University UTAR comments plz, do you have other choice?

CaptWong
post May 3 2008, 12:35 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(kajikin @ May 2 2008, 08:02 PM)
i guess in my days there is no option rather than form 6, a level is about 10k per semester, i guess you guys are lucky since, you all can take uec and jump from standard 3 to 5, i think utar/ktar is a nice place for the one who is left out in ipta application, in my days many students drop out after spm and stpm, cause they cant find a place in local university, ya u can go to uni after high sch, but my days is not practical, maybe im outdated =X
I firmly disagree on your statement about " UTAR / KTAR is a nice place for the one who is left out in IPTA application", you made UTAR sounds as if it is a second choice university and "no-choice-but-to-go-there" university, and i can rest assure you that it isn't. I have a few seniors that rejected the offer from IPTA and instead pursue their studies at UTAR.. and they are doing quite well, and they have no regrets about it.

FYI, since year 2000, there is no such thing as PTS anymore ( the test that enables one to jump from std 3 to std 5 )
rolleyes.gif
CaptWong
post May 16 2008, 12:24 AM

135 posts

hehe, our dai kar jeh voicing out her real life experience here~
CaptWong
post May 18 2008, 08:52 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(satz @ May 18 2008, 08:48 PM)
wah a girl ???

i got to know dat most of the girls there very pretty !!!

dats cool !!

so i think i should get to know you more .....  rolleyes.gif

u can add me in Yahoo messenger, my id is : satz_programmer
skype id : satz_programmer
MSN : satz_home@hotmail.com

my email address : satztg@gmail.com
wesite : www.satyaraj.com

the best post ever : http://blog.satyaraj.com/2008/04/28/school...prime-minister/
Wow! YOU!!
I tot i am supposed to be the wolf here... rclxub.gif

Hahaha, if you decide to come to UTAR, then i hereby extend my warmest welcome to you

I am january intake student, now taking foundation in science leading to mechanical engineering smile.gif
CaptWong
post May 18 2008, 09:22 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(satz @ May 18 2008, 08:59 PM)
hm... i am taking chemical i guess.....

hey captwong, wat u meant by "wolf" ???
and did u look at my post's link ??
Err... wolf means.. "wolf" lah... dunno how to explain XD
go UTAR thread in kopitiam and i bet you will understand what is "wolf"

er, your post's link, yeah i've read it, and if my interpretation skill serves me correctly, you are the student i guess? rclxms.gif
so, what are you trying to tell me here??? unsure.gif

And please take note that Chemical Engineering doesn't have much to do with Chemistry, my lecturer told us that it's 70% Physics and 30% (or less) Chemistry... IIANM, you will only learn chemistry in the first year of your degree only..
CaptWong
post May 18 2008, 09:43 PM

135 posts

I am only a first sem ( second sem ) student soon in foundation in science...

But from my researches in UTAR, the engineering courses of UTAR will have bright future i think.. If you browse through other comments about UTAR, you can see seniors commenting about the facilities and equipments in UTAR, which are up to standard..

If you ask me why do i think that engineering courses in UTAR will have bright future.. Then my answer, is again.. We have a new president whom is also the vice president of IEM and he knows alot bout engineering...

Lol, seems like i am a die hard fan of the new UTAR president, but from other lecturer's comments, this president is really quite good.. and i am confident that he will bring UTAR's engineering courses to another level..
CaptWong
post May 18 2008, 09:47 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(satz @ May 18 2008, 09:44 PM)
dat is a nice one too, bad one ?
Hmm, bad one?
I can't just "squeeze" one out for you..

But i can only say that there are good and bad lecturers in UTAR, and i think that applies to other unis too... and i'm sure that others will agree with me ...

CaptWong
post May 19 2008, 11:19 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(JLShenWui @ May 19 2008, 10:34 AM)
Good thing to know that UTAR is now working on achieving the Washington Accord, this will help boost the quality of the education and the degree in the future job market also.

The facility of the UTAR setapak campus is not as good as other renown universities, but the basic stuff are there to meet with our necessary requirements.

Whether one is a good or bad lecturer, it's no longer a major issue like it was in the secondary education. Self-accessed learning is the key to success in UTAR and other institutions as well as the job market. Do not expect spoon-feeding from the lecturer any longer and you'll have to look for more reading materials yourself. Like what CaptWong has mentioned earlier, there's no good and bad lecturer. Only good and bad students.

As for Chemical Engineering courses, I believe that every engineering courses has its own difficulty and killer subjects. It's tough. However, what you need is the will to study.
Wao! You serious?! Washington Accord!! WOW, that's a big deal, BIG BIG DEAL....
UTAR - My Choice! HAHAHAHAHA..

rclxm9.gif
CaptWong
post May 24 2008, 12:23 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 23 2008, 08:38 PM)
maybe ur talking about those in degree, i find that degree lecturers are far better in their spoken english, than foundation lecturers. The foundation lecturers, none of them have well spoken english except mr pek and mr wesley
my economics lecturer who graduated from curtin university and also my english lecturer speak good english too XD

Maths lecturer also has a good basic of english~
CaptWong
post May 29 2008, 02:47 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ May 27 2008, 11:48 PM)
kampar rent is cheep? my cousin say he pay thru his nose 4 rental?

