Samsung SGH i780 Discussion Thread
okk
Oct 12 2008, 09:40 AM
I have a few questions on Samsung i780. Hope members here can help to answer. 1. What is the price now and what is included in the package? 2. I heard that we need to edit registry to increase the speakers volume. Anybody have the link to show how to do this? 3. Any problems with the GPS and does the GPS work without A-GPS assistance (means pure GPS only)? 4. How's the handwriting recognition? Easy to use? 5. If I wan to type sms or a note, can I use handwriting and keyboard concurrently or I can only choose one input method at a time? 6. What is the resolution and fps of the video recoding?
This post has been edited by okk: Oct 12 2008, 10:12 AM
okk
Oct 12 2008, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 12 2008, 09:55 AM) 1. wait for other members reply 2. u can google the regedit for free very easily, many freewares. then just edit the registry. its easy dun worry 3. works fine What is the registry path?
okk
Oct 12 2008, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(okk @ Oct 12 2008, 09:40 AM) I have a few questions on Samsung i780. Hope members here can help to answer. 1. What is the price now and what is included in the package? 2. I heard that we need to edit registry to increase the speakers volume. Anybody have the link to show how to do this? 3. Any problems with the GPS and does the GPS work without A-GPS assistance (means pure GPS only)? 4. How's the handwriting recognition? Easy to use? 5. If I wan to type sms or a note, can I use handwriting and keyboard concurrently or I can only choose one input method at a time? 6. What is the resolution and fps of the video recoding? Thanks. Anybody can help? It's urgent...thanks a lot in advance
okk
Oct 12 2008, 11:12 AM
Thanks for the reply! One more question, for A-GPS, the connection to network is only made during initial lockup rite? Or is there constant download of location from the network? I am asking this because I am worried that I will be billed with heavy amount of GPRS/3G usage...
okk
Oct 12 2008, 11:38 AM
QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 12 2008, 11:36 AM) for windows mobile u will not be billed for ANY gprs/3g usage. welcome to the world of anti-nokia  Huh? How come? Since I am downloding data from my network, shouldn't the telco be charging me?
okk
Oct 12 2008, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(Baronic @ Oct 12 2008, 11:55 AM) u're not downloading any data from any network. only googlemap and nokia works that way. windows mobile connects directly via GPS, cuz the GPS is strong enough that it doesnt need any net connection to locate your position (unlike noob nokia) EDIT: Oh shit u said A-GPS. sorry. all the above i said was GPS. Yes, AGPS will incure charges. but dun worry. u cant use it unless calling your operator and enabling it. dun worry, GPS is good enuf. i've no idea why anyone would want AGPS running indoors. useless plus drains battery and AGPS charges is separate from data charges. ask your operator  How long does i780 take to first lockup position? I heard it takes minutes, so does that mean I have to put the handset in the car for a few mintues to get the position, before I can start driving?
okk
Oct 12 2008, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(dgtel2 @ Oct 12 2008, 01:30 PM) A-GPS is separated application in i780. It is called Enhanced GPS. i780 will only use A-GPS if we launch the Enhanced GPS application. But if we set it to auto download, then i780 will automatically launch AGPS and immediately download the necessary data without any warning. To activate the Enhanced GPS function, we need to click at the "XTRA Data Download" button. After that i780 will warn that charges will be incurred if proceed as shown below:  I have used the GPS without SIM card. Of course Garmin MXT is the right client for this stunt. And i780 will take 5 minutes to lock because there is no SIM card for it to connect to A-GPS. You can try to use your GPS without SIM card and clock how long it needs to lock the satellite. My bet is that your unit will take more than 2 minutes to lock. As for Nokia, the answer is yes and no. If we use Nokia Maps, and if we have saved the maps in the memory card, no data will be downloaded when we navigate. But, if no maps are pre-installed in the unit, 3G service will constantly download data/maps from nokia server on-the-fly. The same concept also applicable to Google Maps which constantly downloading data from Google server whenever we navigate. I've just realised that using iGO8 as the GPS client will change your i780 clock to Hong Kong GMT. Luckily Hong Kong GMT is similar to Malaysia, i.e. GMT +8. Does that mean I need to wait for 5 minutes before I can start driving?
okk
Oct 19 2008, 09:50 AM
May I know what's the price for the original Samsung i780 now?