JPJ to crack down on HID and tinting by July 2008, Alert Alert

sphiroth
post May 29 2008, 02:59 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(substance @ May 29 2008, 02:54 PM)
The thing is not everyone think like you, many of them will just make noise if something happens.
True. Anyway, remember last time they wanna do all out operation against dark tint, then cancelled because PM wants they to reduce traffic accident and not just go summoned people. laugh.gif
sphiroth
post Jun 27 2008, 03:37 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ron4 @ Jun 26 2008, 11:48 PM)
I just tinted my new car last week with brand TintMaster, and cost me 700 bucks.

How many percent tinted is allowed by JPJ ?, mine if not mistaken is 68%, not very dark, still can see whom the person inside the car. According to that tinted shop, mine is JPJ compliant,

But according to JPJ here
Only 50% aa?, damn, sh** i think i kene tipu by the shop la
68% VLT still passed as its above 50% VLT. Unless your tint is 68% for the front windscreen. NO tint is 100% VLT
sphiroth
post Jun 27 2008, 03:44 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jun 27 2008, 03:39 PM)
i mean`t to say the statement about it ... well if they do approve it then good . now we sit and wait  (and kena samban laugh.gif) ) for the decision .
They should come out with a clear guideline for HID approval. It way better than halogen, and even halogen spot/fog light. thumbup.gif
sphiroth
post Jun 27 2008, 11:12 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ron4 @ Jun 27 2008, 10:35 PM)
68% on side & rear. Front not so sure, have to check first
According to the Star Online http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...3354&sec=nation
They should give 'proper' statement to avoid confusion , not like the one you quote. doh.gif laugh.gif
sphiroth
post Jun 28 2008, 01:14 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Jun 28 2008, 12:51 AM)
Friends,

The ruling for tinted is clear. As per Regulation under the Road Transport Act. windscreen must allow 70% light penetration and the others  50%. So far there is no new ruling.

Salim Parlan
Director of Enforcement
Road Transport Department
Friend, if you read properly the statement in the newspaper link thats been provided, that officer didn't mention about VLT, just percent. He says that if fully tinted=100% tinted. Thats why one of the forummer ask, if his tinted got 68% VLT, will it passed as is more than what the person in the newspaper said (no more than 50%, in other word, less than 50%).
sphiroth
post Jun 28 2008, 02:41 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ron4 @ Jun 28 2008, 02:22 PM)
sphiroth sorry, can u explain to me a bit more about VLT?. I dont know mine is what % VLT or not, when i go to the tinted shop, they introduced to me a few tinted package. What i remember the package are 40%, 50%, 68%, 75%, and 86%, so i choose 68% for the side and rear window, what i do understand is that more % means person inside feel more cold and less heat from the sun and protect accessories inside also. So what VLT is related to this package actually?

Sorry i m confused.
A clear glass has 100% VLT (visible light transmission). The confusion arise when some unprofessional tint shop (usually acc shop) didn't give a proper specification. For example, if they say their tint is 40%, that 40% is for what? If it is 40% VLT, is will not passed JPJ rules as it is less than 50% VLT. If the 40% is the light the tint block (this is an improper spec), the VLT will be 60% (100%-40%=60%) and it will passed JPJ.

THe most important factor tp reduce heat is the amount of IR (infra red) and UV (ultraviolet) it blocks. VLT will only make it looks dark.
sphiroth
post Jun 29 2008, 01:29 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ron4 @ Jun 29 2008, 01:07 PM)
Ok thank u sphiroth for ur explanation.

