)
Kinda contradicting that he can calculate all the lecturers' salary but failed to calculate how expensive a bridge can be. :/

First year time wasting ? This show that you never manage your time well. I had one hell of a fun during first year. I join 2 clubs and participated in a public speaking competitions, so it's ain't time wasting for me. I am from form 6 so I am fully aware that first year I will have some subjects repeat from form 6, so ? Form 6 is PRE-UNI programmes, and the first year are recap so we can at least remember and go further details in the next few semesters.

Like it or not Lecturers are like that. They want attention. Infact this is one of the life skill you and me will have to learn when we come out and work, as we will meet various kind of people. And oh before you try to say how suck the lecturers' english is, check yours first, you ain't different than their speaking. So what I turn on my english nazi mode when someone like you criticise others' english when your post is full of it ?

"Ya, i agree. but i wish at least u all kampar will be better in PJ. cause PJ expenses all high. but still environment like shit. only thing is, ONE U, IKEA, IKANO, MIDVALLEY and so on only."

Is it just me or his england is damn powderful ? I don't get, first he said PJ campus sucks, and now wants the Kampar students to come and stay here, clarify for me please.

"Hello, don't gimme such bullsh-t ok? Study for degree doesn't mean have to turn yourself into jailbird and pay unnecessary price for such outcome."

Hello, don't give me bullshit, ok ? It's matter of time and budget managing.
Couldn't agree more with both of them.. Especially about the english thingy... lol!

Hmm.. about the lecturer's english standard, i do admit that a minority of lecturers in UTAR cannot speak good english.. but that is not an obstacle for them to present their knowledges to their students.. i did come across this kind of lecturer, but i do not have a problem of understanding what they are trying to say.. To me, it's not a matter of their english standard, it's a matter of are they able to present their knowledge to their students.. and so far, after competing my first sememster, i do not have problem absorbing new knowledges from them.. and i am happy with that.

Lecturer quality? It's the same in every university lah dude.. My friend from Monash complained about his physics lecturer to me =)

You can search through this forum for some previous threads of mine... In the beginning, i was very reluctant to enter UTAR, coz of some stupid rumors about UTAR.. At first, i entered UTAR feeling disappointed, but now, after one sememster, i have no regrets at all.. I am satisfied with the lecturers of UTAR, the education i am receiving, and even the lab officers in UTAR! Even they are very willing to share their knowledge with us.. All my lecturers mingle very well with students, and because of that, i enjoyed my every single lectures..

UTAR is still constantly improving.. The former president of UTAR has opened the path for the future of UTAR, and now with the presence of the new president, i am sure that UTAR will be even better in the future..

If you or your brother or whatever don't like UTAR, as you said, u rather SUFFER IN PUBLIC UNI.. who is stopping you from doing that? whistling.gif
TSmphpopular
post Apr 12 2008, 09:41 PM

bar chartist
2,214 posts

Haha. Do you realise that building a bridge is go thru government sector, since when you heard that the highway ,the penang bridge is build by private?

You could propose and do the full proposal for the government to get approval. When you have go thru more life real situation, then you will understand what is the utar is going on.

Too sad so many people still defending UTAR, goodluck guys.

I have written all i know about UTAR. so, which to choose, is on your hand.

CaptWong
post Apr 12 2008, 10:06 PM

135 posts

LOL... you are so funny dude.. What's wrong with "so many ppl defending UTAR"??
We are just telling the truth.. correcting what's wrong.. and not accusing this accusing that without prior research..

Did any university pay you to defame UTAR? lol.. never seen someone like you which is so "anti-UTAR"

This post has been edited by CaptWong: Apr 12 2008, 10:07 PM
Akane
post Apr 12 2008, 10:21 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 12 2008, 09:41 PM)
Haha. Do you realise that building a bridge is go thru government sector, since when you heard that the highway ,the penang bridge is build by private?

You could propose and do the full proposal for the government to get approval. When you have go thru more life real situation, then you will understand what is the utar is going on.

Oh. That easy ? Then why dont you propose to them. Dont talk only, show us some action. More real life situation? I guess you are the one who is less experience here. Ask a civil engineer and a qualified construction manager whats the procedure of the process and how they pay for a bridge built like that.

SuN_RaE198
post Apr 12 2008, 10:29 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Apr 12 2008, 09:41 PM)

Perhaps you might want to take note of something. Most people who are "defending" UTAR are UTAR students themselves, people who have actually been through and experience first handedly what it is like studying in UTAR. However, for sure there are some students who are not satisfied with the university. But then, there is not one university where all the students are satisfied,isnt that right? Although i do admit that there are some things which are lacking, i also believe that a young university needs time in order to gain experience and improve. I am happy with what i am experiencing now.

You cannot compare building the Penang bridge with a bridge that connects an housing estate to a university. I havent been to Kampar personally, but i believe the government wont just simply approve a bridge which benefits only students, and perhaps some lecturers of a certain university. Even if they do plan to build a bridge, the bridge will not simply materialise overnight. It does take time to build a bridge you know?

