RPM ?

TSakihito
post Mar 27 2008, 09:24 PM, updated 16y ago

261 posts

I went to install a Tachometer today its an AutoGauge Tachometer, max 8,000RPM

and i found out that the RPM when my car is idling is 400~500RPM and driving at 130KM/h just 1600~2000RPM

normal or abnormal o.o?
ryan_hustler
post Mar 27 2008, 09:29 PM

888 posts

What car u driving? super economic man.. whistling.gif
Thrust
post Mar 27 2008, 09:39 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,690 posts

your RPM rosak 1 la.
TSakihito
post Mar 27 2008, 09:42 PM

261 posts

uhm satria 1.3 fuel injection
with open pod and straight flow exhaust mod
the_catacombs
post Mar 27 2008, 09:47 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

wiring problem... go back to the shop and get it sorted out....
TSakihito
post Mar 27 2008, 09:53 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 27 2008, 09:47 PM)
wiring problem... go back to the shop and get it sorted out....
how come wiring problem o.o? if wiring problem , the tachometer won't even move when you rev
EyraYus
post Mar 27 2008, 09:56 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,151 posts

jimat minyak eh.. ur RPM reading is not accurate.. ur satria dont have ori RPM meh?
TSakihito
post Mar 27 2008, 10:00 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Mar 27 2008, 09:56 PM)
jimat minyak eh.. ur RPM reading is not accurate.. ur satria dont have ori RPM meh?
stock 1.3 doesn't have any tachometer built in , probably proton want to save money for few cables and a small motor
the_catacombs
post Mar 27 2008, 10:02 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(akihito @ Mar 27 2008, 09:53 PM)
how come wiring problem o.o? if wiring problem , the tachometer won't even move when you rev
did u tap the ground cable properly??... or possibility ur tachometer is faulty....
TSakihito
post Mar 27 2008, 10:04 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 27 2008, 10:02 PM)
did u tap the ground cable properly??... or possibility ur tachometer is faulty....
yea , i saw the mech did that , i asked him why RPM so low he said is like that one la depends on car model

edit:
I remember i saw a switch behind the tachometer , its has 3 6 4 written on it

Added on March 27, 2008, 10:10 pm
QUOTE(ryan_hustler @ Mar 27 2008, 09:29 PM)
What car u driving? super economic man.. whistling.gif
i don't really care about the FC , but usually 1.3's FC should be lesser than a 1.5 Carb but mine isn't lol

35 Liter for 340KM

This post has been edited by akihito: Mar 27 2008, 10:10 PM
farique
post Mar 27 2008, 10:31 PM

2,147 posts

get the Tacho replaced. Its a faulty unit. Most probably because of the magnetic coil inside the tacho.
TSakihito
post Mar 27 2008, 10:33 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(farique @ Mar 27 2008, 10:31 PM)
get the Tacho replaced. Its a faulty unit. Most probably because of the magnetic coil inside the tacho.
hmm alright ,i'll go to the shop tomorrow and ask them check again

whats the normal idle RPM ? 1k ?
EyraYus
post Mar 27 2008, 10:35 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,151 posts

800-900 RPM normal, unless ur car t/b got problem

btw... when ur rpm is 600.. hows u feel? engine jerk or not?
TSakihito
post Mar 27 2008, 10:39 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Mar 27 2008, 10:35 PM)
800-900 RPM normal, unless ur car t/b got problem

btw... when ur rpm is 600.. hows u feel? engine jerk or not?
nop, everything is normal

let me go to the car and take a picture
farique
post Mar 27 2008, 10:51 PM

2,147 posts

QUOTE(akihito @ Mar 27 2008, 10:39 PM)
nop, everything is normal

let me go to the car and take a picture
since you say that the engine didnt stall when the RPM on the tacho showing 600RPM, this is obvious that the tacho is at fault.

for all cars with anti-choke, will have the idle RPM at 800~900 which mostly will stay at 850RPM.
EyraYus
post Mar 27 2008, 10:55 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
2,151 posts

yep. if its normal then ur tacho is the culprit.
TSakihito
post Mar 27 2008, 11:10 PM

261 posts

image uploaded

http://i.akihito-chan.com/IMG_0123.jpg

Tachometer indicates 600RPM

thanks again for helping me smile.gif

This post has been edited by akihito: Mar 27 2008, 11:16 PM
Azuma-kun
post Mar 28 2008, 12:32 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,414 posts

130km/h for 2000rpm sure something wrong.
My wira 1.3, use the same tacho shows 3500rpm something around that.

