Im planning to buy an iPhone this friday, but im wondering if it comes to malaysia would it be cheaper than buying it now..Im buying a 16GB iphone for 2.6k is it worth it..?
iPhone pricing
Mar 31 2008, 12:51 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
35 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Im planning to buy an iPhone this friday, but im wondering if it comes to malaysia would it be cheaper than buying it now..Im buying a 16GB iphone for 2.6k is it worth it..?
Mar 31 2008, 12:53 PM
687 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
iPhones from US apple retail shop
8gb = 400USD 16gb = 500USD if you do a convert with the current currency, it's roughly 3.2 (giving them some more bonus) So it's about 1600RM. essentially you're paying an extra 1k for the iPhone. |
Mar 31 2008, 12:57 PM
83 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
woha u buy from which shop ???
Mar 31 2008, 01:03 PM
1,651 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(xanderdemon @ Mar 31 2008, 12:51 PM) at the garage sales thread u can already get a 16GB iPhone around RM2150QUOTE(Sylpheed @ Mar 31 2008, 12:53 PM) if you do a convert with the current currency, it's roughly 3.2 (giving them some more bonus) So it's about 1600RM. the price itself is not inclusive of tax when u buy it at the Apple Store. and not inclusive of the cost bringing it here (custom, sirim, delivery, etc etc). |
Mar 31 2008, 03:24 PM
1,061 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
kasi smuggle balik lor.. hahahahahahaha
Mar 31 2008, 06:13 PM
9 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: PJ, Selangor, MALAYSIA |
Bought a Iphone 16GB 1.1.4 from a Lelonger. RM2150. Good Deal.
PM me for contact no. Added on March 31, 2008, 6:14 pmAnd Iphone 8GB 1.1.4 for RM1750. This post has been edited by mohdone: Mar 31 2008, 06:14 PM |
Mar 31 2008, 06:44 PM
439 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Subang Jaya |
Mar 31 2008, 07:33 PM
1,036 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Moon |
For example 32GB itouch now is selling the same price as 16GB iphone so when iphone release in Malaysia then it'll cost around 2k
Mar 31 2008, 09:42 PM
779 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(Moonflown @ Mar 31 2008, 07:33 PM) For example 32GB itouch now is selling the same price as 16GB iphone so when iphone release in Malaysia then it'll cost around 2k Personally I don't see the point in getting the touch. Why pay so much for what is essentially a dumbed down iPhone? Unless you desperately want that extra storage I say just get the iPhone.I doubt the iPhone will make it to malaysia anytime soon and if it does, if there is no carrier subsidy its gonna cost around 3k I feel. So yeah hehe.. |
Apr 1 2008, 02:15 AM
86 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
good deal ! i got mine at 1780 thru LYN dealer. Trustable and superb sales after service. Better than alot of handphone dealers. Thanks LYN.
Apr 1 2008, 08:59 AM
my advice is just wait for Singapore to carry the iPhone 3G. It's coming out this summer and SG will probably have it in sept.
Apr 1 2008, 09:25 AM
Apr 1 2008, 09:32 AM
388 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: ☐ Singapork ☐ Tongsan ☐ Indon ☑ Malingsia |
QUOTE(Sylpheed @ Apr 1 2008, 08:59 AM) my advice is just wait for Singapore to carry the iPhone 3G. It's coming out this summer and SG will probably have it in sept. I really doubt SG would be the 1st among all Asia countries to get the iPhone. It has been debated before and the smartest move for Apple would be releasing the iPhones either in China/HongKong, Japan or those in the iTunes list rather than countries like Singapore or Malaysia based on their current marketing strategy. |
Apr 1 2008, 10:05 AM
4,506 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(Vor @ Apr 1 2008, 09:32 AM) I really doubt SG would be the 1st among all Asia countries to get the iPhone. It has been debated before and the smartest move for Apple would be releasing the iPhones either in China/HongKong, Japan or those in the iTunes list rather than countries like Singapore or Malaysia based on their current marketing strategy. Yep. Hong Kong first i would say. China? I doubt it |
Apr 1 2008, 10:13 AM
Apr 1 2008, 02:50 PM
682 posts Joined: May 2007 From: from UBRS to Cold Northerand its a long journey |
QUOTE(Vor @ Apr 1 2008, 10:13 AM) Vor nice skin he he he which one ure using? or u made on your own?Anyway i dont think Msia iphone for 16G would be cheaper than RM3k as the one u bought in US is partially subsidised by AT & T Unless as said Umobile is in talk with Apple to bring the phone ere well u might get cheaper than 3k yet u have to sign up with Umobile |
Apr 1 2008, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(Corvinux @ Apr 1 2008, 02:50 PM) Vor nice skin he he he which one ure using? or u made on your own? I am not using any of them at the moment but planning to get either the 1st or 2nd one Anyway i dont think Msia iphone for 16G would be cheaper than RM3k as the one u bought in US is partially subsidised by AT & T Unless as said Umobile is in talk with Apple to bring the phone ere well u might get cheaper than 3k yet u have to sign up with Umobile |
Apr 1 2008, 10:38 PM
QUOTE(Corvinux @ Apr 1 2008, 02:50 PM) Vor nice skin he he he which one ure using? or u made on your own? Are you sure it's subsidized? It is not. Apple and AT&T are just doing profit sharing concept which iPhone profits will be taken totally by Apple.Anyway i dont think Msia iphone for 16G would be cheaper than RM3k as the one u bought in US is partially subsidised by AT & T Unless as said Umobile is in talk with Apple to bring the phone ere well u might get cheaper than 3k yet u have to sign up with Umobile |
Apr 1 2008, 11:44 PM
3,466 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
i think none of the local telco wants to pair up with Apple now seeing so much iPhone flooded in market..
