17 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Working in the US!, for all those currently working there!

ibmsege
post May 10 2008, 02:53 PM

182 posts

[quote=Munny,May 10 2008, 02:23 PM]
[quote=ibmsege,May 10 2008, 12:28 PM]
Munny, better think it far k? what if you been caught? next time when u apply for HIB u might not able to pass the background screening.. do you think that is worth by trade off your future prospect just to earn $10/hour? Why don't u get a on-campus job which is more useful on your field of studying and u can write that into your resume if u r hit it right. can you write in your resume in future that u wash plate? But i know the US senate is going to pass the new immigration bill which will allow foreign student to do offcampus job in future...

Added on May 10, 2008, 11:33 am

Job on campus does not feed me, I am working to pay my tuition and daily expenses. I am PROUD to say my parents DID NOT send a penny to fund my degree here......I told you I got paid cash here, my name is not written on the bill, it's sign by the Treasury Secretary , not me. by the way, I do no even have a Social Security number, who's gonna get me?
by the way, on campus job is stupid and you do not learn about REAL american society. if you are working outside in the office, you get to see a lot more....Medical is a huge field, I am dealing with doctors, patients, drug companies rep, research request, pharmacist, ...... This is real knowledge,
btw, i'm in health science.
I ain't trying to be cocky here, but they is more than one way to skin a cat, choose how to live your life.

[/quote]

Yup, i agree theres lotz way to skin a cat, but provided according to the rule and regulation. You may be lucky and smart enuff not being caught... but can u be that lucky forever? My exp in semiconductor industry, do tell me that never take things for granted, 1 very small mistake might ruin everything.. and i think should be the same for other industry... BTW, don't say working on campus job is stupid.. job on campus doesn't feed u? don't u know if you work on campus for at least 10hours/week your tuition fee is waived. i worked in industry and in campus b4.. real knowledge is everywhere.. else some one won't leave the industry and return to school for nothing... its all depend on your wisdom to exp it...

Munny
post May 10 2008, 03:42 PM

24 posts

Dear Mr. IBMSEGE,

"don't u know if you work on campus for at least 10hours/week your tuition fee is waived."
Sorry, not my case. Trust me, if I would have convince myself to get an on campus job, I'm starved to death by now.
Do not lecture me here, this topic is to ENCOURAGE people to come to USA to work, don't scare people off....
Call me when you come from Tennessee, I will take you around, experience NYC like a local, ABSOLUTELY no charge.
Btw, i never take things for granted. every single dime i earned here is thru sweat and toil,
I might as well be a prostitute or get a sugar daddy if i need fast money, temptation is everywhere...

Very Truly Yours,
Munny

ibmsege
post May 10 2008, 11:22 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(Munny @ May 10 2008, 03:42 PM)
Dear Mr. IBMSEGE,

"don't u know if you work on campus for at least 10hours/week your tuition fee is waived."
Sorry, not my case. Trust me, if I would have convince myself to get an on campus job, I'm starved to death by now.
Do not lecture me here, this topic is to ENCOURAGE people to come to USA to work, don't scare people off....
Call me when you come from Tennessee, I will take you around, experience NYC like a local, ABSOLUTELY no charge.
Btw, i never take things for granted. every single dime i earned here is thru sweat and toil,
I might as well be a prostitute or get a sugar daddy if i need fast money, temptation is everywhere...

Very Truly Yours,
Munny
sure not... give me your cell number.. i will call you... k.. just an advice... you decide your future...

dreamer101
post May 11 2008, 01:11 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Munny @ May 10 2008, 03:42 PM)
Dear Mr. IBMSEGE,

Very Truly Yours,
Munny
Munny,

I do not know about NY or NY state. But, in Texas, if you work on campus, you pay in-state tuition as opposed to out-of-state or international tuition. That translate into a huge discount.

<<this topic is to ENCOURAGE people to come to USA to work, don't scare people off..>>

No, I do not think so. People should have a REALISTIC view of what it takes to survive in USA. I do not encourage people to come to USA and work unless they are WILLING to work VERY VERY HARD. Competition is VERY TOUGH in USA and cost of living is VERY HIGH.