Is that all you know about UTAR? If thats all,i do hope you will come and interact with more UTAR students to get a better look on our lives rather than "defaming" UTAR based on the few people you know. smile.gif most UTAR students are quite friendly.
sevenheaven
post Apr 13 2008, 12:37 AM

Ktar fees is half of utar fees???????

People from westlake, I wanna know where do you get food? Is there a canteen or something? They said the electricity and water bill is covered. But why do we need to pay more if it exceeded RM10? And how the hell do they count? Is that just a rumour just like the RM200 parking fees?

Will there be internet connection in your own room?

And do we need to pay RM300 for motorbike parking space also? Anybody find it a pain to cycle everyday to UTAR?

I am just very very concern that's all. Educate me. Haha

I'm going there tomorrow to check out the place again. Peace.
Akane
post Apr 13 2008, 12:45 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(sevenheaven @ Apr 13 2008, 12:37 AM)
Ktar fees is half of utar fees???????

People from westlake, I wanna know where do you get food? Is there a canteen or something? They said the electricity and water bill is covered. But why do we need to pay more if it exceeded RM10? And how the hell do they count? Is that just a rumour just like the RM200 parking fees?

Will there be internet connection in your own room?

And do we need to pay RM300 for motorbike parking space also? Anybody find it a pain to cycle everyday to UTAR?

I am just very very concern that's all. Educate me. Haha

I'm going there tomorrow to check out the place again. Peace.
Remember, TARC is associated with Government. The Government bear some operational cost of the college and hence no suprise if the fees is much lower than many colleges and university.

No worry dude. Its a normal thing for hostel to do like dat. In KTAR hostel, they dont even permit you to use some electric consuming appliances such as rice cooker, vacumm cleaner. Thats why I advice you, if you wan a better living environment, live outside. Will be much enjoying and more freedom compared to living in places that is specifically for UTAR students. Of course, will be much further from the main campus then. As for Internet connection, I am sure its already well set up but of course with limited bandwidth.

Motorbike parking is not expensive, but for car parking I am not sure. In Setapak, car parking is RM 300 per year. I have no idea wats the price in Kampar.

According to kmhork87, the sticker price for Westlake is RM 4 only. Try to message him for more details.

This post has been edited by Akane: Apr 13 2008, 12:48 AM
sevenheaven
post Apr 13 2008, 01:42 AM

alo! I am not a dude. I WANTED to stay outside. but my parents wouldn't let me. And from the moment i land my foot in westlake, i have to sign a contract for 1 whole year! totally absurd and blood sucking!
Akane
post Apr 13 2008, 02:06 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(sevenheaven @ Apr 13 2008, 01:42 AM)
alo! I am not a dude. I WANTED to stay outside. but my parents wouldn't let me. And from the moment i land my foot in westlake, i have to sign a contract for 1 whole year! totally absurd and blood sucking!
Ouch. A gal ? Lol.

Herm. Then jz stay in the Westlake for the one year lor. After you made some friends, you can always ask them to join you to get a house outside. Most of my friends stay in hostel for their first year and rent a house outside on their second year onwards. As soon as you get to know that place better, convince your parents that staying outside is much more convenient for you. Its the same thing everywhere, they want you to sign the contract to prevet ppl from breaking the promise at the last minute.
*jenn!*
post Apr 13 2008, 03:11 AM

When I read the students' complains about the lecturers, I wonder, what do the lecturers have to say about the students? whistling.gif

Since this thread is about UTAR in general, I'll just give my two cents as a UTAR graduate.

I attended classes in the PJ campus, FAS.
I was fortunate to be able to secure a parking spot in the campus. I had to pay RM60 every month for three years (the only time i had a 50% discount was during the 3 months break in my first year). I was actively involved in activities, so I had to join the double-parking 'party' in PD from time to time when I needed to pay the DSA a visit.
I do understand the pain of those who had to pay for double parking summonses, but I have witnessed, numerous times, the Faculty office's efforts to warn students when MBPJ visits. Some students even SMS car owners to warn them about the MBPJ.

During my first year, the toilets were always clean, however, the toilets became a nightmare after that. Does the problem lie on the janitors, who gets cursed by students for cleaning the toilets, or does it lie on the students' incapability to use a toilet properly? Did the toilet bowl regurgitate the tissues on the floor? Did empty plastic tissue packets just appear out of nowhere? (I shall stop here before revealing some worse scenarios) Same goes for the rubbish on the floor in the classrooms. Our nation's future leaders. Right.

Students complaine about the computers in the labs. True, there aren't enough to go around, but the main purpose the university prepared these facilities is for students to conduct research for assignments. Friendster and Facebook is not research. So instead of complaining about the lack of computers, why not complain about the people who don't know how to better use their time?

