Hardware Run PC with Tv how?, URGENT

TSjohnkor
post Mar 30 2008, 02:47 PM, updated 18y ago

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

HI i wana ask i wana make a HTPC but how to run the thing on my tv my tv ciplak one ! got composite and av that all!
mizivincible
post Mar 30 2008, 02:53 PM

"They'll be singing que sera sera"
1,633 posts

Unless your TV is HDTV, or LCD TV, the pixel would be very ugly display. U are able to watch movie or play game but you will have very low windows resolution.
TSjohnkor
post Mar 30 2008, 02:56 PM

4,237 posts

watch movie only la

jeremy05
post Mar 30 2008, 03:24 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(johnkor @ Mar 30 2008, 02:47 PM)
HI i wana ask i wana make a HTPC but how to run the thing on my tv my tv ciplak one ! got composite and av that all!
see your graphic card have an output to TV or not?

If got, then attach the cable to TV, then everything is done...
TSjohnkor
post Mar 30 2008, 04:38 PM

4,237 posts

got dvid and vga den got one middle thing ! duno meh ! lei geh!
babeadeline
post Mar 30 2008, 05:51 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(johnkor @ Mar 30 2008, 04:38 PM)
Round one with pins: S-video.
Rectangular with two bent edges: HDMI.
jeremy05
post Mar 31 2008, 02:15 AM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(johnkor @ Mar 30 2008, 04:38 PM)
buy a s-video to RCA (Yellow color cable), attach to your TV, then fine! Can output to TV liao...
kakarocht
post Mar 31 2008, 03:44 AM

Hibernate Time.............
3,254 posts

easy way to solve your problem is to buy TV card (pci). gd luck.
a13solut3
post Mar 31 2008, 05:03 AM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

check whether your GC have some yellow round head or not, then you will need to buy S-Video cable, if you don't have one, you might need to find a GC that have the head..
strife_personified
post Mar 31 2008, 09:39 AM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

one thing of interest. you didnt state if your card is an ati or nvidia, but just for your info ati cards have a special mode called theater mode that when you play a movie, the secondary display (your TV in this case) will be resized so that it fits the whole screen. so you dont have to bother playing with the resolution, it will be perfect when playing the movies provided your TV is the secondary screen.

another thing, you mentioned composite, is your TV an LCD type? or the old Box type? cause some of hte more ciplak box types sometimes dont register when you hook up all the cables and try to et the output to ON.
drd_x
post Mar 31 2008, 11:44 AM

hi...
i've try with my ati 9700 s-video out to tv PHILIPS but no display??...
how to setting it??
strife_personified
post Mar 31 2008, 03:07 PM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

QUOTE(drd_x @ Mar 31 2008, 11:44 AM)
hi...
i've try with my ati 9700 s-video out to tv PHILIPS but no display??...
how to setting it??
once you've plugged in the TV, you can follow the following instructions :

1. open Control Panel
2. in Control Panel, switch to Classic View and open the option called Display
3. select the Settings tab
4. click the Advanced button
5. select the Display tab
6. if your TV has been detected by the GPU, the button called TV will have a power symbol highlighted in Red.
7. select that Red symbol, and it apply the settings.

your TV should show the same output as your monitor, though the resolution might be wrong. you can adjust the resolution like normal, or if you just plan to watch movies, make sure the Theater mode is on, its located in the Overlay tab.
post Apr 21 2008, 06:02 AM

1,602 posts

buy a tv card + buy a microsoft MCE (media centre edition)

0.0153sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:18 AM