Dreamer
Munny
post May 11 2008, 03:00 AM

24 posts

Everyone, come to the States, if you think you have what it takes to successful in life!
You will be transformed.
You learned most when you suffered dearest!
For those who read my posts, keep in mind that I did what I preached.
You will never know what holds for you here......
DEFINITELY better than staying in Kampung Melayu.

ibmsege
post May 11 2008, 03:38 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(Munny @ May 11 2008, 03:00 AM)
Everyone, come to the States, if you think you have what it takes to successful in life!
You will be transformed.
You learned most when you suffered dearest!
For those who read my posts, keep in mind that I did what I preached.
You will never know what holds for you here......
DEFINITELY better than staying in Kampung Melayu.
i think nomatter where u stay, there is a fortune for u no matter in US? kampong melayu? or kampong chinaman..hehe .... btw, working in US is no more as attractive as few years ago... in terms of compensation, lotz of places in asia is almost on par compare to US... What i refer here is proffesional job... if u talk about hourly pay job, asia is still bad... so just go ahead and sharpen your skill, you will be highly demand everywhere..

Added on May 11, 2008, 3:43 am
QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 11 2008, 01:11 AM)
Munny,

I do not know about NY or NY state.  But, in Texas, if you work on campus, you pay in-state tuition as opposed to out-of-state or international tuition.  That translate into a huge discount.

<<this topic is to ENCOURAGE people to come to USA to work, don't scare people off..>>

No, I do not think so.  People should have a REALISTIC view of what it takes to survive in USA.  I do not encourage people to come to USA and work unless they are WILLING to work VERY VERY HARD.  Competition is VERY TOUGH in USA and cost of living is VERY HIGH.

Dreamer
yup, dreamer..agree with u.. maybe i already an old man... i not encourage ppl to work illegally regardless of where u r.. as it might ruin your future prospect... ppl will honor you of being work so hard tru a proper channel...

This post has been edited by ibmsege: May 11 2008, 03:43 AM
Munny
post May 11 2008, 04:59 AM

24 posts

"I not encourage ppl to work illegally regardless of where u r"

Gimme a break, I guess you comes from a rich family?
"The son of a Hungary immigrant is not as HUNGRY as an immigrant" from NY Times on George Soros's son.
Come to a foreign land, start a fresh, no past beholding you, only future awaits you........

dreamer101
post May 11 2008, 05:15 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(ibmsege @ May 11 2008, 03:38 AM)
i think nomatter where u stay, there is a fortune for u no matter in US? kampong melayu? or kampong chinaman..hehe .... btw, working in US is no more as attractive as few years ago... in terms of compensation, lotz of places in asia is almost on par compare to US... What i refer here is proffesional job... if u talk about hourly pay job, asia is still bad... so just go ahead and sharpen your skill, you will be highly demand everywhere..

Added on May 11, 2008, 3:43 am

yup, dreamer..agree with u.. maybe i already an old man... i not encourage ppl to work  illegally regardless of where u r.. as it might ruin your future prospect... ppl will honor you of being work so hard tru a proper channel...
ibmsege,

<<i think nomatter where u stay, there is a fortune for u no matter in US?>>

Not necessary true. Some people has MORE opportunity in USA and others in Malaysia. It is HIGHLY dependent on individual circumstances.

QUOTE(Munny @ May 11 2008, 04:59 AM)

"The son of a Hungary immigrant is not as HUNGRY as an immigrant" from NY Times on George Soros's son.
Come to a foreign land, start a fresh, no past beholding you, only future awaits you........
Munny,

That is HIS opinion. I am NEUTRAL on this. BTW, recently, I have known people deported due to working illegally in restaurant. That is in Texas. So, be careful.

<<"I not encourage ppl to work illegally regardless of where u r">>

I have been there and done that. The stress of working in USA without a PR is HIGH. Even on a working visa, you do not know whether you can get a PR in the end. It took me 10 years to get my US PR. And, it is harder now.

Dreamer
Munny
post May 11 2008, 05:45 AM

24 posts

"That is HIS opinion. I am NEUTRAL on this. BTW, recently, I have known people deported due to working illegally in restaurant. That is in Texas. So, be careful." The stress of working in USA without a PR is HIGH"

Dear Mr. Dreamer,
You are right indeed. That's one reason NY is the BEST place to be, don't go to Texas just because one can get discount on tuition by working 10 hours on campus, come to NY because you can live free like a bird without fear of deportation and be in the greatest city in the world~ ! The most dangerous place is also the safest place. Terrorist is not scary, not finding a job is!
Many Fujianese people from China came here. One should really learn from them, PENNILESS YET FEARLESS.
Life can take you anywhere, you never know. I am a professional student = a professional worker + full time student.
The bottomline is, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Freedom of Speech! rclxms.gif

