Grado Headphones (SR.....RS....) V.2, Welcome!All Grado User/Fans

Akabane@DrJackel
post Aug 31 2008, 02:06 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

yeah right,but if you can get a cheaper of SR80 try it..i start frm SR80 last time but then again is not my taste...
Akabane@DrJackel
post Dec 26 2009, 12:07 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

i got my extreme modd MS1...
Akabane@DrJackel
post Dec 26 2009, 09:27 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Dec 26 2009, 01:26 AM)
for the price i charge. i did some other things other than just pure recable it.
to final tweaks the sound.
do your own headphone is one case.while do it for other ppl totally another case. doing it for your own, u can use naked wire, super ugly looking or melt some plastic part when you solder, no one is going to blame you as long as you can accept it by yourself.  but when do other's ppl headphone. those things are not acceptable.

try imagine, doing recable with sleeve, and have to secure the sleeve nicely (some with double sleeve)  so that it doesn't accidentally come out. solder point were solder tidily, without over heat it. silver contact point cleaner? WBT silver soldering lead that cost me RM 580 for merely a small roll???

stay in mind that if you had done it ugly. the headphone virtually has VERY VERY LOW resales value. even u can sell oso it will cost much lesser than original price you had bought it.  or to say even LOWER than the usual second hand price for un-modded version.

you might said cosmetic is nothings, but seriously, get it done nicely is not easy at all rather just recable it. if customer sent their earphone for me to recable, i can just simply do it, super ugly looking, yet sounds perfectly all right, and charge relatively cheap price. but do you think the customer dare to bring it out? use at office? or even bring it to audiophile gathring?
however when i do recable for my customer. i have to consider that point oso.
paying RM 150 for my recable is too much?  there's a numbers of MS1 recabled by me sold for over RM 500 while the new headphone itself just RM 280-350 previously.
try to request for recable service in headfi, with similar workmanship and parts that i provide and check if u can get it done RM 150 or not.
so pls do not simply comment on my work/ price if you don't have a clue what i am doing on those recabled headphone i had done.

by the way. Akabane@DrJackel is the new owner of my personal extreme modded MS1.
Akabane@DrJackel, how do u feel about it? it's been weeks since u got it.
Bro way to go man...my dad is use my MS1 all the time..even he can hear the different much more compare with my previous SR80 or that i bring Stock and recable MS1. Great...

QUOTE(duh2k @ Dec 26 2009, 08:16 AM)
how's the ms1 now as compared to the stock cabling? any impressions? smile.gif

btw, bro pcwork, how do you receive ms1's for recabling? via pos? or i drive down to your place to pass to you?
PCWORK recable is awesome...even i can say this MS1 is no more longer can deal side by side with a normal stock one.. This MS1 is bring me some nice impression on the smooth bass, The Mid & High is well being seperately heard. If stock cable everything is srew up.. I had been a grado SR80 last time about before i end up to upgrade to Premium Headphone. This MS1 is really not MS1 that is simply recable and the sounding is much perfect compare with other recable MS1 that i heard. Till i'm satified with it. I just Auditioned this Cans less than 10 min to grab it. Is really a good deal with it. Talk about soundstage here this MS1 is totally different and the soundstage come out dunno where then..it just pop suddenly..wow is a great. and more neutral..

Akabane@DrJackel
post Dec 27 2009, 02:13 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(theng_ye @ Dec 27 2009, 12:21 PM)
Bro PCwork,

Dun border those ppl who comment on ur price. I really think your price is reasonable. For those who donno the price of those cable n plugs, u all can check the price..if you feel is ez to do, then try to DIY urself..after you burn some driver, then you can share with us..hehe..

DIY is ez if u jz play play..but if u seriously go into DIYer...then u will feel it. to match those cable is not ez and this is a trade secret! I believe PCwork do many testing before he finalize the material. If you guys think he jz simply recable it..then ur wrong...I witness how PCwork mod things by my own eyes...thats y n dun even think of DIY..haha..NO HARD?? haha...try to do more n tell me..

Control the soldering heat...carefully take out the driver n put in a safe place...match the cable...put on those sleeve...walau...if u think is jz NOT HARD..hehe..i tell u...u r wrong..if u jz a simple DIYer that do for yourself then yes...is simple..if someone pay for u n aspect some quality work from you...then u think u can simply do? can u recable all the cans with similar SQ? haha.. many ppl wan to knw wat those popular DIYer use for their cable n material...i feel childish lor...this is ppl's trade secret right? if the DIYer is do for fun then okay la..but they are providing service..u pula ask wat they do...wahaha..

this make me remember some diyer try to take the naked photo of ppl's product n try to copy cat a similar things..then comment ppl overprice..haiz...not fair right?

Sorry for talking so much rubbish there...I admit I m pcwork supporter...all my stuff is mod by him n i never nego any price bcoz i knw how much is the material n how much he earn...frankly...u try as those DIYer in headfi or in singapore to do a serious modd...then u will knw..

Akabane!! u r so lucky!! wahaha..i nearly book it...but u r b4 me...but...come to join HIFI la...hehe
Went the time is come..Amati will be at home...
Akabane@DrJackel
post Dec 27 2009, 02:53 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Dec 27 2009, 02:36 PM)
bro. if you are serious about amati. i think you must contact alvin now. so that he work with contractor to built the hifi room for you first in ur new house. amati is not something that buy , plug and play. it require really serious acoustic treatment, else you will end up with real headache like one of his customer. they just built the house. and after that found out the acoustic properties of the room is very bad. and had end up redo the whole room. wasted more than RM 100K just for room threatment.
even harmonix product used inside the room already cost an extra RM 60K on top of the RM 100K used to rebuilt the whole room.  if you are dead serious about amati. u shall really go  and talk to alvin. discuss what material to use in the room, what dimension of the room. how many power cord, at what rating, how many grounding. ect ect ect.
Thanks for your advise..but i think is my long way to go. by the way i know if i need this kind of high end version of sonus need a proper consult of all think include renovation. so if i really go on to it.. $$$$$$ should be ready haha...
Akabane@DrJackel
post Oct 2 2010, 11:39 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

Bro beggarmaster, i think this is not right to say a people is not good on their workmanship...Pcwork is done a remarkable fixing and recabling for the community in Audiophile. I think i can say there is always a improvement in every single way. for example i got a same cable same plug with the different people doing the soldering. But i can say pcwork recable and soldering skill is profesional. I did witness and see how he works on the soldering. And i think ever since we know each other since we bump in this thread for 6 years. i did see his workmanship is much more beyond i see..is premium work..so pls not to say a people workmanship is a lousy or shit pls..you cannot judge this..try it you will know..
Akabane@DrJackel
post Oct 3 2010, 12:01 AM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Oct 2 2010, 11:45 PM)
thx for the tip bro thumbup.gif
will definitely try them out wink.gif

Added on October 2, 2010, 11:45 pm

as if factory made? rclxms.gif
haha...i would say is the same like factory haha////very nice...
Akabane@DrJackel
post Oct 3 2010, 07:32 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

QUOTE(power911 @ Oct 3 2010, 07:29 PM)
lol u guys should stick back to the topic of this thread biggrin.gif
where are the grado toys eh?
I think i'm no longer have the grado headphone dy..now only have the Alesandro MS1000.

SR80 is the one and only grado i own before..err...4 years ago...

0.0183sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:28 AM