Samsung Samsung G400 Soul

Rusty Nail
post Nov 18 2008, 11:57 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(moyong @ Nov 18 2008, 10:03 PM)
so all u can do at the front screen is music, camera, record and what again?

there are 4 buttons right
music player (music only) like SE W series
FM Radio
Camera
Album (picture/video viewer) it only view pictures and pics from 2 folders only "my video clips" and "my pictures" in the phone memory and mem card

standby mode can choose different types of clock/calender display
Rusty Nail
post Nov 19 2008, 09:39 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

yeah, that's the trouble with large flip phones, not so one hand friendly.
Rusty Nail
post Nov 20 2008, 09:13 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

as long as it's not pink, then it's a guy's phone laugh.gif tongue.gif
Rusty Nail
post Nov 20 2008, 12:31 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

yeah, but pink more girly. and white too, like the SE K550i
Rusty Nail
post Nov 20 2008, 11:43 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(BloodyCrystal @ Nov 20 2008, 10:10 PM)

Added on November 20, 2008, 11:40 pmcan this phone support 8GB memory card???
yes, as stated in the manual.
Rusty Nail
post Nov 21 2008, 01:12 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

it's all about price, profit margin, and market demand.
Rusty Nail
post Nov 23 2008, 10:42 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

I've been using this phone for a week without any protection (not even screen protector). so far not a single scratch. but lots of smudges from facial oil and finger prints, especially the chromed lining and screen.

i clean it daily with microfiber cloth bought from Eneos (RM5 for 4 sheets about A3 size). planning to use those special lens cloth when budget permits.
Rusty Nail
post Nov 24 2008, 09:11 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

i've asked the skinning service (first floor LYP) and the one in SG wang.
they don't have translucent skins. all their skins comes with patterns. they don't even have plain black.

anyways, those skins are not as versatile as invisible shield mentioned by askarperang
Rusty Nail
post Nov 24 2008, 09:42 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

1) it's plastic with bling bling chrome. Even though it's plastic, i think they lacquered it really well since it doesn't scratch easily.

2) no, you cannot change different functions. unlike the U900.
Rusty Nail
post Nov 24 2008, 09:56 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

hi swine,

yup, only the back battery cover is metal.

front LCD functions:

music player
(music only) like SE W series

FM Radio
need headphones to work

Camera/video recorder
self explanatory

Album (picture/video viewer)
it only view pictures and pics from 2 folders only "my video clips" and "my pictures" in the phone memory and mem card

Misc
standby mode can choose different types of clock/calender display

no SMS reading.

This post has been edited by Rusty Nail: Nov 24 2008, 09:57 AM
Rusty Nail
post Nov 24 2008, 10:20 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

I was in the similar situation like you too, regarding the metal case. but it appears that the plastic outer shells is not as plasticy feeling as SE clamshells. and despite its plastic built, it feels really solid.

about the SMS, since i'd be replying the message almost all the time when i read it, i guess i can forgive that lack of reading function. but yeah, if they can make sms reading through the front screen would be a really big plus point.
Rusty Nail
post Nov 24 2008, 12:44 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

the skin that i mentioned feels like car tint.
Rusty Nail
post Nov 24 2008, 04:41 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

yes, in general it will more glossy. but it depends on design too.
Rusty Nail
post Nov 25 2008, 08:47 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

press pictures are always different looking. the phones are taken by professionals using high end camera, multiple light source, and sometimes photoshopped to look nicer.
Rusty Nail
post Dec 2 2008, 10:19 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(ziying1989 @ Nov 28 2008, 09:19 PM)
i wan to ask that the keytone volume how to mute it except in silence mode?? or decrease the keytone volume because it is quite noisy with the sound when pressing the key??
1) flip open the phone
2) press the volume control (down)
Rusty Nail
post Dec 2 2008, 02:49 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Dec 1 2008, 11:58 PM)
Okay here is the revise user list:  icon_rolleyes.gif

1. Eric W : RM1310 : DEC 2008 : bought from cynetwork : black
2. BloodyCrystal : RM1305 : NOV 2008 : bought from ViRaViRa : black
3. Rusty Nail : RM1499 : NOV 2008 : bought from Samsung authorised dealer : silver

Anyone else?  smile.gif
Rusty Nail
post Dec 3 2008, 09:13 AM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(chinmaan @ Dec 2 2008, 11:02 PM)
Oh ya. Would like to ask if the phone can support up to 4GB microSD or not. I scared the phone will hang easily if the memory slot I put in is too big. Just want to check what's the capacity. Unlimited?
I'm using a 4gb card without any problems at all.

QUOTE(Eric W @ Dec 3 2008, 02:53 AM)
samsung malaysia official webbie got pics of gold n pink g400. or just pink? forgot
my black not so shiny leh, it's bluish grey
silver shud b shinier n catches more attention tongue.gif n make a cuter couple with my iphone. lol
im not sure it's loud enuff for me outdoor. slight louder than my iphone only. good sound quality though. clear lo.
it's loud when u use preloaded songs, if ur own ones, not so loud
camera's snappy smile.gif
keypad a bit stiff, dunno, mayb i afraid to press harder. heart pain
what else ah? hmmm
the camera button is meant to be that way, some what similar to the SE K750 where half press is to activate autofocus only, press longer/harder is to take the picture.
Rusty Nail
post Jan 9 2009, 02:01 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

QUOTE(moyong @ Jan 8 2009, 07:55 PM)
people are selling off..... wow what happened

also do u guys notice that the current trend is changing to full touch screen phones almost all the new phones are touchscreen

take 5800 and the recent LG cookie

always see their AD on TV laugh.gif
even china phones are full touch screen.
bought one in sim lim square during xmas shopping in singapore

anyways, i've updated the firmware last night. took several tries to get it updated. i didn't even have to backup my phonebook as nothing was reset. even my sms messages left untouched.
Rusty Nail
post Jan 9 2009, 02:08 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

A618 i think
comes with TV tuner, 0.3mp VGA camera, shake function, full 2.2" touch screen, handwriting recolonization (but they use a format which i'm not familiar with) nice vinyl skin like K800, SUPER LOUD speakers and UI which is slightly better then old china phones. all for less then RM400 after conversion.
Rusty Nail
post Jan 9 2009, 02:19 PM

Why am I still here?
4,880 posts

i didn't buy it for the 0.3mp. it's the dual sim active line and tv tuner that i'm more interested in. plus it's dirt cheap.

i'm still using the G400 as main phone though. gotten so used to it. but loading 2560*1920 pics in the album can be very laggy. thinking of downsizing shots to 1600*1200 for better browsing/transfer speed

This post has been edited by Rusty Nail: Jan 9 2009, 02:20 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0272sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:13 AM