Added on May 27, 2008, 11:56 pm

but i pay rm600+ for facilities, dun u think they shd give us something?????
About the lecturer thingy..
Yes, maybe there are a minority of them who can't speak a sentence well.. and also a minority who do not how to teach well..
But, a majority of them do speak very good english and know how to teach very well!

I'm in semester two now, and i have to say that i am very very satisfied with my new lecturers, although some of them may be quite boring sometimes, but as long as you pay attention in their class, you will have no problem understanding what they are trying to say.. If you do not understand their lessons, you can always take the initiative to ask them.. I mean, i asked questions, and you know what? I got detailed and concise explanations from those lecturers, and i am very happy with that!

Also, if you are really not satisfied with certain lecturers' way of teaching, you can always make complaints..
For example, in my first sem, most of us were very unhappy with our physics lecturer, cause we were having a very hard time understanding her lectures and she wasn't very dedicated in teaching us, so some of us made a complaint to Mr.Wesley, the head of department of foundation studies, and VOILA! we got a new physics lecturer this semester, and if i am not mistaken, actions have been taken too..

This post has been edited by CaptWong: May 29 2008, 02:49 AM
CaptWong
post May 29 2008, 05:18 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ May 29 2008, 08:03 AM)
Long time nvr show up here. Juz to increase some info.
You cant direct compare the cost living in Kampar direct to KL area, it is not proportional. A living cost for Kampar shouldn't go so far, only mean the hostel.
I saw every year, student paying extra charges for the following :
Activity and Recreation rm100
Resource Centre RM200
Development RM300
Insurance RM9

Insurance, i agree wif it since nowadays utar don't have time to take care the safety of student around PJ or Setapak, so buy you an insurance, anything happen, still got money for your parents. (Still, Utar think for the student benefit, good thing)

I have asked the office for the reason of others fee. By their explanation is like below:
Activity and Recreation : the 2 ping pong table in PD block, sharing swimming pool facilities wif KTAR, PC block sports area and some others activity held by UTAR around campus area (Does utar held any activity?)

Resource centre : You are using the computer lab and library from our school. wble also need money to operate it as well.

Development : Painting over UTAR, renovation on utar. Lift maintainance, toilet repair, air-cond service. computer lab.

So, Juz my 2cent. are you going to pay rm600 for those unreliable computers in lab? Does UTAR really make any renovation in PJ area?

After that, office direct me to phone over finance department as they can provide better explanation. We cant argue on this fees, since many people and UTAR will be telling you, if you don't want pay, then don't study here lar. So, my aim only explaining some of the weird cases in utar. Not to boycott.

One of utar lecturer (myfren), telling me that, he/she(private confidential) not really know about the resouce and activity fees. but the development fee is a donation for Kampar campus.

A organisation have thousand and millions of excuses to gaining more money. Ya, you does nid to pay for your study. But is it equivalent to what you get?

Don't aim your cannon on me, all utar defenders. I juz want to add some info. It's kinda heart pain to see all people shooting TS in TS's own forum...Haha.

For AS student, juz my 2cent again, there is two round of student kicking in around Y1S2 and Y2S2. If you check back the student record, many student accepted into actuarial science (AS) this course without really taking into consideration about the ability of the student. UTar does a good job by providing everyone to study AS since UKM and UM setting a 4.0CGPA for STPM student to join( with limited seats around 40 in UKM,UM juz open AS course last year, so i'm not sure).
What i want to mention is, in Y1S2 and Y2S2, there is alot of student around 30% change course since they unable to continue AS study (you can check the record or ask AS student to tell you truth). Why doesn't UTAR set a tighter rule to let studnet join AS, but they only accept all student although the student don;t have the qualification for AS? Reason: You will be ending change course in utar and paying more to utar. Especialy foundation student, bcoz foundation cert not really gets recognition from other UNI. Imposible for you to change to other UNI and start wif foundation again. You will mostly stay in UTAR in other subject.
Note: The case i just mention only apply to AS. Other courses don't have such a high rate in changing course.

Added on May 29, 2008, 8:13 am@reyzai
Haha. Ya, you get it right. i'm enjoy dota as well. Sad case is Milinium  Court now have bcome Mahsa College (MC change to MC) and does not accept any utar student anymore.
Not only PC many pretty. I think your utar FAM faculty also have 65% of girls population.
Next, I been working already, so i open up this thread juz to wish can telling utarian some truth that nvr shown up.

UTAR still will be choice(only one) for many people, the fees low compare others. Juz the "low" is not suppose the "low" we should get. Haha, i get confused by my "low" as well.
Ahh, don't worry bout those canons pointing at you, coz that magnitude of shootings can be regarded as handgun level only XD, haha, just kidding..

I don't know much about the fees, as i am not being charged by UTAR on those fees ( development, bla bla bla ), but if you ask me about PJ campus, i can clearly see that many things have improved in UTAR PJ campus PA block

The airconds are fixed in every room, now some are complaining that it's too cold, lol..
The damaged lights have been replaced.
All PA system in all lecture rooms are working fine now..
More PC in the Multimedia Lab are now usable..

