Samsung SGH i780 Discussion Thread

pizi87
post Apr 1 2008, 12:48 PM

334 posts

Hi, Ive been using this PDA for 2 weeks, got it before they had the 4GB promo (sigh, i need more space for my songs) at PDA expert Midvalley

its a good buy considering the value & features u get from it.. the full keyboard is useful but its taking me sometime to get used to it.. im a fast sms typer but with this one im a bit slow haha

battery is ok, minumum usage of application can last for 2 days.. using the wife, bluetooth etc will surely use more power, so i'll get like 1 day before charging.. samung provides an extra battery, comes in handy while on the go..

the GPS works find (no issues with the display) I put Google earth on this and its great! im not into gaming so much so i wont worry me if games can be dsiplayed nicely...

what else, hmmm yeah, somebody said the design is a bit odd.. but then its sleek and can easily for a shirt pocket.. im waiting for a case for this once, i only have the screen protector on it now...

the only concern is sometimes its a bit sluggish to respond to me.. like when i open an application or try to unlock the phone.. im a 1st time PDA user so i dont know whether this is common..

in short, its a good buy especially if one cannot afford something pricing above rm2k... there's a lot of features which will make other PDA owners envy you

This post has been edited by pizi87: Apr 1 2008, 12:49 PM
pizi87
post Apr 1 2008, 02:54 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 1 2008, 02:40 PM)
good review...but hmm..no pics still..

hmm..though below RM2k still pricy but compared to palm treo dis has provides better functions..well in terms of wifi r..
he's a deep review with PICS

http://www.mobile-review.com/pda/review/sa...g-i780-en.shtml

pizi87
post Apr 2 2008, 11:14 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(LittleCow @ Apr 1 2008, 10:52 PM)

is the GPS function of this phone is compatible with mapking . or other commong gps softwares??
yes Mapking. has roadmaps for malaysia and i think other asian countries.. the malaysia one is quite impressive, comes with audio directions

pizi87
post Apr 2 2008, 12:00 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Apr 2 2008, 11:56 AM)
screen too small?? nt at all..seriously
yes i agree, the screen size is okay n screen is very clear
pizi87
post Apr 11 2008, 03:26 PM

334 posts

does anyone know how i can reinstall MapKing? i seem to have lost the maps. I only have hongkong demo icon_question.gif
pizi87
post Apr 24 2008, 01:13 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(amen @ Apr 24 2008, 12:26 PM)
I am thinking to buy one too but my friend is complaining the volume buttons are not locked even he locks the phone.

When he keeps it in the pocket, the volume button will be pressed accidentally and mute the phone.

Anyone facing the some problem?
yes that is true, there is no lock for the side volume button. kinda annoying at ttimes
pizi87
post May 3 2008, 12:40 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(dgtel2 @ May 3 2008, 12:04 AM)
May I suggest all the i780 owners to "divert" your input to PPCSG forum. There, they have more active users than this forum. No offence.
what is PPCSG.sorry, nob question
pizi87
post May 7 2008, 05:44 PM

334 posts

hey guys,
my memory card always get corrupted
does anyone know why

pizi87
post May 20 2008, 01:01 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(leonlee83 @ May 20 2008, 12:48 PM)
Can anyone teach me how to install the mapking, i brought a new PDA, but i totally hav no idea on how to use it. It is my first time to purchase a PDA
i tried getting it from websites but had problems installing it. maybe u can try going to a PDA store and get them install for u. if you're in KL u can go to mid valley, a store named PDA Expert at the IT area
pizi87
post May 22 2008, 09:49 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(eddiey_5 @ May 22 2008, 09:24 PM)
why not you try Golla bag/pouch..quite small & nice...i'm using it right now
how much is it? is it leather made?
pizi87
post Jun 6 2008, 04:24 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Jun 6 2008, 03:47 PM)
i'm thinking selling off my i780
y meh u wanna sell?
pizi87
post Jun 12 2008, 10:14 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(spacerx @ Jun 12 2008, 09:56 AM)
Hi, can anyone recommend me a shop in KL to get this pda? thanks ...
MIDVALLEY, PDA EXPERT
pizi87
post Jun 12 2008, 11:49 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(spacerx @ Jun 12 2008, 10:58 AM)
mind telling me how much they are selling? got free gift or not?
i was among the earliest to get the phone, even before they had ads of it in the paper. Mind only came with 2GB and a screen protector, which the shop did neatly. the price then was rm1 short from 2k

now i think they give u 4gb mem and maybe the price has reduced by 200

This post has been edited by pizi87: Jun 12 2008, 11:51 AM
pizi87
post Jun 12 2008, 06:46 PM

