Maxis mms setting, helpppp

nokia2003
post Jun 30 2008, 05:05 PM

5,786 posts

just to share something with you guys.

for maxis users, if your 3g service is active (applicable to most contract users and a very handful hotlink users), opt for unet.

on the other hand, if its inactive, use net instead.

to check on your status, its easy. just ring up the maxis operator.

out-of-the-box hotlink sim cards can only support up to 2.5G (edge) whilst the new (or those who updated their sim card recently) will have the latest 3g sim cards.

on the other hand, these descriptions can be quite useless at times i have to say. i have tried numerous times with different sets of combination for example mexis, x y x y, la la la or leaving them blank, but somehow miraculously i can still surf the net via gprs or edge. bosspref is still the best 3rd app available right now.

of course hsdpa, 3g, edge, gprs and wap are merely indications and doesnt necessarily guarantee the advertised speeds. they depend a lot on the network (of course) and the signal strength. hence your mobile phone might be showing a '3g' icon but you can end up with a speed worse than a gprs connection. this can also be used to explain why digi's edge is far more superior than maxis'.

disclaimer: nokia2003 aka BlackBerryBloke is on the maxis postpaid network and is in no way connected to any of the telecommunication providers.

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 30 2008, 05:07 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 30 2008, 05:33 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(TakanoKyohei @ Jun 30 2008, 05:20 PM)
unfortunately, maxis dun have unlimited edge plan, but by the way, if applying for 3g unlimited, it will use edge also right, maybe can make it unlimited.?

i dun want to use edge since i am a 5 years maxis customer,and all my friends also use maxis,
P/s: i still use maxis eventhough the service suc*s at my village..sob sob, when they will put more tower, i dun know..... sad.gif
doesnt matter, the unlimited plan here simply mean unlimited data usage irrespective of the connection type.

i will quote an example to support my claim. lets say you are currently using a hsdpa phone with the maxis unlimited plan data and you are using 3g/hsdpa just fine around the major city area and suddenly you end up at a kampung area where the fastest speed that they can support is merely gprs.furthermore, there is no difference to the price that you are being charged since most telco providers charge per mb of data anyway.

but for digi yes, even with a hsdpa phone, the highest speed that you can get is edge. that probably explains why digi's unlimited data plan is way cheaper than its close rivals.
nokia2003
post Jun 30 2008, 11:37 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 30 2008, 07:48 PM)
agree with the statement above.

i once filed a complain to maxis for unlimited data package (i sengaja wan) bcoz it keeps on using gprs instead of 3g. then the maxis people called me up and clarify the situation above.

if i am not mistaken there 2 type of connection plans, one for hsdpa(1.8mbps) and on is for 3g(384kbps)...
well i just checked the maxis website; there is one type of unlimited data plan regardless of the connection type; rm99 (exclusive tax) per month.

i believe the so-called split connection types that you have mentioned, is only being offered by celcom (not maxis)

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jun 30 2008, 11:38 PM
nokia2003
post Jun 30 2008, 11:42 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jun 30 2008, 11:39 PM)
ohh...  or is that connection i mention is for internet broadband...
:\ oh well..
no dude. im not picking a fight with you. hence if you have a more accurate information, please do correct me. im curious myself. biggrin.gif
nokia2003
post Jul 2 2008, 11:43 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jul 2 2008, 09:27 AM)
RM98... like me biggrin.gif
nop.. just call 123 and input the key to maxis internet broadband, talk to the girl/guy that you need unlimited package. but when is it activated, i am not sure becoz for me, my package activated the next very month, which i paid whooping RM80 for data downloading previously~
yes, you are right. thats because maxis like most telco providers charge their customers via the pro rota method.
nokia2003
post Jul 2 2008, 02:43 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(zerokid @ Jul 2 2008, 02:22 PM)
but for hotlink user they cannot activate the unlimited 3g/gprs usage RM99...u most have postpaid
ironically, hotlink is maxis' most profitable division.
nokia2003
post Jul 20 2008, 12:35 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(ahm @ Jul 19 2008, 08:27 PM)
hey guys
i am having a big problem here. you see i recently updated my iphone to version 2.0 using my Maxis sim. i never knew before i cant do this. n after this stupid thing nw i cant use my iphone sad.gif. please help me wat i shud do next? if i go to apple store cud they help me with this? a quick reply would much appreciated.

oh btw the phone was bought from the US

cry.gif
im afraid that no apple store (if there is one apple store in malaysia) can help you with that. there is a solution in one of the threads posted here. good luck

0.0181sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:19 PM