11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Buying Advice Nikon D300 vs Sony A700 vs Canon 40D, need advice from owner

TSlil twist
post Mar 19 2008, 07:06 PM, updated 18y ago

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

Hi, just want to seek for advice from fellow owners of the respective DSLR's... notworthy.gif

my 1st question, Nikon D200 vs Nikon D300 vs Sony A700: which is the best?flex.gif

my 2nd question, after you have agreed with either 1 of the DSLR, what is the best 4 lenses would you pick? hmm.gif
--photo type base on lense that you have chosen. E.g: "i choose a 24mm lense because its a good bargain for macro and portrait, etc..." smile.gif

-do provide valid, good and concrete reason why you choose. blush.gif

i am seeking for advice as i need to decide which is value for money. i am not in a hurry so do provide me with everything you got. tongue.gif

thnaks in advance and do keep your flame to yourself. notworthy.gif

p/s: please write down a good review/opinion/advice instead of "buy xxx, good edi" or "buy xxx good, yyy sucks"... wink.gif

This post has been edited by lil twist: Mar 19 2008, 10:35 PM
SUSTheVoIP
post Mar 19 2008, 07:19 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

The answer is so obvious;

D300 + 12-24 + 24-70 + 70-200 VR = Settled! biggrin.gif

Why need the 4th lense?

Any lense la... if you have too much cash and really want to buy, then I would advise either 105 VR macro or 300 f2.8 lo... biggrin.gif

IMO, it is important to settle the focal range first. Without focal range coverage, you cannot get the picture.

Both D200 and D300 is much more solid than A700 la... If you put side by side... those dunno camera one sure say those D200 and D300 is better liao... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by TheVoIP: Mar 19 2008, 07:20 PM
R a D ! c 4 L
post Mar 19 2008, 07:21 PM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

D300. Word. Nuff Said. TheVoIP gave you the best choice now. If you do not want the 12-24mm, then get the cheaper version from tokina, or a wider version sigma 10-20mm. smile.gif
TSlil twist
post Mar 19 2008, 07:23 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

mind telling me the full spec and price? biggrin.gif

great review btw, but still, need more opinions from the users... come in all A700, D200 and D300 users... rclxms.gif
SUSTheVoIP
post Mar 19 2008, 07:25 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Mar 19 2008, 07:21 PM)
D300. Word. Nuff Said. TheVoIP gave you the best choice now. If you do not want the 12-24mm, then get the cheaper version from tokina, or a wider version sigma 10-20mm. smile.gif
Ya... The reason for 24-70 rather than 17-55 is that maybe later FF become affordable or within reach ma...

Radical is right... the only problem of Nikon 12-24 is not wide enought... Can consider other brand because of this... But... other brand construction really not as solidly pretty as the Nikon.... I see other brand looks already sad.gif
xandman
post Mar 19 2008, 07:28 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

juz as voip said...
d300 + 14-24 + 24-70 + 70-200 + 105 / 85...
with that...u complete ur collection...
and u can shoot ANYTHING...
u want review?
2 words for d300...ALMOST PERFECT!
for the lenses...AWESOMENESS!
TSlil twist
post Mar 19 2008, 07:33 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Mar 19 2008, 07:28 PM)
juz as voip said...
u want review?
wow... refreshing... tongue.gif

mind provide me the price? hmm.gif

how bout flash? most people suggest SB800 correct: biggrin.gif
harrychoo
post Mar 19 2008, 07:37 PM

3,589 posts

no price limit?

wat u want to shoot?
SUSTheVoIP
post Mar 19 2008, 07:38 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Mar 19 2008, 07:28 PM)
juz as voip said...
u want review?
And when you have that extra cash from your bonus later this year... You can swap your D300 for real camera like D3... and also replace your 12-24 with 14-24.

But best if you can buy the 14-24 straight la... so no need to change lense later...

And trust me, with D3 + 14-24 + 24-70 + 70-200 VR = Perfect! and stop thinking of upgrading already

Do remember that with FF like D3, your 70-200 VR can have one more stop of advantage of bluring the background... So maybe 85mm not so important liao.

And with D3, you can finally focus on taking good pictures rather than want to buy these and that.
Soony
post Mar 19 2008, 07:38 PM

I love Photography !
2,131 posts

It seems like i feel fear in this forum regarding the prices.. haha..

I cant tell you much since im neither of these 3 users.. but definitely.. the fight is among D300 and A700 only..
SUSTheVoIP
post Mar 19 2008, 07:39 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Mar 19 2008, 07:37 PM)
no price limit?

wat u want to shoot?
Some people no budget limit... Just have to get the right tools... then good pictures will come! icon_rolleyes.gif
harrychoo
post Mar 19 2008, 07:40 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 19 2008, 07:39 PM)
Some people no budget limit... Just have to get the right tools... then good pictures will come!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Everyone have their price wink.gif
TSlil twist
post Mar 19 2008, 07:43 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 19 2008, 07:38 PM)
And when you have that extra cash from your bonus later this year... You can swap your D300 for real camera like D3... and also replace your 12-24 with 14-24.

But best if you can buy the 14-24 straight la... so no need to change lense later...

And trust me, with D3 + 14-24 + 24-70 + 70-200 VR = Perfect! and stop thinking of upgrading already

Do remember that with FF like D3, your 70-200 VR can have one more stop of advantage of bluring the background... So maybe 85mm not so important liao.