if they were to pair with apple, they would have to subsidize the phone and knowing malaysian, all will just buy the phone but using other carrier provider.... it's something like malaysian government subsidize the petrol/rice but being smuggled/used by singaporean/thailand eventually the government loosing money |
Apr 1 2008, 11:51 PM
2,230 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: App Store |
so if its true iPhone will launch in Malaysia, would the price higher or chepaer than right now?
Apr 1 2008, 11:57 PM
most probably it will be higher. and if it does come here unsubsidized, it will be lot more higher.
Apr 2 2008, 02:16 AM
8 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
does anyone know how much will it cost to buy the iphone 16gb in US plus the tax??does we need to register and sign the contract for at&t when we purchase the iphone in US??if yes,then how am i suppose to ask my friend from US to buy it for me??
This post has been edited by soccernet.com: Apr 2 2008, 02:17 AM |
Apr 2 2008, 02:24 AM
QUOTE(soccernet.com @ Apr 2 2008, 02:16 AM) depends on which state u r purchasing itQUOTE(soccernet.com @ Apr 2 2008, 02:16 AM) no need. but maybe u'll be asked for it especially if u r buying it at AT&T. but then u can come up with any excuse. or just buy at the Apple Store or Apple Online Store.This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Apr 2 2008, 02:26 AM |
Apr 2 2008, 07:42 AM
682 posts Joined: May 2007 From: from UBRS to Cold Northerand its a long journey |
QUOTE(Moonflown @ Apr 1 2008, 10:38 PM) Are you sure it's subsidized? It is not. Apple and AT&T are just doing profit sharing concept which iPhone profits will be taken totally by Apple. they are actually subsidized by AT&T in hoping in return they get lots of customers using their line. And yes Apple get the big chunks..I think iPhone will be much more expensive...same like ipod..locally.. |
Apr 2 2008, 09:20 AM
769 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Hotel California |
QUOTE(soccernet.com @ Apr 2 2008, 02:16 AM) does anyone know how much will it cost to buy the iphone 16gb in US plus the tax??does we need to register and sign the contract for at&t when we purchase the iphone in US??if yes,then how am i suppose to ask my friend from US to buy it for me?? Bro, got mine for USD499 + 8.25% sales tax from LA, California. Convert to RM at 3.20 = RM1,728.51, the difference is that I got somebody to buy it and bring it back for me, so that's my total costs. If not, then you have to factor in the courier cost, insurance, clearance from Kastam, Sirim, etc, etc if you get to send via courier. If the total cost exceed RM2K, might as well get it from LYN garage sale, about 21XX. |
Apr 2 2008, 09:32 AM
64 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
iphone price will gonna drop this May 2008 because of new 3G version released. On Jan 2009, the 3rd version will going to release at that time and the price is about USD399.