Very Truly Yours,
Munny

dreamer101
post May 11 2008, 06:16 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Munny @ May 11 2008, 05:45 AM)
"That is HIS opinion.  I am NEUTRAL on this.  BTW, recently, I have known people deported due to working illegally in restaurant.  That is in Texas.  So, be careful." The stress of working in USA without a PR is HIGH"

Dear Mr. Dreamer,
You are right indeed. That's one reason NY is the BEST place to be, don't go to Texas just because one can get discount on tuition by working 10 hours on campus, come to NY because you can live free like a bird without fear of deportation and be in the greatest city in the world~ ! The most dangerous place is also the safest place. Terrorist is not scary, not finding a job is!
Many Fujianese people from China came here. One should really learn from them, PENNILESS YET FEARLESS.
Life can take you anywhere, you never know. I am a professional student = a professional worker + full time student.
The bottomline is, everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Freedom of Speech! rclxms.gif

Very Truly Yours,
Munny
Munny,

To each its own. If a person is working on campus 20 hours per week and enjoy 90% discount on tuition, the person can go to college LEGALLY and fully paid. The person has NOTHING to worry from the immigration. He/she is fully legal.

Those cases that I know is because they choose NOT to study and got lazy.

Dreamer

deodorant
post May 11 2008, 07:30 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(ibmsege)
don't u know if you work on campus for at least 10hours/week your tuition fee is waived.

QUOTE(dreamer101)
I do not know about NY or NY state.  But, in Texas, if you work on campus, you pay in-state tuition as opposed to out-of-state or international tuition.  T

Definitely not the case in NYS -- I went to one of the State Uni's of NY, it's impossible for Munny to fund himself fully without working off-campus or doing some sort of home business (I funded myself by delivering Chinese food and trading on eBay).

I think you guys are overreacting anyway. Short of packing up his bags and moving to Texas, if Munny has no other source of funding then he has no choice. What's the use giving him a lecture on that? Besides, the risk of getting caught is so minimal, as long as you look/talk/act like an ABC, 99% of cops will leave you alone. Hell, before 9/11 I even went with my buddies into Canada using only my NYS Drivers' Licence.
ibmsege
post May 11 2008, 07:52 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 11 2008, 05:15 AM)

Not necessary true.  Some people has MORE opportunity in USA and others in Malaysia.  It is HIGHLY dependent on individual circumstances.

Dreamer
yup, for me here r more opportunity than in malaysia. but it can be the other way for some ppl..as u say HIGHLY dependent on individual circumstances

Added on May 11, 2008, 7:56 am
QUOTE(Munny @ May 11 2008, 04:59 AM)

nope, i'm from a normal family.. ok then..no big deal.. i don't wish to make this become so hot.. but i thought by working oncampus at least 10hours/week..u can get tuition fee waived for all the places in US... then maybe i'm wrong.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ibmsege: May 11 2008, 07:56 AM
dreamer101
post May 11 2008, 08:38 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(ibmsege @ May 11 2008, 07:52 AM)
yup, for me here r more opportunity than in malaysia. but it can be the other way for some ppl..as u say HIGHLY dependent on individual circumstances

Added on May 11, 2008, 7:56 am

nope, i'm from a normal family.. ok then..no big deal.. i don't wish to make this become so hot.. but i thought by working oncampus at least 10hours/week..u can get tuition fee waived for all the places in US... then maybe i'm wrong..  tongue.gif
ibmsege,

Your family MIGHT be normal. But, you are NOT normal.

Only 0.000....% of people in the world get a Phd in Engineering.

<<but i thought by working oncampus at least 10hours/week..u can get tuition fee waived for all the places in US... then maybe i'm wrong.. tongue.gif>>

You may not know this. In USA, the rule for universities in EACH individual state is different. It is a FEDERAL government system.

I guess you did not get your bachelor degree in USA. Class in political science is mandatory for ALL undergraduates in USA.

Dreamer

ibmsege
post May 11 2008, 09:41 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 11 2008, 08:38 AM)
ibmsege,

Your family MIGHT be normal.  But, you are NOT normal.

Only 0.000....% of people in the world get a Phd in Engineering.

<<but i thought by working oncampus at least 10hours/week..u can get tuition fee waived for all the places in US... then maybe i'm wrong..  tongue.gif>>

You may not know this.  In USA, the rule for universities in EACH individual state is different.  It is a FEDERAL government system.

I guess you did not get your bachelor degree in USA.  Class in political science is mandatory for ALL undergraduates in USA.

Dreamer
so u mean i'm nerd?? biggrin.gif haha,,, maybe... there got to be someone to complete the social roles rite.. but engineer here can earn big money by doing technology transfer... that is the opportunity here and i aim on it.

yup, my bachelor degree in malaysia. so dreamer, what is your professional?

