Just wondering if adjusting my guitar pickup height will affect sustain and crunchiness..will distortion sound better or more powerful, will pallm mutes sound better??
pickup height, wta
Mar 17 2008, 11:49 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
241 posts Joined: May 2007 |
Just wondering if adjusting my guitar pickup height will affect sustain and crunchiness..will distortion sound better or more powerful, will pallm mutes sound better??
Mar 18 2008, 12:04 AM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
It might effect the muddiness, the clarity and definition as well as the sustain in your tone.
Just adjust, play, and repeat until you get the tone you like. |
Mar 18 2008, 12:16 AM
I C, by the way, wanna ask bout the price of a single seymour duncan humbucker pickup for the bridge. will changing to seymour duncan pickups give nicer tone to the guitar?btw i like the clean of my guitar..i just think that distortion sound littler weak and unclear...
Sorry to go off topic, here's another question, when i strum bar chords(distortion) i sounds decent and loud,,but when i play single notes it doesnt sound as fat, clear and protruding as a les paul T.T .. how to solve that coz i'll be performing this friday and all i have now is one ds pedal Added on March 18, 2008, 1:30 amwhy evryone so quiet one?T.T This post has been edited by RootOfJesse: Mar 18 2008, 01:30 AM |
Mar 18 2008, 09:25 AM
1,255 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Mar 18 2008, 12:16 AM) I C, by the way, wanna ask bout the price of a single seymour duncan humbucker pickup for the bridge. will changing to seymour duncan pickups give nicer tone to the guitar?btw i like the clean of my guitar..i just think that distortion sound littler weak and unclear... changing pickup will effect the tone. but it depends on the pickup type. for example, emg81 will not give you warm sound.Sorry to go off topic, here's another question, when i strum bar chords(distortion) i sounds decent and loud,,but when i play single notes it doesnt sound as fat, clear and protruding as a les paul T.T .. how to solve that coz i'll be performing this friday and all i have now is one ds pedal Added on March 18, 2008, 1:30 amwhy evryone so quiet one?T.T on the strumming and single note part, try adjusting your equalizers 1st before changing pickup. try putting on more mids to enhance the single note. if almost all combo won't work, then change the pickup. remember, les paul naturally has a fat tone, what guitar are you using? it's hard to make an RG sounds like a les paul. btw, you didn't mentioned your eq except the ds-1. you also didn't mention what type of sound you're after. we need more info to help. ds-1 has a nice distortion sound, but it's not as heavy as an MT-2. |
Mar 18 2008, 09:58 AM
16 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Mar 18 2008, 12:16 AM) I C, by the way, wanna ask bout the price of a single seymour duncan humbucker pickup for the bridge. will changing to seymour duncan pickups give nicer tone to the guitar?btw i like the clean of my guitar..i just think that distortion sound littler weak and unclear... COMPRESSOR pedal will help! Sorry to go off topic, here's another question, when i strum bar chords(distortion) i sounds decent and loud,,but when i play single notes it doesnt sound as fat, clear and protruding as a les paul T.T .. how to solve that coz i'll be performing this friday and all i have now is one ds pedal Added on March 18, 2008, 1:30 amwhy evryone so quiet one?T.T |
Mar 18 2008, 10:09 AM
We're quiet because most of us sleeping! You posted at 12am!
Agree with Zeroglyph. List what is your setup..... Amps..... Effects..... Guitar...... everything. And what music you're playing. Then we can dissect what you can do. And what S.D pickup are you looking at? There are so many options. We're looking at around RM350 per pickup. Or how about DiMarzio? If you're playing Metal, then how about EMGs? Soooooooooooooooooooo many options. |
Mar 18 2008, 05:48 PM
haha.. okok
I want to sound like switchfoot..but i'm using s series ibanez.. Amplifier is mg100dfx with only one Ds pedal which i dont know how to set it up for a full solid sound.. Amp setup is lots of treble and less bass and less mid.. |
Mar 18 2008, 06:15 PM
3,396 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: KL |
Switchfoot rocks! LOL Anyway I think you can get close to their tone without changing the pups. Try adding more mids and bass. Gain shouldn't be too much though.
Mar 18 2008, 07:21 PM
The S-Series to me is more of a warmer sound...... almost Les Paul-ish...... but not as boomy or heavy. Like quarantined says, try playing with your amp more. Instead of piling on the gain, just set it to around 4-5 on your amp and crank up your DS-1.