And with D3, you can finally focus on taking good pictures rather than want to buy these and that.
can elaborate for each lenses purposes?? blush.gif

ok2... put the price limit to RM10,000... cool.gif
SUSTheVoIP
post Mar 19 2008, 07:44 PM

Super General
5,793 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Mar 19 2008, 07:40 PM)
Everyone have their price  wink.gif
Please do not look down on lil twist capability tongue.gif

And with these superior 3 lenses rather than more... You can really focus more on taking pictures... Like if you want wider, then switch to wider lense... Life so simple... thumbup.gif

If have cross focal length lenses, sometime a bit headache... rclxub.gif

Now you should ask, which bag should I buy? hmm.gif

Added on March 19, 2008, 7:45 pm
QUOTE(lil twist @ Mar 19 2008, 07:43 PM)

RM10k too little la... At least RM20k la... Or else hard to have the right tools to take pictures...

Sometime with the right tools, the pictures really good... even no experinces like me nod.gif

This post has been edited by TheVoIP: Mar 19 2008, 07:45 PM
harrychoo
post Mar 19 2008, 07:46 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 19 2008, 07:44 PM)
Please do not look down on lil twist capability   tongue.gif

And with these superior 3 lenses rather than more... You can really focus more on taking pictures... Like if you want wider, then switch to wider lense... Life so simple...  thumbup.gif

If have cross focal length lenses, sometime a bit headache...  rclxub.gif

Now you should ask, which bag should I buy?  hmm.gif
10k la brader..

ur choice is out definitely!

however if u choose D300, with that budget u can hardly get 4 good lenses

Added on March 19, 2008, 7:47 pmTS, if 10k is really ur limit and u want 4 lenses, i suggest u go to Sony system.

Else get nikon and limit urselves with fewer lenses

This post has been edited by harrychoo: Mar 19 2008, 07:47 PM
soulfly
post Mar 19 2008, 07:48 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 19 2008, 07:19 PM)
Both D200 and D300 is much more solid than A700 la... If you put side by side... those dunno camera one sure say those D200 and D300 is better liao...  thumbup.gif
last time u said CMOS more superior than CCD worr... D200 is CCD

TSlil twist
post Mar 19 2008, 07:49 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 19 2008, 07:44 PM)
Please do not look down on lil twist capability   tongue.gif

And with these superior 3 lenses rather than more... You can really focus more on taking pictures... Like if you want wider, then switch to wider lense... Life so simple...  thumbup.gif

If have cross focal length lenses, sometime a bit headache...  rclxub.gif

Now you should ask, which bag should I buy?  hmm.gif

Added on March 19, 2008, 7:45 pm
RM10k too little la... At least RM20k la... Or else hard to have the right tools to take pictures...

Sometime with the right tools, the pictures really good... even no experinces like me  nod.gif
QUOTE(harrychoo @ Mar 19 2008, 07:46 PM)
10k la brader..

ur choice is out definitely!

however if u choose D300, with that budget u can hardly get 4 good lenses

Added on March 19, 2008, 7:47 pmTS, if 10k is really ur limit and u want 4 lenses, i suggest u go to Sony system.

Else get nikon and limit urselves with fewer lenses
10k is just an assumption... sweat.gif thats why i ask for the price of each tools you guys have been mentioned... smile.gif

btw, no good review/opinion on A700 and D200??? hmm.gif all D300 only meh?? unsure.gif

Added on March 19, 2008, 7:50 pm
QUOTE(soulfly @ Mar 19 2008, 07:48 PM)
last time u said CMOS more superior than CCD worr... D200 is CCD
whats the diff CMOS and CCD?? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lil twist: Mar 19 2008, 07:50 PM
xandman
post Mar 19 2008, 07:51 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(lil twist @ Mar 19 2008, 07:43 PM)

with 10k...
u barely scratch the surface...
d300 = 5.7k
14-24 = 5.7k
24-70 = 5.4k
70-200 = 5.9k
105VR = 2.6k
85 1.4 = 3.3k
sb800 = 1.3k
batt grip = 700
CF x 2 x 8GB(Extreme IV) = 1.4k

with that...CHOOSE UR POISON!

as for lense purpose...
14-24 = wideangle (landscape)
24-70 = mid zoom (multi purpose)
70-200 = tele zoom (sports)
105VR = macro / portrait
85 1.4 = portrait

wat i describe...are the common usage for the said lense...
but u can use any lense for anything U like...
bcoz i use my 70-200 and 12-24 for model shooting..
i use my fishy for landscape...
105 for product / still life...

again...those are the guidelines...
U choose how U use UR lense...wink.gif

harrychoo
post Mar 19 2008, 07:53 PM

3,589 posts

D200 ISO performance is not as great as A700 and D300. And D200 is power hungry machine (A700 also not very good but D200 worse)

I'll suggest u either get A700 or D300 unless u want to concentrate ur budget on lenses.

Choose A700 for antishake and beercan 70-210 F4 while choose D300 for better ergonomics, faster fps and slightly better ISO performance. Liveview selection is up to u.

For lenses, if budget is not a problem, get those godlike lenses as suggested by others laugh.gif

This post has been edited by harrychoo: Mar 19 2008, 07:54 PM
xandman
post Mar 19 2008, 07:53 PM

7,214 posts

QUOTE(lil twist @ Mar 19 2008, 07:49 PM)
10k is just an assumption... sweat.gif thats why i ask for the price of each tools you guys have been mentioned... smile.gif

btw, no good review/opinion on A700 and D200??? hmm.gif all D300 only meh?? unsure.gif

Added on March 19, 2008, 7:50 pm

whats the diff CMOS and CCD?? sweat.gif
first...
d200 is OLD!
second...A700 is juz plain eyesore!

cmos and ccd...
i dunno wor...but i know cmos is better in handling noise...
thats all..

11 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0223sec    1.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 03:05 AM