However, i don't see any renovations in PJ campus, but i think it makes sense right? If there are renovations in PJ campus, then i think that's a serious waste of money, as we are moving to kampar campus soon, so it makes sense that those development fees are "donated" to kampar campus..

Just my two cents, and i'm not shooting smile.gif

This post has been edited by CaptWong: May 29 2008, 05:20 PM
CaptWong
post May 31 2008, 12:09 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(db07mufan @ May 30 2008, 08:50 PM)
oh dear, who is that poor physics lecturer? Miss J? Miss Y?
Miss JLPF biggrin.gif, hope you understand biggrin.gif

P/s : maths form 6 books??
CaptWong
post Jun 2 2008, 11:25 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(kanzakicyn @ Jun 2 2008, 07:20 PM)
Not really, at least now DSA will not be able to tipu me off my money anymore. After today wahahahahaha!
O_O

Wat have you done??
CaptWong
post Jun 3 2008, 04:36 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(simonyw_87 @ Jun 3 2008, 02:16 AM)
any1 got terminated before?
i juz got terminated.
HELP!
Can't help much also, since i'm only a foundation student :S

But i have seen ppl being terminated, and i think you can actually make an appeal..
But after your appeal has been granted, be sure you must not fail anymore, or else it's really game over already~

hope that helps a little XD
and good luck to u !
CaptWong
post Jun 22 2008, 03:17 PM

135 posts

sorry to interrupt, but what is HOPE??
CaptWong
post Jun 22 2008, 07:40 PM

135 posts

Oh, ok, thanks..

Wish you luck =)
CaptWong
post Jun 30 2008, 09:51 PM

135 posts

lol, can you imagine a president of a university driving a proton wira to meet other deans / presidents from other universities who drive mercs??

IMO, it's almost something impossible to get into the university at week 4. I remember asking this question and the officer replied me that they hardly accept students after week 2..

CaptWong
post Jul 7 2008, 01:24 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(mphpopular @ Jul 6 2008, 03:28 PM)
Haiz. I blame on LAN again? Since when my english so bad until i was misunderstood that i say LAN no good? I agree that LAN is a process of must for every UNI and i didn't have any voice on that.

Erm, I still waiting for the student to pass me the officer name. By now, the only info i get is the officer is a young guy around 20 - 30, is an officer of PD block G.O. at level L1. Others info, i still waiting over the student to confirm with me.
That guy said "HAS TO PUT", not "PUT".. it makes alot of difference.
Don't tell me your england is that weak to see the difference..

This post has been edited by CaptWong: Jul 7 2008, 01:24 AM
CaptWong
post Oct 26 2008, 07:31 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(santana @ Oct 25 2008, 11:21 PM)
I heard recently that if u FAIL any of ur subject...there's is no such thing as resit the exam...u need to recourse the whole subject...is this true? anyone can clarify this?
I don't know much about degree

But for foundation, from Jan 2009 intake onwards, if you fail, no more resit. You'll have to repeat the whole unit..

yeah, so i see a stricter system now...
CaptWong
post Apr 24 2010, 08:26 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Ceinwyn @ Apr 14 2010, 11:34 AM)
errr hi , can i ask a question here??

UTAR offer me degree in mechatronics engineering, but can i change the course to electronics engineering?

How to appeal??

because mechatronics engineering not approved by jpa and bem, i didnt notice when i apply.
p.s. : email and phone to UTAR no reply/busy.  hmm.gif
don worry about "not approved"...

rephrase.. it should be "not YET approved"

Every engineering course has to have final year students in order to be accredited by EAC ( Engineering Accreditation Council ). Eventually, all the engineering courses in UTAR will be accredited. I, once like you too, worried bout this problem, the course that I was worrying about that time was Mechanical Engineering, but still, I proceeded. and now, Voila! Mechanical Engineering is accredited by EAC (which means it's accredited by MQA and BEM )

Hope that helps smile.gif
CaptWong
post Apr 28 2010, 03:42 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(sabee @ Apr 27 2010, 10:10 AM)
Hi UTARians, sorry to intrude a little...wanna ask something.

I called the admissions office just now. She gave me a choice of either PJ or Kampar campus for foundation, so I guess it means PJ will be open for at least one and a half years more? Haha.

But my main concern is the Bachelor in Architecture course - I combed through this whole forum and no word about it  blink.gif I gather it's a new course, but I would like some feedback if there was an earlier intake. If not, er, 'lucky' me.

If architecture is under FES, does this mean it'll be in KL till I graduate with a degree? =D

Thanks guys!
So far, I can see that Architecture in UTAR is doing pretty well.... I envy those architecture students alot! They have their own customized room. They attend class there, they do everything there, and from my friends, they told me that the lecturers are all very qualified architecture who carries the title "Ar." Not really very sure about the details though, as i'm from the engineering field.

But so far, I can see that the Architecture students are really enjoying their course smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0371sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:00 AM