Genting Malaysia, Resorts World

mememe12
post May 9 2009, 01:48 PM

Nikon + MBP i7 :)
2,849 posts

QUOTE(whizzer @ May 9 2009, 12:38 AM)
Sold of my last RESORT share this week @ 2.5 so I don't to worry about this anymore  tongue.gif
i wanted to do that also.. but if i sell away this counter which i think is good to keep for long term.. then i dunno in what price i will buy it back already wor.. is this kind of thinking right?

QUOTE(kellyC @ May 9 2009, 12:49 AM)
Bought at 2.46 and sold at 2.55 within 3 days tongue.gif
thumbup.gif not bad..
Soulsareworthless
post May 12 2009, 06:05 AM

Madridista
3,413 posts

Anyone knows what is Resorts PE now?
chriscvf
post May 12 2009, 10:59 PM

67 posts

star cruses Q1/09 in black USD 5 mil plus. Resorts' 19% work out to be around USD 1 mil or RM 3.5 mil. could be a nice 0.0006 cents eps but then again RWB does not account for SCL's profit/loss. Maybe some increase tomoro to RWB. its more firm now that no more imparment to SCL will be needed anytime soon. If Q1/09 for RWB is better than expected, the stock might break the 2.60 mark and heads for 2.80. Ha for all i know it could break tomorow on SCL's news.....

Attached File(s)
Attached File  starcruise.pdf ( 52.27k ) Number of downloads: 7
Soulsareworthless
post May 13 2009, 03:24 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

QUOTE(chriscvf @ May 12 2009, 10:59 PM)
star cruses Q1/09 in black USD 5 mil plus. Resorts' 19% work out to be around USD 1 mil or RM 3.5 mil. could be a nice 0.0006 cents eps but then again RWB does not account for SCL's profit/loss. Maybe some increase tomoro to RWB. its more firm now that no more imparment to SCL will be needed anytime soon. If Q1/09 for RWB is better than expected, the stock might break the 2.60 mark and heads for 2.80. Ha for all i know it could break tomorow on SCL's news.....
Resorts doesn't seem to be affected by the positive news.
Starbucki
post May 13 2009, 03:31 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ May 13 2009, 03:24 PM)
Resorts doesn't seem to be affected by the positive news.
It's going to renamed Genting Malaysia. Sounds like good news to me. drool.gif
cherroy
post May 13 2009, 04:19 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ May 13 2009, 03:31 PM)
Rename also can consider a good news? shocking.gif

Starbucki
post May 13 2009, 04:29 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 13 2009, 04:19 PM)
Rename also can consider a good news?  shocking.gif
Look at Axiata. It's prices went up almost immediately after it was renamed from TMI. I know this is purely anecdotal, but Genting Malaysia does send out good vibes (i.e. better brand recognition) compared to Resorts World.
Brotherjoe
post May 13 2009, 05:18 PM

2,215 posts

Probably affected Resorts feng sui...
Starbucki
post May 13 2009, 05:21 PM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ May 13 2009, 05:18 PM)
Probably affected Resorts feng sui...
Hope it is for the better. Resorts is quite a laggard. Hope the new name energises. icon_rolleyes.gif
Soulsareworthless
post May 13 2009, 05:23 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

QUOTE(Starbucki @ May 13 2009, 03:31 PM)
Where you got the news?
chriscvf
post May 13 2009, 06:05 PM

67 posts

patience, analysts still waiting for Q1 results before doing an upgrade on the stock. No point re-rate it now and do again at the end of the month.
lowyat888
post May 13 2009, 06:55 PM

596 posts

RESORTS - NOTICE OF BOOK CLOSURE

Contents : Final Dividend of 4.0 sen less 25% tax per ordinary share of RM0.10 each.

Kindly be advised of the following :

1) The above Company's securities will be traded and quoted [ "Ex - Dividend" ] as from : [ 26 June 2009 ]

2) The last date of lodgement : [ 30 June 2009 ]

3) Date Payable : [ 21 July 2009 ]

hellfire8888
post May 13 2009, 07:40 PM

3,196 posts

hmm so is the divident pay out good?
Brotherjoe
post May 13 2009, 07:44 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 13 2009, 07:40 PM)
hmm so is the divident pay out good?
Same as Genting..
how much genting paid is equal to how much resort pays..
hellfire8888
post May 13 2009, 07:56 PM

3,196 posts

hmm then i better keep this stock first, get divident...at first wanted cut lost cause i see everyday drop drop drop..barely able to hit rm2.50 so sian..
Soulsareworthless
post May 13 2009, 10:15 PM

Madridista
3,413 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ May 13 2009, 07:56 PM)
hmm then i better keep this stock first, get divident...at first wanted cut lost cause i see everyday drop drop drop..barely able to hit rm2.50 so sian..
What price you bought? It's being rallying from RM1.90 until RM2.40+ now, Resorts needs to 'rest'.
Brotherjoe
post May 13 2009, 11:32 PM

2,215 posts

Resorts and Genting pays Quarterly dividen right?
cherroy
post May 13 2009, 11:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Brotherjoe @ May 13 2009, 11:32 PM)
Resorts and Genting pays Quarterly dividen right?
Nope, they pay semi-annually one.
Starbucki
post May 14 2009, 08:43 AM

Ayam betmen
1,389 posts

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ May 13 2009, 05:23 PM)
Where you got the news?
KUALA LUMPUR: Resorts World Bhd has proposed for a change of name to Genting Malaysia Bhd, its deputy chairman Tun Mohammed Hanif Omar said.

In a statement to Bursa Malaysia, he said the approval of shareholders for the change of name would be sought at a general meeting to be convened.

“The proposed corporate name change is to reflect the company’s country of listing, origin and current operations. As the company is a key subsidiary of Genting Bhd, the proposed change of name is also to reflect the direct relationship between the two entities,” he said.

He added the Companies Commission of Malaysia (CCM) had approved the name change, and the change, if approved by shareholders, would be effective from the date of issuance of the certificate of incorporation on change of name by the CCM.

Meanwhile, another Genting group company, Asiatic Development Bhd, has also proposed to change its name, to Genting Plantation Bhd, its chairman Tan Sri Amin Mohd Osman said.

The company would also convene a general meeting to seek shareholder approval for the name change, he said.

“The proposed corporate name change is to reflect the principal activities of the company, which is primarily engaged in the commercial cultivation of oil palm and processing of palm products. As the company is a 54.7%-owned subsidiary of Genting Bhd, the proposed change of name is also to reflect the direct relationship with the holding company,” he said.

The CCM had also given its nod for the proposed name change, he said.

This article appeared in The Edge Financial Daily, May 13, 2009.

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-ne...ame-change.html
lowyat888
post May 14 2009, 12:37 PM

596 posts

after its change name, there will be some complication for investor/remisier when buying or selling the genting shares bcos shares names starting with all genting. errors can happen

59 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:14 PM