Students' Driver League, All students gather here

TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 01:54 PM, updated 18y ago

shinobi
2,250 posts

I think that there are many students in LYN are driving their own car (not their parent's car). Maybe we can share our precious experience in buying and maintaining the car.

How do you guys get ur car?
>Old car from parents, brothers or sisters.
>Got funding from them, for sure that the loan or scholarship are not enough.
>Own effort, doing part time job and then collect money for car rclxms.gif

I start with my story, I'm IIUM student, architecture course (5th year programme). I'm driving a Satria Neo 1.6 and also Honda C70 (no road tax, just using it in campus). In my campus, there are so many students driving, some of them even drive super car (especially rich based family)

My Ride

I collect my own money for downpayment and other fees by doing part time job, (architecture drawing, rendering, animation). Then I apply loan and surely I have my dad as guarantor...till now, my dad only pays for monthly installment and I'll start pay it after my graduation. All maintenance and services are done by me, no funding from him as I request. Thus, I have to plan my expenditure for my car, my bike, my meal, my architecture drawings tools...

Hope we can share good info and also know each other... biggrin.gif

LYN Students' Driver

This post has been edited by albirri: Mar 27 2008, 10:03 PM
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 02:00 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(moon* @ Mar 27 2008, 01:57 PM)
LOL laugh.gif sweat.gif

both ur bike n car plate the same sweat.gif
Uncle moon...that bike got his own no...I just paste like my car no. That bike never comes out from the campus...just around the campus only. Go to class only
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 02:04 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(barrylin @ Mar 27 2008, 01:58 PM)
So lucky no need pay for installment
Although my dad pay for it now, I accept it like loan...after i graduate, i'll pay to him like bring my parents go holiday, or Mecca maybe

Added on March 27, 2008, 2:06 pm
QUOTE(moon* @ Mar 27 2008, 02:04 PM)
LOL>> ehh.. i too young to be called  "uncle" wei sweat.gif

hehe.. u keng ah. go to class in campus also need a bike ?? very far meh?? where u study wo? tongue.gif

ehh. IIUM, i tink i been there once.
Very near to ur place la...UIA Gombak only. I stay in campus, so no need wearing helmet. Easy to park and save gas a lot as my campus is one wat street. have to go round

This post has been edited by albirri: Mar 27 2008, 02:06 PM
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 02:59 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(moon* @ Mar 27 2008, 02:48 PM)
aiya. isnt a bicycle better??
cheaper n can exercise tongue.gif
Lazy la...haha

I'll post my friend's car. Some of them doing modification within student budget. (don't expect 350Z, RX8, Evo9 etc... tongue.gif )
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 03:04 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Mar 27 2008, 02:57 PM)
i`m a student also.. IMI Selayang..diploma only..

i got my Wira after my brother get bored and bought himself a Civic, then I continue paying monthly for 14 months.

after finished the installment I invest some more, include MIVEC engine and bla bla bla

last year study..looking 4ward to work and getting married!

p/s : i work part time since form 4, good job and good payment...
Wahaha...nice, doing part time can pay for installment. I think i'll prepare the list for students with their ride...

QUOTE(Ultima @ Mar 27 2008, 03:00 PM)
dun b lazy2, cycling is good for your body, increase ur stamina, good for after marriage whistling.gif
always doing exercise...jogging, footballing, swimming and futsalling....
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 03:15 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Mar 27 2008, 03:06 PM)
installeny only rm250 a month and my part time job can get around rm700 a month if u are not lazy
That's a good figure already...my roomate also got his dad wira and paying installment around 250 only
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 03:52 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

That's why moon already has a VTEC...haha

Anyway, my GF who is also my classmate also drive a VTEC, but city la
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 04:02 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(Edi8888 @ Mar 27 2008, 03:53 PM)
wat u mean student that have their own car? not parent car?
u mean student that buy the car him self?
There are many examples. Some of sudents got the car from their parents after their parents bought a new car, still maintenance, fuel and services are paid by the driver. If got accident, even worse.

Yup...like me...the car is registered under my name..I pay the whole downpayment and fees where I collect the money by doing some part time jobs...but my dad pay installment for about one year...
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 04:32 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Mar 27 2008, 04:28 PM)
i`m still waiting for my bro to change the owner name in geran... he keep making excuse smile.gif
Maybe he busy...now, if want to change name, have to be inspected by Puspakom first...last time no need...deng!
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 04:43 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Mar 27 2008, 04:35 PM)
busy eh? working wit my dad... he always have free time go dating.. when ask about that car he always cabut go to site.. hehe.. now all my money went to that car.. addicted la main keta...
Haha..he lazy to go to JPJ and Pupakom...

