Fun with strobist

TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Mar 27 2008, 10:47 AM, updated 18y ago

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

bought some equipment yesterday, and had some fun with it. Here's a simple shot. Only RAW editing and sharpening.
that's my friend there lol I think im loving the effect of this. The setup 1 light from the front and the back light is from a street light.
weileongz
post Mar 27 2008, 01:03 PM

Gaijin
947 posts

its nice !!
like the effect too !

**i need you help , please msn at night tonight sad.gif
MR.Shiney
post Mar 27 2008, 01:38 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

it'll be more nicer if every action can be seen clearly. nod.gif
nice attempt though! biggrin.gif

i've always wanted to try strobe, but my sb-600 wont let me sweat.gif
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 27 2008, 05:24 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

i wonder whats the new equipment? another speedlight and ste2? hmm.gif
MR.Shiney
post Mar 27 2008, 06:33 PM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 27 2008, 05:24 PM)
i wonder whats the new equipment? another speedlight and ste2?  hmm.gif
its the street light lah laugh.gif
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 27 2008, 07:36 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Mar 27 2008, 06:33 PM)
its the street light lah laugh.gif
but from the looks of it, the light came from right and left. hmm.gif
TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Mar 27 2008, 08:06 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(weileongz @ Mar 27 2008, 01:03 PM)
its nice !!
like the effect too !

**i need you help , please msn at night tonight sad.gif
later night ill go online, catch ya later smile.gif

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Mar 27 2008, 01:38 PM)
it'll be more nicer if every action can be seen clearly. nod.gif
nice attempt though! biggrin.gif

i've always wanted to try strobe, but my sb-600 wont let me sweat.gif
yeah lo, the only thing i dont like is the trousers there can see the background guess i need 1 more light to fill the front =/

U can get the cheap PT-E2 for around 160, can get cheaper also, u can trigger ur flash wirelessly with his thingy biggrin.gif

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 27 2008, 05:24 PM)
i wonder whats the new equipment? another speedlight and ste2?  hmm.gif
Flash stand + 40 inch 2 in 1 umbrella, PT-E2 tongue.gif

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 27 2008, 07:36 PM)
but from the looks of it, the light came from right and left.  hmm.gif

like i mentioned, 1 light from the front and the back light is street lights, the front light is the flash lor 580EXII on umbrella biggrin.gif

SUSdgrebel
post Mar 27 2008, 08:11 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

like i predicted, trigger via transmitter. huhu... i never know there's pt e2. getting my ste2 soon for rm650
TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Mar 27 2008, 08:35 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 27 2008, 08:11 PM)
like i predicted, trigger via transmitter. huhu... i never know there's pt e2. getting my ste2 soon for rm650
but its infrared man, the one i used sends out radio signal. Im not sure about the power of this thing, ill leave it to u to try it out laugh.gif
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 27 2008, 08:54 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Mar 27 2008, 08:35 PM)
but its infrared man, the one i used sends out radio signal. Im not sure about the power of this thing, ill leave it to u to try it out laugh.gif
is it the pocket wizard? as seen here? http://www.flickr.com/photos/ruimleal/790659745/
TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Mar 27 2008, 08:58 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 27 2008, 08:54 PM)
is it the pocket wizard? as seen here? http://www.flickr.com/photos/ruimleal/790659745/
lol PW is dam expensive, 1.2k for a pair, mine is the PT-E2 tongue.gif
aka_kepep
post Mar 27 2008, 08:58 PM

a r c h i t o r t u r e d
615 posts

get a skateboarder to do sum night shots.... the angles wud be great...
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 27 2008, 09:02 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Mar 27 2008, 08:58 PM)
lol PW is dam expensive, 1.2k for a pair, mine is the PT-E2 tongue.gif
owh ok.. hehe.. nub in strobist, just wanna try it for the sake of knowledge.

