5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Movies Three Kingdoms: Resurrection Of The Dragon, Opening 3rd April 2008 in cinema

azfamy
post Apr 8 2008, 08:44 AM

55 posts

Dudes... i'm gonna watch this today... 12.15pm show at gsc midvalley... rclxm9.gif
mythies
post Apr 10 2008, 07:06 PM

for the trailer check my signature
azfamy
post Apr 11 2008, 09:50 AM

55 posts

*spoilers ahead*

Ookayy... i've watched it like i said... overall i'd give it 7/10... it's probably not a very good film from a neutral point of view but who cares... it has zhou yun, the three brothers, the other tiger generals (albeit only for 2 seconds each), cao cao and some of his officers... but the best of all *gasp* zhuge liang !! his intro was waaayyy coooll !! notworthy.gif

the plot differ from the novel of course but again.. what the heck... i absolutely love it when cao cao mutters his famous line... somewhere along the line "i'd rather betray the world then the world betray me", even though he was supposed to actually said that at a different time (when he butchered his uncle and the whole family). sweat.gif

btw... i really liked zilong and andy lau did a great potrayal of him... especially during his old days... but at one time in movie... zilong fought both guan yu and zhang fei to a standstill... no way man... the director overpowered him.. shakehead.gif

you don't get many movies based on the three kingdoms period... so dont waste this oppoturnity... the sound & music was pretty cool as well... so go to the cinemas instead of the cheap dvd they're selling rite now. rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by azfamy: Apr 11 2008, 09:52 AM
greyshadow
post Apr 11 2008, 03:29 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

anyway~ for those hardcore fans of three kingdom stories, and those want historically accurate movie: DON'T WATCH
you'll be end up cursing

for those who doesn't care if its historical accurate or not, or not familiar with three kingdom stories: NO HARM TO WATCH
ych
post Apr 11 2008, 10:10 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 11 2008, 03:29 PM)
anyway~ for those hardcore fans of three kingdom stories, and those want historically accurate movie: DON'T WATCH
you'll be end up cursing

for those who doesn't care if its historical accurate or not, or not familiar with three kingdom stories: NO HARM TO WATCH
i agree, this movie sux compared to romance of the three kingdoms
story has been twisted....

This post has been edited by ych: Apr 11 2008, 10:10 PM
Gravity
post Apr 12 2008, 02:05 AM

998 posts

overpowered la
but then andy lau is definitely the best person to act zilong =D
angelgemini
post Apr 12 2008, 02:19 AM

1,751 posts

go watch wit my friend, the hold movie all my friend also cursing the movie specially the chan peng onn. he cost the movie suck to the end....

as they say, if anyone who dunno three kingdoms history that may a very good movie but if u know three kingdom movie,,, it suck to end
ivanau88
post Apr 12 2008, 04:12 AM

3,777 posts

this movie sucks...it just simply embarrass zhao yun.in fact he din lost in the battle but died of illness and guan xin and zhang bao never die in the battle field as well...it simply portrays the stupidity of zhu ge liang..kinda borin also...
GongFuChau
post Apr 13 2008, 07:49 PM

Tomoyo FTW
574 posts

doh.gif I'm surprised by ppl complaining about the historical accuracy.
azfamy
post Apr 13 2008, 10:48 PM

55 posts

ivanau88.... i don't think the movie portrayed zhuge liang's stupidity... earlier in the movie... it actually showed his brilliance by winning the first battle through strategy... and he didn't mind putting his neck on the line (he offered his head in case of failure) because he was very sure it was going to rain... and he went off before the battle was over... like what sun zi said... a true strategist could predict the outcome of the battle even before fighting it (something like that). rclxms.gif

btw... yeah the two bastards weren't suppose to die in that battle but they suck anyways (in the novel). Shu were declining, it was a sad thing that those two were the best Shu could offer.
wufei
post Apr 14 2008, 07:19 AM

3,039 posts

QUOTE(GongFuChau @ Apr 13 2008, 07:49 PM)
doh.gif I'm surprised by ppl complaining about the historical accuracy.
Sorry to say, I am expecting the story as per history.