Me, after graduate will modding kaw kaw, now, because my dad's paying, have to live with the stock one...but not long to go
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 05:07 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(singchaii @ Mar 27 2008, 04:56 PM)
My first car was Proton Iswara Aeroback was giving by my mom after she bought new ride. After 1 years later, I bought a new LMST by myself including every single thing inside my ride.. I'm just a student from KL TARC...

here my ride...

Nice...my classmate also ride a LMST...he is the craziest among us...will upload his ride soon, anyway, welcome to the club...hehe brows.gif
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 06:40 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(AdrianWei @ Mar 27 2008, 06:27 PM)
Currently ktar diploma student , juz bought myself a used honda city 03 recently , brw my aunt name as my guarantor . Honda City is my dream since the first day i get my job , work as a partime insurance agent , rily pay a branch of effort to get tis city ... Finally , but fail quite a lot subject too , maybe too concentrate on the job ... Hapy with my new ride ^^" thumbup.gif
Yeah...sometime, we have to really plan our time if doing part time job during study...like me...i can't really enjoy like others as my weekend is my 'working day'...plus assignment somemore
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 07:05 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(AdrianWei @ Mar 27 2008, 06:48 PM)
Working + study rily stress and tired ... most of the time , our studies will affect by our job , no matter how gd u manage ur time sleep.gif"
Yup...sometimes, unpredicted things might happen...
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 07:18 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Mar 27 2008, 06:57 PM)
I drive the saga during the 27k promotion.. aka Saga LMST

No major problems so far except the.. itu... power windows.
QUOTE(EyraYus @ Mar 27 2008, 07:07 PM)
erm.. not sure lah.. Silvia?

working + study does rilex ourself but also pose a real threat laugh.gif

like my part time job quite dangerous.. involve in accident then cant go to college lah for one week rclxm9.gif
Wah...what r u doing? racers ke?
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 10:00 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

Wahaha...so many students reporting in...updating the list...just share ur expenditure wise...how u manage ur money for modding and maintenance...haha

In my campus also there are many super car...Last time, princess of Johore drive a VW Beatle, Princess of Kelantan drives Accord and huge Range Rover...and there are so many VIP based family...
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 10:04 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Mar 27 2008, 10:02 PM)
student driver reporting in ...
Mind to share what car u're driving? hehe...ur own car rite?
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 10:12 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(EyraYus @ Mar 27 2008, 10:07 PM)
yeah there is one "anak datuk" in my college...my junior.. 1st day he drive his mom Merc...old one.. still want to show off to everyone... then he drive his Proton "Lancer GSR Power!" Wira....he claim he already transplant GSR engine but..er..no rear disk brake..twin tip muffler making stupid noise,and no evidence that intercooler exist. whats the most surprising is a lot of student believe him..not only junior but also senior like some of my fren laugh.gif one day I drive my car there he ask me "enjen stended ke?" I answer "yep" then balik time.. he rev his car loud... then I "replied" the challenge with MIVEC big roar...suddenly his car quiet...and never do anything like that again..

now driving brand new SAGA.... maybe "datuk" father lost the election and got no more money kot... so after driving a "lancer" he now drive a humble Saga... good boy...
haha...if he is really 'anak datuk' la...one of my classmate also anak Datuk...his own car is an old Volkswagon Golf..sometimes he drives his dad CLK Merc. But he is very humble one, not even want to show off... notworthy.gif
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 10:15 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

Wah...cannot see anything la
TSalbirri
post Mar 27 2008, 11:26 PM

shinobi
2,250 posts

Me...just borrow my friend's bike...haha...always go to Lowyat as i'm doing printing business and PC hardware mentenance
TSalbirri
post Mar 28 2008, 10:28 AM

shinobi
2,250 posts

QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Mar 28 2008, 06:15 AM)
wah TS oredi wanna grad ka?
me still have short sem b4 going to gombak tongue.gif
so have to call u senior meh
aed student here~but still didn't get my major~malas pny psl.haha.
didn't own any car for the time being but looking forward for it when enter main camp
bcoz my dad didn't encourage to use bike
maybe i'll buy cheap2 2nd hand car oni icon_rolleyes.gif
Wahaha...u're AED student? me Architecture...welcome to the main campus and KAED rclxms.gif

0.0253sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:10 AM