Mar 18 2008, 07:26 PM
1,205 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
are MGs really bad? in what terms? construction?
and how do i get more sustain from my pickup? should i adjust it lower or higher? how can i get those looooooooong harmonic sustains to dive bomb with? can vintage tremolo perform a real dive bomb ? |
Mar 18 2008, 08:08 PM
I tried out a few MGs. The ones on the lower spectrum like the MG30 and MG50 has distortion that is waaaaaay too fuzzy and I really can't see myself soloing with so much fuzz. Higher end like the MG100 isn't too bad, as the power gets to regulate the gain better, but still sounds too buzzy for me. I like my distortions more like a crunch rather then mad gain...... which is why it's now Tubes or nothing for me. Even the cleans isn't that good and just feels to Razor sharp for my liking.
If I should EVER need a new amp, it would be for flat out, balls-to-the-wall metal..... something like the Krankenstein or Mesa/Boogie or even the new Marshall JVM series..... but that's loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong way down the line. My TSL602 is the perfect amp for my crunch needs, and with my ZW-44 boost, gets me going through all the metal I need. Even on cleans, the way the tube rounds out the sounds makes it far better. To get great sustain, you should first make sure you have a good pickup to work with. My active EMGs can sustain until the cows come home, and the SD JB on my RR3 is good enough for harmonics..... you should really look into that first. As for moving your pickup, if you adjust it higher, you will get more sustain, but also makes your tone muddier. Try to strike a balance and keep testing until you get it right. As for your trem, I don't think a vintage trem can pull off a dive bomb like a floyd. Even if it can, It will definitely not be in tune after that! |
Mar 18 2008, 09:51 PM
im currently using SD screamin demon.. its a mid output pickup.. is that why i can't get long sustain on pinch harmonics or natural harmonics?
Mar 18 2008, 10:28 PM
Screamin' Demon should be able to generate more then enough sustain if used through the right amp. Different amp settings can yield lots of different Sustain. What amp are you using BTW? And don't muddy with with TOO much distortion.
Mind you, a hotter pickup will yield better results, but unless you know how to control your sustain, it's unlikely going to help much. It looks like it's all down to technique. Just practice your Vibratos and harmonics and you should be fine. |
Mar 18 2008, 11:23 PM
doin vibratos after a pinch will let the note sustain longer ?
im just playin thru a keyboard amp actually ... haha |
Mar 19 2008, 12:32 AM
No wonder! Go get yourself a decent amp lah! A Microcube is the cheapest and easiest way........
Mar 19 2008, 12:47 AM
I'm very sure the prob is with my pups,,,i tried my friend's sd designed guitar and it stands out even single notes are clearer and more solid...compared to mine which has lots of noise.. when i play catch your wave solo, it's not articulate..><
btw what's compressor sustainer?? Boss Gt8 has a so called "lead Button" which increases gain on guitar so that notes stand out...can i do taht with my pedal? |
Mar 19 2008, 01:09 AM
1,399 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: KL PJ |
lead button is for...wen u wana solo?
it boost the signal... dunt do tat to often... ur bandmates might get annoyed... |
Mar 19 2008, 05:48 AM
575 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: kemaman, terengganu |
QUOTE(crazychris @ Mar 19 2008, 01:09 AM) lead button is for...wen u wana solo? hahaha. i did this often. almost in the whole song. it boost the signal... dunt do tat to often... ur bandmates might get annoyed... then on the next song, someone pulled off my input cable from the amp. This post has been edited by jackwylde: Mar 19 2008, 05:49 AM |
Mar 19 2008, 07:18 AM
1,000 posts Joined: May 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(blacktrix @ Mar 18 2008, 08:08 PM) I tried out a few MGs. The ones on the lower spectrum like the MG30 and MG50 has distortion that is waaaaaay too fuzzy and I really can't see myself soloing with so much fuzz. Higher end like the MG100 isn't too bad, as the power gets to regulate the gain better, but still sounds too buzzy for me. I like my distortions more like a crunch rather then mad gain...... which is why it's now Tubes or nothing for me. Even the cleans isn't that good and just feels to Razor sharp for my liking. just got ur tsl, so fast GAS for JVM edi? If I should EVER need a new amp, it would be for flat out, balls-to-the-wall metal..... something like the Krankenstein or Mesa/Boogie or even the new Marshall JVM series..... but that's loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong way down the line. My TSL602 is the perfect amp for my crunch needs, and with my ZW-44 boost, gets me going through all the metal I need. Even on cleans, the way the tube rounds out the sounds makes it far better. To get great sustain, you should first make sure you have a good pickup to work with. My active EMGs can sustain until the cows come home, and the SD JB on my RR3 is good enough for harmonics..... you should really look into that first. As for moving your pickup, if you adjust it higher, you will get more sustain, but also makes your tone muddier. Try to strike a balance and keep testing until you get it right. As for your trem, I don't think a vintage trem can pull off a dive bomb like a floyd. Even if it can, It will definitely not be in tune after that! |
Mar 19 2008, 08:45 AM
GAS is a never ending thing....... you should know that
| Change to: | 0.2161sec
5 queries