334 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jun 12 2008, 02:02 PM)
hey pizi, up until now, any problems with the phone? any hangs or whatever?

what gps program do you use? got voice navigation to guide you when use gps or you need to look at the screen to see direction everytime?
hey neato..
the phone is okay but at times it may be a bit unresponsive for example when u want to unlock it, after that it's ok. so im thinking it takes extra seconds to kinda 'wakeup'. mine did hang some times but its not something of a big issue, like any oother PC or machine will at a time hang

the gps i have is Mapking. The store where i bought it installed it and they have lots of other programs to choose for free. Mapking has a voice navigator so its useful if you're on the road or something. but ive never tried using it when driving. maybe i know my way well ehehe

other than that i think its a value for money PDA. of course if you can afford something more pricier, you've got many models to choose like HTC and Dopod. Im happy with my i780 cool2.gif

pizi87
post Jun 13 2008, 07:12 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jun 12 2008, 10:53 PM)
Thanks for the info pizi87.

i heard you can't do hard reset with the i780? True or not?

It yes, then this would be a nightmare for pda users installing programs.. nightmare as scared the phone will brick.
erm i dont understand hard reset? if its about uninstalling software, its quite easy. there's a simple menu to too that

anyone interested to get a elegant leather cover specially designed for i780? i bought 1 from noreve.com but i think im selling it off. there's nothing wrong with the item, its perfect!! the thing is i might just go without a case cool2.gif

it cost nearly rm300 including shipping but im willing to let go at a reduced price. PM me if ur interested

u can check the item at http://www.noreve.com/brand/Samsung/produc..._Tradition.html

This post has been edited by pizi87: Jun 13 2008, 07:13 AM
pizi87
post Jun 13 2008, 08:43 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jun 13 2008, 08:34 AM)
hard reset meaning like set default to factory settings. For example if you install a program and when you turn on your pda it goes into an endless loop that prevents you from accessing any functions.

Hard reset usually is a combination of keys you press which will default all settings back to factory default.

Like my treo 650, i need to press the reset button while holding down both power and up button simultaneously (i think.. long time hard reset aldy hehe).
oh okay.. im not sure if i780 has one. there's a tiny reset button at the side but i dont think it's a hard reset one.

pizi87
post Jul 10 2008, 07:36 AM

334 posts

any i780 owners who are keen to get a top quality leather case from Noreve?

i bought it online but i think i will do without the case

http://www.noreve.com/brand/Samsung/produc..._Tradition.html

i will give a special price!! PM me. TQ
pizi87
post Sep 2 2008, 08:18 AM

334 posts

hi all
anyone interested to get a new noreve case specially designed for i780
u can check the website for the pic
http://www.noreve.com/

im offering a discount for it. pm me

thx
pizi87
post Oct 12 2008, 10:02 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(andrikecap @ Oct 12 2008, 12:03 AM)
hi, pizi87..
i'm interested to buy noreve leather case..
do u still have the discount for it? is it still available?
how much is the discount?
and what is the requirement for me to get it?

thx..
hi, sorry to say its sold. those days nobody wanted to buy but lately many are asking, i guess there's more i780 owners
pizi87
post Oct 12 2008, 10:15 AM

334 posts

QUOTE(okk @ Oct 12 2008, 10:13 AM)
Anybody can help? It's urgent...thanks a lot in advance
i guess the best way to experience this phone is to go and see it at a store. get a feel of it and then decide

0.0292sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:34 PM