42 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 >Bottom

Photography Canon L Lens Thread, L-coholics Anonymous

Tony Stark
post Jan 29 2011, 08:50 AM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(Michaelbyz23 @ Jan 29 2011, 08:37 AM)
my first L Lens
ur first L lens and its one of the best out there! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Tony Stark: Jan 29 2011, 08:51 AM
moomoosan
post Feb 12 2011, 06:39 PM

59 posts

hey there guys! am considering getting a gift for my bro back in aussie. could any kind soul point me to any direction in getting a reasonably priced 70-200 2.8L II IS USM?
thank you!
kaiwen1210
post Feb 12 2011, 11:27 PM

223 posts

My Another L will arrive at Monday brows.gif
Gemeniswong
post Apr 2 2011, 01:06 AM

155 posts

Thinking to get 24-70mm , but i heard this lens going to come out with IS, is that true?

Added on April 2, 2011, 1:12 am
QUOTE(Gemeniswong @ Nov 17 2010, 08:44 PM)
EF24-70mm f/2.8L II USM -is the replacement model soon? coz this lens price are dropping.....

Added on November 17, 2010, 8:47 pm
If you are loaded, get EF16-35mm f/2.8L II USM, then go for FF ....then EF24-70mm f/2.8L II USM anf then EF70-200mm f/2.8L.
Wow...you read my mind, i am planning to get either 16-35 or 24-70 ..then go to FF.

This post has been edited by Gemeniswong: Apr 2 2011, 01:12 AM
patrick23
post Apr 2 2011, 11:09 AM

81 posts

AFter reading this thread, no doubt i thinking the best average L lens i thinking is 70-200 is II USM 2.8 either portrait or sports, or close-up. (but of course the 1.5kg)

I need you professional guys recommend me for a new body, wat im thinking is 5D mII or 7D, a FF and 1.6 crop.

Hmm.... and the L lens package with 5dM2 24-105 L IS f4.0. Is this lens worth to get with a slightly cheaper if i buy together with the 5dm2 ?

And , any new about Canon are introduce any new camera above medium level ? (single digit series)

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Bliz
post Apr 2 2011, 11:23 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(patrick23 @ Apr 2 2011, 11:09 AM)
AFter reading this thread, no doubt i thinking the best average L lens i thinking is 70-200 is II USM 2.8 either portrait or sports, or close-up. (but of course the 1.5kg)

I need you professional guys recommend me for a new body, wat im thinking is 5D mII or 7D, a FF and 1.6 crop.

Hmm.... and the L lens package with 5dM2 24-105 L IS f4.0. Is this lens worth to get with a slightly cheaper if i buy together with the 5dm2 ?

And , any new about Canon are introduce any new camera above medium level ? (single digit series)
icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
For portraits/sports u can't beat the 70-200, 24-105 is damn slow and not very sharp to me ( tested it on my friend's 7D )
patrick23
post Apr 2 2011, 11:25 AM

81 posts

wat do u mean damn slow ? in focusing speed? hmm... its a USM right ? how come slow ?

ya agree with 70-200 2.8L , but actually wat i think 70 widest little bit difficulty when there's limited area.
Bliz
post Apr 2 2011, 11:32 AM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(patrick23 @ Apr 2 2011, 11:25 AM)
wat do u mean damn slow ? in focusing speed? hmm... its a USM right ? how come slow ?

ya agree with 70-200 2.8L , but actually wat i think 70 widest little bit difficulty when there's limited area.
Slow lens, F4 instead of F/2.8...
DerangedPreacher
post Apr 12 2011, 09:04 PM

Hi guys, anybody know where is the cheapest shop in penang to get a canon 24-105mm?

Is rm3400 a good price?
enriquelee
post Apr 13 2011, 12:45 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

24-70 F2.8 vs 24-105 F4
which is better?
Primary use for indoor portraits, secondory use for travel lens. (Plan to bring 1 lens only when go travel)
pengster
post Apr 13 2011, 12:47 AM

eVoWeiâ„¢
7,757 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Apr 13 2011, 12:45 AM)
24-70 F2.8 vs 24-105 F4
which is better?
Primary use for indoor portraits, secondory use for travel lens. (Plan to bring 1 lens only when go travel)
For travelling purposes definately the 24-105. On FF it provides a very good range and it's also lighter + has IS.

But for indoors the 24-70 F2.8 might be a better choice. Though the 24-105 is also usable indoors laugh.gif
enriquelee
post Apr 13 2011, 08:42 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Apr 13 2011, 12:47 AM)
For travelling purposes definately the 24-105. On FF it provides a very good range and it's also lighter + has IS.