Google search it... Thanks... |
Apr 2 2008, 11:56 AM
779 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(Moonflown @ Apr 1 2008, 10:38 PM) Are you sure it's subsidized? It is not. Apple and AT&T are just doing profit sharing concept which iPhone profits will be taken totally by Apple. It's definitely subsidized. In Germany, iPhone is unsubsidized due to the trade laws. It goes for more than 3k ringgit. And besides, would anyone really sign a contract for an unsubsidized phone in the US?Added on April 2, 2008, 12:11 pm QUOTE(palmforest @ Apr 2 2008, 09:32 AM) iphone price will gonna drop this May 2008 because of new 3G version released. On Jan 2009, the 3rd version will going to release at that time and the price is about USD399. Haha, they're all just "analyst" predictions and speculations. No official word yet from Apple...Google search it... Thanks... This post has been edited by blackchides: Apr 2 2008, 12:11 PM |
Apr 2 2008, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(blackchides @ Apr 2 2008, 11:56 AM) It's definitely subsidized. In Germany, iPhone is unsubsidized due to the trade laws. It goes for more than 3k ringgit. And besides, would anyone really sign a contract for an unsubsidized phone in the US? question or no question, 3G iPhone will be released this summer most likely. (would be suicidal for them if they don't coz android phones are coming out early next year?)Added on April 2, 2008, 12:11 pm Haha, they're all just "analyst" predictions and speculations. No official word yet from Apple... |
Apr 2 2008, 03:46 PM
3G iPhone is almost confirmed since a company in Taiwan has successfully bid got 3G iphone production. 3rd version will only based on predictions but there's no fact about it.
Apr 2 2008, 04:00 PM
959 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Uaaaaaaa Status: Machine Coding |
QUOTE(Moonflown @ Apr 2 2008, 03:46 PM) 3G iPhone is almost confirmed since a company in Taiwan has successfully bid got 3G iphone production. 3rd version will only based on predictions but there's no fact about it. Hmm, im thinking of buying at this mid of may( since my eldest brother goes to US, so i can ask him to buy and bring back 1 phone)..if there will be a 3g iphone coming this june then i will wait until june, if not then after july i will buying ordinary iphone instead, p/s: cannot tahan see my friend using an iphone early than me...and it is irritating when she show off her iphone everyday at my face. |
Apr 2 2008, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(Sylpheed @ Apr 2 2008, 12:35 PM) until i see a real unit of android phone in market, i can't really see it as a threat to any existing mobile platform yet. maybe the functions inside the OS are plausible, but then the success of the phones heavily depends on the manufacturers and telcos that develop and market them (considering that telcos also play their role in open handset alliance). the package is really important. but seeing the mobile phone market now are full with the ala-iPhone design (or some can say ala-Prada) around this year, i still can't see if mobile phones manufacturers will come up with a groundbreaking package on android platform in near time. yup, until i see a unit of Android phone in the market.QUOTE(Moonflown @ Apr 1 2008, 10:38 PM) Are you sure it's subsidized? It is not. Apple and AT&T are just doing profit sharing concept which iPhone profits will be taken totally by Apple. some report says that Apple already got some profit by selling it on the subsidized price as for now, alone without adding the revenues collected via AT&T. but the iPhone itself is not gonna priced with that amount actually. it is around RM3xxx-4xxx unsubsidized. so technically the subsidization and profit-sharing model are just the same concept.ok now just look at the iPod. how much will it cost to develop, manufacture, and market them? but how much is the price they are selling? the real cost is only a little fraction of the price tag itself. but for the iPhone to reach that kind of profit ratio, they need to share the profit with the contracted telcos. it's business. actually, RM3xxx for an unlocked iPhone is not that insane as an Apple products. just compare an iPod with other portable media player in the market. or compare the macbooks with other laptops. btw, the price of other phones in the market is not that cheap though (either convergence phone or smart phone). just think that the USD399 or USD499 price of the subsidized iPhone as our opportunity to get it cheap. |
Apr 2 2008, 10:23 PM
owh by the way Apple would surely try to release the 3G phone before Chrismas..its a huge market if they do so as iPhone 3G would surely be on the list for chrismas present....so get ready guys!
Apr 9 2008, 02:22 PM
35 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
anyone interested in an iphone. plz visit our blog for more,
http://colourfullining.blogspot.com/ thanx =) |
Apr 9 2008, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(Corvinux @ Apr 2 2008, 10:23 PM) owh by the way Apple would surely try to release the 3G phone before Chrismas..its a huge market if they do so as iPhone 3G would surely be on the list for chrismas present....so get ready guys! IMHO, it will not hurt Apple to sell it long before xmas (provided that they don't have any difficulties on the supposed dateline). just look at the current iPhones here (opps, even before the 16GB version). it's still a hit on last xmas, eventhough the iPhone itself has already being in market long before. |
Apr 9 2008, 06:35 PM
There's other stuff to consider in the market right now. US economy is going down and a lot of workers are losing their jobs.