By the way i was wrong about my % tinted. Here is the right one from the tinted receipt. Front is 59%, Side and Back Windows is 74%.
The rules said VLT for front must be higher than 70% and other windows higher than 50%. This means that your tint doesn't comply with JPJ. doh.gif
sphiroth
post Jun 29 2008, 01:52 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(ron4 @ Jun 29 2008, 01:49 PM)
So i guess i need to remove it back and replace with the JPJ Compliant % at the same tinted shop without any charge maybe.
Mine Front windscreen also don't comply. Only 63% VLT, lower than 70%. laugh.gif
sphiroth
post Jul 1 2008, 10:31 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jul 1 2008, 10:22 AM)
Illegal or not, is one thing.
Glaring or not, is another thing.
For JPJ, only legal and illegal is the one that matters. doh.gif
sphiroth
post Jul 1 2008, 10:37 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jul 1 2008, 10:34 AM)
Eh, don't say like that. There's a case, few pages back, even stock HID comes with Civic 2.0 was caught also.
Issit true? shocking.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by sphiroth: Jul 1 2008, 10:37 AM
sphiroth
post Jul 1 2008, 12:16 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jul 1 2008, 11:02 AM)
The problem is they don't have any idea what HID is. They know lampu putih only. If they issue you summon, they'll state "Mengubahsuai lampu hadapan (lampu putih)". What can you say?
QUOTE(Ultima @ Jul 1 2008, 12:14 PM)
err so if we using hid but yellow light, can lepas meh? sweat.gif
As stated in TSP blog, the problem is not 'the HID', but 'the retrofitting'. Make me more confuse.. rclxub.gif
sphiroth
post Jul 1 2008, 09:59 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jul 1 2008, 09:05 PM)
if you read the jpj front page on the web , they said yellow and white color lamps can be used ... but it seems they never follow thier own rules .lol
They will summoned because of 'mengubahsuai lampu depan' (retrofitting). Already got mine 2 month ago.. sweat.gif
sphiroth
post Jul 2 2008, 12:17 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jul 1 2008, 11:07 PM)
Got mine last Oct from traffic police but reason is "mengubahsuai lampu depan (lampu putih)". LOL
the reason you got is the same as mine. laugh.gif
sphiroth
post Oct 13 2008, 03:08 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Azuma-kun @ Oct 13 2008, 03:04 PM)
So, i still can use the hid as long as i change to projector, bring it to sirim, jpj, puspakom etc etc to get it approve.
I don't see why need SIRIM. Maybe Puspakon or JPJ. I don't think the director knows what SIRIM jobs is. doh.gif
sphiroth
post Oct 13 2008, 03:44 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(MobyDick @ Oct 13 2008, 03:39 PM)
The real problem here is not just this HID light issue & many-many more in other more serious other non-motoring matters pertaining the policies of this country & the ppl who we theoratically vote to do the job. Like I mentioned b4, we always do not get the best person to do the job always, you will find these type of qualities weather academic or ability at the very bottom of the stack in most developing countries.
Because job promotion in civil service are mostly based on seniority. whistling.gif
sphiroth
post Oct 13 2008, 03:53 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Oct 13 2008, 03:50 PM)
and of course u forget the most important - who u know.
Hahaha.. laugh.gif And how big your cable. whistling.gif
sphiroth
post Jan 8 2009, 11:21 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(eddyann @ Jan 8 2009, 06:28 PM)
recent email reply from JPJ that i emailed to them recently. means retrofit can use as long as we get it checked for its brightness, beam and color?  smile.gif

Tuan,

Pihak JPJ tidak mengharamkan pemasangan HID secara retrofit sebaliknya
meletakkan syarat-syarat sekiranya pemasangan HID secara retrofit hendak
dilakukan.

Tuan seharusnya mendapat penjelasan yang sebenar dan selengkapnya sebelum
menuding jari ke arah JPJ.

Spesifikasi-spesikasi teknikal seperti yang dinyatakan oleh tuan termasuklah
color temperature, correcting leveling dan sebagainya telahpun diwartakan
oleh pihak JPJ di bawah Kaedah 96, Kaedah-kaedah Kenderaan Motor (Pembinaan
& Penggunaan) 1959 pada 19 November 2007.