QUOTE(aka_kepep @ Mar 27 2008, 08:58 PM)
any skateparks to reccommend? my cousin's a skateboarder.
NonBlooD
post Mar 27 2008, 11:31 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(aka_kepep @ Mar 27 2008, 08:58 PM)
haha..yes...get a skateboarder not a frog.. = =
vincent_audio
post Mar 27 2008, 11:39 PM

1,161 posts

nice effect smile.gif

1 only ?
aka_kepep
post Mar 28 2008, 09:19 AM

a r c h i t o r t u r e d
615 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 27 2008, 09:02 PM)
owh ok.. hehe.. nub in strobist, just wanna try it for the sake of knowledge.
any skateparks to reccommend? my cousin's a skateboarder.
kat ngan jalan kucing tuh.... mmmm.... wats that place called.... kampung batu... yepp yeppp.... rclxms.gif i havent sk8ed there... retired a long time ago, but my frens recommended me that place... not onli skateboarders there, got bmx too....

This post has been edited by aka_kepep: Mar 28 2008, 09:21 AM
ageell2004
post Mar 29 2008, 06:25 AM

192 posts

regarding the PT-E2 where to get? how much? how it looks like. uncle google fail to answer my question. not a single.
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 29 2008, 06:39 AM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

myjunk just mentioned about 3rd party radio trigger thingy here: http://yamiya.com.my/store/product.php?pro...78&cat=0&page=1

p/s: i hope u dont mind tumpang your thread, radical! u can always ask me to remove it. smile.gif

This post has been edited by dgrebel: Mar 29 2008, 06:40 AM
TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Mar 29 2008, 08:43 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Mar 27 2008, 11:39 PM)
nice effect smile.gif

1 only ?

Here's 1 more just for the fun tongue.gif

QUOTE(aka_kepep @ Mar 28 2008, 09:19 AM)
kat ngan jalan kucing tuh.... mmmm.... wats that place called.... kampung batu... yepp yeppp....  rclxms.gif i havent sk8ed there... retired a long time ago, but my frens recommended me that place... not onli skateboarders there, got bmx too....

good idea on taking shot of those skateboarders and bmx dudes, will try to do that in the future, thanks tongue.gif

QUOTE(ageell2004 @ Mar 29 2008, 06:25 AM)
regarding the PT-E2 where to get? how much? how it looks like. uncle google fail to answer my question. not a single.

Ops, its PT-04 tongue.gif my bad hehe...

hmmm, so far i've only know two place selling them, 1 is DigiColor which is located in Mutiara Complex along Jalan Ipoh. And another 1 is through EngTong. EngTong sold it expensive at 160 for a pair while Digicolor at 100 for a pair.

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Mar 29 2008, 06:39 AM)
myjunk just mentioned about 3rd party radio trigger thingy here: http://yamiya.com.my/store/product.php?pro...78&cat=0&page=1

p/s: i hope u dont mind tumpang your thread, radical! u can always ask me to remove it. smile.gif

Its ok smile.gif

wKkaY
post Mar 29 2008, 12:35 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

I found that the PT-E2 has problems triggering the flash when the flash batteries are running low - so be careful smile.gif

Also, my PT-E2s have been having delayed triggers lately. I need to set the shutter above 1/30 otherwise it closes before the flash fires. I have no idea why, and I'm using first shutter curtain on both the camera and flash.
TSR a D ! c 4 L
post Mar 29 2008, 12:48 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 29 2008, 12:35 PM)
I found that the PT-E2 has problems triggering the flash when the flash batteries are running low - so be careful smile.gif

Also, my PT-E2s have been having delayed triggers lately. I need to set the shutter above 1/30 otherwise it closes before the flash fires. I have no idea why, and I'm using first shutter curtain on both the camera and flash.
thanks for the heads up. Well, its china made so you know la lol im thinking of getting the ST-E2 next time. But im still doubting its reliability =/

About the delayed triggers, is it because of the batteries?
SUSdgrebel
post Mar 29 2008, 12:53 PM

Oldfag
2,475 posts

from what i see in youtube. its not because of the dc level of the batteries have gone low. it's because of the radio signal angle of incidence that sometimes mismatch and varies randomly (read: not very stable)

0.0197sec    1.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 11:32 PM