Apr 9 2008, 10:54 PM
3,466 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
QUOTE(wutsoever @ Apr 9 2008, 02:22 PM) anyone interested in an iphone. plz visit our blog for more, Market price: RM 3400http://colourfullining.blogspot.com/ thanx =) We sell: RM2700 |
Apr 9 2008, 11:02 PM
1,473 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(wutsoever @ Apr 9 2008, 02:22 PM) anyone interested in an iphone. plz visit our blog for more, huhu promotional spam http://colourfullining.blogspot.com/ thanx =) |
Apr 9 2008, 11:41 PM
Market price 3400. Those brainless seller really think that we are stupid enough to not know the market price.
Apr 11 2008, 08:33 AM
4,249 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
aah..the usual la..u c his post count..
Apr 11 2008, 09:29 AM
911 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Eboladrome |
QUOTE(wutsoever @ Apr 9 2008, 02:22 PM) anyone interested in an iphone. plz visit our blog for more, http://colourfullining.blogspot.com/ thanx =) |
Apr 11 2008, 09:45 AM
haha...better don't quote with the website link. u guys already promoting his site.
Apr 11 2008, 12:23 PM
hehe..no need his site la..our price here r dropping loo..
i tink lowest for 8gb is RM1500 |
Apr 12 2008, 12:53 AM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: Kita Boleh! |
iphone...for 8G, 16G, 32G for the latest price is how much? and where is the cheapest shop to get in?[/SIZE]
Apr 12 2008, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(malcolmx @ Apr 12 2008, 12:53 AM) iphone...for 8G, 16G, 32G for the latest price is how much? and where is the cheapest shop to get in? as for the cheaper alternative, better get from forumers here. search under the Garage Sale. u can compare prices there. mmm...btw there's still no 32GB version for iPhone. |
Apr 12 2008, 01:35 AM
1,241 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Apr 20 2008, 02:24 AM
21 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
I got my brand new 8g iPhone at only rm1300 with free screen protector and a cheap casing.
I got it though a s'pore friend, and after using it for about a week, I think I'm not interest in any other mobile phone in the market. Its owesome!!! |
Apr 20 2008, 04:27 AM
419 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: - |
there is 32gb, but not open for the public.
david beckham has a 32gb GOLD iPhone Lol, how about that |
Apr 20 2008, 09:54 AM
1,149 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Apr 20 2008, 11:01 AM
608 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(zc_squash @ Apr 20 2008, 09:54 AM) That ipod touch looks really cool but the colour is sort of like urine http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtm...nbeckham102.xml This post has been edited by scripted: Apr 20 2008, 11:02 AM |
Apr 20 2008, 12:14 PM
6,866 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(scripted @ Apr 20 2008, 11:01 AM) That ipod touch looks really cool Have you seen gold bricks? And would you think it looks like a frozen pee? but the colour is sort of like urine http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtm...nbeckham102.xml Anyways, current iPhone pricing is consider very worth to get as the second gen is pretty soon. So those who don't need 3G can get the current version of iPhone. |
Apr 20 2008, 01:53 PM
3,657 posts Joined: May 2005 |
I think he never seen a live gold brick before. He must be Gold Member from Austin Power. Hehehehehehehe. Just kidding scripted.
Apr 20 2008, 02:38 PM
Apr 22 2008, 03:51 PM
911 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Eboladrome |
![]() I didn't think that you actually missed the word "iPod" etched at the back, but it is a nice gift from his teammates. |
Apr 22 2008, 04:34 PM
haha..apparently sum ppl did miss the "IPOD"
Apr 24 2008, 03:31 AM
1,107 posts Joined: Jul 2007 From: 192.0.0.1 |
how much will the 3g i-phone be...Will it be around 2k?
Apr 24 2008, 08:14 AM
Apr 26 2008, 11:37 PM
184 posts Joined: May 2006 From: smewhEr |
Apr 27 2008, 12:45 AM
86 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(korn @ Apr 1 2008, 11:51 PM) Honestly, i think the price will be nearly the same. After adding tax, transport, hp agent profit + iphone cost. Rm1800-1900 for original. Ohh...sure more expensive coz got warranty ma.If launch, HK n Australia will launch 1st follow by Spore. M'sia market too small. |
| Change to: | 0.0328sec
5 queries
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:58 AM |