This post has been edited by ibmsege: May 11 2008, 10:24 AM
Munny
post May 11 2008, 09:57 AM

24 posts

"Besides, the risk of getting caught is so minimal, as long as you look/talk/act like an ABC, 99% of cops will leave you alone. "
That's so Street Smart, I like it!

"it's impossible for Munny to fund himself fully without working off-campus"
Btw, I'm a female, although I think I can grow a d*** myself for being so tough....minded! tongue.gif
dreamer101
post May 11 2008, 10:57 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(ibmsege @ May 11 2008, 09:41 AM)
so u mean i'm nerd?? biggrin.gif  haha,,, maybe... there got to be someone to complete the social roles rite.. but engineer here can earn big money by doing technology transfer... that is the opportunity here and i aim on it.

yup, my bachelor degree in malaysia. so dreamer, what is your professional?
ibmsege,

<<so dreamer, what is your professional?>>

The English standard in Malaysia is REALLY going down hill. It should what is my profession.

At this moment, I am an engineer. I had 10 different jobs across 6 different companies over 20+ years.

<<but engineer here can earn big money by doing technology transfer>>

What is BIG money?? I know people that earn millions in salary and bonus every year. Is that big money?? Or, like Howard Eisner of Disney, he earn one billion in salary and bonus in one year.

Just be the best that you can be and the money will come.

Dreamer
SUSSeLrAhC
post May 11 2008, 11:04 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

i read through all the post you guys made and i come to the conclusion that both of you guys are correct... although munny is working so called illegally... it is not a crime... she needs $$$ and i would say that's a very good way to survive and enjoy life... much better than msia XD

as for ibmsege... what he says is also true... i bet he's earning more than 60k per annum... so he's enjoying it there XD

btw, can you guys post you location and job title? so we can get together if one day god allows us to XD
dreamer101
post May 11 2008, 11:04 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Munny @ May 11 2008, 09:57 AM)
"Besides, the risk of getting caught is so minimal, as long as you look/talk/act like an ABC, 99% of cops will leave you alone. "
That's so Street Smart, I like it!

"it's impossible for Munny to fund himself fully without working off-campus"
Btw, I'm a female, although I think I can grow a d*** myself for being so tough....minded!  tongue.gif
Munny,

<<"Besides, the risk of getting caught is so minimal, as long as you look/talk/act like an ABC, 99% of cops will leave you alone. ">>

I have a niece that has the Malaysian BAD habit of not fasten seat belt in a car. She died in a car crash right after she graduated from USA because she DID NOT fasten her seat belt. Risk might be minimal but it only need to happen once to you. So, just be careful.

Anyhow, in the worst case, you will just be deported. It is NOT the end of the world.

Dreamer
SUSSeLrAhC
post May 11 2008, 11:08 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ May 11 2008, 11:04 AM)
Munny,

<<"Besides, the risk of getting caught is so minimal, as long as you look/talk/act like an ABC, 99% of cops will leave you alone. ">>

I have a niece that has the Malaysian BAD habit of not fasten seat belt in a car.  She died in a car crash right after she graduated from USA because she DID NOT fasten her seat belt.  Risk might be minimal but it only need to happen  once to you.  So, just be careful.

Anyhow, in the worst case, you will just be deported.  It is NOT the end of the world.

Dreamer
dont play with american muscle cars... lol.. so far i only manage a sunny there... sigh

dreamer101.. care 2 share your profile?

neway... in california there're law protecting illegals... the gov there are being sued by illegals that're being deported... unless you're involved with criminal activities... any arrest will be counted as discriminatory...lol
Munny
post May 11 2008, 03:19 PM

24 posts

Everybody calm down, please.....
In order to work here, the first criteria is that you MUST LOVE MONEY very very much....
and have the DESIRE to make more money......
I have no social life on weekends....as for today (saturday) I worked from 1pm this morning to 2 am now.
13 Hours X $12 @ hour = $ 156 for a day.
p/s I got a raise.
I will also work from 9.30am to 6.30pm on Sunday, sometimes, after work, I babysit .
especially when the weather turns warms and lotsa party going on...
Believe it or not, babysitting pays $16 an hour or at least that's what I got.
Chinese NY eve when people is having dinner together, I was waitressing for a catering party.
That's a lot of sacrifice, but the satisfaction is huge too........You will see the difference.
I am a junior right now, hopefully another year I will wrap up with my study and put all these behind me....

17 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0214sec    1.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:42 PM