Pihak JPJ membenarkan pemasangan HID secara retrofit sekiranya pemasangan
HID tersebut mendapat akreditasi daripada badan-badan kompeten yang
diiktiraf oleh United Nation (UN) mengikut peruntukan peraturan-peraturan
United Nation Economic Commission For Europe (UNECE). Sebagai contohnya,
pemasangan secara HID retrofit yang mendapat akreditasi daripada SIRIM
(witness test) , TUV, IDIADA dan sebagainya mengikut peruntukan-peruntukkan
yang telah diwartakan.

Bagi tujuan sistem perlaksanaan penguatkuasaan, apabila kelulusan telah
diberikan oleh badan-badan kompeten, laporan pemeriksaan (test report) yang
dikeluarkan oleh badan-badan kompeten itu tadi hendaklah dikemukakan kepada
pihak JPJ bagi tujuan pengeluaran surat kelulusan.

Sekian, Terima Kasih.

Bahagian Kejuruteraan Automotif
Ibu Pejabat JPJ
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jan 8 2009, 09:47 PM)
Refer here for Tn. Salim's personal blog. He's the director of JPJ.
There's an article inside stating that retrofitting HIDs are not allowed. I'm pretty confused as well with the reply you got from JPJ.

As far as I know, JPJ doesn't want to check our HID at all. Anyway, my situation is as follows:
I got summon from traffic police for using HID 2 years ago (Oct 2007). I argued with them that they don't have the right to summon me. They said that if I got approval from JPJ stating that my HID is factory-fitted.

1 week later after I paid my summon, I called JPJ and PUSPAKOM offices around my town. None of them offered me to go to their centre to check. Most of them said they don't have the machine to inspect my light brightness. One of them asked me to send for inspection at JPJ in next town. Without wasting much time, I sent my car for inspection. I met a few JPJ officers there. Upon hearing that I come for HID inspection voluntarily, they advised me to take out my HID to avoid future complications. I was told that I'm lucky that police summoned me. If it was JPJ, I would have been summoned and called for inspection. They even told me that they're going to start a big crackdown on HIDs next year (which is 2008). I even told them that my HID is not bright because I've changed my original crystal lamp to projector-type lamp. But still, they still rejected my claims. I guess they don't even know the function of projector lamp.

I sighed and nothing I can do. I can't stand on normal halogen because it's way too dark. HID indeed give me better vision, but I've done what I should do. I've even changed my original lamp to projector!
From what I understand, retrofitting is legal as long as its certified check by the authorized party, but (i) WHO are the authorized party and (ii) does they actually offer those service? rclxub.gif doh.gif laugh.gif

sphiroth
post Jan 13 2009, 11:29 AM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(eddyann @ Jan 13 2009, 10:42 AM)
latest reply. They have yet to come any complete certified testhouse...

Di Malaysia, SIRIM adalah satu badan yang berkelayakan untuk memberikan pengiktirafan pematuhan piawaian UNECE 48,99,99 secara “witness test” .

Untuk makluman, makmal pengujian di SIRIM masih belum siap sepenuhnya. Walaubagaimanapun , sekiranya pihak tuan dapat menjalankan ujian seperti kehendak peraturan-peraturan UNECE di makmal-makmal bebas seperti menjalankan ujian di makmal Malaysia Automotive Lighting Sdn. Bhd. (ALMA), Penang dan disaksikan oleh wakil dari SIRIM, sijil perakuan tersebut adalah diterima pakai.

Sekian, Terima Kasih.

I don't think it will be chaep as you need to used/rent these lab (and also a Sirim officer laugh.gif ) to do the test. hmm.gif
sphiroth
post Oct 1 2009, 08:16 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(Sof_600 @ Oct 1 2009, 07:34 PM)
i think all malaysian that want to use HID should migrate to indonesia....

indonesia rocks!!!
Yeah, especially yesterday whistling.gif

0.0487sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:56 PM