Idle at 800-950 i think.

This post has been edited by Azuma-kun: Mar 28 2008, 12:32 AM
sakaic
post Mar 28 2008, 08:17 AM

918 posts

you sure its meant for 4 cylinder engines ? if its meant for kancils or something else you will get false readings.

anyway, the typical idling speed is 850 to 950(when a/c on) for most manufacturers and in a standard state of tune.

This post has been edited by sakaic: Mar 28 2008, 08:18 AM
TSakihito
post Mar 28 2008, 07:06 PM

261 posts

went to the shop this evening and that guy take out my tachometer's holder and adjusted the switch behind the tachometer to 4 and finally it shows the correct RPM (900RPM when idling) it was set at 6 before .

This post has been edited by akihito: Mar 28 2008, 07:07 PM
the_catacombs
post Mar 28 2008, 09:02 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(akihito @ Mar 28 2008, 07:06 PM)
went to the shop this evening and that guy take out my tachometer's holder and adjusted the switch behind the tachometer to 4 and finally it shows the correct RPM (900RPM when idling) it was set at 6 before .
whats the use of the switch at the back??... u got ask that guy??... unsure.gif
TSakihito
post Mar 29 2008, 12:23 AM

261 posts

uhm , no idea about that
i tried take out the tachometer when i reach home and play with that , i found out that when you rev till 3000RPM and turn the switch leveler to "6" its just showing 1500RPM
the_catacombs
post Mar 29 2008, 02:21 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(akihito @ Mar 29 2008, 12:23 AM)
uhm , no idea about that
i tried take out the tachometer when i reach home and play with that , i found out that when you rev till 3000RPM and turn the switch leveler to "6" its just showing 1500RPM
mayb it changes the scale of the meter.... hmm.gif
Edi8888
post Mar 29 2008, 09:26 AM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Mar 27 2008, 09:56 PM)
satria no have rpm one meh?
the_catacombs
post Mar 29 2008, 12:47 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(Edi8888 @ Mar 29 2008, 09:26 AM)
satria no have rpm one meh?
1.3 dont have mar....
sleepwalker
post Mar 29 2008, 02:03 PM

Need sleep....
5,517 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Mar 29 2008, 02:21 AM)
mayb it changes the scale of the meter....  hmm.gif
The 3, 4 and 6 represents the number of cylinders. To make it easier to understand, the RPM signal sends back the number of ignitions and not revolutions. So if you have 4 cylinders, 4 ignitions would represent one revolution. In the TS's case, by setting the number of cylinders to 6 on the tachometer, it is dividing the number of ignitions by 6 instead of 4, hence the lower RPM reading.
damone
post Feb 7 2009, 01:44 AM

123 posts

Where do you tap for the tacho signal?
sakaic
post Feb 7 2009, 01:33 PM

918 posts

typically they tap the ignition coil.
damone
post Feb 7 2009, 10:11 PM

123 posts

Got any pictures to show where the ignition coil is?I mean, which wire from the ignition coil

This post has been edited by damone: Feb 7 2009, 10:11 PM
sakaic
post Feb 8 2009, 04:38 AM

918 posts

On the ignition coil there are typically two wires. One is to the relay the other to the distributor. The one you want is the one to the distributor.If you are not sure, while your engine is running, probe either one of the two terminals with a test lamp. Its the one that will make the lamp blink.

The easiest way is to take a test lamp. You can make your own one using a bulb holder and one wire is tied to engine ground the other is tied to a rod or some thing that be used a probe.

0.0223sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:09 PM