Added on April 14, 2008, 7:22 am
QUOTE(azfamy @ Apr 13 2008, 10:48 PM)
ivanau88.... i don't think the movie portrayed zhuge liang's stupidity... earlier in the movie... it actually showed his brilliance by winning the first battle through strategy... and he didn't mind putting his neck on the line (he offered his head in case of failure) because he was very sure it was going to rain... and he went off before the battle was over... like what sun zi said... a true strategist could predict the outcome  of the battle even before fighting it (something like that). rclxms.gif

btw... yeah the two bastards weren't suppose to die in that battle but they suck anyways (in the novel). Shu were declining, it was a sad thing that those two  were the best Shu could offer.
Shu was declining because of three stupid mistake made by uncle liu.

And the chang pan bo incident has made ah tou another coward. Uncle should just kill him at that time.

This post has been edited by wufei: Apr 14 2008, 07:22 AM
azfamy
post Apr 14 2008, 09:57 AM

55 posts

wufei... why do u refer liu bei as uncle?? huh.gif
aahh... i see... u must be a descendant of the hans. Or the emperor himself.
The 115th generation?? tongue.gif
greyshadow
post Apr 14 2008, 11:07 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

liu bei also known as liu hwang shu 劉皇叔mah

so aka uncle lor tongue.gif
wufei
post Apr 14 2008, 11:46 AM

3,039 posts

QUOTE(azfamy @ Apr 14 2008, 09:57 AM)
wufei... why do u refer liu bei as uncle??  huh.gif
aahh... i see... u must be a descendant of the hans. Or the emperor himself.
The 115th generation??  tongue.gif
most chinese are descendant of the Hans. Thats why we called ourselves the people of Han

You can get this from wiki.
paqralos
post Apr 14 2008, 11:48 AM

p@qY
4,476 posts

i really want to watch this movie but i dont think it's worth watching in cinema now.. so i might as well wait for the dvd eh tongue.gif
yeehs18
post Apr 14 2008, 12:45 PM

258 posts

*Spoilers Alert*

At the end when Andy Lau dies, his helmet turn into a UFO and fly Andy's soul into the unknown space. Then the a phase appear "... and his resurrection awaits..." on screen before the credits start rolling. I think Zhao Yun will be back in the part 2 with futuristic looks armed with machines guns and lasers..
korn
post Apr 14 2008, 11:52 PM

The Fault in Our Stars
2,230 posts

if i watch this movie, the only thing bcoz Maggie Q is the actor hahaha... CUte2
GongFuChau
post Apr 15 2008, 01:02 AM

Tomoyo FTW
574 posts

QUOTE(wufei @ Apr 14 2008, 07:19 AM)
Sorry to say, I am expecting the story as per history.

doh.gif Cut them some slack, this is a movie, not documentary.
-Panadol-
post Apr 15 2008, 09:52 AM

60 posts

Even if I don't know the Three Kingdoms history accurately, this movie is so-so only.

Character flits in and out of the movie too quickly to make any lasting impression. In the end, the viewer wouldn't care what happens to any of them, even to the hero!

Maggie Q is featured in the movie posters, but she only appears at the end if I remember correctly.

Added on April 15, 2008, 9:56 am
QUOTE(yeehs18 @ Apr 14 2008, 12:45 PM)
*Spoilers Alert*

At the end when Andy Lau dies, his helmet turn into a UFO and fly Andy's soul into the unknown space. Then the a phase appear "... and his resurrection awaits..." on screen before the credits start rolling. I think Zhao Yun will be back in the part 2 with futuristic looks armed with machines guns and lasers..
Yup, they should have made this into a sci-fi movie, haha!

Then you can add in some enjoyable but corny romance between Maggie Q and Andy Lau's characters also!
(like in anime, it's normal to fall in love with your bitter enemy who you desperately want to kill in the beginning)

This post has been edited by -Panadol-: Apr 15 2008, 09:56 AM
suiteng
post Apr 15 2008, 11:43 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0217sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:14 PM