Working in the US!, for all those currently working there!

rsritharan
post Oct 1 2013, 08:15 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(tgrrr @ Aug 6 2013, 09:21 AM)
If you found other employers before resigning, your new prospective employers can kick off H-1B transfer process (they need to pay all the fees). If it's successful, you can then resign and transfer over; no need to return to home country. The transfer is also easier to obtain since you don't need to compete for a quota slot again, plus you don't have to notify your current employer to kick off the transfer process.

If however you choose to resign without a new job ready, then you will be out of status and you'll likely need to return home. I've read there are past cases where people who've been laid off finding a job a month or more later and still being able to continue, but it's all in the grey area.
Working on H1B visa sucks big time!!! I had H1B for 9 years - got extended after 6 years since my green card was pending. Finally got my green card like 6 years ago.

Personally, if you have a stable job in Malaysia, just stay in Malaysia, there is job security there.

Current US economy is so volatile! No job security at all, company can just let you go without severance pay - as a matter of fact, they don't need to give a reason to terminate your employment. They call it employment at WILL, you can also quit without giving notice - more like just walk away from a job if you have a crappy boss!

Income wise - you need to make at least $100 K in order to live comfortably .. again tax is pain.. the more you earn the more you pay ! if you are making 100K plus in California - that's average salary and you would pay like 40 % tax.

If you are in the technology sector ( it's easy to find jobs here - then again you got to be good, technically strong! - managers find it hard to land a new job - and technical guys get better pay than managers! I'm a technical guy and I jump job almost every 6 months to 12 months )

rsritharan
post Oct 2 2013, 09:08 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Oct 2 2013, 10:55 AM)
Do you need reading glass??? Didn't he said ...easy to find job and he is changing job every 6 to 12 months???
Since the guy whine about high taxation, no job security and volatile economy, why didn't you lambaste him and ask him to balik kampong??? selective criticism???
- Easy to find job - if you have the green card - no visa changing issues! - provided you are good at what you do!
- I'm not whining about high taxation, just everyone needs to be aware about taxes in the states.
- I'm not interested to balik kampung since I have established myself here after so many years of struggling! Plus, Malaysian companies can't
afford to match my salary requirements!

All I'm saying is that if you are a student, it's ok to come - get a degree and blend in the economy and struggle to make it!

If you are a family man, think twice before choosing a career in America, there are a lot of suprises!

rsritharan
post Oct 3 2013, 08:02 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Cinevision @ Oct 3 2013, 01:54 AM)
Interesting perspective about the current state of U.S. economy. As you have described the nature of your employment turnover rate, I assume you are working as a contractor. Are you working for an agency which sends you out to various assignments? If yes, are there including any medical & 401k benefits?
Yes - typical independent contractor Usually most agencies gives crappy medical benefits without 401 matching - again depends on how lucky you are!

Decent companies - i.e. Accenture, cap gemini - gives you excellent benefits & 401K matching ( match every dollar up to 10 %
of your paycheck for every year ) BUT - you get a crappy salary ( $100 - 120 K / year if you are senior - you work like a dog coz you are full time with them! )

Agencies - gives you no benefits - no 401 K -BUT - you get decent hourly rate - $70 - $120 / hr ( $140 K - $240 / year ) -
Depending on how you negotiate the deal - you can clock in over time and get paid more! So, if you buy your own benefits - you would spend $15K / year

You just have to do the math to see where you can fit and blend in.

Again, contract assignments can be terminated any time ( due to budget issues or if you suck at it - they will cut you lose first! )

Like I said, you are talented in IT world, you can make the money! People wear multiple hats here - can program multiple languages, databases, up to date with cutting edge technology and so forth.

I hope it helps!

rsritharan
post Oct 4 2013, 01:46 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Cinevision @ Oct 3 2013, 10:15 PM)
Thanks for the detail explanation, rsritharan.
Let say if I work for an agency and they don't provide medical benefits. Using your estimate of $15k/year medical insurance which comes out to about $1250 a month. Is that for a single or family coverage? Are there any deductibles before the insurance coverage started to kick in? Sorry for the lengthy questions.
Family coverage - You want to keep the best coverage - medical is expensive - every insurance has it's own set of deductible you choose to pay!.
If you pay more the for the premium, your deductible is cheaper.

my policy - $250 deductible per year, max out of pocket expense is 3000 a year ( meaning, once you pay 3000 a year, the insurance company can't bill you for any services rendered )

Are you planning to move to america?

rsritharan
post Oct 4 2013, 10:53 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Cinevision @ Oct 4 2013, 08:11 AM)
Not me but my sister and her family are moving there. My brother-in-law has families in the states who are sponsoring them for GC.
Ask them to do the math properly.. i know a lot people regret moving to states coz..they don't save anything end of the day!
Just be careful.
rsritharan
post Oct 5 2013, 03:41 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(tax11 @ Oct 5 2013, 03:20 AM)
Not sure where you heard about Accenture 401k 10% matching, but last time I heard (applied and offered a position 2 months ago) it was only 6%. Just wanted to point that out. However, salary range is accurate.
I was guessing 10% match for it. Working for accenture suck too.
rsritharan
post Oct 5 2013, 04:20 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(tax11 @ Oct 5 2013, 03:49 AM)
Which is why I didnt accept, despite the "pretty good" 401k matching program. R u out in the west?
I'm in Atlanta -
rsritharan
post Oct 7 2013, 08:22 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Oct 5 2013, 08:06 PM)
You're already doing pretty well if you can save $4k after living expenses, you're only spending $2k a month? Excellent! Even with no kids I couldn't save that much on a similar salary in NYC, rent and utilities alone was $1500 but I certainly enjoyed my life there. biggrin.gif
That is great!!!! I wish I can do that!!! I burn $4.5K easily - family of 4 ( kids are 2 & 3 years old )

0.0221sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:31 AM