But for indoors the 24-70 F2.8 might be a better choice. Though the 24-105 is also usable indoors  laugh.gif
Main usage will be shooting in my house for my son.
I travel only about twice a year.
24-105 can shoot indoor. I'm using it now. Just wonder 24-70 can make big different or not. I'm thinking whether to change or not.
post Apr 13 2011, 09:00 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

not enuf speed just bump ISO lor tongue.gif
nowaday body not that cacat also smile.gif

@patrick if you actually realised 70mm on FF, its quite ok already.
to get same angle of view, 44mm on crop = 70mm on ff
DerangedPreacher
post Apr 16 2011, 03:46 PM

Hi guys, i bought myself a 17-40 L lens and am loving it for video on my 60d, just curious though about the 135L 2.0....been reading alot of great stuff regarding its sharpness and bokeh...

Isit a good choice to pursue for video purposes on my 60d?
post Apr 16 2011, 04:34 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

It is a good choice if you film at long range. ~10 meters smile.gif
or even 15meters on crop body.
Hehehe....some film very like to close up like head-shoulder frame.
pengster
post Apr 17 2011, 01:31 AM

eVoWeiâ„¢
7,757 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Apr 13 2011, 08:42 AM)
Main usage will be shooting in my house for my son.
I travel only about twice a year.
24-105 can shoot indoor. I'm using it now. Just wonder 24-70 can make big different or not. I'm thinking whether to change or not.
Hmm in that case the F2.8 might be more useful for you. Just be prepared for the extra weight and lack of IS laugh.gif

QUOTE(DerangedPreacher @ Apr 16 2011, 03:46 PM)
Hi guys, i bought myself a 17-40 L lens and am loving it for video on my 60d, just curious though about the 135L 2.0....been reading alot of great stuff regarding its sharpness and bokeh...

Isit a good choice to pursue for video purposes on my 60d?
The 135L is an amazing lens, but for videos unless you have a good support system, handshake will be a problem. smile.gif
enriquelee
post Apr 17 2011, 02:07 AM

10,510 posts

QUOTE(pengster @ Apr 17 2011, 01:31 AM)
Hmm in that case the F2.8 might be more useful for you. Just be prepared for the extra weight and lack of IS  laugh.gif
Tested my 24-105 and my friend's 24-70 twice. The 24-70 pictures turn out brighter.
Sharpness and contrast about the same.
I think i'll just keep the 24-105. Maybe will get a 16-35. Can shoot portraits and landscape both.
vickc85
post May 19 2011, 10:29 PM

83 posts

new to photography
just bought 60D + 24-70L
not sure it's a good combination for protrait
lipfvng
post Nov 11 2011, 03:30 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Apr 17 2011, 02:07 AM)
Tested my 24-105 and my friend's 24-70 twice. The 24-70 pictures turn out brighter.
Sharpness and contrast about the same.
I think i'll just keep the 24-105. Maybe will get a 16-35. Can shoot portraits and landscape both.
allow me to keh poh abit... L lens never a bad investment or wrong investment... because in future... FF will become like common dslr, u probably buying a 1800D in FF format (HOPEFULLY LA biggrin.gif ...) so it's a wise choice to keep 24-105... by the way this is so far the best walk around L lens ? no ? while for 16-35... abit like is there but not there... i think only la...

QUOTE(vickc85 @ May 19 2011, 10:29 PM)
new to photography
just bought 60D + 24-70L
not sure it's a good combination for protrait
in photography , it's not really bout the gear or the combination... however... 24-70L is without IS ... though it's as wide as F2.8, good enough's bokeh ( dun compare this with a prime ) but when u r shooting indoor + low light + the weight of this lens, this is not really a good potrait lens... might miss alot of good shot especially for shaky user like me even with external flash... blush.gif

but if use outdoor with fair amount of light , no problem at all...

then due to the reason u r using this L that start with 24mm on a crop sensor , which give u 38.4mm , it's not wide enough... n end with 70mm ... giving u a 112mm... not long enough... but so far , i never complaint bout it... love it, i always bring this with me to travel though it's heavy biggrin.gif

so my answer/ opinion for your question is

this lens

- good for outdoor shooting

- good for potrait indoor or outdoor ( practice is needed indoor )

- good bokeh ( again , its good if u dun compare with the prime )

- good investment as u already using a 60D , u probably upgrade to FF in future , which the lens works even better with it

- bad for indoor / shaky user

- bad in low light situation

- bad for being abit too heavy

- bad because no IS

- bad because its not wide or long enough

g88
post Oct 31 2014, 12:18 PM

1,631 posts

No more L lens discussion ? brows.gif

42 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 >Top