The university designated reading rooms in every faculty, however, hardly anyone reads in there. People have been eating in that room, hang out or sleeping on the tables while waiting for the next class, worse, some people actually play music or videos in the reading room using the laptop and didn't bother to bring a set of headphones. They ARE students who really used the room for assignment discussions, but even those are hardly discreet: some people have difficulty controlling their voice volumes.

The biggest issue students have with the university is the fees. It has hyped over the years. I used to wonder why do I have to pay RM300 annually for 'developmental fees' or why do I have to pay to use library resources when it is so limited. The university has to pay, a lot, for online journal subscriptions which the students were ignorant about. I personally think that the library does not store too many of a certain textbook because publishers keep updating to newer editions and the library will have to buy the new ones once lecturers choose to use newer editions.

Someone mentioned earlier about the management and about having to pay RM300 to change course.
The thing about UTAR is that the authorities are very particular about finances and reputation. The board is pretty controlling, so everything needs to be approved at the board meeting, and because of this, many issues take a long time to resolve. For example, I have to wait for almost 10 months to have my claims for an event I helped organized to be approved. Approve only, ok? God knows how long it will take for the finance department to issue me a check.

As for the charges for course changing, I know the issue is about the management not revealing the 'whole story', but that's the way it is anywhere, a lot of things are too good to be true. The reason behind the RM300 is to put people off from changing courses. Your application takes a lot of time and effort to process because it will not only have to go through the faculty's processing, but there will also be meetings and more processing after that. We still had to pay thousands of ringgit for our industrial attachments. I have applied for the return of my caution money last December and I've yet received it.

Lecturers wise, you get all sorts:strict, 'cincai', people who know their stuff, people who reads monotonously from the slides, lazy ones, freaking hardworking ones. Like many students, I get turned off at lecturers who can't speak proper English, but at least they tried. Most of the students I know can't speak proper English either, I do commend those who take the effort to improve, but many just don't give a damn. No lecturer is perfect, just like no student is perfect.

So yeah, this is a bit of the insight from a UTAR product who graduated from a factory lot blush.gif

andrea129
post Apr 13 2008, 03:25 AM

25 posts

This post has been edited by andrea129: Mar 10 2012, 09:28 PM
Bigblock
post Apr 13 2008, 03:25 AM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

QUOTE(Bigblock @ Apr 12 2008, 01:24 PM)
Whats the feedback for mechanical eng in UTAR? My friend is interested to go ther... just an inquiry for my friend who's not a LYN member...
So i hope you can help me out.
My friend completed a diploma in telecommunications eng in MMU and is working...so he missed the intakes.

But he would like to start coll around may coz he's just finished bonding with his company
I'm sorry to interupt guys but no one answered my question..hope you guys dun mind
sevenheaven
post Apr 13 2008, 05:19 AM

that's why I like pd block more than Kampar itself. The whole building of PD block have aircond. And lifts! tho it's very slow. sometimes walk from stairs is faster than the lift itself. I like PD block. Tho the food there is ... expensive. Very Very expensive indeed. But there are mamaks! The only trouble in PD is the parking space. I can't think of anything else that made me unhappy. Except the people in the office.

We call her "the red lips" and the malay office boy is damn rude. In PE block's office we have one aunty which will shout at us out of nowhere. most of my friends also kena screwed. Include me. hahahah.

Tho I feel that PA block is very very old. I can see holes on the walls and the toilets, fuiyooo.. I was a few rooms away but can smell the disgusting smell already. Thankfully I'm not in PA block. My friends claims that the rooms are so spooky.

I have a finance lecturer who cannot speak english very well. I had hard time digesting what she's talking about. She spell public as pub-bic, preferred shares as peref-fe-rence shares, and paling teruk is indefinitely, she spell it as ai-definit-ly. Nobody dares to laugh though. Too nasty and wouldn't let us to sign on the attendance list. I even recorded her with mp3 players. Sounds so funny biggrin.gif sweat.gif

My general maths lecturer spell possible as PASSible, infinite as in-fy-night. sweat.gif

Yeah, some lecturer's english are not that good, but we don't pick on them. We just laugh silently between each others. Quite harsh tho. sweat.gif But they know what they're teaching lah.

I have another general maths lecturer, she's doing Phd now. She NEVER writes on the board, and show slides only. Same thing during tutorials. Imagine teaching maths but don't write and just explain according to the slides. Many people died on the spot too. Hahahaha
Akane
post Apr 13 2008, 12:47 PM

1,197 posts

I cant help but to notice that most of the complaints about terrible English command are lecturers from PJ/Sungai Long. But seriously, I dont think that this is a major issue in FES because most of our lecturers are capable of speaking good English. However, still there are a minor group of lecturers who cant pronounce properly due to their nationality (yes, Taiwanese, Pakistani and an Egyptian). At least thats for my case.

71 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0293sec    0.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:09 AM