University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?
LYR
May 13 2008, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(calvinloke @ May 13 2008, 07:55 PM) I received the student's copy and the bank's copy only. Already made the payment, the banker took their copy and gave me back my copy. You mean the bank would take the university's copy as well right? Wait, I can't really be sure how many copies I had in the first place. drats. ya. the banker will take the university's copy too. you have to got 3 copies at first. however, it doesnt matter as long as you made the payment and you got your copy.
kanzakicyn
May 14 2008, 04:32 PM
can someone tell me what is the recreation fee for? I am still puzzeled about it. Am i paying rm600 for air con and water cooler??????? omg!!!!! Added on May 14, 2008, 4:34 pmQUOTE(mentos09 @ May 2 2008, 10:56 PM) if i took engineering course at utar...which campus am i going?...setapak or pj setapak.b This post has been edited by kanzakicyn: May 14 2008, 04:34 PM
shimy
May 15 2008, 03:53 AM
i heard dat UTAR only allows those who hv excellent results 2 enroll acturial science izit?
JLShenWui
May 15 2008, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(shimy @ May 15 2008, 03:53 AM) i heard dat UTAR only allows those who hv excellent results 2 enroll acturial science izit? Passing the minimum requirement would do. Whether or not you can surpass the pressure and eventually surrender and quit, that's another story.
SuN_RaE198
May 15 2008, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(JLShenWui @ May 15 2008, 01:49 PM) Passing the minimum requirement would do. Whether or not you can surpass the pressure and eventually surrender and quit, that's another story.   you are totally wrong in this. if you search around, you will find someone complaining about not being offered the course he/she wanted although he/she met the minimum requirements. they are just MINIMUM, not a guarantee of offer.
JLShenWui
May 15 2008, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(SuN_RaE198 @ May 15 2008, 06:18 PM)  you are totally wrong in this. if you search around, you will find someone complaining about not being offered the course he/she wanted although he/she met the minimum requirements. they are just MINIMUM, not a guarantee of offer.  Well it has to depend on the courses that you take. Actuarial Science is indeed a hot course. My point was you have to at least pass the minimum requirement, otherwise you don't even have to think of applying, because UTAR isn't like any other local private uni. Money alone cannot buy you a seat in the uni. Guess the standard is increasing.  I heard that enrollment to my course has increased dramatically as well. STPM no 3.0 also cannot enter already.
shimy
May 15 2008, 08:30 PM
wats de minimum requirement 2 enroll UTAR's acturial science?
SuN_RaE198
May 15 2008, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(shimy @ May 15 2008, 08:30 PM) wats de minimum requirement 2 enroll UTAR's acturial science? they do not release the minimum for each individual course, but generally the minimum is 5credits
Akane
May 15 2008, 11:42 PM
Having a minimum requirement will never ensure you getting a place in popular courses. The competition is crazy for those courses and not to forget a specific amount of places were allocated for foundation students. STPM/A-Levels/ UEC students would have to compete for those remaining places which is normally less than 50%.
kanzakicyn
May 16 2008, 12:09 AM
to ensure a seat in AS, need at least a b in mathematic subject. Like stpm, need add maths and mod math to be at least b, if stpm, maths kua. Anyhow, just make sure ur maths sub and grade are good
if not, chances are u will surrender after 1 sem
CaptWong
May 16 2008, 12:24 AM

hehe, our dai kar jeh voicing out her real life experience here~
moon yuen
May 16 2008, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(shimy @ May 15 2008, 08:30 PM) wats de minimum requirement 2 enroll UTAR's acturial science? Who said need good result to enrol Actuarial Science, my cousin foundation CGPA only 3.4, manage to get into it...
LYR
May 16 2008, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(moon yuen @ May 16 2008, 07:22 AM) Who said need good result to enrol Actuarial Science, my cousin foundation CGPA only 3.4, manage to get into it... as long as you pass the foundation (CGPA 2.0), you'll be able to enroll into the course you want. however, they're being strict to STPM applicants in which they have to get good results to enroll into the popular courses.
kanzakicyn
May 16 2008, 12:12 PM
cuz foundation they edi set a seat for u mah, tak kan when u get offer letter, they ask u go into foundation b4 the course, already offer u, u pass foundation then they say "sorry, u can get in bcuz ur not gd enough?"  kena bomb lo them but if ur from another course, transfer to AS, then maths must be good lo. Takkan u fail maths and still wanna join AS? die la.
Akane
May 17 2008, 03:08 AM
QUOTE(moon yuen @ May 16 2008, 07:22 AM) Who said need good result to enrol Actuarial Science, my cousin foundation CGPA only 3.4, manage to get into it... Foundation its a total different thing compared to STPM/A-Levels result. Foundation is a ticket straight to the specific course that they applied. A student basically will apply for a specific degree course they want to do via their SPM result. Once accepted, they will be required to do the Foundation course provided by the university. Completing the foundation (a minimum pass) will ensure them a place in the course of desire. Even with a bullshit result, as long as you pass the foundation, the university will automatically offer you a place in the course you applied to joined. This post has been edited by Akane: May 17 2008, 03:09 AM
matt85
May 17 2008, 03:11 AM
Guys, i thought the topic is about 'Why UTAR'. Why the sudden deviation ?
moon yuen
May 17 2008, 07:34 AM
QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 16 2008, 12:12 PM) cuz foundation they edi set a seat for u mah, tak kan when u get offer letter, they ask u go into foundation b4 the course, already offer u, u pass foundation then they say "sorry, u can get in bcuz ur not gd enough?"  kena bomb lo them but if ur from another course, transfer to AS, then maths must be good lo. Takkan u fail maths and still wanna join AS? die la. tHEN, NO POINT study STPM if UTAR is your First choice. Foundation course save it a lot of time & u GET the course u wan (like what u guys said)
SuN_RaE198
May 17 2008, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(moon yuen @ May 17 2008, 07:34 AM) tHEN, NO POINT study STPM if UTAR is your First choice. Foundation course save it a lot of time & u GET the course u wan (like what u guys said) well, many students are like me, we chose to study form 6 because we couldnt decide what to study after form5. rather than forcing ourselves to commit to something we might not like in the future, we bought some time by taking form6. besides the point, form6 allows you to study more, explore a wider area, since foundation is specific for the course you chose.
wayne322
May 17 2008, 01:15 PM
Wah,there are alot of utar comment thread.
Fatimus
May 17 2008, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(moon yuen @ May 17 2008, 07:34 AM) tHEN, NO POINT study STPM if UTAR is your First choice. Foundation course save it a lot of time & u GET the course u wan (like what u guys said) I beg to differ. I was an indecisive prick back in form 5. Form gave me 2 years of consideration on specific courses that I will choose, and I didn't know what the heck was quantity surveying, the course I am studying now. Even with the rumour said that the quality of STPM is dropping, STPM is still not for the pussies. And I am letting my biased anger go here, those who think that their SPM results deserve the government scholarships, try STPM to prove your worth, cowards.